Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starting to show its age I stayed here three years ago, and the place was in great shape. This year, I got a better, more expensive "Club Room." I was shocked to find someone sleeping in the room assigned to me. The next Club room I was given was really showing its age: apparent mold on the bathroom door; very badly-worn chairs - one with missing chunks of the fake leather peeled off; & a poorly (and unsuccessfully) patched ceiling leak. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend stay! Great location and a wonderful historic hotel. Rooms were a great size and very comfortable. Bathroom not very big but it is a historical hotel and we were not in the room that much.The staff was awesome and friendly. Exactly what I would expect from a Sheraton. Parking charges were a little steep so we just parked across the street. If you are coming to San Antonio for the history....you need to stay here. November 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old hotel in good location I have read some people complaining about this hotel saying there are worn items here and some age to it. Well, yeah, it has been here since the 1800s so there will be some wear. Being a Starwood Platinum member, I know my Sheraton hotels. This is comparable to most in terms of room decor and setup, but it also has that feel to it of an older establishment. The lobby is very cool if you like that antiquity of it, as is McLeod's bar, located across from check-in. The staff was very courteous both at check-in and in the lounge. The hotel is conveniently located just about a block from the Riverwalk. Being on the edges of the touristy area, though, means some of San Antonio's seedier residents may be wandering the streets around the hotel. Shady and seedy people, but mostly harmless. All in all, a good experience. I usually stay at the Westin Riverwalk but this hotel did just fine. June 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more First time in SA. As Starwwod owners, this was the first hotel that did not honor a late checkout request. The Restaurant Market on Houston is not ready for prime time. The service was ...odd, the food, bad. On the upside, we realized my husband had left some clothing articles in the closet. We live in Ca. My call was promptly responded to and the clothes were found and are being returned. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Customer Service I booked two rooms for my wife and I and our children. We wanted the rooms joining but none were available. We had a king which was 4 rooms down from their double queen. We were not comfortable with this so I went to the front desk and said we would take two joining double queen rooms. After searching, they found something and we switched. We moved to the other two rooms only to find out that is was a double queen with attached lounge area that went into another room with a king. We were very pleased with this. Later that evening, while having dinner, Patrick from the front desk called and stated that we were accidentally given 3 rooms. I went back after dinner to make things right and Patrick informed me that everything was taken care of, it was their error and to enjoy our stay. Wow. It is so hard to find service like that these days. Kudos to Patrick and everyone at The Gunter! August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter Has Great Atmosphere The Sheraton Gunter had great atmosphere, even though undergoing some renovations. The staff was very hospitable, and the room was very comfortable. Pool was a little small for lap swimming, but I managed to get in decent workouts each day. I especially liked the fact that the pool opened at 5AM, very early by most hotel standards but great for a working man who likes to swim before going to meetings. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A home away from home From the hospitality of the staff NATASHA AND RON at the front desk to the attention to detail with our needs by the housekeeping staff and the invaluable assistance of our concierge, we couldn't help but be so impressed with this hotel central to most everything downtown: Riverwalk, the Alama, fine shopping and fine restaurants like Bohanan's. I'd happily recommend it and I'll be back in September! March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Particularly Benjamin on the concierge floor lounge. He is a very people and customer centric person who started (and sometimes ended) our day with smiles and excellent service. We certainly were made to feel welcome in San Antonio by all the staff, but Benjamin was at the pinnacle of welcoming. Not a hotel you want to stay at when the San Antonio Spurs win a big game. The fans have a habit of driving through the streets honking their horns for hours and every sound from the street resonates through the rooms. We were on the 11th floor and couldn't get any sleep from 11 PM when the game ended until almost 2 AM when they finally all went home. Could use some refurbishing. The desk chair in our room was stained and ripped up to the point that we didn't want to sit in it. A grand hotel with a rich tradition, great staff but not in the same league with some of its neighboring competitors. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Very nice hotel and great location. Staff was very helpful. Food and beverage had many options at a reasonable price with good quality and great service. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic hotel with great value. We have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter on numerous occasions and always feel welcome by the staff. This hotel has "character" and is a great value compared to other downtown hotels. Access is easy. Vehicle parking is at the hotel, and you don't wait 15-20 minutes for your car which can be the case at some other hotels. The Majestic Theater is across the street, and the Riverwalk is a block away. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel exceeded our expectations. From the moment we drove up, the staff at the hotel made us feel welcome. Every member of the staff we encountered was Texas friendly and helpful. For example, my coffee maker didn't perk right and it was replaced immediately by the professional woman who cleaned our room. All questions were answered patiently and politely. I appreciated the green initiative and the flexible way it was applied. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stunning lobby in historical hotel The rooms/hallways need updating. The the elevators are slow, the hallway carpet is worn and faded and the original room I was given was horrible, small and dark. The meeting room -no plugs for laptops; the ladies restroom 3rd floor - too small. The food, both at the meeting and room service is very mediocore. Insufficient staff. and long delay in getting front desk or room service to answer. April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, could be cleaner Great stay overall with all equipment in good condition and 2 Showtime channels make for good entertainment, but tiled flooring for some reason was not very clean. You can't tell walking around barefoot unless you have sensitive feet or until you go to shower and the black grime comes off in the wet tub. Unfortunately I was too busy with work to use the fitness room or pool. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend stay Close to the River walk attractions. Quiet. We loved the room and the Club Level appetizers. Everyone was very friendly when we arrived. The next morning, club level breakfast was disappointing and there was no one to greet us like the night before. It just wasn't the same quality food or service. could have been an off morning. overall a good experience and would stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Undergoing needed renovations The Sheraton Gunter is in a great location. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel was undergoing a much needed renovation, but the fumes in the lobby area were a bit much. I hope the renovations will continue throughout the hotel as the carpeting on my hallway floor needs to be replaced. The carpeting in my room also wasn't in great shape and needs to be cleaned or replaced. November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, pretty hotel, thin walls We visited the Alamo and the riverwalk, and the hotel was perfectly located for these activities. We stayed using Starpoints, so I don't know what the rates are if I were paying with $$$. Both Friday & Saturday night there were very loud groups that mingled in the hallways. I would suggest asking for a location as far from the elevator as possible, and use the earplugs that are provided. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great service! The Sheraton Gunter Hotel in San Antonio has a great location downtown, a short walk from the River Walk. There's great restaurants and lots of things to do nearby. The hotel is older and has great character and charm. The staff (everyone!) at the hotel is very customer service oriented: they met or exceeded my expectations upon any request -- even offered to help before I asked :-). October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place Nicely renovated & decorated. Bathroom area could've been nicer...but it was clean. Bed linens were super soft, but mattress was just ok. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. October 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ruined History Who paints beautiful hand carved wood white? This WAS a historic hotel which now looks like any other new hotel. Very disappointed. October 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Old Lobby under construction and front door to main street locked. Had to go out garage exit to get to the front of hotel. Billing incorrect the first time. Had to go to front desk to remove internet charge (SPG member). Room was cold with great view and sounds of heating/cooling units on rooftop. No soft close on old room doors so heard load door closing until late in the evening. December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smell Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel. I was very disappointed to say it was an SPG hotel. Usually SPG is top quality. My room smells of mildew. My shower head didn't spray water from the appropriate nozzle, instead, it shot out from the wall. I also found trash in the room upon arriving which gives me the impression the room was not cleaned properly. Very unfortunate. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel overall was good Except for the obvious disrepair (ballroom ceiling had fallen in this week), the rooms were updated and very comfortable. Staff was generally very helpful and responsive; one employee at the Houston Market was particularly rude and would not give us a table height table to sit at. Luckily other employees there over compensated for his rudeness and came to our aid. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gem! I had stayed it this hotel prior to the big updates and can say this new version is much better. Loved everything about this hotel and will definitely be back! October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheermom Booked this hotel for our stay during a cheer competition. It was a great stay the room was huge, beds where sooo comfy. The breakfast was delicious as well as the room service. Another perk was the Starbucks! The Concierge Steve gave us coupons each night for a special treat while sending us to great places to eat. Loved our stay:) We even left with two National Champions! February 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in Great Location You can't do better than the Sheraton Gunter for a great downtown location. Close to the RiverWalk, the Alamo and across the street from the grand Majestic Theatre. The property is older and historic so don't expect shiny and modern. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Club Lounge services are a nice bonus. Overall this property offers good value for the money. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jewel in the Heart of San Antonio This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel in several years, and it will be the first of many. The newly renovated Club Lounge is top notch and when I saw that the offerings were fried quail and lamp chops I was hooked. The complimentary beer and wine doesn't hurt either, as well as the congenial Club Lounge Staff, particularly Joseph.... August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by San Antonio Blues We were in town to see BB King. When we got to your hotel (we had switched from another hotel we were not happy with) we were directed to the Club Lounge for drinks and appies, and while there a member of your staff told us about the live blues band performing on the patio. We listened to the band for about two hours before the concert, which was unexpected and much appreciated. While there we met members of the San Antonio Blues Society and other blues musicians, and really got into the energy prior to the concert. The beds at Sheraton hotels are THE BEST and most comfortable of any hotels, anywhere. Love that. We were misinformed about the time of the continental breakfast so we missed it. I would love to see a mini fridge in these rooms for keeping water bottles and milk, which I always bring along for my morning coffee, cold. Otherwise our stay was wonderful. If there was a pool/spa we were not made aware of it. August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyment Had my family reunion in San Antonio and everyone had a Great time!! October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Need a makeover Has great potential. Great friendly and responsive staff, but... 1. Although I was put at the club level (12) the room feels and smells old. Emphasis on bathroom. 2. Other than the club level, no real platinum recognition nor was I offered with any platinum amenity. Despite its age, I believ that with managerial attention and a basic makeover this could become a gem. March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amenities lacking The wi-fi in my room and apparently throughout the hotel was severely lacking. I had business to conduct and the weak signal constantly kicked me off whatever site I was on, and those weren't video or other high-demand sites either. This needs to be corrected. Also the shower dripped, the bathroom was antiquated and needs remodeling and the towels were below average. September 15, 2013
  • 2015-03-29T18:21:32.889-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_446, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_1291, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>