Sheraton Universal Hotel

  • 333 Universal Hollywood Drive
  • Universal City,
  • California
  • 91608
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 610 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with some minor problems Beautifully located hotel on a hill with close access to Universal Studios. However, there are some problems with the hotel: - elevators are extremely slow and inefficient (a group of guests waited nearly 10 minutes once) - club lounge is supposed to be open until midnight, yet access was closed starting 10pm - phones in the room do not work properly - dim lighting in room It is a pity that such a great property is littered with these small problems but I believe they are easily remedied, March 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement Our room was not accomedating to what they say online nor what the booking agent told us. when trying to trade rooms they said they were sold out of the rroms we needed but my wife called and asked for reservations and they said they could book it for her so then the hotel accomidated us after we told them that wwe knew they had rooms left. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good experience The hotel is located in Universal City and is targeted at parents with children and for holding large conferences. The hotel pool is under renovation and is closed now. The standard room is small, but equipped with all necessary facilities. If you are Elite member of SPG Loyalty Program, you don't need expect special attitude, the reception staff are extremely unfriendly and some of them rude, as the hotel Is operates on a license of Sheraton, then the Sheraton standards complied here only partially. But the staff in the restaurant are very friendly and accommodating! The hotel has a Club Lounge, where served a continental breakfast and snacks in the evening. Given his always full occupies (its difficult to find a place to sit) is better to eat elsewhere. March 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Close Close to the park, good service to and back, very ferquent service! May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concert at Gibson Nice hotel, close to venue - which will be no more (sad note, too bad). The street to get to the hotel was blocked off by Universal due to traffic for a concert....WHAT - why would you block the entrance to your hotels for guest??? Had a horrible time getting to the hotel in the first place. Almost changed direction and cancelled. Street was not reopened until midnight. Not smart to block your guest from your entrance. - Once staying there the bar staff, one person, after event on your Universal ground...didn't seem to want to be there working - not very professional - and understaffed for time of day for the guest. Awkward and almost rude by the bartender to another guest is what I witnessed. If you don't want to wait on guest, don't work at a bar - please. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Furniture The furnishings were a little shop-worn. Otherwise an excellent stay. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by thoroughly enjoyablevisit We enjoyed the offer of wine or ice water or both at registration. The staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfasts and appetizers were tasty. Regulating the room temperature was tricky and the door handle was stiff. Neither of these were much of a problem. One of us is handicapped and staff extraordinarily accommodating. We stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. The dining and service was outstanding. We have small appetites and there was no problem with sharing each entrée. Can’t wait to do it again. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not quite great... The staff at the hotel was great. The room was a little weird in that there was virtually no closet. You could hang maybe 2 things in it. As an SPG member I opted for free Wi-Fi in my room, but he signal was so weak we couldn't use it. The towels are pretty old. Needed more space to put our stuff in the bathroom. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay Maybe my timing was bad, not sure. We had at least on our floor a number of Cheerleader tournament contestants on our floor and were running up and down the hall hooping, banging, and hollering. Did not get much sleep. Called security but 20 minutes later it all started again. Probably won't stay again. Complained at check out and they credited me my $18 per day parking fee, which totalled $36. That did not really compensate me the good night rest that paid for. It was a VERY disappointing stay. Rest of staff was friendly. March 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor personal service The front desk staff was unhelpful as well as the valet guy, spg had my reservation canceled by mistake and instead of the front desk girl trying to help me fix the problem she asked me to step a side and returned when I had the issue resolved, and in the other hand I had the Valet guy on top of me asking me to move my car to the parking lot or to use there services, my car was not on their way and it was a really calm night, no one at the lobby but us. I ask for a phone or internet so I could communicate with spy because there was no signal on my cel, but once again the employe was not helpful, I had to leave the hotel to find signal to place the call. I was on a family vacation and after a long trip and a long day, the least you expect is to be stock on a lobby for more than an hour with small children. March 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by October 2013 family vacation As a frequent business traveler and Gold Starwood member, I was disappointed with this property for a family vacation. First, the pool is out of operation due to extensive remodeling. Next, the rooms are also very old and in need of renovation. Finally, the front desk staff is nominally helpful.They don't answer questions, and don't portray eagerness to help. Every time I approached them, their attitude made me feel like I was inconveniencing them. The front desk staff are the "face" of the brand, and they can use new blood at the front desk that will portray more motivation and eagerness to help guests. I will provide a compliment to the Club Lounge - the service staff at the lounge are very helpful and have a great attitude, and this facility is clean and updated. October 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor response to request I had requested a quiet room away from the elevator. Upon arrival I was given room1918 which was 2 doors away from the elevator lobby. When I returned to the desk to ask for a change of room, your clerk gave me 2 choices, either a room on the 3rd floor at the back which he said had freeway noise or room 2014. I of course chose 2014. That however was apparently the wrong choice, because this room is directly underneath a service room for the banquet hall which had a hard floor. 3 out of the 5 mornings I was awakened at 6-6:30 am by footsteps and carts being pushed across a hard floor, not just once but many times. It lasted up to 20-30 minutes. It was impossible to sleepI realize that you will tell me that requests are not guaranteed, but surely with the number of rooms you have it couldn't have been that difficult a task to find a quiet room at or near the end of the hall for me!!! Extremely disappointed!! Worst service at a Sheraton ever. April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissatisfied I reserved a room with a King bed, I was given a room with a small Queen bed. There was no shampoo, conditioner or soap in the room. One of the bedside lamps was missing. The shower was a handicapped shower (not requested) so there was no edge, and the drain was clogged so the bathroom started flooding. The air conditioner was noisy. Staff was pleasant and refunded 30% for the night and changed the room for the next night, but I should not have been charge anything for the totally unacceptable condition of the room. October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five-star customer service Location was fantastic for Universal. Service was excellent from booking (LeAnn took care of securing adjoining rooms for us--travelling with kids), welcome emails prior to trip/day of trip/end of trip). at the moment of arrival with Aaron at Valet, Antonio at the front desk with a fast, efficient, and kid-friendly welcome as well as the super friendly (and genuine) staff across the board (front desk, room service, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, Club level, concierge, etc.). This is how 5-star hotels should do it. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't meet my expectations =When my wife and I arrived at the hotel, there was only 1 front desk receptionist. As she waiting attending with someone already when I arrived, I waited patiently in line. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I became very annoyed that no one was noticing the growing line of guests waiting to check in. This was on a Friday night, which I would think the hotel manager would expect to see more than 1 guest. Anyhow, this is beyond unacceptable in my opinion to make a guest wait for longer than 5 minutes to check in. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best guest service Thank you so much for making our mini vacation the best. When we arrived we were greeted at the Starwood perferered and Max helped us out. We checked in and were informed that our room was not ready yet because the guest before us checked out late. Max was kind enough to check to see what was available and he offered to upgrade us from our executive suite to a VIP suite (this is what Max referred to it as). The room was amazing and the customer service was the best of any hotel I've ever stayed at so Thank You. October 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We would like to call attention to Eduardo at the Bell Desk and Eugene at the Front Desk. We were greeted and given lots of information on Universal Studios and surrounding area, our bags were delivered expeditiously. Eugene went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable in the room that we were assigned. We had just left the Anaheim Sheraton and weren't treated as good as we were at the Sheraton Universal Studios. It comes down to the people you have at the Universal Sheraton. Thank you for a great stay. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay Poor management & service staff Checked in for a King Executive Suite. Suite has no refrigerator. Called guest service and they confirm all rooms in this hotel has no fridge. they will only send if available. Calls to guest service was either not answered or directed to automated response with long wait. Requested for manager to call back, no one did even after check out. Generally poor service from most personel of the hotel except Chambermate and room service staff. Will not recommend this hotel even if you expect just satisfsctory service. December 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton EVER I am a Platinum SPG and this has to be the WORST Sheraton anywhere in the world. The Internet is useless. The valets abuse the parking and fill up all the Handicapped. The rooms are OLD OLD OLD. I was in Room 1226 on the SPG floor. The carpets are stained, furniture worn out. The Club Lounge is USELESS. STAY AWAY from this hotel.... April 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel doesn't offer much for the price of stay Hotel does not offer shuttle service to and from airport or any near by areas of interest. No complimentary breakfast offered to guests. Refrigerator is available upon request but hotel does not have any microwaves to heat up your food. Sliding door to balcony difficult to access and open and also balcony area did not appear to be swept. The toilet is way to close to the wall which made it very difficult to reach for the toilet paper. The only good thing about this hotel is the location near Universal Studios. May 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for visiting Universal Studios We had a great stay at this hotel. Despite facing south to the freeway we couldn't hear the traffic at all. Beds were comfortable. Nice and close to the metro which we used to go to Staples Center to see a basketball game. Shuttle to Universal was very convenient; however I thought it was odd that the shuttle stopped at 10 pm on a weekend since City Walk is such a great venue that is open late. April 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by As rundown as the movie stars on the walls This is my second stay at the Sheraton Universal. My only reason for staying here is the proximity to my customer. The place is run down. There is still no swimming pool. I was put in a room (811) with no shower, no closet an ironing board on the wall and an AC vent that blows right in your face. The rooms are dusty, especially under the glass furniture coverings. The pillows are lumpy. The WiFi is useless. When I complained about the room on check-in, I was told there was nothing that can be done. They would call me the next morning to see if they could switch my rooms. Of course no-one called. I do want to call out the excellent service of Joey at the front desk. Finally someone took the extra effort to find me a "normal" hotel room which made my stay a little nicer. He also gave me access to the Starwood club room. I wish everyone had the same regard for customer service. This place needs a serious updating. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for Hollywood sites We stayed over the weekend while visiting family in the LA area. I booked two rooms - one with points and paid for the other. Since this was the stay that got me to Platinum status I was hoping for some special recognition. But all we got was two standard King bed rooms on the SPG level. I guess we've become spoiled following our amazing treatment recently on our European anniversary trip. However, the staff were all very helpful. The bar has a nice atmosphere. Note: Valet parking is $22 per day plus taxes. September 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by slow internet In addition to my previous comments about the long elevator waits, the club lounge service, and the poor lighting in rooms, the wireless internet service throughout the hotel also seems to be slow and unstable. Again, all the above seem to be easy fixes for the hotel to get back on par with other Sheraton hotels that I have visited. The parking structure next door is a good alternative for guests who prefer to self-park rather than valet their cars. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEPTIONAL This hotel continues to meet and exceed my expectations. In the past, I have not frequented many Starwood properties. This, however, is the seventh year I have used this facility and Emily Schwab and Bernadette Galaviz have made returning so easy. Their exceptional customer service and amazing one-on-one customer attention has made me a Starwood man!! KUDOS to these fine professionals, for it is they that bring us back, year after year! Jeffrey March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Sheraton Experience Room was okay with good beds. It had a small oddly configured washroom, a coffee maker you had to be on your knees to use and no mini fridge, despite being in a tourist destination. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Restaurant/room service was good but could use a few more food choices on the menu in the hotel - I assume they expect people to go out to eat somewhere else in Universal City. The pool was unfortunately closed and we had to walk to the neighboring Hilton for a hot tub. January 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed My complaint is no one from SPG at time of booking informed me that the pool was closed ant that the wireless service was being up dated . Both of these issues would have led me not to book at this time I had my son his wife and grand kids with me The restaurant is in need of an upgrade All in all a disappointing experience April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant stay, perfect location I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for five days and five nights. The staff in every department were more than helpful and very friendly. I enjoyed the food in the restaurant and most mornings had my breakfast overlooking the courtyard/pool area. The location was ideal:right across the way from Universal Studios, and five minutes walk to the Metro. I couldn't be happier, it felt like the relaxing and luxurious vacation I was wishing for, and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you everyone! July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel but no staff around at night This hotel is much better than I expected after reading some of the reviews. Everything was up to Sheraton standards. The only problem was that when we arrived a midnight there was no one around. I had to ring the bell at the reception desk and then had to search for the valet to park the car (guess I should've parked myself). We had already unloaded all our bags and we're going to the elevator before the bell staff arrived. If they are working on tips....they aren't going to get any from me. October 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but needs to be updated This is my 3rd stay at this property and everytime I come away with the same POV--it's a great location for business in Hollywood or the SF/SG Valley but the rooms decor is not well maintained. I see they are completely renovating the pool area which is great and the lobby still looks and works well. Staff is always a plus at this location. It's simply the wear & tear on the rooms...and this even on the "SPG Exec. Floor". For instance our headboard's material was cracked/peeling and didn't seem like a place I wanted my head near all night. The mirror by the closet had some weird trim work falling off the wall. The paint needs attention and the bathrooms are painfully small. So....let's hope the pool is just a start and that this signature Sheraton property will keep renovating on the room levels. November 28, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 22 next>>