Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 21 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 379 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but needs work We were told by the booking agent at Sheraton that this hotel was 5 stars, however in our opinion it's too run down to be this level. In our room, the vinyl on the desk chair had peeled to about 50% off. The carpet in the bathroom had stains, shower grotty and the room was overall kind of average. The pillows were so high our necks were sore the next day. The staff were excellent, especially the bell service guy and checkin was fast. Buffet breakfast was great. In any other country this would be 3-4 star rating. If they cleaned the carpets, changed the pillows and replaced the desk chair I would recommend it. Perhaps the cleaners aren't notifying hotel management of any issues. We mentioned the chair during checkout (actually took a photo and showed them) and the woman was shocked. I wonder if it will ever get changed.... August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Sheraton Gunter Hotel - Always Welcoming The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is an unique historic hotel. You feel like you are stepping back in time when you enter the hotel. Soon after arriving you will notice the staff's commitment to service. They see to it that you are well taken care of. On top of that the restaurant in the hotel is fantastic with excellent servers (never had to ask for a refill - they are on top of that). Their breakfast buffet was delicious! Will stay there again - no doubt about it!! October 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by would not recommend We were disappointed in our room. The tub was dirty and the toilet leaked. Plus it was so small-no where to put your makeup kit. The A/C was so loud and didn't seem to filter very well. The carpet was very old and spotted. My husband a claustrophobic attack-which he has never had in his life. We had more expectations about the hotel since his parents stayed there on his father's return from WW2. In our opinion it has probably not changed much since then. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has a great location We came down for a performance at the Majestic Theater. The hotel was right across the street. Fabulous location! Great room. The only problem was when one of the other guests pulled the fire alarm and we had to evacuate the building at 4:30 in the morning! Some of the older guests had problems getting down the stairs. The desk person, possibly the Manager, was very accommodating and comped us our parking and our room service charge for the inconvenience. May 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Girls Weekend Other than the strong turpentime aroma that filled my nostrils (and gave me a headache) at 2:30 am Saturday I guess our stay was okay. The staff were very friendly. Back to the turpentine incident - when I called room service I was told that they've been painting for weeks in the lobby and I was the only one to report the smell. Also the person I was speaking with didn't know what else to tell me. He did offer to switch rooms - really?!! at 2:30 in the morning he wants me to pack up my stuff and move. I also found out later that one of my roommates smelled that same odor at around 3am that same morning. I guess they finally stopped painting or fanned the smell away from the vents. Thank goodness! Just FYI - there's an option to park at a garage across the hotel for $9 per day. Hotel garage parking is $30 - this is a downtown hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay!!! I recently returned from a trip to San Antonio and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio. I will say that although the hotel is going through some renovations the staff at the hotel made the property look as if there was nothing happening. The hotel is dated and truly a historical property. My room was outstanding although the tub and carpets needed to be replaced. I truly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. November 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dirty The Pool was full of algae on all intakes. I have pictures of when I cleaned the mirror how dirty is was. the shower was disgusting. My son got spider bites on his legs from the room. Someone elses toothpaste on the tissue holder. Mole on walls in shower and the bath mat is disgusting, Soda was two years old in b akery gave me an upset stomach for two days. For the price which was to high I will black ball this from all conventions in the future. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Grand Old Hotel If you are looking for a new, modern hotel, this is not the place to stay. If you love warmth, character and charm, you will find it here! From the moment that you walk in the door it is like a step back in time. All of the original Walnut paneling and woodwork are beautifully preserved. Staff is outstanding, especially in the club room. Pool was closed for remodeling, but did not have time to use it anyway, Will definitely stay here again! September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your wedding destination I was a guest here for a wedding my best friend was having in the hotel. The facilities provided for the ceremony and reception were among the best I have personally experienced. The guest room I was provided was excellent. Water pressure in the shower was not an issue, even on the fifth floor. The guest services were top notch. I was very impressed with their performance. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to San Antonio. January 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location But I am not going to be too critical of this hotel because of the history or the building. The common areas of the hotel are good and the location is right in the heart of the river walk and all the sights. But the rooms are really small especially for Texas standards and the bathrooms are just down right pitiful. No place to put anything or turn around. Closet space is limited at best and the room is very small. Not much of a view either. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could not sleep well at all The room on the sixth floor was noisy from the outside traffic and the AC, and then my colleague told us about the incident that happened on the sixth floor years ago. This made me uneasy and there were other strange noises heard on the third night. Out of our group of twenty plus people, only two of us, both women, were offered rooms on the sixth floor and we checked in earlier. I think your staff should be more sensitive about this. October 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very decent hotel If you want to stay close to Riverwalk, this hotel is the best option. It is two short blocks away from Riverwalk. The self-parking garage is one block from the hotel's parking lot. However, the breakfast for club members is very limited. There was no hot food besides the toast. The staff worked very hard and tried their best to meet our need. It's just not enough food for the club members on a Saturday morning at a short time frame. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Winter Getaway My husband and I just returned from the Sheraton Gunter Hotel in San Antonio and we were so impressed with the staff, amenities and location. Everyone of the staff were friendly and helpful. We found out some of the local places to eat from the housekeeping staff. The front desk clerk, sorry I cant remember his name made, getting around easy, even printing us directions to a local store that sold cowboy boots! The breakfast buffet was awesome and they had an omelet station that the chef would make them to order. I cant say enough about the hospitality of the staff, the beautiful historic facilities and of course the upgraded amenities like the pool on the second floor, the Club floor lounge, ( Thanks for everything Benjamin) and the Sweet sleeper beds. This was my first trip to Texas but it wont be my last. Thank You Sheraton for another fabulous stay! February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel room and ordering Food we checked in - front desk & valet person that evening AWESOME!!!, next day no service on cleaning the room, we called & askd for towels, they were brought and we asked why no one cleaned our room person stated I DONT KNOW, we never heard back from hotel on why :(. order a chesse cake from bar Saturday evening, wiated 20 mins never got anything, finally went to my room, i stoped front desk to let them know not to charge cause i did not get it. front desk person ( man) did not ask why or strange you did not get it (would you like me to check on it). he just said ok, i will remove it. i awoke and saw bill & it was on ther i then checked out and ask agent to remove it she said ok, no questions asked. seemed like a nice hotel but staff did not want to help or try to go extra mile to make sure we were pleased.. not a great impression for me to recoommned hotel August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel A slice of old world elegance right in the middle of downtown San Antonio. We had a great stay. This hotel definitely has more of a boutique feel, and its rich history is obvious from the second you step into the lobby. Staff was very attentive, room was super comfy, and it is right across the street from the Riverwalk. This was an incredible value. We'll definitely be coming back to the Gunter the next time we're in San Antonio! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceptional we stay here every time we visit san Antonio and as always it was great . the guest check in person, Victoria actually remembered me from my visit before 2 weeks earlier. the room was great and when visiting the bar the staff is always great as usual . it is very nice to visit a hotel where you see the same staff again instead of a lot of change over so they do remember you and you get to know them and have a great visit May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Lobby under construction and front door to main street locked. Had to go out garage exit to get to the front of hotel. Billing incorrect the first time. Had to go to front desk to remove internet charge (SPG member). Room was cold with great view and sounds of heating/cooling units on rooftop. No soft close on old room doors so heard load door closing until late in the evening. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter Has Great Atmosphere The Sheraton Gunter had great atmosphere, even though undergoing some renovations. The staff was very hospitable, and the room was very comfortable. Pool was a little small for lap swimming, but I managed to get in decent workouts each day. I especially liked the fact that the pool opened at 5AM, very early by most hotel standards but great for a working man who likes to swim before going to meetings. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Undergoing needed renovations The Sheraton Gunter is in a great location. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel was undergoing a much needed renovation, but the fumes in the lobby area were a bit much. I hope the renovations will continue throughout the hotel as the carpeting on my hallway floor needs to be replaced. The carpeting in my room also wasn't in great shape and needs to be cleaned or replaced. November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starting to show its age I stayed here three years ago, and the place was in great shape. This year, I got a better, more expensive "Club Room." I was shocked to find someone sleeping in the room assigned to me. The next Club room I was given was really showing its age: apparent mold on the bathroom door; very badly-worn chairs - one with missing chunks of the fake leather peeled off; & a poorly (and unsuccessfully) patched ceiling leak. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend stay! Great location and a wonderful historic hotel. Rooms were a great size and very comfortable. Bathroom not very big but it is a historical hotel and we were not in the room that much.The staff was awesome and friendly. Exactly what I would expect from a Sheraton. Parking charges were a little steep so we just parked across the street. If you are coming to San Antonio for the history....you need to stay here. November 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Customer Service I booked two rooms for my wife and I and our children. We wanted the rooms joining but none were available. We had a king which was 4 rooms down from their double queen. We were not comfortable with this so I went to the front desk and said we would take two joining double queen rooms. After searching, they found something and we switched. We moved to the other two rooms only to find out that is was a double queen with attached lounge area that went into another room with a king. We were very pleased with this. Later that evening, while having dinner, Patrick from the front desk called and stated that we were accidentally given 3 rooms. I went back after dinner to make things right and Patrick informed me that everything was taken care of, it was their error and to enjoy our stay. Wow. It is so hard to find service like that these days. Kudos to Patrick and everyone at The Gunter! August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old hotel in good location I have read some people complaining about this hotel saying there are worn items here and some age to it. Well, yeah, it has been here since the 1800s so there will be some wear. Being a Starwood Platinum member, I know my Sheraton hotels. This is comparable to most in terms of room decor and setup, but it also has that feel to it of an older establishment. The lobby is very cool if you like that antiquity of it, as is McLeod's bar, located across from check-in. The staff was very courteous both at check-in and in the lounge. The hotel is conveniently located just about a block from the Riverwalk. Being on the edges of the touristy area, though, means some of San Antonio's seedier residents may be wandering the streets around the hotel. Shady and seedy people, but mostly harmless. All in all, a good experience. I usually stay at the Westin Riverwalk but this hotel did just fine. June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A home away from home From the hospitality of the staff NATASHA AND RON at the front desk to the attention to detail with our needs by the housekeeping staff and the invaluable assistance of our concierge, we couldn't help but be so impressed with this hotel central to most everything downtown: Riverwalk, the Alama, fine shopping and fine restaurants like Bohanan's. I'd happily recommend it and I'll be back in September! March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Particularly Benjamin on the concierge floor lounge. He is a very people and customer centric person who started (and sometimes ended) our day with smiles and excellent service. We certainly were made to feel welcome in San Antonio by all the staff, but Benjamin was at the pinnacle of welcoming. Not a hotel you want to stay at when the San Antonio Spurs win a big game. The fans have a habit of driving through the streets honking their horns for hours and every sound from the street resonates through the rooms. We were on the 11th floor and couldn't get any sleep from 11 PM when the game ended until almost 2 AM when they finally all went home. Could use some refurbishing. The desk chair in our room was stained and ripped up to the point that we didn't want to sit in it. A grand hotel with a rich tradition, great staff but not in the same league with some of its neighboring competitors. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel exceeded our expectations. From the moment we drove up, the staff at the hotel made us feel welcome. Every member of the staff we encountered was Texas friendly and helpful. For example, my coffee maker didn't perk right and it was replaced immediately by the professional woman who cleaned our room. All questions were answered patiently and politely. I appreciated the green initiative and the flexible way it was applied. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic hotel with great value. We have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter on numerous occasions and always feel welcome by the staff. This hotel has "character" and is a great value compared to other downtown hotels. Access is easy. Vehicle parking is at the hotel, and you don't wait 15-20 minutes for your car which can be the case at some other hotels. The Majestic Theater is across the street, and the Riverwalk is a block away. May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stunning lobby in historical hotel The rooms/hallways need updating. The the elevators are slow, the hallway carpet is worn and faded and the original room I was given was horrible, small and dark. The meeting room -no plugs for laptops; the ladies restroom 3rd floor - too small. The food, both at the meeting and room service is very mediocore. Insufficient staff. and long delay in getting front desk or room service to answer. April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great service! The Sheraton Gunter Hotel in San Antonio has a great location downtown, a short walk from the River Walk. There's great restaurants and lots of things to do nearby. The hotel is older and has great character and charm. The staff (everyone!) at the hotel is very customer service oriented: they met or exceeded my expectations upon any request -- even offered to help before I asked :-). October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, pretty hotel, thin walls We visited the Alamo and the riverwalk, and the hotel was perfectly located for these activities. We stayed using Starpoints, so I don't know what the rates are if I were paying with $$$. Both Friday & Saturday night there were very loud groups that mingled in the hallways. I would suggest asking for a location as far from the elevator as possible, and use the earplugs that are provided. February 25, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>