Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 656 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Linda S Blue I was not happy that I had to return to the service desk two different time because i was not able to enter the room #2519 the first time them I went back to the service desk to get the room key fixed returned and the room was already, opened the door there was someone in that room. I had to return to the service desk again and the clerk indicated that she gave us the wrong room ended that our room was #2518 so I was not happy that I had to go through all of that. the staff should get it right the first time. I Ask to speak with a manager but she stated she would take care of the issue. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Team Work I would just like to just say the customer service from your Security team and the Concierge front desk were excellent. Doing my stay at your Sheraton I found someone's wallet from out of town, I returned the wallet to the Security Supervisor on duty, who made sure it was returned to the out of country visitor. Also doing this time this security supervisor was pulling an double shift. But he was friendly and even with all that was going on, he made sure the wallet was returned to the happy young man. As a Director of training in Customer Service, this is the first thing I always looked for in team player. On the other hand the front desk team for the day shift, they did everything correct, they just need to smile more. January 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Awful but Not What's Expected I stayed in this hotel for about 3 months straight. The location of the hotel cannot be beat and the rooms were fairly nice. However, I there were a few things that made it not quite the experience that i would have expected from a Sheraton in a CBD of a major city. First, the rooms were ok, but sometimes were pretty shabby. There was no consistency to the toiletries that were in the bathroom. Numerous times I had problems with different things in my room (heater, water leaks, lights that did not work, backed up shower drain that was not over the course of two days which made for a disgusting shower even though i had complained about it multiple times). The Platinum lounge is not up to the standards that i have come to expect from Sheraton, the food was mediocre at best, the service hours were minimal and the selection of food and drinks very limited. As far as service goes, the business manager our company was working with was great with responsiveness to our needs and continually adjusted for our needs. Some of the front desk staff were very friendly, but others were very cold and did not provide good service, so it was a craps shoot every time i went to check in or check out. Also, when i had complaints all I would ever get is excuses and apologies. I understand that a hotel will have problems, and apologies are great, but i need some tangible remedy for my inconveniences and points are really what i am looking for. Overall this hotel was not a terrible place to stay for a long period of time, but it did not live up to my expectations completely and could improve in a number of areas. December 20, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Phenomenal Staff and good exercise room This is a good hotel and I was pleased to discover a REAL exercise room with machines and weights, not simply a few pieces of cardio equipment. But it is the staff that makes the difference! When I checked in, they took the time (never felt rushed) to answer every question, point out every benefit, and went a few extra steps in setting up WiFi and such. Anytime I needed something from housekeeping, it was there quickly. When I needed to depart, the concierge printed out my boarding pass! Solid hotel with great staff! January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some improvement on cleaning The hotel was overall pretty nice. However, the cleaning staff is either understaffed or needs more training. I didn't feel my room was "cleaned" the one day I chose to have it serviced. Also, two room service trays were left outside my door at 7:00am on a Monday, they collected other people's trash throughout the day, and they remained there still when I checked out on Tuesday at 9:00 am. Made the entire hall way look trashy. I can't believe no staff every picked it up or reported it. They were there over 24 hours!!!! However, I did stay on the club level and the benefits of upgrading to club status were well worth it. Very pleased with the club room. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointed This is the first time I have encountered an unpleasant stay within the Starwood/ Sheraton family. It is understandable that I arrived earlier than check-in time, however I was still allowed to check in and advised that I would be called once my room was available. Apparently this was told to other guests trying to check-in the same time I was. After 2 1/2 hours I returned to the hotel and inquired with Concierge if they can find out if my room was ready. The young gentleman who helped me, was the ONLY individual that weekend that made any effort to make my stay pleasant. He didn't have to check for me, but he made it his priority to do so, did...and came to find out that we should have had our room key cards already because we were "confirmed". No one called us or made the effort. He continued to provide his own service by personally retrieving my key cards from front desk Check-In. My compliments to him. Upon entering my room, a pungent odor of moisture and mold "welcomed" me. Also, I had a room that had the shared door between me and the next room. I understand there is no control of the type of people that will be staying at this hotel, but I unfortunately had to have the most irritable, obscene and rude "neighbors". Lastly, to make the list of an already disappointing experience, my room did not have an in-room service menu. On my return from stepping out, I stopped by concierge where the previous young gentleman who helped me earlier in the day was still on duty and requested if a menu can be sent up to the room. He made a separate call right away for the request. 40 minutes later, no menu! Called front desk myself... 30 minutes later a menu shows up. I am very disappointed with the experience and more than likely will not recommend to stay there. There are a few other Starwood hotels in the area that I have had the pleasure of visiting and will take my business there next visit. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by F Fera The staff was extremely friendly and helpful February 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met Our Needs My friend and I came to Philly for the weekend from Connecticut and were looking for a hotel in a good location and that would fit within our budget. I was very happy with this hotel, but when we got back to our room on the first night from a day walking around the cold city, it took a very long time for the room to warm up. We called the front desk and they said a mechanic was going to come up to fix it, but a mechanic never showed up. We had to keep the thermostat around 82 for it to feel like 70. January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even Better than Expected! I landed with nine high school students on a Model UN Conference trip. The rates and rooms were outstanding, but the most significant impact came from the extraordinarily helpful concierge and hotel staff. Check in and check out were easy, and reservations for lunch and dinner were made almst without our having to ask. I could not have been more pleased. February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thoroughly Forgettable I spent less than 12 hours at this hotel, but I can say it's quite acceptable. Room looks very tired, with scuffs, and dirty looking carpet, but I guess I found it acceptable, considering its cheap. Location is ok. Check in was quick enough considering how big the hotel is. Achilles heels was the Club Lounge. Probably the worst one I've ever seen. Single poor staff member completely overrun, many items missing at breakfast, cutlery missing, PC and printer out of order, just depressing. This is just a place to put your head down for a night if you're on a budget, and get away as soon as possible. December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under construction I've stayed in many Sheratons across the country and this was the worst one ever. The staff was good to great. The facility was very run down and parts were under construction. Extremely loud coke machine outside my door, no ironing board (took them 2 days to find one), no ice machine on my floor, they delivered a baby crib to my room the last night... So I found it when I got to the room at 11pm, the pillows were way to soft, two of the 6 elevators did not work (the hotel was full)And the food in the coffee shop (Resturant under construction) was flavorless. In general, a lot to pay for the Sheraton experience and not get it. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good hotel, HORRIBLE customer service for SPG. Wow. Sheraton - you left me (almost) speechless this time. I am an avid SPG member, and have stayed at more SPG properties this year than in any previous year. So please hear these comments as something constructive, and do not get defensive. Quite frankly - this hotel stay was horrible. Since I tend to be a glass-half-full person, I will provide some of the "good" for this hotel: Rooms: We stayed in a Junior Suite, and the room was well appointed. The views were nice (902 was the room), and the furnishings were recently updated. Floor: Overall, the floor was quiet - not too much ambient noise from other rooms or from the street level. Location: It gets a B- on location - the 17th and Race locale seems helpful on the map, but when you get there, you shortly realize that it gets sketchy just a few blocks away. Just fyi for those traveling with small children, aging parents, etc. Be prepared to walk to get to where you need - and just be aware of surroundings like most cities. Unfortunately, that is all I can offer for the "good". While the good was good - it was not nearly enough to outweigh the bad. The extreme shortcoming of this hotel is entirely by the customer service. From every standpoint, we, as guests, were required to look into the problems we had. There was never an "easy" solution offered by the front desk. The Bad: Room was not cleaned two days in a row. We were informed we were on a "green list" - and told the front desk and housekeeping repeatedly this was not the case. No one seemed to care. Upon asking for the room to be serviced, and being gone all day for 10 hrs, the room was still not clean. Housekeeping was on the floor, large bags of laundry were scattered throughout the floors, and many rooms were still being cleaned at 6pm that evening. In my experience, this is just unacceptable. Any large hotel in a major city worth their weight in customers would find a better way to get the rooms cleaned and hide the mess from the guests. We had breakfast coupons given to us as a comp for the rooms not being cleaned, and after we presented the blank vouchers to room service, we were told we had to call down to the front desk for authorization. Warning - if they pull this with you - they will tell you they cannot be used for room service. Push them on this - the vouchers are blank and just say "complementary breakfast". Here is where the true "beef" is - WHY ON EARTH are you making the customer (who has already had some trouble, thus the comped breakfast) verify they are indeed okay to use those coupons for breakfast? Second night in a row, and the room was not cleaned. This time we had been gone close to 12 hours. Same story - we're on the green list, they have a lot of guests that weekend, yadda yadda. At this point - we were fairly fed up. The few hours we spent in our rooms were dedicated entirely to figuring out what the heck is going on at the Sheraton, and why can't hotel management just make it EASY on guests who are already having a poor experience and voicing it politely? If you are willing to overlook a number of things, then fine - book an inexpensive room and stay here. However, if you are traveling with a spouse or family, and are hoping to experience the city that weekend - stay elsewhere! For goodness sakes - the headache we experienced this weekend was not worth the trouble at all! SPG - please please PLEASE make a work-around that allows your staff to help remove barriers to solving customer issues. This is just silly, as now I cannot ever in good faith recommend this hotel to family/friends traveling. A follow up to this - is that the hotel manager promised to follow up with us to discuss some sort of compensation for our troubles, and never reached out to us beyond a 9:30pm phone call the night prior to our check out. May 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Management needs training Called Guest Services to complain of noise and was transferred to "manager" on duty. I was told that there was a party going on and that it would be "over by midnight" (i.e., I should just wait it out). I was also told that "there wasn't anything management could do" about the noise, though I was offered some ear plugs. Clearly, management needs training on customer service and responding to guest complaints. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room nice, but hotel cold I realize it was cold outside, too, but I wore my coat to get a drink in the bar. Staff answered all questions, but front desk staff had to be asked a number of times to get an understanding of the hours of the club floor room and wifi info. There was no info about Philadelphia or the hotel amenities in the room. The restrooms on the mezzanine floor had NO heat. Just a little attention would make this a great hotel. January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by One Night after Vaca The room certainly met my expectations, however the common areas including elevators, hallways and concession areas were very dirty. There was litter and debris along the entire length of the hall on the Club Floor where I stayed. And the elevators were dirty and unkempt as well. Finally, the Ice Maker on my floor was out of order and there wasn't an Out of Order sign or any other indicator. I've stayed at this hotel in the past and was very pleased. I trust that the conditions I noted above were as of result of a temporary staffing shortage. With that in mind, I will reluctantly recommend this hotel should anyone ask, and will stay again when I'm in Philadelphia. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This is a great place to stay to see downtown Philly sights and to attend a convention. The staff is one of the best we have ever enjoyed. There are some maintenance issues that need attention, but there are most places. No hot tub, but one of the best workout facilities we have ever found in a hotel. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is unforgettable. As we arrived, the hotel looked beautiful. We enjoyed the relaxing, spacious lobby and the service in all of the areas. The employees there engaged us in friendly conversation without any useless small talk; they were authentic. The view from the 19th floor was AMAZING! We enjoyed the large contemporary room with the extremely comfortable bed and pillows - so many little extras.The food and service in Phillips Seafood Resturant was outstanding. From the delicious courses to the fabulous servers, the experience at the wedding rehearsal dinner was perfect. The atmosphere at this hotel contributed to the pleasure of spending tme with our family and meeting new friends. August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Will not stay again Stayed three nights on business. Had to move rooms three times in the first night. The first room, on the 6th floor had no hot water due to a hotel issue. (This room was horrible, so I was glad to move...carpets were stained and old.) Second room had soaking wet carpet in half of the room. I ended up staying in the third room because I was tired of moving, but it turned out to have no working electrical outlets in more than half of the room. Hotel was old and in need to updates. January 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No wake up call missed my hospital tests! Hotel was kind enought to let me check in early after one of my many hospital tests. It was a 2 day process of tests. On way out I told them my heat was not working and needed a wake up call for my hospital tests. When I got back from hospital the heat was not working. They moved me and I asked to make sure my wake up call was in the manager said yes. The next day no wake up call had to tuck and roll. Ran late for tests. Morning manager paid for my cab. Concierge had to print me direction to hospital to new area where doctor was. Manager never called to say sorry or not even a letter. The next day I had to have a friend drive me an hour and a half each way due to missing most of my cancer screening tests. The manager made the staff pay me for the cabs I never heard a peek or met a manager. March 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location for museuma and centre city I was pleasantly surprised by the proximity of the hotel to the 30th St. train station. I walked over to the hotel (small overnight bag carriers only) and enjoyed the lovely end of fall weather. My room was available, I checked in and was off to the museums. If you like to walk, the pleasant walk up to the avenue to the Museum of Art is in order (about 15 minutes or more depending up your speed). The bar menu was delicious for a Saturday night dinner. I recommend the crab cake. The staff was attentive to my needs. The room is your basic king bed with great TV reception and in room coffee (Starbucks). November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by You cannot send guests to a different building. It was upsetting when they sent my friend and his family to a different building. How can they do that when he arrived with a small kid and an infant passed their bedtime. My friend had called the hotel and informed he'd be arriving a bit late in order to secure a room too. They didn't even give him discount. I stayed there with a bunch of people and this upset everyone. Our room was comfortable but the drain in the shower room wasn't quite working. Eric who was working at concierge was great to us. Thanks to him, we were able to get late check-out, which we really needed. He deserves bonus! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service needs work You have a few customer service stars at this location. But, overall this was lackluster service. There seemed to be inefficiency, lack of communication and low morale. I had an experience where no one answered the guest services phone when I called down. Or when someone did answer instead of facilitating my request on their own, she immediately and quite abruptly transferred me to the concierge on an issue which she could have taken care of. Not to mention I had housekeeping bang on my door at 8:30 AM (check-out is 12) and when I answered, she said "Oh, just checking." You better have a better reason than that. February 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Typical week I have been traveling to Philadelphia for a few months now, and typically stay at this hotel. I just received Gold status but still dont see any of the benefits. If there is a conceirge floor, they dont tell you. Nor do they even acknowledge a welcome gilf? thought both of those came with status? One of the main reasons I do stay at this hotel is the exercise facilites. For a hotel its great. Even if some of the machines are broken. Another problem I have with this place is the inconsstent room cleaning service. Sometimes I get towels, sometimes not. Sometimes I get my coffee supplies refilled sometimes I don't Sometimes I get the paper in the morning, sometimes I don't. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay for Fido as well We were greeted with friendly attention to our needs. The floor for pets was great. Room was at the end of the hall, quiet and staff respectful. Food in restaurant was a bit pricey but fresh and cooked well. All staff was pleasant. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still no incidental refund I was there for an event and the room was fine. I liked the renovations. But I'm annoyed by the fact that I was not refunded my deposit for incidental. I left the room in great condition. Bad business . January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend Stay I gave this hotel a good rating and not excellent for a couple of reasons. This is a fairly upscale hotel in the city which attracts a lot of business folks. Although I was here on recreation, I am a business traveler. Charging for internet service in a room at a hotel of this caliber is antiquated in my opinion. I would rather pay an extra $5 on the rate to not have to go through the hassle of paying for service separate. Also there was no indoor hot tub in the pool area. Long drives or plane rides for many travelers result in many achy guests and that would have been a welcome site. Also the concierge desk was not very knowledgeable on many of the restaurants nearby. Lastly, a Continental type breakfast would be nice to offer guests who don't want to sit down and pay $15-$17 for a buffet, even if there was a small charge like $5 for it. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort in the midst of busy busy I have to say Hats off to the Downtown Sheraton in Philly!! What a busy busy graduation weekend and also they had the SGK Cancer Walk on Sunday! And that hotel catered to all needs! It was such an exciting weekend. We needed a fridge in the room for my husband's insulin and bingo they brought it up! He forgot his toothbrush and voila the desk gave him one! We were walking all day and to come back to such a comfy bed to sleep soundly was a great relief. Thank you for having pleasant staff and a superior Hotel. It made our son's graduation from Penn a very relaxing one! Thank you for your exceptional service! May 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comcast employee I stay at your hotel about every 5 weeks; but had multiple issues this time; 3 different people were given my room key and attempted to enter; breakfast hang-tag was not picked up either day; phone system did not call the services listed by button; transfers manually by guest services sent me to a dental office and wine shop instead of IT and 2 lights were burnt out Not positive I will return to be honest. January 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Philly Hotel was clean and very accommodating. It's also pet friendly which can be a problem for those of us with allergies. January 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need major update Stayed at the hotel last week due to convention hotel assignment. Front desk and valet are were friendly. The hotel looked very out dated and need major update. My room had old carpet that looks dirty. It also had individual air conditioner by the window which is so noisy that I had to put ear plug on to sleep. When I left at 6 am to catch my flight, there was no bellman. I got onto this taxi and driver didn't even get out of the car to help me with the luggage and same when we got to the airport. He continued to pressure me to pay cash when the credit card machine was there in front of me. Please do not use those drivers that always find a way to pressure passengers to pay cash! June 15, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 23 next>>