Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

The minimum age to check-in is 18 years of age.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 314 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but Love the front desk staff and the ambiance. The fitness center is very nice. The only two issues: I couldn't get the internet to work (nor could my wife and she had to cell tech support after being referred by the desk). Also, charging $2 for coffee when most places provide it as a complementary service is kind of crazy. Lastly, the breakfest buffet staff is not always the most friendly, but overall it's a good place to stay. March 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very loud large group of people having a very loud party in the lobby area until almost midnight. it is 11:38 now and still going on. called the front desk to complain because I couldn't sleep and have a very important interview in the morning. Joe at the front desk told me it was the bar area and it would be closed soon. "don't worry about it" is what I was told. I can't believe that I am the only one to complain about this. February 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy, understaffed This facility, while conveniently located, is noisy and understaffed, at least during my recent stay. Food and drink service in the grill was unsatisfactorily slow. June 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 Not a happy camper. Hotel had one washing machine located in an odd spot and a dryer that was out of service. The hotel book several softball teams months before and you should know all the teams need to do laundary. When we told the staff they where not helpfull at all. They were not sure when it would be fixed and they were not helpfull in pointing us to laundry facilities. Also the carpeting throughout the hotel is disgustingly stained. July 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcrowded, smelly, and outdated For the business traveler, this hotel does not provide a good work environment. There were people running around the hallways (this hotel has an open architecture design) and playing in the gym. The rooms are outdated, quite far behind other SPG hotels and other chains. The worst part is the bathroom smell you get when you walk in the front door...not exactly welcoming. Can't recommend this to the business traveler. February 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by GiffonMom I called and requested a room with double beds and was told it would not be a problem to just write that request when booking online.I did exactly as instructed and booked over a month in advance. Upon check in, we were told we had a room with a king bed. After being told they had no double bed rooms, I spoke to a manager to and was given a double bed room. We had to wait sometimes close to 10 minutes for an elevator. The breakfast buffet was expensive where so many hotels nowadays offer complimentary hot continental breakfast. The best part of our stay was Frank who made omelets at the breakfast buffet. He along with wait staff were very friendly. The bathrooms were very small as well. My husband had terrible service in the bar and had trouble just getting served cocktailsfor his group.I had high expectations for a hotel with a Sheraton name and was greatly disappointed. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs maintenace The hotel has an awful sewage smell and needs better maintenance. My shower didn't drain and had rust on the bottom of the tub. The shower curtain also wasn't clean (mold) and the carpet outside my room was threadbare and pulling up. I also didn't like that the front desk treated even your paperwork differently depending on which level of starwood member you were. I would stay elsewhere other than this property. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Staff and Experience Jon is a fabulous asset to you company! He provides great customer service. He always meets and exceeds my expectations when I make a request. And he does simple things like remembers my name from visit to visit! You know how nice that is to return to your hotel and be called by my name? This is by far my favorite hotel to stay in when I have to be away for hockey trips! Your beds are also the most comfortable! January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Breakfast was lousy! Breakfast buffet was ok, nothing fancy. My son ordered off the menu, took almost 20 minutes to get two eggs, toast and bacon. When he did finally get his breakfast it was cold, not even room temperature, cold. Very disappointing. We could have walked across the street to McDonald's and gotten a better breakfast for half the price and it would have been hot! Needless to say, we did not return to the restaurant. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just misses a few things The property was clearly constructed for a different hotel group so the experience doesn't feel quite "SPG" though they've probably done what is possible given the structure. The suite rooms are nice but the work space is poorly lit. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient location Hotel room was very comfortable. glad that I upgraded the room for the extra space. easy access to I-35 for travelling in the area. requested early check-in, which was available. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average The whole experience was average - and cost too much to be average. The carpeting on my floor was clearly old and worn. The room was okay - but it took a long time to get hot water from the sink and the tub. And it took a long time for the tub to drain - so I ended up having to take a shower in standing water because I had to let the water run so long to get warm water and the tub barely drained. February 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not good Poor service by wait staff. Food was lukewarm, or undercooked. Staff in catering/restaurant were rude. Three people at bar, and not one could take the time to recognize the customer and say " I will be with you in a moment" but instead ignored the customer. Not a friendly pleasant hotel. Rooms were also all cold, many members of group complained of temperature of meeting rooms and public areas. November 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel smells and is dirty. The rooms smell terrible and are stuffy. The carpets are filthy and even the "hallway" outside the rooms smell. They don't leave a notepad and pen in the room - even the cheapest motels do that. The hotel staff provided wrong information when called directly in advance then denied they were even called, said I called the 800 number. If the conference wasn't in the hotel I would have checked out. June 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Time for an update The interior of the guest rooms are in need of an update. Simple updates have been completed (counter tops, shower surrounds, etc) but the rest of the details should been looked at as well. Carpeting was stained/dirty, towels should be replaced due to wear and stains, interior doors should be replaced/refinished and caulk in bathroom should be applied with care (not 2-3" wide, looks sloppy) November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay for family or convention This is the second time I have stayed at the Sheraton West Des Moines and it is a great place to stay from rooms to staff. They are very responsive to your needs and help in any way possible. I have been so satisfied I do not even look around for another hotel. It is located close to dining, shopping, and easily accessible to the interstate. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Older hotel needs help. Not great for the price. First, the positives: Staff very friendly - everyone we had contact with from the front desk to the janitor in the hall. The breakfast buffet was great - the price was reasonable and the food was excellent and the staff took great care of our family when in the restaurant area. The room was very clean. Bed comfortable. Starbucks coffee/Tazo tea in room was nice. Negatives: The room was really dark, even during the day. Lighting was not good. Internet was SLOW and cost $10. When a second device was connected we were charged another $10. The front desk nicely took off the charge, but it was annoying. Don't try to purchase an in room movie. It took 5 phone calls and a trip from the "technology engineer" who unplugged our TV and plugged it back in, to finally get it working. Then it started in the middle. And it cost $19. 2 more phone calls. Finally got to see the movie. Pool okay - but no hot tub. Carpet in room was very worn and threadbare. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met my needs I thought the hotel and room were dated, but overall, it met my needs. The toilet made a god awful noise when filling up after being flushed. The food in the restaurant was great. The staff was super. The fitness room had everything I needed. May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfactory We stayed two nights this past weekend and had a good experience. We staying on the king room with the pull out couch. My kids enjoyed the large window in the room and the couch was comfortable. The shower was a good size and the coffee was nice. Could have really used a microwave and fridge though, we travel with small children and that makes or breaks a hotel for us. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel My experience was really good starting with the reservations and going through check-in, the room, the restaurant. My only complaint is that there were a group of wrestlers there working out, and they went directly into the pool without showering. They were sweaty and smelled and took their workout clothes off and had their trunks on. They just dove in. Kind of gross. March 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Property Room had a somewhat musty smell. The mattress is not overly comfortable. Overall this property is on the tired side. I had to ask the check in clerk if my Starwoods number was on the reservation. May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by review everything was great except the mattresses were very hard and we only had 3 towels in our room not 4. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noise Our room was an average hotel room. A little small, but the price was right. The staff at the front desk was excellent. Every question I had, they had an answer and always with a smile. It was a little noisy. There was a lot of young wrestlers staying in the hotel over the weekend and they ran up and down the hallways, A Lot! The breakfast buffet was also average. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful staff Had only one night's stay; was attending a conference. Drove in to town early morning and was able to check into my room early during a late-morning break in meeting activities. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating. Also, restaurant and service workers were very pleasant and well-trained in customer service. Keep up the good work. Thank you. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Employee This is a very clean and inviting hotel. Matt the young man that checked us in was excellent and helped us in every way. I had called earlier in the day for an early check in, due to a meeting time and he cheerfully helped to secure that time for us. We REALLY appreciated his help!! A very fine young man with a smile on his face at all times!! Thanks Matt!!!! April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is in a great location for the many activities in the Des Moins area. The rooms however, do need some updating, especially the bathrooms. Low water pressure in the shower and the decor is definitely from the 80's. Comfortable beds but the bedding is unusually loud (makes noise every time you move). All of these are minor issues for a great hotel. February 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissapointed I have stayed here before and I have to say this was totally unexpected. Tub backed up and not cleaned after fixed; needed toilet paper and had to call twice and go to the desk for it (took a total of 2 hours); was booked on shuttle to airport and when I arrived at desk was informed that there was no shuttle scheduled so I had to pay for a cab. Not good. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by sheraton 6/2013 I would review the facilities overall as a 4 out of 5. My only issue was that the noise from the lobby atrium was substantial until midnight and kept me awake. I was not rested the next day, even though the room, bed, cleanliness, etc. met my expectations. The AC could have blocked the noise, but I was not able to it to the right temperature. Too cold. June 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice stay for conference Nice facility for a 1.5 day conference. Meeting rooms and vendor area were nice. As for the room, I did not spend a lot of time there but felt comfortable and secure and was nicely decorated. Bed was way to soft for my taste. The only downside was that the lounge closed at a specific time regardless of the fact that it was full of paying customers. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference at this hotel is great Conservation Districts of Iowa held the annual conference at the West Des Moines Sheraton the first week of September 2013. All the meeting facilities with screens, electronics and audio were very well provided with staff assistanct as needed. Meals were delicious, attractively presented and served with great speed. Thank you for a great stay. September 6, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>