Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar
  • Para hospedajes de más de 90 noches, llame al 866-539-3446.
  • Solamente puede reservar con un máximo de 550 días de antelación.
  • Vuelva a revisar las fechas.
1 habitación 1 habitaciones , 1 adulto 1 adultos , 1 niño 0 niños
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stay With A Few Exceptions Enjoyed the hotel overall. Used a combination of points and cash for a club level room, which was good overall. Now the exceptions. Bed was pretty hard and uncomfortable...not what you usually get at a Starwood hotel. The attendant in the club room made several disparaging comments about the food she was serving, not only to us but to others in the room. Very odd to hear the club room employee talk about how bad she thought the bacon was, or how the eggs are reconstituted and far from fresh. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club Lounge Needs Work The Club Lounge is a nice facility but not well staffed. Upon arrival, we asked to order a drink. I saw they served grey goose vodka, so I ordered a dirty grey goose martini. The very pleasant lady informed me that I would have to tell her how to make it because she normally works the front desk. I told her I would be happy to help. I asked if she knew how to make a martini and she said "no." So she let me in the back to see what I could figure out. I told her we needed a cocktail shaker and some ice, but there was no cocktail shaker. So I changed my order to keep it simple and asked for a Captain Morgan's and Gingerale. After a few minutes she told me that the entire hotel was out of gingerale. I asked if they had tonic water and she said yes. So I ordered a vodka tonic with lime. Someone had to bring lime wedges up from the lobby bar. If someone had to bring lime wedges from the bar, why couldn't they bring a dirty martini? If they cannot properly execute cocktails in the club lounge, they should probably just offer beer and wine. It seemed that staffing in the lounge might be a chicken and egg problem. I assume the lounge was not well staffed because hardly anyone was using it. But perhaps hardly anyone was using it because it was not well staffed. My key was not properly coded to access the club lounge and after several frustrating attempts, I had to go to the front desk and have the key changed. The following night, service at the lobby bar was excellent! I loved the shaving cream offered as a toiletry! One of the best additions ever. The room was comfortable and well appointed I had two rooms on the same reservation and they asked if I would like my statement e-mailed. I said yes, but I was only emailed a folio for one of the rooms. July 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not ideal for a working visit It as a surprise that the ethernet outlets did not work in the rooms. I was able to work at a table in the bar, but this was distracting and also not suitable for confidential work. The number of children attending for a softball tournament also made the hotel noisy and the pool/fitness center unavailable. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Not a happy camper. Hotel had one washing machine located in an odd spot and a dryer that was out of service. The hotel book several softball teams months before and you should know all the teams need to do laundary. When we told the staff they where not helpfull at all. They were not sure when it would be fixed and they were not helpfull in pointing us to laundry facilities. Also the carpeting throughout the hotel is disgustingly stained. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Titale The hotel is in need of repair. I stay here several times a year and each room smells, the carpet is dirty. I was not asked at the time of check in if I wanted to participate in the 'green' program. Very disapointing stay. July 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't bother How this place is currently getting four stars is a mystery to me. I am a frequent business traveler and this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in lately. It all started with having to fill out a guest card at the front desk, even though I am a Starwood Preferred member. Why? Then I get to ride the painfully slow elevator through floors of stained brown carpet to arrive at a matchbox size room. I thought, "At least it's a corner room." Ordered food delivery and it was held at the front desk. If I would have known that, I would have just went out. Watched TV until the rain knocked it out. Tried to use internet with several hundred softball girls staying here. Yeah, no. Then the best part of the corner room is that there is an ice machine directly outside my door with a dozen people filling coolers at 5 a.m. If I could give negative stars I would. Not to mention the fact that my SPG account was "inactive", requiring me to call them, plus wiping out all of my previous points. I will be avoiding Starwood hotels from now on. July 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was okay Everything was okay except the room had a real bad odor. it seemed like housekeeping used way to much air freshner to hide either a smokng smell or a pet smell from previous guest. Plus all the drawers were open when we enter room like it was not inspected the room was 203 July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recycling bins I appreciated the hotel's efforts to offer recycling opportunities for the guests. I was pleased to see containers in each room. My suggestion would be in the lobby to make a sign on the recycling bins. I don't think it was clear that there was one for trash and one for recycling. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best service This hotel was okay... hotel is old and staff wasn't the friendliest. The rooms were fine but it would have been nice to have air conditioner that worked better July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The rooms need updating. Stayed in Room 212. No wash cloths, the first night. The room smelled like smoke. The shower drained very slowly. When I got done showering there was 4 inches of water still in the tub. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place to stay A nice place to stay. However it was the noisiest place I have ever stayed. One could hear people walking and talking in the halls and the waterfall was a bit noisy and we were at the far end of the building. Movie prices were outrageous. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations Very nice hotel. Would have no problem recommending to any looking to stay in the area. The breakfast buffet was excellent. July 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine The staff was attentive and accommodating. It would have been nice to have a microwave in the room. July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Won't be back $10 a day for internet? No microwave? No refrigerator? No comp breakfast, or even coffee in the lobby? Excessive charges for services to our event? Won't be back. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positioning of Room Blocks We did have a great stay. One thing that would have been helpful would to have our team's "block of rooms" on the same floor. It occurred to me that the congestion of the elevators could be reduced if each team was on the same floor. I understand sometimes this is unavoidable but it is something that could be arranged and would have reduced the congestion of elevators and also keeping the kids all on one floor. As a parent I kept my son in sight all the time, for his safety, but I realize not all parents do. Having teams on separate floors would also assist your security in keeping traffic to a minimum. Thank you, though, for a great stay! July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Highly Unimpressed The hotel, staff and amenities were all just fine, I have a horrible time feeling good about an experience where I feel I am being nickled and dimed to death. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by WiFi - elevator - check out The wifi is not free in the rooms. You need to pay $10.00 every day. There are not stairs availables to up/down between levels. The elevators are full most of the time and we had to wait around 5 minutes to take one. The check out was a 10 minutes wait before we can do that. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WEDDING RECEPTION, JUNE 15TH. 2013 CONNELL WEDDING RECEPTION HELLO FROM ONE OF THE MEMBERS OF THE CONNELL WEDDING PARTY. RECEPTION AT YOUR INN ON JUNE 15TH. 2013, SATURDAY. WANTED TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. EVERYONE ENJOYED THEMSELVES BECAUSE OF YOU. PLEASE EXTEND A THANK YOU TO YOU AND YOUR STAFF FOR A FINE RECEPTION. THE BRIDE, GROOM AND THE REST OF THE PEOPLE SAID IT WAS "GREAT". KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. IT WAS A PLEASE TO BE AT YOUR PLACE. NICK P.S. PLEASE REPLY SO I KNOW YOU GOT THIS, THANK YOU, June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick Getaway My wife and I wanted a quick one-night getaway. I booked using the SPG iPhone app. Process was very easy. Staff was helpful. They offered the expected SPG perks and added bonus access to the club room breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. I particularly liked the extra power outlets available on the sides of the bed side tables. June 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great customer service and hotel I was in Des Moines for work this hotel is close by the office. At first I only had two days booked of the three that I needed because that last night was booked. Matt went out of his way to help make sure I had a room that last night. The customer service from the staff in general was welcoming. Would stay here again for sure! June 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvements! Have stayed here for different conferences - other hotels in the area are better. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful staff Had only one night's stay; was attending a conference. Drove in to town early morning and was able to check into my room early during a late-morning break in meeting activities. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating. Also, restaurant and service workers were very pleasant and well-trained in customer service. Keep up the good work. Thank you. June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel smells and is dirty. The rooms smell terrible and are stuffy. The carpets are filthy and even the "hallway" outside the rooms smell. They don't leave a notepad and pen in the room - even the cheapest motels do that. The hotel staff provided wrong information when called directly in advance then denied they were even called, said I called the 800 number. If the conference wasn't in the hotel I would have checked out. June 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the hotel side but bad customer service at food area The hotel it was is great but to get someone to serve me took over 20 mins and by then I had to go grab someone to order food. And not even a were sorry or anything. Very poor... June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by 6/5/13 My reservation was guaranteed with my personal credit card. I was assured that i could use the company credit card for payment. When I checked in at 11:00pm, I was told that Sheraton needed authorization from the company before they would accept the company credit card. My supervisor received a fax she didn't know what to do with. I ended up using my personal credit card. VERY INCOMVENIENT. The room stunk--like old cigarettes. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by sheraton 6/2013 I would review the facilities overall as a 4 out of 5. My only issue was that the noise from the lobby atrium was substantial until midnight and kept me awake. I was not rested the next day, even though the room, bed, cleanliness, etc. met my expectations. The AC could have blocked the noise, but I was not able to it to the right temperature. Too cold. June 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It could have been better. My associate and myself were in Des Moines for business. She chose a downtown hotel and I settled for Sheraton, primarily because it was an spg preferred hotel. The rooms were clean and general friendliness of staff were fine and it was pretty much like my usual experience with spg hotels, good. On the check out day, I was running late in a meeting. I requested a late check out for 3pm. My associate got that for her hotel. My hotel refused and asked me for $50 for an hour beyond the check out time. I realized that for things running smoothly spg or no spg, every place does a decent job with helping guests out. A hotel or for that matter a starwood preferred program should stand out by being able to deal with a unique problem that a guest can face. A lazy answer of "policy says that and this is what you have to pay" does not become Sheraton or any other hotel participating in preferred programs. Both herself, who is a lawyer and myself a physician, felt unaccommodated and ended up cutting our meeting short and stopping a client in his conversation, that "sorry my hotel is not helping me, I should probably have stayed somewhere better". So much Sheraton and so much for the spg program. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by rdw50702 Only negative was that it should not allow large aggressive dogs. On the same note pet owners should be more aware of their animals disposition so it doesn't ruin it for others that are responsible pet owners such as myself. I encounterd a couple of dogs with one owner that should not have been allowed as the dog moved towards me in an aggressive mannner until owner stopped them. Dogs of this nature put hotel customers in danger and the hotel at risk for the liability if the dog were to attack a young child or anyone for that matter. This matter was brought to the attention of the hotel securtiy / staff. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfactory We stayed two nights this past weekend and had a good experience. We staying on the king room with the pull out couch. My kids enjoyed the large window in the room and the couch was comfortable. The shower was a good size and the coffee was nice. Could have really used a microwave and fridge though, we travel with small children and that makes or breaks a hotel for us. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over priced Room was small, bathroom was smaller. No frig, microwave, I was there 3 nights. Club Room had a nice breakfast but veggies and trail mix at night. No sign saying there was a cost for drinks. Got a tab at the end. Few SPG facilities charge. If they do, they tell you. No notice. May 28, 2013
  • 2015-05-25T19:59:29.825-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_327, tr_327
  • loc_en_US, sid_1557, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>