Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 21 años de edad o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with noisy neighbors I had to call 3 times on Saturday night starting at 12:26 AM, to report the noisy next door neighbors. The 3rd time I called, the front desk told me that they were having a party and that security gave them a warning. I told him it was 1 o'clock in the morning and my adjoining room door let all the noise into my room and it sounded like there were 100 people in that room. He said he would attend to it himself, and then the noise stopped. Unexceptable June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review This hotel has historic significance, which is part of its charm, although you don't feel that from the very modern lobby. The bathroom in the room had a certain "industrial" feel to it which was unlike other Starwood properties where I've stayed. In other Starwood hotels, I felt very warm and friendly front desk staffs. The experience here was different. I was also disappointed that when I made my reservation (via phone to SPG). I was told I'd be on a club level for my trip with certain benefits, but there was no club lounge available during my stay. It's a case of missed expectations. The hotel's location is fine--a comfortable walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We ate in the restaurant; the food was good and the staff there was helpful and friendly. I normally don't review hotels, but felt like I needed to with this recent experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Stay in San Antonio It was our wedding anniversary, and when we arrived at the beautiful, historic Gunter Hotel, I turned into a "bride" again! The lobby immediately begins the spell of by-gone splendor with dazzling chandeliers and plush carpeting. The amazing corner room with its King-sized bed, covered in luxe white bed linens, and the dark wood-slatted windows gives one the feeling of elegant, seductive seclusion. From our check-in to check-out, we were enchanted and will definitely return, again and again. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jewel in the Heart of San Antonio This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel in several years, and it will be the first of many. The newly renovated Club Lounge is top notch and when I saw that the offerings were fried quail and lamp chops I was hooked. The complimentary beer and wine doesn't hurt either, as well as the congenial Club Lounge Staff, particularly Joseph.... August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more First time in SA. As Starwwod owners, this was the first hotel that did not honor a late checkout request. The Restaurant Market on Houston is not ready for prime time. The service was ...odd, the food, bad. On the upside, we realized my husband had left some clothing articles in the closet. We live in Ca. My call was promptly responded to and the clothes were found and are being returned. July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what my first visit was. Restroom in room to small, couldn't shut door without trouble, outside noise very bad. Bar/restaurant service slow/bad had to hunt them down to pay out., waited at least 20 for someone to come around. Did not receive the AARP discount, nor free parking and breakfast like advertised. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel is below Sheraton standards. There was a rectangular vacant spot on the wall of our room, which appears to have been a mirror at one time but now is only a discoloration with seven holes in the plaster. There was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel has only something resembling a coffee shop but no real restaurant with a real menu. Glad the Palm and Bohannan's were next door. The staff, especially in the lobby bar, were great. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, could be cleaner Great stay overall with all equipment in good condition and 2 Showtime channels make for good entertainment, but tiled flooring for some reason was not very clean. You can't tell walking around barefoot unless you have sensitive feet or until you go to shower and the black grime comes off in the wet tub. Unfortunately I was too busy with work to use the fitness room or pool. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great San Antonio Down Town Hotel Hotel gives you a sense of welcoming and is a very nice old hotel with great history. Valet parking an average service, no what you expect from Sheraton. Check in process very disappointing with unprofessional attitude. Room was very clean and comfortable, really nice place to relax and enjoy your stay. Check out process quick and smooth with a very professional attitude. Overall really nice place to stay and change in culture on associates needs to change to a more polite attitude. May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My concerns The concern is mostly with billing. I presented a company check to cover expenses and yet i was billed on my debit card. Bank and hotel accounting have me back and forth ..and i am still out my money. Being in a room right across from the ice machine was not very restful--kept getting woken up all night both nights. And finally i received a quote from this hotel on 12.00 self park but arrived to find out that this was not an option at this hotel only the 30.00 per day was an option May 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Making it too generic We have stayed at the Gunter since 1991. We have seen many changes through the years. However, now, you have made this beautiful hotel too generic and modern, trying to stay up with the others. It is truly sad. Many of the main attractions for us to stay here is the beauty and history and pictures and information of the stories to tell of its' inception. There is nothing there anymore. Only 3 pictures on the wall in the main lobby and only one sitting area in front of the registration desk. It has become plain and desolate and doesn't have that 'Welcome' feel anymore. I told my husband I am not sure if I want to stay here anymore, due to all of the changes. Unfortunately. I have had birthday cakes of my own made here, I have had them made, have had made many memories here with lots of family and friends. October 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retired US Army Officer This was the 2nd time we have stayed with you and my wife is cliniquely deaf, could not use the benefit of closed caption to watch our favorite evening shows. It was our 53rd Wedding Anniversary and my 74th Birthday and we were looking forward to staying with you because of the proximity of the River Walk and St. Marys Church services. The two technicians visited our room and said they would fix it, nothing, though I asked the desk the next am, same, nothing! May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Staff This was one of the friendliest hotels I've ever stayed in. Our Gold SPG status was recognized from the beginning of our stay. Upon check-in, we were immediately upgraded to a Club Room. The room was huge and very clean. The night before check-out we requested a late check-out for the next day. They said "no problem", what time would I like. We were looking forward to their heated pool, but because it is surronded by high buildings, it is never in the sun. The hotel is located in the center of the downtown area and everything is easy walking distance from the hotel. It is surronded by restaurants and bars no matter which way you turn when you step out of the hotel. A public shuttle stops right in front of the entrance to the hotel. When we return to San Antonio, this is definantly the hotel we will stay in. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Stay was great. Mr. Harrison, You may rest assured that our visit was everything that one would expect from a fine hotel. My wife and I were impressed from the beginning until we drove from your parking area. Your employees were very friendly and most helpful. They were readily available when needed and actually answered every need promptly and courteously. Thank you for a wonderful treat and we will stay at your hotel should we return to San Antonio for business or pleasure. Sincerely, PAP November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very accomodating The new concierge floor is a key element for me as a business traveler. August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Under Welmed on my first visit The room was so Small...it is by far the smalliest Hotel room I ever had. We had bought a package deal and the GC we were supposed to get was given to us with a ZERO balance and a manger never called us back to fix it or talk to us about it. the room was so musty and the AC never stopped blowing it was so loud and the humidity in the room was off the charts high! I it is pretty place, but I was dissapointed in the comfort. The pool area was like being in a walled compound.. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is pet friendly! The main reason I booked this hotel was the closeness it was to The Majestic and The Riverwalk and they let my dog stay with no extra fees. My dog is small to medium and is no trouble and so I wish other hotels would follow Sherton's lead. The bonuses were that my reservation included valet parking, a food and beverage credit, heated pool and a fitness center. However, the hotel is under construction and the heated pool and fitness center were closed. I was really looking forward to the heated pool. I even brought my bathing suit. I don't regret my stay but I was disappointed with all the repairs going on. I'm not one to make a big deal out of it but if you have high expectations based on the website's pictures and amenities, don't book here. I would come back just because my dog can stay here and the room was clean. January 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not to Starwood standards Negative: TV system went out. No decent Hotel services guide in the room. Had to ask for one and got a battered copy. T.P. holder more than an arm's distance away from the commode. In a noisy environment. There were ear plugs provided among the amenities. Iffy coordination between the restaurant and the billing system. Very slow service and iffy service in the restaurant. Positive: PLENTY of sockets. Very comfortable mattress. Lots of towels. Friendly staff. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful Staff!!!!! This hotel was fantastic. The staff is so helpful. The hotel is very clean. Housekeeping had my room clean by 9:30am each day. The airline lost my luggage and one of the front desk clerks (Patrick) went out of his way to help me locate it, even going to San Antonio airport to pick it up for me once I found out the airline wouldn't deliver it. I was without my luggage for two days and everyone went out of their way to try to make my stay as comfortable as possible. April 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but needs work We were told by the booking agent at Sheraton that this hotel was 5 stars, however in our opinion it's too run down to be this level. In our room, the vinyl on the desk chair had peeled to about 50% off. The carpet in the bathroom had stains, shower grotty and the room was overall kind of average. The pillows were so high our necks were sore the next day. The staff were excellent, especially the bell service guy and checkin was fast. Buffet breakfast was great. In any other country this would be 3-4 star rating. If they cleaned the carpets, changed the pillows and replaced the desk chair I would recommend it. Perhaps the cleaners aren't notifying hotel management of any issues. We mentioned the chair during checkout (actually took a photo and showed them) and the woman was shocked. I wonder if it will ever get changed.... August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton Gunter Hotel - Always Welcoming The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is an unique historic hotel. You feel like you are stepping back in time when you enter the hotel. Soon after arriving you will notice the staff's commitment to service. They see to it that you are well taken care of. On top of that the restaurant in the hotel is fantastic with excellent servers (never had to ask for a refill - they are on top of that). Their breakfast buffet was delicious! Will stay there again - no doubt about it!! October 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has great potential! This location is undergoing some rennovations and I believe it will fix their biggest issue...the noise. It is a historic property as should be expected to have some of the issues that come with that. The rooms are very noisy (outside traffic/rooms next door). Other than that, the bar is great, the internet was great and staff was very friendly. I did have an issue getting toiletries replenished. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for business travelers October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has a great location We came down for a performance at the Majestic Theater. The hotel was right across the street. Fabulous location! Great room. The only problem was when one of the other guests pulled the fire alarm and we had to evacuate the building at 4:30 in the morning! Some of the older guests had problems getting down the stairs. The desk person, possibly the Manager, was very accommodating and comped us our parking and our room service charge for the inconvenience. May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by would not recommend We were disappointed in our room. The tub was dirty and the toilet leaked. Plus it was so small-no where to put your makeup kit. The A/C was so loud and didn't seem to filter very well. The carpet was very old and spotted. My husband a claustrophobic attack-which he has never had in his life. We had more expectations about the hotel since his parents stayed there on his father's return from WW2. In our opinion it has probably not changed much since then. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Girls Weekend Other than the strong turpentime aroma that filled my nostrils (and gave me a headache) at 2:30 am Saturday I guess our stay was okay. The staff were very friendly. Back to the turpentine incident - when I called room service I was told that they've been painting for weeks in the lobby and I was the only one to report the smell. Also the person I was speaking with didn't know what else to tell me. He did offer to switch rooms - really?!! at 2:30 in the morning he wants me to pack up my stuff and move. I also found out later that one of my roommates smelled that same odor at around 3am that same morning. I guess they finally stopped painting or fanned the smell away from the vents. Thank goodness! Just FYI - there's an option to park at a garage across the hotel for $9 per day. Hotel garage parking is $30 - this is a downtown hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room for improvement Very friendly staff but service needs improvement. Cleanliness is ok on the surface but don't look under the bed. We had to call for shampoo one morning because we didn't receive any the day before (and it was not because we opted for the "don't clean our room option for a $5 voucher" which we did take advantage of on other nights). The recent remodel should have focused on upgrading the rooms first. Bathroom in particular needed upgrade in our room. November 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Super disappointed I've stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past, but lately the charm has gone. While I miss the old look, I am ok with the new paint and boutiquey look; but the staff seems to have let the new look go to their heads. Not nearly as nice and hospitable as they once were (even though many are the same people). July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dirty The Pool was full of algae on all intakes. I have pictures of when I cleaned the mirror how dirty is was. the shower was disgusting. My son got spider bites on his legs from the room. Someone elses toothpaste on the tissue holder. Mole on walls in shower and the bath mat is disgusting, Soda was two years old in b akery gave me an upset stomach for two days. For the price which was to high I will black ball this from all conventions in the future. September 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but tiny rooms The hotel is nice, and close to the River-walk, but the room was very very small. New York City has bigger rooms. I could wash my hands in the bathroom sink while sitting on the toilet. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend stay Close to the River walk attractions. Quiet. We loved the room and the Club Level appetizers. Everyone was very friendly when we arrived. The next morning, club level breakfast was disappointing and there was no one to greet us like the night before. It just wasn't the same quality food or service. could have been an off morning. overall a good experience and would stay there again. June 23, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>