The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical magnificence. Accommodating staff. ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My family and I checked in on a Thursday, I booked three Jr. King Suites. Upon arrival to the property, I was promptly and professionally greeted by the valet (of whom we later grew to better know as "Timmy"). Timmy promptly unloaded our baggage and delivered them to each of our 3 rooms. As I checked in I was assisted by the desk agent Ken who was exceptionally courteous and well mannered; [we had a minor setback after one of the sets of room keys failed to work, however Timmy the Valet rushed to assist by informing Ken of the issue. I went down to speak with Ken regarding the key issue, he offered his sincere apologies and explained they were currently in a transition with new room key devices. Ken kindly treated us to a couple cups of coffee and issued new working room keys.] After checking in, I briefly toured the first and second levels of the lobby. The architectural design and features are simply magnificent. The history of the Read House is quite interesting and makes for an exciting stay. ROOMS: As I mentioned, I booked 3 Jr. King Suites. 302, 404, 509. Each room was very clean, had excellent climate controls and appeared to have recently been updated. I was concerned that the rooms would be humid, unclean, and worn due to past reviews I had read which was the reason I decided to book the Jr King Suites (with the hopes that the suites would be better maintained.) The hotel is downtown so the views are pretty much a typical downtown view, nothing impressive when in Chattanooga, TN. I was pleased with our overall stay. Overall Property: As our rooms were in the newer wing of the hotel, I was curious to investigate the older wing. I went to the 4th floor in the older wing and walked the halls. It was noticeably worn and less kept than the rest of the hotel, there was even a dismantled, broken down a/c unit hanging out of the side of the hallway, it appeared as if it had been sitting in that condition for years . I am extremely glad I booked the Jr. King Suites and put myself in the newer wing. The Porters restaurant was great. The fitness center was above expectations and very well kept with all of the equipment functioning properly. The pool was not much to boast of, the waterfall was not on and appeared to be non-working, there was chlorine odor which was a bit strong for the pool area. I could not find a hot-tub anywhere. The club level was great, they offered a decent variety of snack items during dinner hours and a small breakfast during the morning hours. The climate in the club area was rather humid during mid-day but cooled down to a comfortable temperature during early morning and evening/night. Overall, prior to my arrival I had low expectations for this Sheraton property as I am accustomed to staying at Westin properties, however I was pleasantly surprised! I would absolutely stay at the Sheraton Read House again and again over any of the nearby hotels. For a Cat 3 hotel, they are above par in my opinion. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience While we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel due to car trouble that got us there late and in a tizzy to attend a wedding. The weather wasn't very cooperative as well..having car trouble in bad weather is never fun. The hotel accommodations were fabulous and certainly made up for our troubles in reaching our destination. Rich in history and charm, the hotel is supposedly haunted.. Apparently the ghosts are as friendly as the employees. Hats off to the valet guys...they were the best! Love the Starbucks downstairs. The location could not have been better. We will definitely go back and stay longer to enjoy this beautiful hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-end My wife and I enjoyed a week-end in Chattanoooga recently. WeI wanted to stay downtown so I booked us here. The staff was very welcoming as well as informative about places to go and directions. The room was super. We enjoyed the HUGE garden tub and the room was very nice, large, and inviting. I enjoyed having a table to sit at, drink my coffee, and read the Sunday paper. The sofa and desk were very nice as well. Some have bemoaned the size of the bathrooms, but ours was very nice, had two sinks, and was well stocked with products, from mouthwash to shampoo. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and we will come again! April 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful visit with out of state family As usual, it was an elite experience. My step daughter and family told us where they were staying on the way back through. We told them what a treat they were in for as it is our go-to place in Chattanooga. Needless to say all was enjoyed. Wish the silver ballroom was unlocked as it is one of the gems of the gorgeous property. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally Very Good All aspects of this hotel were fine with the exception of the quality of breakfast and afternoon food in the Club Floor lounge. In our Starwood experience, the Club Floor lounge serves a nice balance of hot and cold breakfast items and serves them well. Food items and serving items were not sufficiently present to meet the need of the guests present. No tea was available for us, and had to be brought up by the person in charge. Overall, the choices of food as well as the silverware, glasses, cups, etc. were minimal. There was plenty of fresh fruit however. Also, no complimentary wine or beer were available in the afternoon - unlike almost all of our previous Starwood experience. April 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worthy of the Sheraton name Front desk staff inattentive and inexperienced: Both keys stopped working one full day short of departure, apparently coded incorrectly. While my wife and two kids (one 2 years and the other 3 months) stood in the hallway I went to the lobby where there was a line 5 parties deep at the front desk. Stood at the Gold/Platinum SPG line while the two front desk people processed the other line without interruption; meanwhile - still standing at the Gold/Platinum line - called hotel main number, and hit "0" - call rang and rang with no answer until it went back to the main menu. This was repeated three times. Since Gold/Platinum line is ignored at this hotel, I moved myself over the the main line - wife and kids still standing in the hallway upstairs - and finally made my way through the line. Me: "Do you just ignore the Gold/Platinum line?" Reply: "We usually close that one down at night." Me: "Since there was no Closed sign I stood there for quite awhile." Reply: "Oh. Sorry." On checkout day, ironically, the Valet Parking guy was the only one who asked how my stay was. The front desk did not care enough to ask during checkout. Maintenance: The mattress was worn out. You can hear the springs making 'spring' noises and the bed was extremely lumpy on one side. The absolute worst "Sweet Sleeper" bed ever. And Sheraton's beds are my absolute favorite. Better even than the ones at "the competitor" - the one with the dial (reluctant to post the actual chain name for fear of having my review suppressed). The door to the room did not close on its own; when we first arrived the door was already open. And to top it all off - there was no hot water on the last morning. My wife, myself, and my son all took cold showers that morning. Kudos to ONLY: The in-house Starbucks - best licensed Starbucks I have ever seen; and Valet Parking - very good service. (And it's interesting that the Parking people appear to be a contracted company that's separate from the hotel-managed people.) Avoid this hotel. Many other options in the vicinity. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel with Great Food and Rooms Enjoyed my stay in the mini suite. Nice beds and pull out was perfect for my stay. Ate at the Steak house and had a wonderful hamburger with onion rings. Service was great. Would stay again. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Experience many problems with room r July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accomodating Being an SPG member I was upgraded to a great room. The staff from valet, to check in, to room service, to housekeeping was extremely accommodating. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's just ok Outside of location, there's nothing really exciting about this hotel. The building/rooms seem pretty dated and I struggled with the AC (either too hot or too cold) all during my stay. If my training class wasn't being held here, I would have stayed somewhere else. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work.... Hotel is in a great location and the lobby is very pretty. But the hotel needs lots of work.... The chair in our room had 7 stains (my son counted), the bath tub was cracked with the finish peeling off. The AC wasn't working - thankfully we called at 11 pm and someone came up quickly and was careful not to wake sleeping kids. The pool area was falling apart - really bad shape. Ate breakfast at Porters downstairs - got 2 cups of cold coffee. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful (but had stains on his shirt). Beds were comfortable. May 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay My wife and I stayed at the Read House one Friday this summer. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't anything great. We got a very good deal compared to other nice hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful. The location in downtown Chattanooga was great. The lobby area was beautiful. The room was nice but nothing special. It seemed clean overall, but my wife noticed some fruit loops partially under some of the furniture, and I stepped on what appeared to be a chicken bone, which I suppose is not easily vacuumed. Nothing was wrong with the bathroom, but I expected it to be nicer. Overall we did enjoy our stay. June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location. Overall accomadation was good. I would suggest a microwave/refrigerator for rooms and some type of complimentary snacks or beverages for guests. The hotel offers nothing for guests too "look forward to!". Finally, I would have liked to completely close the curtains in my room. I don't like light shining in the room while I'm sleeping and feel that my privacy is being invaded after bathing. The white sheers are light and transparent. Get your pool repaired! Inconvenient going to other hotels! Thank you. June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by historic hotel historic hotel with all the features and comforts of a new nondescript hotel . character and class. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel customer service is not at all satisfactory Our toilet overflowed 3 times within a 6 hour period. A very angry acting man came to the room and brought a "snake" (tool) to unclog it the first 2 times. The 3rd time a nicer man came and unclogged it with a plunger. It overflowed again afterward, and each time the water went through to the carpet and floors outside the bathroom, which can cause extensive damage. When I called the 3rd time, when we were about to check out in the early afternoon, they offered us a free breakfast!!!! lol, which they can of course write off in taxes. And no wonder there is a strange odor in the hall and rooms....nuff said! February 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My room and staff I was very happy with my room and the friendly staff. The hotel is amazing. Was disappointed in meal at meeting (too long to receive and it was tough & burnt). The policy on credit/debit card charges needs to be addressed! June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Short Trip Overnight stay in Chattanooga, TN. Nice older hotel, no view, just old windows from old part of hotel. But good hotel for area. Very over priced though June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk Staff is very helpful Hotel has the old charm that you want when visiting Chattanooga. My friends and I stayed there because of the ghostly stories. Last year we captured a shadow figure picture in the 3rd floor hallway. Intrigued we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. We did not capture any shadows but we did leave our room to go to dinner and when we returned we got a surprise. Our clean, unused towels were in the toilet and the bathroom trash can was knocked over. Ghostly or not, we don't know. But it was enough to validate the stories we have heard. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I will stay again! June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs a bit of upgrading This hotel was located right downtown amidst a great many places to eat and things to see. That was the biggest positive. Otherwise our room smelled like it used to be a smoking room. It reeked of old smoke. The carpet, wallpaper and drapes all were old, peeling, and discolored. The cost was fairly high so I would have expected a little better quality room. AND the pool was closed for an unexplained reason. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Wife and I stayed in Chattanooga for business/pleasure...The Read House is one of those hotels that have a "Rat Pack" ambience....It has a very large mahogany foyer and a smell of coffee and antiques. The facility was built in 1925, but is as clean as a pin. The hotel is in excellent condition. Overall, service was EXCELLENT, ( we are Gold SPG). The staff all went above and beyond to help. Breakfast was excellent, room was spacious and clean and bed was soft as a feather...Parking was easy and location could not be better for downtown nightlife...We loved it. I wished I could stay here for a week. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home Away From Home My son lives in Chattanooga, TN, so when I visit him, I always stay at the Seraton Read House. It really is my "Home away from home." I can always depend on the Seraton from the beginning to the end of my trip. Beginning with courteous boys who park my car and bring my luggage to the wonderful staff who remember me to my extra comfortable room (no pillows as comfortable anywhere) to the hot, strong shower to the club room to the restaurant downstairs with white linen table cloths and wonderful food to the free Internet to the spotless, impressive lobby. I'm already looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible visit Unfortunately my wife and I had a horrible experience. Our room was par but it was very very noisy. we heard every door close and every siren throughout the day. On the last evening (3:42am) someone pulled the fire alarm and of course we were down on the streets until the event was over. But the worst part of the whole trip was the knocking of my door 4 times from 9:14 to 1:01 by various people asking me if I was leaving. For some reason they did not talk to the front desk for I asked for a 2pm late check out. Needless to say we received very little sleep that night and the following morning. April 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this property many times in the past. It's never been exemplary in any manner but my most recent stay was ridiculously unacceptable. First, as I checked into the hotel, there was only ONE desk clerk when there was a line of 4 people waiting. Then the clerk made me stand and wait to be checked in while she dealt with an airline representative who was dropping off luggage for a guest. Once I was finally checked in and I went upstairs to my room, I was shocked to find the room not cleaned. There were empty soda, beer and liquor boxes and other trash left in a closet. Also left in the closet was a foil pan with fried chicken and baked beans, obviously left over from a party. The next morning, upon pulling back the shower curtain, there was hair in the floor of the shower stall. Long, dark, quite obvious if the housekeeping staff had bothered to look in the shower to see if it needed cleaning. September 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Old Hotel Solid hotel, just old building. Damp carpet in room, but A/C worked great! Be sure to check your receipt at checkout for parking if you don't use the hotel valet. They will automatically add it and I had to call and have it removed. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay I could not have been happier with my stay at the Sheraton Read House! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the club King room I stayed in was perfect. The bed was so comfortable, and the amenities were noticeable and appreciated. The front desk clerk (a very nice young man) upgraded me to a club room. I hope the management reads these reviews and recognizes their excellent staff that was working on 8/15/13 (around 10pm) -- they have won me over to staying at the Sheraton for my business trips to Chattanooga. This hotel far exceeds their competition in the Chattanooga market. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great up until.... Friend booked two rooms for the weekend, somehow he got charged for both rooms after I personally went down to the lobby to check out and told them I needed MY room charged to a different card. I gave them my card, watched them swipe it and they gave me my receipt. It turns out the wrong credit card was charged. I contacted the hotel and was told a manager was not available at the time but would return my call. The manager never returned the call to attempt to explain how this error could of happened. Never called to apologize the platinum member whose card got erroneously charged twice, this kind of customer service is why I wouldn't return to this particular hotel and also advise all my friends not to. September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs renovation The Read House is a beautiful old building ideally located in downtown Chattanooga. The staff is always friendly, helpful and efficient. BUT, the hotel rooms are in desperate need of total renovation. There are many more alternatives in this rapidly growing city and unless something is done to dramatically update this facility, I am going to be forced to seek alternatives, despite my loyalty to Starwoods. May 31, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>