The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 394 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Would Have Expected This hotel needs a great deal of work. The deferred maintanence is very high in the guest rooms making it uncomfortable to stay there. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the historic building We loved the ambiance and the history of the building. The staff recognized our SPG card status and gave us a nice upgrade. We enjoyed our stay. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway We had a wonderful time in your city. The staff, the room, the location of the hotel were all perfect! Looking forward to a return visit. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff The rooms were clean, bathrooms could use a little more attention, nothing degrading but maybe a little more upgrading. The Porter restaurant, we only ate breakfast there..could have been a good experience but the scrambled eggs were nasty...I had forgotten there is such a thing as 'powdered' eggs, but was quickly reminded when I ate the scrambled eggs...OMG!!! Have I said NASTY already...The garage attendees were perfect!! Took care of our luggage immediately, took care of my car and even had great tips for visiting the area..and very enthusiastic guys...worth every cent of their tip!! Even wished me a Happy Mother's Day on our departure!! May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Lobby The lobby was very nice. The beds were nice. The pool is only 4ft deep and there is no hot tub they covered it with a strange floor. The shower did not work and the bathtub was difficult for a 6ft 2in man to use. The walls were peeling and some areas it looked like they were just painted over the peeling paint so it looked pretty bad. There is 2 areas of the hotel the old part were the lobby is and you see in the pictures of the hotel and the addition that looks like your in a different building that is white. Loud door slamming all night long. Walls very thin I could hear people talking next door. The steakhouse in the hotel was wonderful. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff great check in, great valet service helpful and friendly staff October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by P E R F E C T ! Great staff, excellent room (with 2 HD TVs) and super comfortable mattress !! December 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by None Lovely but needs to pay attention to the details. June 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by disappointed Everything was great except for some things in the room. It was nice to be upgraded to a room with a sofa and easy chair. The room was very comfortable, with the following exceptions. The first thing we noticed was the lack of lighting. Then the bathroom was tiny like a closet. There was no space to put any of the things we needed in there. When I went for ice, I noticed that the usual "tongs" were not attached to the ice bucket, nor any where in sight. When I went to make a note, there was also no pen in the room. Some of these are little things, but I would expect more from the Sheraton. The small bathroom was the biggest complaint. We had to call to have someone come and adjust the water in the heating system, as the air was too hot, and we needed cooler air. The evening staff in the club lounge was very good and friendly. And kept the items well stocked. And the same with the morning lady with the breakfast items. But the evening gal really gets a star plus. If I had business in downtown I would stay here again, But for someone just passing through, I would reconsider. To park in their garage, you must use Valet Parking at a cost of $15 per day. Which means tips for the valet guys and also the bellman. Again, the staff was very friendly. Personally, I do not like to use Valet staff for my car - but here there was no choice. The bed was very comfortable which I would expect, along with the other furniture in the room. December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough The suite was beautiful. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff efficient and helpful. We were disappointed to find that they hotel's movie selection did not include anything of an 'adult nature'. We did have a loose panel in the closet that was creepy (it led to a crawl space)- the staff fixed it, but it meant I had to hang out in the room for an hour while they worked- awkward. When I booked I asked about the pool and hot tub and came prepared to spend time int he hot tub on my anniversary trip. When we arrived- the hot tub/spa was out of service (and had been for some time). I should have been told this when I asked about it. The pool itself was very pretty. The club level breakfast was only ok (bread and pastry was dried out all three days) and was only from 7-9. The hors-d-ouvres were decent, but they cancelled it one night because of low occupancy- it made me feel like I wasn't important enough to receive that service. The attached restaurant is FABULOUS! A couple of times I stopped by the front desk and no one was there to help me.When I mentioned these things to the front desk upon check out- my concerns were pretty much dismissed and I was told "we were busy" and "it happens". For what I paid..it should not have happened. The valet guys were fantastic! Helpful, polite, didn't rush us- tip them well! All in all it was a positive trip, but I may try a different hotel next time. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money There's no parking except valet which is a flat rate charged to our room. Plus tips of course. We got a jacuzzi room and there was standing water around the top of the tub and mildew. The bathroom door knob was broken and wouldn't latch. Our remote didn't work and I called they sent a man up who changed the batteries and it sill didnt work after that. The furnishings and linens where top notch. I believe that there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that could be improved. The breakfast which was packaged into our purchase price was a buffet. The biscuits were hard as a rock literally. Very disappointing for $ for 2 people. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Experience This is a very nice hotel. It has beautiful decor and historic ambiance. It's well located in downtown and seems to be very well maintained. However, internet service was flaky in my room -- had a hard time connecting to the wireless but that could have been a security setting in my laptop. Didn't try the restaurant but bar service was marginal at best. Seemed to be inconvenienced by having customers. Early morning front desk crew on the day of my departure did not seem terribly concerned about taxi's not arriving in time to make flights. I would stay there again but would address these issues with management up front upon check-in. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay Hotel room not quiet up to quality of better Sheraton's. A bit small and room temp stability was a challenge. Cleanliness was good. Carpet worn and torn in room. Marble vanity has paint specks from last painting. Hallway to room not impressive. Staff excellent, nice lobby. Elevator in shabby condition. As the parent of a child performing at the Tennessee music teacher's convention, I was told of special rates. However, I was not offered the rate because due to long travel, I was checking in one day prior to the convention start. You could have, and should have, offered me the promised rate, but did not. I will not use Sheraton again if there is an option. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping walked in without knocking My husband and I were placed in a room that was supposed to be ready - 15 minutes after we arrived in our room, housekeeping walked in without knocking in order to put towels in the room that they failed to complete prior to indicating the room was ready. The front desk staff weren't really sympathetic to the fact that they had walked in. After we arrived home, I found my credit card had been charged for the room - we pre-paid our room at the time of reservation in order to obtain a better rate. Have not been able to get in touch with management onsite - spoke with corporate customer service, and pending a response to the issues. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient We stayed on Saturday Lots of weddings, but quiet like a church! Very helpful and solicitous staff Wonderful time! May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical magnificence. Accommodating staff. ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My family and I checked in on a Thursday, I booked three Jr. King Suites. Upon arrival to the property, I was promptly and professionally greeted by the valet (of whom we later grew to better know as "Timmy"). Timmy promptly unloaded our baggage and delivered them to each of our 3 rooms. As I checked in I was assisted by the desk agent Ken who was exceptionally courteous and well mannered; [we had a minor setback after one of the sets of room keys failed to work, however Timmy the Valet rushed to assist by informing Ken of the issue. I went down to speak with Ken regarding the key issue, he offered his sincere apologies and explained they were currently in a transition with new room key devices. Ken kindly treated us to a couple cups of coffee and issued new working room keys.] After checking in, I briefly toured the first and second levels of the lobby. The architectural design and features are simply magnificent. The history of the Read House is quite interesting and makes for an exciting stay. ROOMS: As I mentioned, I booked 3 Jr. King Suites. 302, 404, 509. Each room was very clean, had excellent climate controls and appeared to have recently been updated. I was concerned that the rooms would be humid, unclean, and worn due to past reviews I had read which was the reason I decided to book the Jr King Suites (with the hopes that the suites would be better maintained.) The hotel is downtown so the views are pretty much a typical downtown view, nothing impressive when in Chattanooga, TN. I was pleased with our overall stay. Overall Property: As our rooms were in the newer wing of the hotel, I was curious to investigate the older wing. I went to the 4th floor in the older wing and walked the halls. It was noticeably worn and less kept than the rest of the hotel, there was even a dismantled, broken down a/c unit hanging out of the side of the hallway, it appeared as if it had been sitting in that condition for years . I am extremely glad I booked the Jr. King Suites and put myself in the newer wing. The Porters restaurant was great. The fitness center was above expectations and very well kept with all of the equipment functioning properly. The pool was not much to boast of, the waterfall was not on and appeared to be non-working, there was chlorine odor which was a bit strong for the pool area. I could not find a hot-tub anywhere. The club level was great, they offered a decent variety of snack items during dinner hours and a small breakfast during the morning hours. The climate in the club area was rather humid during mid-day but cooled down to a comfortable temperature during early morning and evening/night. Overall, prior to my arrival I had low expectations for this Sheraton property as I am accustomed to staying at Westin properties, however I was pleasantly surprised! I would absolutely stay at the Sheraton Read House again and again over any of the nearby hotels. For a Cat 3 hotel, they are above par in my opinion. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience While we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel due to car trouble that got us there late and in a tizzy to attend a wedding. The weather wasn't very cooperative as well..having car trouble in bad weather is never fun. The hotel accommodations were fabulous and certainly made up for our troubles in reaching our destination. Rich in history and charm, the hotel is supposedly haunted.. Apparently the ghosts are as friendly as the employees. Hats off to the valet guys...they were the best! Love the Starbucks downstairs. The location could not have been better. We will definitely go back and stay longer to enjoy this beautiful hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-end My wife and I enjoyed a week-end in Chattanoooga recently. WeI wanted to stay downtown so I booked us here. The staff was very welcoming as well as informative about places to go and directions. The room was super. We enjoyed the HUGE garden tub and the room was very nice, large, and inviting. I enjoyed having a table to sit at, drink my coffee, and read the Sunday paper. The sofa and desk were very nice as well. Some have bemoaned the size of the bathrooms, but ours was very nice, had two sinks, and was well stocked with products, from mouthwash to shampoo. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and we will come again! April 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay My wife and I stayed at the Read House one Friday this summer. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't anything great. We got a very good deal compared to other nice hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful. The location in downtown Chattanooga was great. The lobby area was beautiful. The room was nice but nothing special. It seemed clean overall, but my wife noticed some fruit loops partially under some of the furniture, and I stepped on what appeared to be a chicken bone, which I suppose is not easily vacuumed. Nothing was wrong with the bathroom, but I expected it to be nicer. Overall we did enjoy our stay. June 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Initial impression great We checked in to our room on 3/16/2014 room 335. We killed a huge water bug crawling on floor made me uncomfortable but wasn't going to complain, then I find a second huge water bug crawling on my clothes in my open suite case. I then went to front desk I was moved to room 333. The room had crumbs on floor a cracker laying on the floor looks like it hasn't been clean well in sometime. My husband Robin went back to front desk so we moved to 231. Im sure the hotel is doing all it can for the bugs it's an old building but the housekeeping staff is clearly needing supervision. All 3 rooms appeared to be cleaned by a toddler. I hate to complain, but highly suggest an inspection on the cleanliness after housekeeping has been there. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel customer service is not at all satisfactory Our toilet overflowed 3 times within a 6 hour period. A very angry acting man came to the room and brought a "snake" (tool) to unclog it the first 2 times. The 3rd time a nicer man came and unclogged it with a plunger. It overflowed again afterward, and each time the water went through to the carpet and floors outside the bathroom, which can cause extensive damage. When I called the 3rd time, when we were about to check out in the early afternoon, they offered us a free breakfast!!!! lol, which they can of course write off in taxes. And no wonder there is a strange odor in the hall and rooms....nuff said! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk Staff is very helpful Hotel has the old charm that you want when visiting Chattanooga. My friends and I stayed there because of the ghostly stories. Last year we captured a shadow figure picture in the 3rd floor hallway. Intrigued we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. We did not capture any shadows but we did leave our room to go to dinner and when we returned we got a surprise. Our clean, unused towels were in the toilet and the bathroom trash can was knocked over. Ghostly or not, we don't know. But it was enough to validate the stories we have heard. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I will stay again! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Wife and I stayed in Chattanooga for business/pleasure...The Read House is one of those hotels that have a "Rat Pack" ambience....It has a very large mahogany foyer and a smell of coffee and antiques. The facility was built in 1925, but is as clean as a pin. The hotel is in excellent condition. Overall, service was EXCELLENT, ( we are Gold SPG). The staff all went above and beyond to help. Breakfast was excellent, room was spacious and clean and bed was soft as a feather...Parking was easy and location could not be better for downtown nightlife...We loved it. I wished I could stay here for a week. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home Away From Home My son lives in Chattanooga, TN, so when I visit him, I always stay at the Seraton Read House. It really is my "Home away from home." I can always depend on the Seraton from the beginning to the end of my trip. Beginning with courteous boys who park my car and bring my luggage to the wonderful staff who remember me to my extra comfortable room (no pillows as comfortable anywhere) to the hot, strong shower to the club room to the restaurant downstairs with white linen table cloths and wonderful food to the free Internet to the spotless, impressive lobby. I'm already looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible visit Unfortunately my wife and I had a horrible experience. Our room was par but it was very very noisy. we heard every door close and every siren throughout the day. On the last evening (3:42am) someone pulled the fire alarm and of course we were down on the streets until the event was over. But the worst part of the whole trip was the knocking of my door 4 times from 9:14 to 1:01 by various people asking me if I was leaving. For some reason they did not talk to the front desk for I asked for a 2pm late check out. Needless to say we received very little sleep that night and the following morning. April 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this property many times in the past. It's never been exemplary in any manner but my most recent stay was ridiculously unacceptable. First, as I checked into the hotel, there was only ONE desk clerk when there was a line of 4 people waiting. Then the clerk made me stand and wait to be checked in while she dealt with an airline representative who was dropping off luggage for a guest. Once I was finally checked in and I went upstairs to my room, I was shocked to find the room not cleaned. There were empty soda, beer and liquor boxes and other trash left in a closet. Also left in the closet was a foil pan with fried chicken and baked beans, obviously left over from a party. The next morning, upon pulling back the shower curtain, there was hair in the floor of the shower stall. Long, dark, quite obvious if the housekeeping staff had bothered to look in the shower to see if it needed cleaning. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay I could not have been happier with my stay at the Sheraton Read House! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the club King room I stayed in was perfect. The bed was so comfortable, and the amenities were noticeable and appreciated. The front desk clerk (a very nice young man) upgraded me to a club room. I hope the management reads these reviews and recognizes their excellent staff that was working on 8/15/13 (around 10pm) -- they have won me over to staying at the Sheraton for my business trips to Chattanooga. This hotel far exceeds their competition in the Chattanooga market. August 18, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>