Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2164 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed In New York When I entered the hotel I was shocked and disappointed at the long line for registration. There was not enough staff available to handle the volume, even though the hotel was aware that there was a large convention coming into the hotel. I found the sleeping quarters to be extremely small for the amount that we paid. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the availabilty of clean linens each day. I found that the service in the resturant was excellent and the quality and variety of the food was good. I wish that the hours had been better for mid-day dining. August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, bad service The location is great, rooms are comfortable. My mother visited NYC for a week with a friend while I had already paid for the stay. Upon arrival the check- in counter told her the bill had not been paid yet. This was repeated during several visits to the reception. The night before checkout it turned out it had been paid after all, nobody could explain what the mix-up was. Staff was generally unhelpfull in both this particular case and in general. Too many guests, personel not informed/understaffed?. Nice rooms. Could be a great hotel if service would have been more adequate August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice staff LOUD housekeepers At check in i had a great experience. Years ago I was a SPG but my membership was no longer active, The guy who checked us in researched it and enrolled me again in a matter of seconds, then he asked the person who I was traveling with if he was a SPG and researched his account and made that active again too. He made us feel like a VIP. Rooms were great. The doors to the rooms need to be adjusted so they do not slam when people exit into the hallway. Each morning as soon as people left the hotel room you would hear doors slaming. There wa also an issue with the house keeping staff talking so lound in the hall that it would wake anyone up. Over all I would stay here again. Good location and value for the money. September 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nightmare maid staff My first night in the hotel set the tempo for my two week stay. The shower curtain smelled of mildew and the bath mat was already damp. Each day I had to request wash clothes, one day I was not given any and it took 50 minutes for the maid staff to bring the towels to my room. I complained to the hotel management twice and initially the maid staff ignored management; however, on the second complaint to the hotel management, the maid service improved. The second hotel manager thought giving me a complimentary bottle of wine would rectify the situation; however, I don't drink! December 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Joy made my stay I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is right in the middle of everything. The location is perfect for business or pleasure. As such, it is a VERY busy hotel, but they do a very good job trying to get to everyone. The hotel is very clean, the room was great. But what made my stay was Joy. She was working the reception desk at check-in, and she truly lived up to her name. She was kind, considerate and incredibly helpful. She did whatever she could to accommodate my requests, and even went the extra mile by providing detailed written instructions on how to get somewhere. (with tips and everything) So while the hotel is good, Joy's attitude and obvious love for her job made my stay excellent. Thanks Joy! July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location close to everything. Overall, our experience was positive, but I should have demanded to be relocated to another romm when maintenance showed up stating there was a work order issued for a problem with the toilet before the bellman had even unloaded our luggage from the cart! The problem occurred the entire 7days we were there. We even tried to alleviate the issue ourself by pouring buckets of water down the toilet, but that only lasted 1 night and the horrific fecal odor returned. Every day we had someone from maintenance trying to fix the problem only for it to reappear. Pearl, the hoesekeeping manager, was very understanding and very nice, but she was at a loss as well as to where the problem was coming from. I was just a bit surprised that the front desk staff never offered to have us moved. I realize it was an extremely busy week at the hotel, but it did not matter if I was a VIP member or not; I didn't receive any special treatment or credits. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check In Check In clerk basically rushed us through. Didn't offer any Gold member perks until I requested it. My room wasn't located on the SPG floor. No water in room. Room location poor due to the location of the supply closet which seemed to be opened and closed every hour during the night. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Always superb and helpful staff . July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lounge Disappoints The Hotel is very well situated and undergoing renovations. The Rooms are well maintained and effecient. Staff is pleasant but can see that they are challenged because they are being overworked, and cannot deliver Front Desk Service. The Lounge for Breakfast is just short of a disaster. TOO SMALL and overcrowded that takes away from any positive experience The Food itself and variety is good, but NO PLACE to enjoy. Still very good Hotel, and will re-visit. If they can overcome their Service shortfall, would be a great experience. Platinum Status Member for Several Years January 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Below expectation Very busy hotel, very noisy. Lobby gives you the feeling of being in a train station at rush hours. Concierge a bit arrogant after providing a feedback on a restaurant that they reccomended. Check-in very easy, supported by good staff. July 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but poor amenities Excellent location! You can walk to most attractions such as Theaters, Times square, Central park etc. Great restaurants all over this area. Hotel amenities are not very great. There is no microwave in the room. Room service was not so great either. You have to pay for every little thing, including WIFI which is considered basic service now a days. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by In the heart of it all Very happy with the Sheraton New York. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and the location is perfect if you're looking for staying in the action. Close to everything and the subway is nearby so it was perfect. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff Everyone with whom we came into contact while staying at this Sheraton sincerely made us feel like we were welcomed there. They were all very friendly, helpful, professional, and sincere. Even if our room had not been as beautiful and comfortable as it was, if the staff is exceptional like this Sheraton's is, then you don't feel like complaining. They were top-notch! July 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay at Sheraton I was extremely disappointed with my last stay at this hotel last week. While I have stayed in this hotel 12 times in 2012 - this past stay was very disappointing. In the morning, I noticed the ceiling in my bathroom was leaking - I notified both the front desk and the service desk to address immediately. As a result of the leak, I had to wrap up and check out very quickly and the staff did not do anything to address the inconvenience for the leaking occurance. While I know nothing could be done to prevent the event, the staff reaction for the inconvenience was extremely disappointing, especially given that I have stayed at this hotel 12 times this year and am a premium member with Starwood. Very disappointing stay. October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly good I stayed at this hotel as part of a conference (the conference was actually further into Times Square). The location was good because I didn't want to get flooded with everybody from Times Square and there were a few subway stops nearby as well. The only issues I had were cleanliness. I saw a dead moth on the floor by the window, the toilet was clean except for an old stain inside the bowl, and I noticed that although housekeeping comes in to replenish toiletries and make my bed they didn't really bother to wipe the mirror (after I inadvertently splashed water on it). June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too Long to Wait for Room This is our go to hotel in NYC. It is centrally located and meets our needs. However, this trip was a disaster. We arrived at 7:00 p.m. and was told our room wasn't ready. No huge deal and we were given a complimentary breakfast. We came back at 11:00 and there still wasn't a room available. We then sat around until midnight. We go the room discounted. While I very much appreciated what the staff did for us, with young kids and not being able to get into a room until midnight, this is unacceptable. They blamed housekeeping. But honestly, all they had to do was tell housekeeping to clean a specific room. Again, the staff did what they could, but to wait until midnight with young kids to get into a room was ridiculous. August 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean is Critical Checked in and room smelled like mildew. Checked around and it was the shower curtain. I called the front desk, told them about it and 3 hours later when we got back from dinner nothing was taken care of. I called again, they said they would send someone up. Then a housekeeping supervisor came in, asked if there were any issues, I told her and she asked if i reported it. i told her the front desk said they were sending someone up. it was finally taken care of but shouldn't have been an issue in the first place and i should not have had to call down twice, hours apart. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lounge Status of 44 lounge was very bad. Opening hours are short and personnel cleaning table did not care to touch with dirty protective gloves, being used for cleaning operations, the dishes of the customers January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by NEEDS AIR CONDITIONING SAFE BROKEN FIRST ROOM AIR NOT WORKING ASKED FOR REPAIR BROUGHT IN FLOOR FAN NEXT DAY MOVED TO ANOTHER ROOM SAME THING AIR NOT WORKING BOTH ROOMS BATH ROOM SOUR & HAD OFFENSIVE ODOR WORKOUT COST $20.00 TO USE NO SWIMMING POOL BUT ADVERTISED ON OUSIDE OF HOTEL JOHN THE CONCIERGE WAS FANTASTIC. GREAT LOCATION BEAUTIFUL HOTEL July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good for location have stayed at many sheratons and this one is good for a perfect times square location. christian at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure check in was perfect! thank you! July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Housekeeping We enjoyed staying at the Sheraton NYC this past weekend. I have always rated the Sheratons as the best of the best. But, my unit had three things wrong with it, not major but annoying. !) The shower bar was loose and appeared to start cracking the ceramic tile. 2) Burnt out light bulb. 3) The sink faucet was loose and it was putting a scratch in the mirrored wall. I called Guest Services, and they took care of the issues with a short while. But, this is something that housekeeping should have caught and had it fixed so your guests wouldn't have to be annoyed by these problems. Plus, by delaying the fixes when they first happen, could cost the Sheraton a lot more money to fix because of the extra damage it could cause. July 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Location!!! Excellent location, close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, etc. Subway stop just outside front door! Room was fine, comfortable beds, windows that open for fresh air. Lounge on 44th floor was fantastic, great views, excellent breakfast and snacks in evening. Only complaint is the check-in and check-out, took forever (even in the preferred line). Took forever to pull up reservation and process the keys.Most hotels have this already done for your arrival. Also, the check out was slow, and I got charged for internet despite being a Platinum member. May 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kid's first trip to NYC I am a 10 year Platinum guest and frequent Starwood properties. This weekend I decided to have a special weekend item my two children using points and a room upgrade. A few days before our visit, Pearl contacted me and introduced herself as my on property liaison. That was incredible! Pearl made our stay extra special with some excellent arrival gifts and by checking in during our stay. It was an incredible experience and show of appreciation. The only two items that I would recommend taking a look at. One is the A/C as it did not cool down our room and secondly would be to expand breakfast options in the Club Lounge. Drink options are plentiful, but food options were limited. I have stayed at this property many times for business and leisure and continue to do so based on my consistently good experience and the hotel's location. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff! I recently stayed with you for the first time in NYC. I was there for 9 days and had the best experience. The staff was excellent, friendly and very accommodating. I was very pleased with hotel and its location. Some of the rooms do need some update but overall good for NYC. Please commend your staff for their excellent service! July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Club Lounge The room was spacious for NYC, although they did not have a room ready for me at 1:30pm when I arrived, so i took a double bed room instead of my king room as reserved and also had to take a lower floor.. As a Platinum member, I thought I would not have to wait until 3pm check-in, she said there were no rooms available, yet the man in line next to me walked up and was able to check in and get a king bed room. I was not offered an upgraded room or the free Continental Breakfast that is supposed to be available for Platinum members. I loved the extra plugs in the room. The Club Lounge was large and always busy. It offered a variety of items and had a great view. Warning: The wine was pricey at $15 a glass, even for NYC. May 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Missing the Club Room Amenities I have always loved the Sheraton on 7th! I stay there every time I am in the city which is usually 3-4 times per year. I have always had a good experience, the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating particularly Mohammed and Tomas and the ladies that work the bar in the evenings in the Club Room. I am, however, extremely disappointed that the Club Room Amenities have been so reduced as I discovered on my last stay, this past Labor Day weekend. Bring back the selection of fresh fruit in the mornings, the hot appetizers, potato chips and cookies in the evening! September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best home away from home in New York! All we can say is this hotel gives meaning to excellence in every way. Most striking is a staff that is so incredibly responsive, warm, helpful, kind, and it crosses every area of hotel staff. If "it" all starts at the top, Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Gosh we hated to leave this place and will always be Sheraton New Yorkers. What a great model for how positive energy just makes the day better for everyone, why not? June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel in Times Square The Sheraton NY is a well run professional hotel in a great location exploring midtown and Times Square. Hotel has recently been renovated so everything feels new and fresh. It is a large hotel with 1000 rooms but the staff does a great job managing the massive amounts of people coming through the hotel. Check in and out is great. Room was fresh and clean with a comfortable bed and nice big flat screen TV with alot of channels.However, the room is small and not really a place where one would relax and hang out. Best for tourists and businesspeople. Great security. October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Visit During a Hurricane The outstanding staff provided a safe haven for all guests during Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was at full capacity with guests who had been evacuated from their homes or other hotels, travelers whose flights had ben cancelled and marathon runners who had been disappointed by a cancelled run. The staff, at all levels, remained dedicated to the comfort of guests and even though many had personally experienced the effects of Sandy. They smiled and continued with the can-do attitude which speaks highly to the leadership. Thank you for offering a shelter from the storm! November 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet issue The first night we were there, someone nearby had a yapping dog. The hotel staff was gracious, but there wasn't much they could do...the hotel is pet friendly and they cannot enter the room etc. etc. Yes, I love my dog...but leaving animals alone in a hotel room is cruel. July 11, 2014
<<prev 28 29 30 31 32 ... 73 next>>