Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 1929 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cleanliness I booked this hotel for my brother's first trip to NYC and I assumed that Sheraton will be a good hotel based on the reputation and my prior stays with them. My brother checked-in before me and the room given to him was not even clean. He had to request for a new room. He got a new room but this really was a bad customer service. How can they check-in someone in a room which is not clean? Also from the photos, the room looks bigger than it really is. I am not sure that this is a good practice. Hotel's location is its biggest plus-point. If you can improve on the basic services, it will be a good choice for stay. Basic things like wi-fi are not included in the stay. Even 1-star hotels offer such features. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location I have stayed at the Sheraton several times and this hotel is in a great location for the theater, Times Square, and Radio City Music Hall. The staff are friendly too. If you stay on the club level you have access to the lounge. Tommy and Barbara are there in the evenings serving drinks and appetizers and are very pleasant and wonderful to talk to about anything. They will make your stay fun. Don't forget they are waitstaff and do not share their tips. I noticed everyone tipping Barbara at the bar but not Tommy for his exceptional service. The view is also great from the lounge. December 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disasterous Checkin Our group of 90 guests arrived at the scheduled time on Sunday afternoon. The hotel registration staff was ill-prepared. The two clerks at the front desk were unable to process the guests. More guests, not affiated with our convention, kept arriving as well, futher congesting the lobby and creating havoc. This convention was scheduled months ago, if not years. The staff should have had a system in place to expedite the checkin of the 1500+ guests. The last member in our group received her room at 9PM, 5.5 hours after we arrived at the hotel. The Registration desk is a nightmare! July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad Experience Location is great, but that's about all this hotel has going for it. When I checked in at 7:30 pm, the room I booked with 1 queen bed was unavailable. It took a manager to 'find' a room for me. Also, from when I booked my stay (3 days prior to arrival) to 1 days before arriving, the nightly rate went down, and Starwood was unwilling to refund the difference or change my room type. Service was poor. All staff made excuses for what was going on, and not once was an apology offered. Do your research before booking. If there are big events going on at the hotel, avoid this place. September 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We had previously had a great experience with Sheraton the week before in Philadelphia, but this hotel was very disappointing. We couldn't check in when we arrived, and were told to come back a few hours later; the bag check room was full; when we were finally able to check in at 5.30 our room had not been cleaned from the previous occupants - and it took over an hour to get it ready. Parking was highway robbery and not clear at all that the charge is per 24 hours - and as we were 2 hours over is was $100 not $50. Room service charges turned a $12 kids meal into a $27 expense - before tip! Location is great but with hundreds of hotel within yards, not worth the $400+ charge we incurred ($500+ with parking). October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WE LOVED THIS HOTEL ......WE WILL BE BACK!! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel- The room was immaculate and the bed was extremely comfortable! The location was superb; only a short walk to the Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center and Times Square! The front desk reception couldn't have been nicer- We will be back soon...Thank you!! December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The big apple Overall we were very pleased with our experience . There was only one thing that I think should absolutely be mentioned that was very disappointing. We stayed on the club floor. My husband and I bought a bottle of wine so we could enjoy it in our room. We requested the male bartender to open the bottle for us and were told there would be a 25 dollar corkage fee. The bartender had a very nasty attitude. !!! Funny enough my husband then asked the concierge to give him a bottle opener and the gentleman said just ask the bartender and he will be more than happy to open it for you. August 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is in a great location, but the rooms are tiny. Our room was clean and newly renovated. The worst thing was that you had to pay $3.25 a bag to the bell hop to hold your luggage before and after check in/check out. Also if you arrive in a car there is no one to help you with your bags. November 15, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed In New York When I entered the hotel I was shocked and disappointed at the long line for registration. There was not enough staff available to handle the volume, even though the hotel was aware that there was a large convention coming into the hotel. I found the sleeping quarters to be extremely small for the amount that we paid. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the availabilty of clean linens each day. I found that the service in the resturant was excellent and the quality and variety of the food was good. I wish that the hours had been better for mid-day dining. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, bad service The location is great, rooms are comfortable. My mother visited NYC for a week with a friend while I had already paid for the stay. Upon arrival the check- in counter told her the bill had not been paid yet. This was repeated during several visits to the reception. The night before checkout it turned out it had been paid after all, nobody could explain what the mix-up was. Staff was generally unhelpfull in both this particular case and in general. Too many guests, personel not informed/understaffed?. Nice rooms. Could be a great hotel if service would have been more adequate August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by heating/airconditioning This hotel has an excellent location and very friendly staff. The only minus point concerns the heating/airconditioning. Meeting rooms were sometimes freezing cold and our room could not go below 18.5 degr Celsius and was too warm at night. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nightmare maid staff My first night in the hotel set the tempo for my two week stay. The shower curtain smelled of mildew and the bath mat was already damp. Each day I had to request wash clothes, one day I was not given any and it took 50 minutes for the maid staff to bring the towels to my room. I complained to the hotel management twice and initially the maid staff ignored management; however, on the second complaint to the hotel management, the maid service improved. The second hotel manager thought giving me a complimentary bottle of wine would rectify the situation; however, I don't drink! December 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice staff LOUD housekeepers At check in i had a great experience. Years ago I was a SPG but my membership was no longer active, The guy who checked us in researched it and enrolled me again in a matter of seconds, then he asked the person who I was traveling with if he was a SPG and researched his account and made that active again too. He made us feel like a VIP. Rooms were great. The doors to the rooms need to be adjusted so they do not slam when people exit into the hallway. Each morning as soon as people left the hotel room you would hear doors slaming. There wa also an issue with the house keeping staff talking so lound in the hall that it would wake anyone up. Over all I would stay here again. Good location and value for the money. September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Joy made my stay I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is right in the middle of everything. The location is perfect for business or pleasure. As such, it is a VERY busy hotel, but they do a very good job trying to get to everyone. The hotel is very clean, the room was great. But what made my stay was Joy. She was working the reception desk at check-in, and she truly lived up to her name. She was kind, considerate and incredibly helpful. She did whatever she could to accommodate my requests, and even went the extra mile by providing detailed written instructions on how to get somewhere. (with tips and everything) So while the hotel is good, Joy's attitude and obvious love for her job made my stay excellent. Thanks Joy! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel overcharges This is a nice hotel but you have charged my credit card more than appears on the bill I received, even the updated email bills. I checked out over two days ago. Now I have to take time during work to call to get the problem rectified. This is not the first time this has happened. I cannot recommend a hotel that consistently overcharges. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lounge Disappoints The Hotel is very well situated and undergoing renovations. The Rooms are well maintained and effecient. Staff is pleasant but can see that they are challenged because they are being overworked, and cannot deliver Front Desk Service. The Lounge for Breakfast is just short of a disaster. TOO SMALL and overcrowded that takes away from any positive experience The Food itself and variety is good, but NO PLACE to enjoy. Still very good Hotel, and will re-visit. If they can overcome their Service shortfall, would be a great experience. Platinum Status Member for Several Years January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! This has been my 6th time staying at this hotel. Fantastic location, near Times Square. Not too far from Central Park and the Javitts Center. Enjoyable Club Floor. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Room had neither a desk chair nor a desk. Hard to work in the room either. Staff were outstanding. I was in a rush checking out and there was a line of 15 people checking in. a manager stepped out from behind the front desk, took my room number and went to the back office and checked me out. phenomenal, I made my flight thanks to this awesome support. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by In the heart of it all Very happy with the Sheraton New York. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and the location is perfect if you're looking for staying in the action. Close to everything and the subway is nearby so it was perfect. August 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too Many Problems... Had three rooms over my four day stay. First room I was give was located right next to an ice maker that was making a terrible noise (definitely in need of service). Did not even unpack in this room. Next room seemed fine, but then at about half hour intervals each night, the pipes in the wall made a noise that can only be described as someone with an axe trying to get out of the wll (right next to the bed). This happened about EVERY 30 MINUTES throughout the night, Next day, I switched rooms. The last room, heating would not stay on for more than a few seconds at a time. It would come on than immediately switch off no matter what temperature I set it on. The desk area (located next to the window) was so cold, I could not even sit there. May the preferred floors are better. Who knows? February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay at Sheraton I was extremely disappointed with my last stay at this hotel last week. While I have stayed in this hotel 12 times in 2012 - this past stay was very disappointing. In the morning, I noticed the ceiling in my bathroom was leaking - I notified both the front desk and the service desk to address immediately. As a result of the leak, I had to wrap up and check out very quickly and the staff did not do anything to address the inconvenience for the leaking occurance. While I know nothing could be done to prevent the event, the staff reaction for the inconvenience was extremely disappointing, especially given that I have stayed at this hotel 12 times this year and am a premium member with Starwood. Very disappointing stay. October 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by house keeping improvements I stay here often, the room was a bit dirty, small pieces of hair on the bathroom sink, I wiped it down. The over for the bed comforter was dirty (stains), I asked the front desk to info house keeping, to change sheets. They did not, I called again. They finally changed it. I also replied to the guest relations. They sent a new comforter to the room (not checking records that they were changed). This time, they just left a comforter on the bed. I like this hotel location and that there's a club room. The club room staff are always friendly. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean is Critical Checked in and room smelled like mildew. Checked around and it was the shower curtain. I called the front desk, told them about it and 3 hours later when we got back from dinner nothing was taken care of. I called again, they said they would send someone up. Then a housekeeping supervisor came in, asked if there were any issues, I told her and she asked if i reported it. i told her the front desk said they were sending someone up. it was finally taken care of but shouldn't have been an issue in the first place and i should not have had to call down twice, hours apart. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good I stayed at this hotel as part of a conference (the conference was actually further into Times Square). The location was good because I didn't want to get flooded with everybody from Times Square and there were a few subway stops nearby as well. The only issues I had were cleanliness. I saw a dead moth on the floor by the window, the toilet was clean except for an old stain inside the bowl, and I noticed that although housekeeping comes in to replenish toiletries and make my bed they didn't really bother to wipe the mirror (after I inadvertently splashed water on it). June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too Long to Wait for Room This is our go to hotel in NYC. It is centrally located and meets our needs. However, this trip was a disaster. We arrived at 7:00 p.m. and was told our room wasn't ready. No huge deal and we were given a complimentary breakfast. We came back at 11:00 and there still wasn't a room available. We then sat around until midnight. We go the room discounted. While I very much appreciated what the staff did for us, with young kids and not being able to get into a room until midnight, this is unacceptable. They blamed housekeeping. But honestly, all they had to do was tell housekeeping to clean a specific room. Again, the staff did what they could, but to wait until midnight with young kids to get into a room was ridiculous. August 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was ok I was at the Sheraton NY, never stayed there for business before. Was not impressed with wait to check in. Lobby was nice, room decorated nicely. Didn't think bed was comfortable at all - sheets were rough? Blind in room was fine at night, but as soon as sun rose there was no way to make the room dark? Could hear people next door - walls too thin. Average large chain hotel - I wouldn't stay here again for business...maybe for personal trip if the price is right. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Housekeeping We enjoyed staying at the Sheraton NYC this past weekend. I have always rated the Sheratons as the best of the best. But, my unit had three things wrong with it, not major but annoying. !) The shower bar was loose and appeared to start cracking the ceramic tile. 2) Burnt out light bulb. 3) The sink faucet was loose and it was putting a scratch in the mirrored wall. I called Guest Services, and they took care of the issues with a short while. But, this is something that housekeeping should have caught and had it fixed so your guests wouldn't have to be annoyed by these problems. Plus, by delaying the fixes when they first happen, could cost the Sheraton a lot more money to fix because of the extra damage it could cause. July 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location!!! Excellent location, close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, etc. Subway stop just outside front door! Room was fine, comfortable beds, windows that open for fresh air. Lounge on 44th floor was fantastic, great views, excellent breakfast and snacks in evening. Only complaint is the check-in and check-out, took forever (even in the preferred line). Took forever to pull up reservation and process the keys.Most hotels have this already done for your arrival. Also, the check out was slow, and I got charged for internet despite being a Platinum member. May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite hotel in NYC This hotel is clean and queit. It is withing walking distance of Times Square and Hells Kitchen . Plenty of shopping and restaurants near by. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Club Lounge The room was spacious for NYC, although they did not have a room ready for me at 1:30pm when I arrived, so i took a double bed room instead of my king room as reserved and also had to take a lower floor.. As a Platinum member, I thought I would not have to wait until 3pm check-in, she said there were no rooms available, yet the man in line next to me walked up and was able to check in and get a king bed room. I was not offered an upgraded room or the free Continental Breakfast that is supposed to be available for Platinum members. I loved the extra plugs in the room. The Club Lounge was large and always busy. It offered a variety of items and had a great view. Warning: The wine was pricey at $15 a glass, even for NYC. May 25, 2012
<<prev 27 28 29 30 31 ... 66 next>>