Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

  • 777 Waterside Drive
  • Norfolk,
  • Virginia
  • 23510
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 461 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has it all! My first stay in a SPG hotel. This hotel was in a fantastic location with many attractions within walking distance. Easy access to the parking garage, comfortable, clean rooms. The staff members were friendly, accommodating and met all requests with a smile...not an easy feat on a Memorial Day weekend. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Hotel has an ideal location We had no water pressure, along with no hot water for a shower. We were bombbarreded with college kids that had no respect for other people, and if they had chapparrones they could have cared less about the respect of other guests at the hotel. We damn near got trampled by the students trying to get out of the elevator. They did not give us the opportunity to get out of the elevator before they flooded in. Had I not been going to my brother in-laws Captain Promotion Ceremony on the George H. W. Bush, I would have had someones head for the disrespectful way that the students trappled us and would not let us off of the elevator. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noise and Unconvenience! My family and I picked Sheraton over the list of recommended hotels for a wedding we were attending. We usually have a good stay at Sheraton properties, but this one was not one of them. Our first night stay was interrupted by a running toilet that we decided to have fixed manually ourselves just for the night. We were rudely waken by some early morning drilling above our room. We called the front desk about it and our problem of the running toilet. When my wife took a shower, the shower head arm came off. So that was one more thing to fix in the bathroom. The drilling had stopped, but the bathroom maintenance held up our hygiene preparations for the wedding. October 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay The hotel is old and needs updating. Inside the room the bed was needing to be replaced. The toilet didn't work properly. Overall just worn out. Location is great. June 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissapointed When I booked this hotel I thought this has to be a great hotel. Its a Sheraton and its on the water. The breakfast buffet was not up to par.. The eggs tasted like powdered ones and the made to ordered waffles were nothing special. We also never got our room cleaned one day during the four we were there. The menu and features about the hotel were paper and two pages were missing. I have been in cheaper hotels and even they had their info in a nice book. I also thought we were going to be on the water and was disappointed to fine we were not. The only really good thing I can say is the staff was very courteous and friendly. September 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by no espn you do not have espn in your bar. what bar does not have espn. bartender said she you did have it but you dont now. Why??? Tell you employess why so they dont feel inadequate you also dont have espn on the treadmills in the work out room but you have it listed on the card on the machine. you also need a sign on the glass wall above the trash can that holds the wipes to clean the machines. hard to see that small holel also ceasar salad is terrible. you need a new dressing she crab soup very good. no robe in the room and tv was uplugged and would not turn on. I figured it out before maintenance guy got there he made a bum run valet parking is too high for $22 February 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement While we had a special AAA rate and am a SPG member, was not recognized at check in. Had to call to find out internet password (which was no charge), however, we were charged at checkout and while the lady at the front counter tried to credit our account, we ended up with a partial credit. While hotel was advertised as having updated rooms, the carpet was used and filthy, a small banged up refrigerator was placed in the middle of the room, which we moved under the desk. The walls were extremely thin in that we constantly heard people talking in the hall -- when we went to check -- they were in their rooms! Bed was hard and did not sleep well. Overall, bad experience. November 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Surprising disappointment I was beyond disappointed with this hotel. It did not matter whether I was an SPG Gold member. I was told that this hotel did not participate in SPG member benefits as with other Sheraton hotels i.e complimentary wifi, club room access/purchase option etc. In fact there were no perks and even worse they placed us into a room where the AC did not work and there was a rancid odor in the room. My family became nauseous and so we requested a different room. We had to settle for one without the microwave, fridge and working hair dryer. It was the first time I've stayed at a Starwood property and could not wait to check out. August 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs an update The hotel is in a great location with a good overall staff but it is in need of some work. Some of the negatives were dirty sheets, counters that were not cleaned, filthy tub floor and very worn rugs. The furniture in the room was a mix and match theme. It was impossible not to hear each and every door as it slammed shut. In the pool area there were bird droppings on the chaise loungers that were not cleaned up the four days I was there. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Water Feature! The waterside location is delightful. You can stand on your balcony relaxing while watcingh the ships, boats, paddle boat, naval ships, yachts, or anything else moving along the water. The rooms are small, but they are comfortable. Beds were sooo comfy. Staff was very accommodating. Nicer than average. May 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Great location; friendly, polite, and helpful staff; well-priced. Room was comfortable and spacious, with comfortable beds and pillows and good temperature control. However, it was very shabby. Lounge chair cushion was worn open and stuffing showed through. Other side was fraying and stained. Bathroom door looked chewed up at bottom, hinges were rusty. Fridge angled strangely in corner behind chair. Room needed restoration. May 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at many hotels in the states. One of terrible things about this hotel is customer service. I ordered food from an outside restaurant and gave permission for the pizza guy to come straight to my room. The front desk person was rude and simply said it was the hotel's policy that the pizza guy can't come straight to my room and deliver the pizza. No further explanation from the front desk. Please explain your policy and don't be rude. February 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Customer Review I am giving the hotel one star rating only because my reservation expectations were unfulfilled. My reservation was for 7 rooms with harbor view near each other. When my foreign national guests and I checked-in, we were scattered throughout the hotel. Several of my us were given leftover corner rooms on second floor with no views. When I asked about the situation, a receptionist explained that corner rooms on harbor side are technically harbor view rooms. If that is fact, I recommend changing "harbor view" to "harbor side". There was no explanation as to why we were not in the same area per our reservation. Other aspects of the hotel was fine. Continental breakfast was excellent. August 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Location - Housekeeping Needs Help The hotel was in a good location, we had 9 rooms reserved. Valet was great. However, almost all the rooms were very dirty with hair on towels, stained sheets and overall extremely dirty rooms. Our entire group commented on this. Hope you can work on housekeeping. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attention to Detail I booked the hotel for the Memorial Day weekend. I have stayed at other Sheraton hotels before and have been very satisfied. This is normally a good brand and reasonably priced but, the Norfolk Waterside property left me sorely disappointed. Everything about room was fine on check-in. On day two of our stay we returned to the hotel around 10pm and the room had not been cleaned, nor had linen or towels been replaced. The morning that we decided to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant, the place setting...specifically the glasses, were disgusting. I wish that I had a picture of it so that I could post it with this review. You could tell that someone had drunk out of it, there was a ring of what looked like donut glaze on the lip of the glass and possibly on the linen napkin as well. We went out for the day and again returned to a room that had not been cleaned. This was the second time and second day that we had to call down for service. I was not happy. It's the little things sometimes that can make a stay good or bad, and this was just unacceptable. Overall, great location and a nice view but...attention to detail, or rather lack there of made this a not so great stay. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel This hotel what nice, clean and friendly. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy/rundown hotel Very disappointed. Walls must be paper thin; people talking in room next door woke me at midnight, 2 AM, 3 AM. Called front desk each time; at 3:30 I told them to move me to another room. Security came to my room and said he could not hear anything; called front desk when I insisted that they move me. Next room was adjacent to elevators; conference attendees very noisy getting off elevators till after midnight. Rooms/lobby need serious updating. No WiFi in rooms. Was charged for Internet even though I asked for Internet as my Lifetime Gold amenity. Fixed at checkout. Self parking is very inconvenient. Long walk in the open. At least it was not raining during my stay. I will not stay here again. September 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great staff, ok hotel My husband and I stayed here for a night on our way to the outer banks. I am a platinum member and travel quite a bit. The hotel had a great location, rooms were just ok, water pressure was lacking but the size is what I would expect. The staff were just amazing helping me with some work related items and they didn't even hesitate. My biggest issue was the TV. You cannot plug an IPAD or an HDMI cable since they want you to rent their 20 dollar movies. Overall between the staff and location I would come back but they need to update their tvs. On the Battleship Wisonsin is amazing! November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is centrally located The view was beautiful from the balcony. The beds are so comfortable, you don't want to get up! May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hats off to terrific customer service. I was celebrating my birthday and attended a concert on Sunday evening. Upon check-in I asked for an compilmetary up-grade and it was available. I don't remember the associates name, but a big thank you to him. Monday morning I looked at the time wrong for breakfast in clubhouse. When I arrived I realized I had less than 10 minutes before it would close. The associate, Kim, assured me I could sit and enjoy my meal. I didn't want her to have to stay because of my lateness, so I placed food on my tray and took it to my room. Less than 2 minutes later a knock at my door. I left my bowl of fruit. A special thank you for her customer service and friendliness. Both of these employees are an asset to you company. November 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by room without a view When we made our reservations, we upgraded to a "harbor view" room. However, when we got to our room (330), we discovered the view was completely obscured by a large tree. No view at all. May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some attention to detail needed Hairs from previous occupant on shower walls. Partial can of iced tea (from previous occupant?) still in fridge. Fridge is noisy & doesn't cool well Vending machine out of service on 7th floor; Ice machine out of service on 8th floor--no note providing alternate locations for beverages or ice--would have been a nice touch. All the above are minor annoyances that detract from an otherwise exceptional facility. May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Needs Improvement When entering the hotel for a 2-day conference, the inside of it was very cold; meeting rooms we were in were freezing. Participants had to wear sweaters/light jackets. We asked that the temperature be raised, but the temp. was never raised. The furniture in the my hotel room was dusty/shabby, & bedskirt had stains like spilt coffee on it. When valet brought my car to me when I was leaving, he ran my tire upon curb and marred the tire (I had a witness), then he ran off. April 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Room My room was absolutely filthy! The carpet looked as if it had not been vacuumed in week or more. The furniture/desk was dusty and the chair was filthy as well. I was covered with hair and dirty spots from food and beverages had been spilt. The cleanliness of the bathroom was just as bad. The floor had dirty spots and hair. The toilet itself was not clean and was very dusty. The tub was even worse as it had a dirty ring and also had hair in it. I had to purchase cleaning supplies to clean before I would use it. In addition, the water in the tub was draining slowly. I had to turn the shower on/off so the tub would not fill up while I was showering. I did make the front desk aware. This was a terrible experience! June 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience We spent two restless nights in this hotel. The air conditioner was very loud when we tried to cool the room and when we turned it up the noise would quit but then it would get so hot we were unable to sleep, not a good situation for my granddaughter who was attending a convention and dance competition. All the staff was friendly and tried to help but the request for someone to come and move the sofa sleeper so we could open it well that didn't happen and my daughter had to sleep on it as was. We were on the member floor and expected a refrigerator but no...I was told that they were on a first come first serve basis ...really? On the member floor no refrigerator ? The hotel was clearly not prepared for a full hotel. During peak time the club room was very packed and not enough food for everyone. Not a good experience at all. We will never come back and will tell others if asked about our experience. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Hotel is in a great location. Able to park the car and walk on foot to most of the area attractions and restaurants. Staff at the front desk was helpful and met our needs. The part that needs improvement is the housekeeping. Besides emptying the trash, making the bed, and replacing towels nothing else was done. Room glasses were not exchanged for new glasses. Glasses that were left from a room service order on Thursday night were still in the room when we checked out on Sunday. Also had to track down a housekeeper and ask for toilet paper because that was not replaced. September 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We were at Sheraton Norflk for an overnight stay and it was really a memorable experience. The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. I especially liked the soft pillows. However, I felt the common area, the carpet pathway was a bit worn out. The hot breakfast was great with wide variety of options including fresh omelets cooked as per our ingredients in front of us. A pleasant harbor view walkway in the morning was excellent. All the staff members was very helpful and the valet parking option was really convenient as we reach late in the night and it was raining. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful location Great shopping nearby; our room had a balcony overlooking the water; dinner cruise on the Spirit of Norfolk was great and many other sites to see. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great food in bar Was very late arrival but the Bar was wonderful in providing a great dinner May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by too expensive The hotel was beautiful but wat too expensive! I have stayed in rooms just as nice that didnt cost near as much! Almost passed out when i found out that parking wasnt even free, wow, nvr heard of such a thing! The cost took away from my vacation. I altho appreciated u allowing my dogs to stay as they are a part of my family. U shldnt claim they r free whn u included thm n my price tho. Overall wld not stay here again bc i can go to oceanfront and do better for the price n dont have to pay to park! The harbor view i was suppose to get wasnt much of a view! August 23, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>