Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

  • 1433 Camino Del Rio South
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92108
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 358 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great one night stay What a surprise! Even though this hotel had mediocre reviews, we decided on staying at this hotel due to its close proximity to the Chargers stadium. When we checked in, the hotel staff took notice that we were Starwood members and what does that get you? How about a free upgrade to a remodeled room, that was outstanding, and also free breakfast! This made us feel special and happy that we chose this hotel. All future stays for Charger road trips will be book at this hotel. Only complaint, the bathroom did not have a hair dryer but the hotel staff brought us one so kudos to them. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything good except two factors I've been platinum members multiple times due to my weekly travels for 10+ years. This hotel seems to be small but good enough for most travelers. My only concerns are follows: 1. Not many restaurants in the facility: Just one restaurant. 2. Weekend breakfast hours at the gold/platinum lounge: Closing at 9AM on Saturday? This is the only Sheraton hotel I've ever seen where they close breakfast at 9AM on weekend. Waitress there told us that she close either 9 or 10AM. What? So she chooses when to close? I saw a couple of families disappointed after 9... That was quite ridiculous. May 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, needs some room makeover Stayed in the middle of September for a business conference: Positives - Great staff: when the gym ran out of ear buds, the front desk lady "Ashley" was helpful and gave me a free pair of ear buds from the shop - Exec lounge: Eric at the lounge provided great service and always made sure he had good food recommendations around the area Negatives - Was under construction at the time - Pool was very small like a bean - Gym only had a few machines in a room the size of my bedroom - Carpets had a lot of stains - Bathroom shower curtains were too close to the bathroom toilet September 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent visiter I frequently stay at this Sheraton mostly for business. The staff is very friendly and willing to make your stay more than enjoyable. Many thanks to David, food and beverage manager, the morning club room host (I forget her name), Alina, the evening club room host (so sweet) and Stephen in the restaurant. I can’t forget my friends Nazila and Emily in the business office. You all make me feel at home when I am on business and make my family feel special when I bring them. We can always find things that may need updating or improvements but please keep your wonderful staff! May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nicely renovated room; great location I have stayed at this property many times and the room update was definitely needed. My 10th floor room had been nicely done. Bed very comfortable, desk, club chair, etc. Bath vanity was a bit small, but that wasn't changed from the previous re-do. Two easy suggestions: There was no place to hang hand towels. They just laid on the sink. Also, how did they not add multiple plugs for re-charging phones, computers. Fortunately I brought my own power strip and unplugged a lamp. Nothing on the desk to plug into. Great breakfast for "platinum" members. Enjoyed it very much. August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Little dated - but the staff was Amazing!! The hotel needs a remodel but I definitely would stay here again. The staff especially Torreon was fabulous. I had a terrible drive and my day was not going well, but Torreon made my checkin a breeze. I had a concern with my rate but he let me know he would take care of any issues and just wanted me to relax and enjoy my stay. He was such a professional. My room attendent Maria was just as fabulous she left a hand written note and always followed my requests - all the staff we encountered were so friendly and helpful. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff From the time of calling to work out reservation, to check out, the staff far exceeded our expectations, we felt as if we were guests in their home. Thanks for a GREAT stay. June 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The staff was very courteous, but seemed unable to get a working coffee maker in our room. We asked twice to have our machine repaired or replaced. It only made a third of a cup of coffee each time we pushed the on button. After 2 requests, it was replaced with one that over flowed. We were invited to get coffee in the lobby. May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Friendly staff but... As the other reviews have all said, the building is in pretty bad shape. One of the two elevators was not in service which resorted to a very full elevator and long wait times. They did make the service elevator available but it didn't make things any better. They have gates for their parking lots but these were broken as well and required calling the front desk to have them open the gates when you wanted to park or when you wanted leave. The club level rooms were OK and included a balcony, however there was a huge stain on the carpet that was rather disgusting. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comments to Management re: recent stay We had to wait 30 minutes for our room to be converted from Feather to Foam even though this is listed among our preferences due to my wife's severe Asthma. Carlos at the front desk "smoothed" things over very well. Also, the traffic noise on Hwy 8 was very bad. Next time, I would take the "Hillside", which does not have a nice view. Also, Trish is a MVP employee with a great smile and glowing personality. May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amenities were good I had reservations for three rooms. Had asked for an early check-in but was aware not guaranteed. Arrived 2:45, only one room ready. Disappointing as we had plans for 5:00 p.m. 2nd room ready at 4:10, final room at 4:50. My guest could not be ready in time. However, we did get complimentary rewards for having to wait. Kudos to the bartender. Being a gold star Starwoods member expected better service. April 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unclean Room & Missing Ironing Board When I opened my door to my room, I quickly noticed the bed was not made to hotel standards; then I also noticed that the bathroom had soiled towels...it was apparent that the room had not been cleaned. I was shocked to say the least. I called the front desk and alerted them of the situation and within about 30-45 minutes someone came up to clean my room. I actually should have just requested a different room but I didn't. Also I had to alert the front desk that the ironing board was missing as well to make sure I did not get charged for missing item. December 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay for a quick overnight The staff is very accommodating. I stayed here with my family to celebrate an engagement in the family. The front desk was very friendly, we had contact with 3 different front desk employees and ALL were very nice and well versed. The extra attention that they gave to my 3 year old daughter was so nice of them! Congrats! I was a little surprised to find that the bed wasn't as comfortable as other Sheraton Hotels, which made me believe it wasn't a Sweet Sleeper? We noticed a large container truck and they were unloading beds, so I'm guessing not all rooms have been outfitted to Sweet Sleeper matresses. Regardless the staff made upfor the uncomfortable bed. I hope to stay again when the new matresses are in. Thank you front desk! July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room is great, internet and parking is horrible The room is great, clean, bright and comfortable. I am complaining their WIFI and parking. They charge you 10 dollars for the WIFI every night. I could not understand why they could not offer the real high speed internet, since they charge so much. The 10 dollar internet is as slow as DSL. They charge you 14 dollars for the parking every night. But their parking pass never worked. Every time you have to call the front desk to open the gate for you. They are making money on parking and WIFI, why they could not do it better to meet the minimum level? November 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Sheraton in a touristy location Soviet-style building located hard by the roadside in Mission Valley. Very noisy rooms on the freeway side--avoid. Except as way to goose revenue, there really is no reason why this hotel should be charging $14 a day for self parking in a surface lot. It is doubtful that they need to discourage stray parkers from the car dealership next door... Rooms are nicely furnished although bathrooms are mysteriously Manhattan apartment-sized. One of the smallest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel outside of NYC. Pools was murky the entire 4 days we stayed there. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was good like most Sheraton Hotels. This hotel was good. I stayed at this hotel for 11 days and they only had one working elevator during my entire stay. This was very inconvenient as the hotel was at full capacity. They also only had one trash can in the room which I thought was unusual. Most Sheraton Hotels I have stayed at have one located in the bathroom, one by the desk, and a recycle trash can in the main part of the room. The staff was great! I received great costumer service from Ripa (in the Club Lounge), Mark (in the Club Lounge), and Chris (at the front desk) during my stay. January 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a mess First night was fine, except for not enough towels for 3 people. They should know how many people will be in a room. Second day....left at 800am came back at 630pm...and our room was still not made up. I have NEVER had this happen. We had dinner reservations and began to get ready while my husband called for a maid. We were told they were booked and they would get to it...What!! I have to get ready, as if that was enough, then the power in our room went out...needless to say I went to dinner with friends a mess. When we came back, the room was done,,,,at 10:00pm....by then we had to hear the toilet run all night.....then all morning. We promptly left and checked out. Won't be back. And wherever I travel to I always try to find a Sheraton. I might reconsider this after this stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by our winter trip The hot tub was broken. After going out to it and discovering it was very cold fhe staff said "oh the pump is out sorry". For the next twk days it was still broken with others going out and never even a sign. The coffee pot never worked in the room nor did the one they replaced it with. There was a bad smell in the hall but especially in the elevator. When another person said something the staff said "oh it needs oil" it needed soap and water. The elevator was dirty for three days. On our second day there was no hot water. It was a disappountment December 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by While not recently refurbished, I still recommend, but needs to heat pool Positives: Great Staff, Great Bedding, Nice Flatscreen/Channel Choices, Nice Lobby and Restaurant, Nice Fitness Center. Negatives: 1) Slow elevators. 2) While the outdoor pool/spa area is nice, roomy and clean the temperature of the pool was too cold to want to get in on my stay in May 2012. I chose to return to this hotel because my daughter loves to swim and when we were there in March 2012, the pool was heated very nicely. With San Diego being such a vacation destination for families, I would think this property would want to heat the pool year round to a bearable temperature. San Diego in the summer time still has cool night time temperatures and and is often overcast. In general, I would recommend especially for business travelers. May 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Located in a great proximity to all San Diego has to offer. Fantastic front desk staff and club staff will make you feel welcome. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business travel This hotel is a great location for customer visits as you can get in and out very easily. My only negative is that I was embarrassed by the clerk on check in as she made it seem like I cut line when I went to the Preferred line and called over people from the other line and the woman that got called over made a comment. I did apologize for the appearance of cutting, but it was in front of my trainee and still felt uncomfortable. I would suggest not having up the sign for platinum preferred if you are just going to have people be in cue. January 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Mission Valley Hotel has been renovated since my last stay and looks very nice. Problem was lack of ability to upgrade as a Platinum member and was placed in a connector room that was terribly noisy. Occupant of adjoining room kept TV on until 4:00 in the morning and I was able to distinguish every word and show. Could here occupant sneeze..........unacceptable. The desk also did not offer amenities other than parking that are routinely given to Starwood members. I had to ask about lounge use and wireless internet. Nothing was presented to me in a written fashion only verified by desk clerk regarding the times and floor that access to lounge. Very disappointed in honoring Platinum Starwood status and a sleepless night did not leave me happy with my stay. March 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay in October 2012 It is nice hotel with a good location and fast connection to all major attractions. However - I would not recommend to stay at the rooms facing the front, because of the old design of the windows, it gets quite noisy from close by freeway. Also, higher floors are under direct lights from the reflectors in front of the hotel and you have to close the drapes, otherwise your room is like a theater stage. I don't understand, why they can't to turn those lights off - at least from midnight to 5 AM or so.... During our stay, the breakfast was temporary serve in miniature room with two table for three - total six people can sit, everybody else have to stand around and variety of food was missing. For quite a few people - it was just unacceptable. October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location; not cleanliness I expect The location was very convenient, close to restaurants, in between a golf tournament in El Cajon, meetings downtown, and La Jolla; friendly service, great comfortable beds and workspace that I have grown accustomed to, BUT cleanliness was not where I expect: Fitness center - no cleaning wipes and no towels either day, despite discussing with them the first day (apparently brought towels after I left, but didn't correct problem for next day) table in bathroom that clearly had not been cleaned from last visitor, again, corrected when I complained. May 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room is poorly designed Rooms lack amenities needed for business traveler. The outlets in the desk are limited and hard to find and the glass top table is useless for a laser mouse, which most are these days...I found it difficult to work in the room. Also, charging internet fees to Gold Level guests is a crime. I would not stay here again. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff/Newly Renovated I stayed at this propery March 2013 and must say it was nice to see the property has been renovated and nicely done. The staff at this property are exceptionally guest focused. They go out of their way to ensure every guests' needs are met. The one thing I do miss though, is the shuttle service. This Hotel had shuttle service from/to airport and shuttle service for the surrounding area. That feature is one of the reasons I always stayed at this propery in the past. It was a disappointment, to learn, that the shuttle service has been abandoned. March 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of Starwood Recognition Decided to try this hotel again after reading positive post-refurbishment reviews. Room decor is much nicer, but my refurbished room had a large crack beneath the smooth surface of the sink, rust in the tub and a missing bulb in the bathroom light fixture. The wait to check in (or to ever talk to the front desk) was inordinately long because the front desk employees are constantly interrupted by having to answer phones while they check in guests, causing those guests as well as those in line to wait long, long times. I found the staff less than friendly and not very helpful. Even with gold status only given an option of a room directly outside the elevator or across from a very noisy ice machine, even though reservation was made well in advance. August 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need improvements Good: The room is good with comfortable beds, also the location is good for those who drive around. The breakfast for the club-level is ok as well. Bad: Noise is big problem for the room facing the highway. The most disappointed: As a club-level access customer, i should have the free wifi in the club lounge, but it's stil charged on my bill for couple time, since i call the customer service who recognize the issue and promise to call me back, no one actually contact me to explain this later. It shouldnt happened to a hotel like Sheraton. May 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only Whe I have To Only one elevator. the other one was broken the working elevator was broken on 12/26/12 in the am room was beautiful but restroom should have been remodeled wne they did the room Jacuzzi tub is inoperable coffee/espresso machine water resivoir was empty my wife went to fill it and it was filthy club room was beautiful. Selection left a lot to be desired I had a lot of luggae- no bell service Club lounge did not have any water or soft drinks after 10 am Woke up on 12/28 to find my heater is not working Shower faucets did not work properly January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We travel to San Diego for a weekend away from LA a couple of times a year. We stayed at this hotel last year and again this past weekend post renovation. What a great job on the design and execution of the improvements. The room was terrific, very comfortable and great facilities - big screen TV, coffee maker and refrigerator. Also loved the new club room - we spent time just enjoying sitting with a cup of coffee it was so pleasant. The staff were very pleasant both at the reception desk and club room. Would definitely stay there again. January 14, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>