Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2104 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service and Kindness The hotel staff was extremely accommodating. From the moment that we entered, we were immediately pampered and handled with such care by our Front Desk Receptionist Nicole. She enthusiastically engaged us about our stay and when she found out that it is was my mother's 69th Birthday, she immediately offered us a beautiful breakfast comp; which she most definitely did not have to do. That's wasn't the end of her generosity though. When my mom and I returned to our room from our night out, there was a bottle of champagne, champagne glasses, chocolate covered strawberries and the most beautiful note from Nicole wishing us a great time and letting my mom know how fabulous she looked, along with a Joyful Birthday Wish.... Our room attendant from housekeeping, Ms. Naomi Chin was welcoming from the moment we entered the floor to go to our room. Everyday we encountered her and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome and to just brighten our day. The hotel itself is amazing and busy and full of life and excitement. The hotel is located in a great location which made it easy to hop on a subway, get a taxi or just walk to our planned destinations. We will most definitely be back again. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Very close to Time Square and Rockefeller Center. Staff was kind and friendly. Check in for SPG guests was not so good. It was faster to go in the regular guest line. One of our two rooms was ready the second we were told would not be ready until 7 pm. Thought that was odd seeing that are current room was next door to it and housekeeping was working on it at 1 pm when we checked in. Overall great time. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Continues to be a bad experience 2 months later We arrived at the hotel on July 5th for a dance convention that my daughter was attending. I had made reservations in JAN for this hotel. Upon checking in I was told that they did not have a double bed room that I reserved that they only had a king bed with a chaise; so started my horrible experience. I told the girl that would not do and she went and got her manager Kenny. Kenny and basically says the same thing and I ask HOW if I reserved a room 6 months ago and you not have it. He told me he could try and explain it but it didn’t matter because they didn’t have it. He said it with such attitude and condensation that caused me to get angrier at this situation. He then tried to blame it on the dance convention we were attending and I told him that wasn’t going to work since it was SHERATON I had booked with. He told me it would be the next day before they would have a room with a double bed and that I would need to contact them in the morning and be in my room so they could get us moved over. We took the room they had and I left to join the group. Upon talking to another mom in my group she was told they didn’t have a room ready but that the housekeeping staff was behind and it would be ready soon and they offered her $50 off per night she was there. She and I went back to the desk so someone could tell me why I was told something different and why nothing was offered to me as a discount. Spoke with Kenny AGAIN and got the same answer with the same attitude that the other mothers witnessed as well. Lucky for me another mom in our group said that the room we got would be better for them and we were able to switch, NOTE I FIXED THE ISSUE NOT SHERATON!!!!!! The following say I called down to find out the status of the fridge we had requested since as well that had not been received. I had been told the night before that there was a waiting list and I should get one soon. Of course when I called down and spoke to an agent who got me manager on duty Luke he didn’t have me on the waiting list. He and I spoke at length about the previous night and how I fixed the problem myself and he told me they would allow me to keep my credit of $50/ per night. I laughed… ALLOW ME that wasn’t even a question anymore. He told me he would call me back in 15 minutes about the refrigerator. He did and told me it would be brought to our room in 15 minutes. 45 minutes later I call back down and get someone in “guest services” I asked to speak to Luke she asked if she could help and I said no I need to speak to Luke, She transferred me and I got his voicemail. I called back got the same lady and she gave me her manager who got on the phone and was yelling (the other mother with us in the room could hear her across the room) at me about how Luke shouldn’t have promised me anything. I said he did and she said well she would just get me the General Manager… Finally I thought… No, I got his VM so I called back to ask to have him paged or something and I again got the same “guest services” lady who told me, Ms we cannot just get him out of a meeting to talk to you I will leave a message with his secretary and she HUNG UP ON ME!!!! I grabbed me hotel key and set off to find the manager myself I was directed to the 4th floor and got to talk to him face to face.. He apologized and spoke very frank which I appreciated and I thought things were solved. We enjoyed the rest of our trip, got my bill before we left and saw that they would credit me and home we came… It’s now 2 months later and I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE THE CREDIT ON MY BILL!!! GO FIGURE… I would not recommend this hotel at all. August 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would Not Let Me Check In I had a reservation for 2 nights. The website said the checkin time was 3 pm. I got to the hotel at 5 pm and they said there were no rooms available. I was not allowed to check into my room until 10 pm so I missed a whole day. The front desk staff was not helpful. I had to complain twice the the supervisor (I think her name is Meredith) before I could get my room at 10 pm. Other people were in the same situation and were not happy. September 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Unbelievable customer service. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Front desk, concierge, restaurant, doormen, etc… Our TV didn’t work and we reported it when going to breakfast and it was working when we returned. The location is great, central to everything. Ask for help and you receive. Prices were extremely reasonable for the room and it included breakfast. We have been to New York before and we will stay here again. February 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by city with kids We used our Star points for this room and it was on a high floor (thank you) and we had a decent view. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat! Great location! July 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was my worst visit to NYC I was truly disappointed with my experience at the Sheraton NYC Times Square and will never stay here again. The room was not ready; the two queen beds with a sleeper reserved online was not the truth upon checking in - we were given two double beds. Most of all, a hair brush was left on the window sill, the window sill was not clean and there were pieces of potato chips or fritos left behind a small sitting chair. July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Convenient to theaters, shopping, and dining. August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This HOtel is my favorite in the City I like this Hotel and I have stayed there repeatedly. However Concierge is not informed at all and not dependable. Bell Captains are not helpful with taxis and transport to Airport. They are cheap and crooked. This is not my first experience with them. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconsistent .. poor customer service I stayed at this property several times this year, service has been inconsistent at best. On my last stay it turned from inconsistent to rude .. I am an SPG gold member on starwood and other major chains. I travel a lot and done most W properties in NYC. I understand Sheraton is a different product .. but being called a liar from a front desk clerk is not inline with any of my standards ..will not return September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I checked in under the Romance package. The front desk did acknowledge the wine and strawberries to be sent up and asked me what time I would like it sent up but nothing about breakfast being included. I had asked for delivery at 5 and at 5:20 I called to see if it was on it's way and they did not have it scheduled. When I realized I did not know what to do for breakfast, I called the front desk and the lady told me to come down and get new keys to access the 44th floor club. The next morning, I went to the club and the keys did not work. When I questioned the front desk (after standing in line AGAIN) I was told that I was not supposed to go to the club but order from room service. Everyone was nice but very confused. Also when I checked in, the toilet was NOT clean - it had remains from the last guest on the toilet seat! The bed and TV remote WITH a sleep timer were the hightlights. March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Two Times and rooms not ready !!!!! I take my family in to New York city twice a year. I stayed two times at this hotel with my family and I told them how good SPG is and treats everyone well ! Both times we arrived at the hotel at 12:00 PM and both times the rooms where not ready until after 6:00 PM I understand that check-in is at 3:00PM but if you know people are waiting and you tell them you have 6:30PM dinner reservations and a show you think they would make the rooms a priority but no !!! I never ever had this issue at any other SPG property I feel the staff in this hotel just doesn't care !!! I will never stay here again ! November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and comfort The Staff , especially the Concierge desk, was exceptional in their help. This was less true of the travel and ticket desk. The people there were brusque to the extent of being rude. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff Jonathan Lomitola has gone out of his way to ensure I have a good stay The staff in the club lounge are great August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again After 4/5 days in the hotel (nice location but pretty below average for facilities or so), the day of the check out i reported to the concierge that my iphone was missing. She seems not to care much, anyhow, insisting she called the security person, who approached me in a very rude way. I am an eager traveler and i have been in hotels (and many starwood among those) around the globe a lot. I have never been treated like, moreover i wasn't asking for nothing and i was doing my duty in reporting an item missing.. Didn't involve the police with that guy at sheraton only cause i didn't have time March 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Staff at reception desk very rude, linens were so stiff they were 'crucnhy', bed skirt filthy, beds very uncomfortable. Gap around the door so wide the light shining in kept us awake. A dozen or so teens across the hall having a party all night- nothing was done to stop it and again we could hear it all due to the large gap around the door. November 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very disapponting stay When I entered in my guestroom at first, I was really shocked because there was used toilet paper in the toilet without a flushing. Also, there was several strains on the mattress cover. I tried to contact the concierge to complaint this matters, they seemed to be busy serving guests in heavy rain, so didn't answer. It was a horrible stay. August 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not stay again I am a devoted SPG Platinum member. I have stayed at all of the properties around Time Square. This was the first time at the Sheraton TS. I was disappointed to say the least. They lack loyal customer appreciation. I get it, when you are in the heart of one of the busiest tourist locations you really don't need to worry about Platinum members. I was coming for my wife's birthday and they offered to have a gift in the room when we got there. I was very impressed at the jesture and thought how great when we walk in she will be shocked. Nope, nothing! After asking they brought up something the next night. I later had to deal with a VERY unprofessional front desk young lady. As I said, will never stay at again. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unexpected Room(s) When we first arrived at the hotel it was a welcoming feeling and very inviting. The staff was very nice and helpful with all of my questions. The downward spiral began when we got up to the room to find the maid service skipped this room and the previous visitor had old room service out and a messy bed with clothes thrown around the room. After calling down to the front desk we were switched to a different room said to have a better view. Little did we know that it was right in front of the elevators so we could hear everyone who came through. The room was nice but after 15 minutes discovered that there were two used glasses out, a half empty wine bottle, and used soaps in the bathroom. We called down to the front desk again telling them what we had and our concerns with the sheets being cleaned or not but they just sent up another person with a bag of soaps and shampoos and clean glasses. I always thought that Sheraton's were a nice hotel chain but I don't think we'll ever stay at another again. March 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Courteous assistance Everyone in the hotel and on the staff, were tremendous and helpful in all repsects. Floor staff was excellent as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would NOT recommend I am easy to please but this was a BAD experience. Many room issues from sink to blinds. What is wrong with the elevator that never stops on the 32nd floor? Seemed like there was a phone ringing in the corner of my room but it never got answered. March 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rough start ! Worst checkin ever at a GOLD desk. Add to call housekeeping the first minute = zero towels in the room. Couldn't do express checkout because of a bogus charge from the minibar ( never touched anything ). Only positive comment = great location. September 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The front office staff did not arrange the room type as we reqeuested before Once we checked in at hotel on Oct.4, the front office staff told us that no queen bed room available and only can arrange twin bed. But we booked queen bed room type through starwood website, quite disappointed with this arrangement. October 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is like a rush hour crowd Always bustling and not at all relaxing. There is a crowd at check in, there is a crowd rushing for every elevator and then they fill up so you have to wait again. There is always a crowd in the lobby. The first room we were given had a dirty rag hanging from the shower and then the drain didnt work and dirt came up into the tub. We had to switch rooms and it took 3 phone calls with lots of holding on time and then 30 minutes to arrange so we had to rush to get ready for a dinner appointment. The only good thing about this hotel is its location March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruce M 17 Great hotel, staff was very friendly, always asking us if everything was ok. Very clean and lobby was beautiful. Will be back for sure. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by How bad can it get? Room filthy No robes although paid for concierge floor-not on it no robes brought despite request TV broken-not fixed for 24 hours after I called twice Check in took over 45 minutes on SPG line June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is good With some improvements the hotel can be a great business Hotel it starts to be came a touristic hotel and the general attitude is for one time random visitor. Your hotel as five stars with Loyalty membership is one of few that charges for Wifi (your staff gave me a relief but it is ad hoc. Another big frustration was with the packages outsourcing company LL level that when I tell friends that for 5 days Sheraton is my address but no one called my room that I will come down, but gave it to the Outsourcing company that after-few hours asked me 20 $ for keeping value of less than 20$ the hotel shift manager understood me and gave me a discount to keep me happy but this is not a way to bypass the commitment to call the client first anf if he is not responding to tell that charges will be implied. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful hotel with great staff This is a wonderfully place hotel. I love it. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPERB SERVICE for an Icon Property One would not expect great attentive service from a large city hotel. Well, the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel delivers! I was greeted with exceptional check-in service by Matthew F. at the Front Desk. He immediately recognized my SPG membership and went out the the way to ensure that I had a great room (with an incredilbe view of Time Square). Everyone from the Front desk, Hotel Security and the Club Floor Attendants were Friendly and Professional. Kudos again to Matthew (Front Desk) and the Hotel Staff and Management for their genuine hospitable service. December 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service They charge for everything including Fitness Center. Service was poor and the staff were rude anytime you called the Guest services September 6, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 71 next>>