Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • Santo Antônio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by would not recommend We were disappointed in our room. The tub was dirty and the toilet leaked. Plus it was so small-no where to put your makeup kit. The A/C was so loud and didn't seem to filter very well. The carpet was very old and spotted. My husband a claustrophobic attack-which he has never had in his life. We had more expectations about the hotel since his parents stayed there on his father's return from WW2. In our opinion it has probably not changed much since then. August 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter not what expected! Hotel was not very clean nor spacious enough for comfort. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Girls Weekend Other than the strong turpentime aroma that filled my nostrils (and gave me a headache) at 2:30 am Saturday I guess our stay was okay. The staff were very friendly. Back to the turpentine incident - when I called room service I was told that they've been painting for weeks in the lobby and I was the only one to report the smell. Also the person I was speaking with didn't know what else to tell me. He did offer to switch rooms - really?!! at 2:30 in the morning he wants me to pack up my stuff and move. I also found out later that one of my roommates smelled that same odor at around 3am that same morning. I guess they finally stopped painting or fanned the smell away from the vents. Thank goodness! Just FYI - there's an option to park at a garage across the hotel for $9 per day. Hotel garage parking is $30 - this is a downtown hotel. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room for improvement Very friendly staff but service needs improvement. Cleanliness is ok on the surface but don't look under the bed. We had to call for shampoo one morning because we didn't receive any the day before (and it was not because we opted for the "don't clean our room option for a $5 voucher" which we did take advantage of on other nights). The recent remodel should have focused on upgrading the rooms first. Bathroom in particular needed upgrade in our room. November 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as advertised I have stayed here several times this year and they have yet to get my bill correct. I have discounted parking but am charged at the higher rate. I also never see the bonus, bonus points as advertised for my account even though I am told they will do something about it. I also cant believe there are so many versions of a "free breakfast" but it still takes someone making an adjustment after I find I am billed. I w May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Metropolitan Hotel Gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. It is old world with an art deco touch. The room was spacious (two queen size beds). The restaurant downstairs (Market On Houston) was phenomenal. I had the Napoli flatbread pizza. The hotel had a "South Beach" feel and just a block away from the Riverwalk. You will not be disappointed with your stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dirty The Pool was full of algae on all intakes. I have pictures of when I cleaned the mirror how dirty is was. the shower was disgusting. My son got spider bites on his legs from the room. Someone elses toothpaste on the tissue holder. Mole on walls in shower and the bath mat is disgusting, Soda was two years old in b akery gave me an upset stomach for two days. For the price which was to high I will black ball this from all conventions in the future. September 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever I have never wrote a review before but after my stay at this hotel I decided that I needed to for the sake of other future guest. There were some positives but so many negatives. First we called 8 hours before arriving and asked to have a roll away bed available for are stay the staff on the phone said yes that this was not a problem and that this would be available when we arrived. When we arrived there were no roll way beds available so no big deal we called guest services and the sweetest gentleman sized one of the two rooms we reserved and brought one over. We had to call back downstairs to get a cot since the roll away would not fit in the 2nd room. The staff on the phone told us there were plenty available so to go out and when we got back they would send one up. When we got back from the Riverwalk the cot was not there and there were no more available so we had to sleep on the floor. The TV in this room did not work when we mentioned it no one was ever sent up to fix it and when we mentioned it again at checkout they didn't even ask which room did not have a working TV all they could do was say sorry and look at me in a dismissive manner. The 3rd strike was the next day we went to use the pool and it was closed with no sign on the door or anything. We went downstairs and asked if they could let us in and the front desk staff said yes they must of forgot to open it mind you this was at 9:00 am and the pool hours are 5:00 am to 12:00 am. So we say ok no problem we take the kids back upstairs by the pool door and wait for an additional 10-15 minutes and still are unable to get in. So we call back downstairs and they notify that the pool will not be open till further notice with no explanation or apologies. I'm sorry for this long drawn out review but I can say when you are 2 moms traveling with 2 babies and 2 ten year olds you can see how no bed to sleep on, no TV, and no swimming pool is not much of a vacation!!! I can say that the valet was awesome and the gentleman that brought a rollaway to 1 of the rooms, and the gentleman that helped with are luggage at arrival were great they were very personable and helpful. I think what upset me about the entire stay was the lack of empathy and customer service I know there is nothing you can do if the pool is not working this is just an unfortunate thing. But as for the rest it could have been prevented or there could have been some effort to fix the problems but there was nothing and this is what caused so much of the dissatisfaction. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Great staff. The hotel is beautiful. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going through changing pains Overall the stay was okay. However, the restaurant was opening for the public and did a very poor job preparing for it. On 3/31 we sat outside to have a drink. No one came out to serve us for 15 minutes. A manager just said they were short handed. We finally went inside to the bar (another customer left all together for another restaurant). At the bar the bartenders couldn't find the wine listed on the wine list, saying they were new to the bar. The next morning the service was only slightly better, but my wife didn't get exactly what she ordered. When we asked the manager why he couldn't help with the customers he replied that he has things to do behind the scenes. Web went to the pool and it had oily scum and hair in it. Finally, we were disappointed that we couldn't use the lounge (only now for premium members). We pay monthly fees too! Front desk was great. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Grand Old Hotel If you are looking for a new, modern hotel, this is not the place to stay. If you love warmth, character and charm, you will find it here! From the moment that you walk in the door it is like a step back in time. All of the original Walnut paneling and woodwork are beautifully preserved. Staff is outstanding, especially in the club room. Pool was closed for remodeling, but did not have time to use it anyway, Will definitely stay here again! September 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Building, Bad Hotel We arrived in the evening and got settled into our room. Ordered room service at 9:45 and were told a 30 minute wait. At 10:43 we received a call from room service that they were out of some of our selections, after reordering and them assuring us that even though our other food was already ready but wouldn't get cold we received our order at 11:10....nothing was hot except for the food that was reordered. The room service staff was full of excuses. They also forgot part of the order. The room never cooled down and stayed quite humid, maintenance came in to try to fix it, banged around on the a/c up in the ceiling, got it cold for about an hour after which we left, when we returned later that evening the room was once again humid and not cold, in fact the sheets felt wet bc of the humidity. We were too tired to argue with the staff about it and choose to tell them in the morning at check-out, the lady acted like she could care less. The restaurant was under staffed and we were sat and then waited for 10 min for someone to come over to get our breakfast orders, eventually got up and walked down the street to bagel shop, which was yummy with great service. Valet service was impeccable, they had our car waiting every time we came down and even helped us clean it out at one point. The hotel itself was beautiful, the staff just isn't attentive and doesn't seem to know what they are doing. Attention to detail is key when in the service industry. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your wedding destination I was a guest here for a wedding my best friend was having in the hotel. The facilities provided for the ceremony and reception were among the best I have personally experienced. The guest room I was provided was excellent. Water pressure in the shower was not an issue, even on the fifth floor. The guest services were top notch. I was very impressed with their performance. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to San Antonio. January 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location But I am not going to be too critical of this hotel because of the history or the building. The common areas of the hotel are good and the location is right in the heart of the river walk and all the sights. But the rooms are really small especially for Texas standards and the bathrooms are just down right pitiful. No place to put anything or turn around. Closet space is limited at best and the room is very small. Not much of a view either. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could not sleep well at all The room on the sixth floor was noisy from the outside traffic and the AC, and then my colleague told us about the incident that happened on the sixth floor years ago. This made me uneasy and there were other strange noises heard on the third night. Out of our group of twenty plus people, only two of us, both women, were offered rooms on the sixth floor and we checked in earlier. I think your staff should be more sensitive about this. October 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very decent hotel If you want to stay close to Riverwalk, this hotel is the best option. It is two short blocks away from Riverwalk. The self-parking garage is one block from the hotel's parking lot. However, the breakfast for club members is very limited. There was no hot food besides the toast. The staff worked very hard and tried their best to meet our need. It's just not enough food for the club members on a Saturday morning at a short time frame. August 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Stay!!! I recently returned from a trip to San Antonio and I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio. I will say that although the hotel is going through some renovations the staff at the hotel made the property look as if there was nothing happening. The hotel is dated and truly a historical property. My room was outstanding although the tub and carpets needed to be replaced. I truly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Winter Getaway My husband and I just returned from the Sheraton Gunter Hotel in San Antonio and we were so impressed with the staff, amenities and location. Everyone of the staff were friendly and helpful. We found out some of the local places to eat from the housekeeping staff. The front desk clerk, sorry I cant remember his name made, getting around easy, even printing us directions to a local store that sold cowboy boots! The breakfast buffet was awesome and they had an omelet station that the chef would make them to order. I cant say enough about the hospitality of the staff, the beautiful historic facilities and of course the upgraded amenities like the pool on the second floor, the Club floor lounge, ( Thanks for everything Benjamin) and the Sweet sleeper beds. This was my first trip to Texas but it wont be my last. Thank You Sheraton for another fabulous stay! February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel room and ordering Food we checked in - front desk & valet person that evening AWESOME!!!, next day no service on cleaning the room, we called & askd for towels, they were brought and we asked why no one cleaned our room person stated I DONT KNOW, we never heard back from hotel on why :(. order a chesse cake from bar Saturday evening, wiated 20 mins never got anything, finally went to my room, i stoped front desk to let them know not to charge cause i did not get it. front desk person ( man) did not ask why or strange you did not get it (would you like me to check on it). he just said ok, i will remove it. i awoke and saw bill & it was on ther i then checked out and ask agent to remove it she said ok, no questions asked. seemed like a nice hotel but staff did not want to help or try to go extra mile to make sure we were pleased.. not a great impression for me to recoommned hotel August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel A slice of old world elegance right in the middle of downtown San Antonio. We had a great stay. This hotel definitely has more of a boutique feel, and its rich history is obvious from the second you step into the lobby. Staff was very attentive, room was super comfy, and it is right across the street from the Riverwalk. This was an incredible value. We'll definitely be coming back to the Gunter the next time we're in San Antonio! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by exceptional we stay here every time we visit san Antonio and as always it was great . the guest check in person, Victoria actually remembered me from my visit before 2 weeks earlier. the room was great and when visiting the bar the staff is always great as usual . it is very nice to visit a hotel where you see the same staff again instead of a lot of change over so they do remember you and you get to know them and have a great visit May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by things have changed Loss of Barons restaurant was bad for the hotel. Parking is to expensive. If room was cheaper our stay would be more worth it. Lobby colors went from elegant to blah. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this Hotel and Staff I really love staying here at the Gunter. I really have only great things to say about the hotel and staff. I just wish the bathroom sink had a little more counter space to set out my toiletries, but I still love this hoel and it has a great location June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interior We have stayed at the Gunter in the past and really liked the stained woodwork. Painting all the woodwork white really changes the character of the hotel and in my opinion, not for the best. There were areas blocked off that were available before. It was a little disappointing. Maybe the hotel is still in remodel mode. June 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starting to show its age I stayed here three years ago, and the place was in great shape. This year, I got a better, more expensive "Club Room." I was shocked to find someone sleeping in the room assigned to me. The next Club room I was given was really showing its age: apparent mold on the bathroom door; very badly-worn chairs - one with missing chunks of the fake leather peeled off; & a poorly (and unsuccessfully) patched ceiling leak. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend stay! Great location and a wonderful historic hotel. Rooms were a great size and very comfortable. Bathroom not very big but it is a historical hotel and we were not in the room that much.The staff was awesome and friendly. Exactly what I would expect from a Sheraton. Parking charges were a little steep so we just parked across the street. If you are coming to San Antonio for the history....you need to stay here. November 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good old hotel in good location I have read some people complaining about this hotel saying there are worn items here and some age to it. Well, yeah, it has been here since the 1800s so there will be some wear. Being a Starwood Platinum member, I know my Sheraton hotels. This is comparable to most in terms of room decor and setup, but it also has that feel to it of an older establishment. The lobby is very cool if you like that antiquity of it, as is McLeod's bar, located across from check-in. The staff was very courteous both at check-in and in the lounge. The hotel is conveniently located just about a block from the Riverwalk. Being on the edges of the touristy area, though, means some of San Antonio's seedier residents may be wandering the streets around the hotel. Shady and seedy people, but mostly harmless. All in all, a good experience. I usually stay at the Westin Riverwalk but this hotel did just fine. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Customer Service I booked two rooms for my wife and I and our children. We wanted the rooms joining but none were available. We had a king which was 4 rooms down from their double queen. We were not comfortable with this so I went to the front desk and said we would take two joining double queen rooms. After searching, they found something and we switched. We moved to the other two rooms only to find out that is was a double queen with attached lounge area that went into another room with a king. We were very pleased with this. Later that evening, while having dinner, Patrick from the front desk called and stated that we were accidentally given 3 rooms. I went back after dinner to make things right and Patrick informed me that everything was taken care of, it was their error and to enjoy our stay. Wow. It is so hard to find service like that these days. Kudos to Patrick and everyone at The Gunter! August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter Has Great Atmosphere The Sheraton Gunter had great atmosphere, even though undergoing some renovations. The staff was very hospitable, and the room was very comfortable. Pool was a little small for lap swimming, but I managed to get in decent workouts each day. I especially liked the fact that the pool opened at 5AM, very early by most hotel standards but great for a working man who likes to swim before going to meetings. November 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot hotel The cooling equipment of this hotel was probably the worst I have experienced in many years. The conference rooms and break out rooms were hot! June 30, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>