Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2007 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel relying on prime location Welcome not sincere.Room switched to disabled as room as one booked 2 months before not appatently available. TV didn't work - plugs disconnected. Sorted myself but Movie Channel then unavailable. Fire alarm went off in room at 07.00 and screamed for 15 minutes (no I don't smoke) - no explanation given. Much needed sleep not possible. Staggered out next day pleased to leave. April 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay minus the hundreds of Model UN Ambassadors Im pretty sure the model UN was staying at the hotel the weekend I was there. From the moment I check in on friday until the moment I checked out on MOnday the lobby was overflowing with loud kids (are 18-24 years old kids?) everywhere. They were sitting/lying on the floor, lying on the sofas in the lobby and it looked more like a refugee camp than a 4 star hotel. I was waiting (on average) up to 5 minutes for an elevator, there were kids yelling and being loud throughout the night and it was utter chaos. The staff was pleasant and the room attendants did a great job. I was not pleased by the baggage charge to hold onto luggage once we checked out. It was only a few dollars but seriously... this should be complimentary. I would stay at a Sheraton again but NEVER during the Model UN Conference. It was a madhouse. Times Square is already a nightmare... I want my hotel to be a place of tranquility and relaxation. April 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Basic lodging and not much more. Excellent location and very clean facilities. Parking is awful. No valet service at entrance. For $40 per night pakrking, you should be able to drive up to the main entrance. Hotel personel at check-in was understaffed and certainly could have been more accomodating. The room itself was comfortable and clean. This hotel serves the purpose of basic lodging, but not much more. January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff I'm impress of the help that we received in our stay at your Hotel. The housekeeping lady on the 31st floor, I think her name is Ms. Neomi, she was very nice and she kept our room very clean. Mr. Pacheco at the concierge desk, he was very knowledge with the area and he help us to get the right tour. We are very happy with the professional service that we received. Thank you. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location in NYC Nice hotel. Close to many attractions. I have stayed here now three different times for a conference or a conference close by. My only problem was the safe in the room did not work and I was told that none of these type of safes worked. Why was it not replaced or at least taken out of the room? Concierge service very good. Friendly staff. December 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Gold Members - Look Elsewhere If you are a SPG Gold Member, please look elsewhere since this hotel only recognizes Platinum status for any preferred upgrades to Club Level or for in room internet. I was appalled that the desk clerk wanted $25.00 additional per night to upgrade me to Club level room. I stay at SPG hotels worldwide and never have been asked for any such fees - so this is highly irregular. March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay We were pleased with everything about the hotel except the dining room. Of course, with all of the opportunities to eat around the hotel, i can see why it is not top priority. From the reception staff, to maintenance, to the room maintenance we were pleased. The LINK cafe staff was friendly and attentive. Thanks for a nice stay! It will be one the top os our list to return. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient location We had girls weekend out. Beds very comfortable. On second day insufficient towels and toilet paper were left for us and had to call to get replenished. Service was quick upon request. Parking rates a bit high. At desk, needed better local knowledge of comedy clubs and prices/terms. Not very soundproof within building but soundproof to outside noise. Staff overall friendly. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel in nyc the greatest hotel in nyc March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, small bathrooms This was our first visit to the Sheraton NY and we were quite pleased with the location. It's right in the heart of midtown and the theater district, and only a few blocks from Times Square. We've stayed in some other hotels right in Times Sqare on previous visits but it can be overcrowded with people, so the slight removal to 53rd St was a big help. The room was nice, but a bit on the small side. Our one major complaint was that the bathroom was rediculously small. As a couple sharing a room, there was really no way to have more than one person in the bathroom unluss one person stood in the bathtub. This is a problem when you're both trying to get ready to go out somewhere. On the plus side, the fitness center is the very best we've ever seen in a hotel. On the downside, the service was exceptionally slow. On balance we would definitely consider going back, particularly if there are rooms with larger bathrooms. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton NY Great but, lobby internet is cumbersome to use. And free wireless should be part of hotel rate. My compliments to reception desk. They have always been very helpful. Although have rooms ready for early arrivals would be a nice help. Rooms cleaned and ready should be made available earlier - yes I know rooms are not guaranteed for early arrival. But, it would be nice!! August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why not? I do not understand why you charge so much for something so simple and small as internet access. Internet is a necessity in the modern world. Why not providing free Internet access for all rooms, as Sheraton does in other locations? hotel would have a little spending and guests would have a huge benefit!. you guys would have a better evaluation with this little action! August 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Challenges Difficult for cabs to offload. Food in restaurant overpriced(Breakfast Buffet).Bathrooms off the meeting rooms on second floor were similar to those of the 1940s. The refusal for a one hour delay of checking out and charging for checking luggage was outrageous. Nice location between Central Park and Times Square. The taxes and room costs will prevent us from returning. December 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Times Square I stay at this hotel often but my most recent stay December 7 -10 was disappointing. Only one out three elevators servicing the 28th floor was working for most of my stay. Access to the lobby and room were therefore difficult with exceptional waits for the one elevator. The bar service was so overwhelmed that getting drinks was a nightmare. December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has the perfect tourist location I stayed at the Sheraton Times Square Hotel from Saturday, 08/24/13 thru Wednesday, 8/29/13 and had a great time! The hotel location is right in Times Square which is perfect for "tourists" (like me and my girlfriend). The hotel is newly renovated and the staff is very pleasant. The only problem I had was a big hole in the bottom of my bath sink and the toilet stool was leaking-water everywhere in the bathroom. The sink was repaired within 3 days and the toilet stool was chalked within 4 days. May I remind you this is a 5 days/ 4 nights stay! The hotel manager did give me $150 credit or to relocate to another room. Who wants to relocate to another room when you have unpacked? I opt for the $150 credit. Overall, I love the hotel and the location is a "plus" and I will recommend the Sheraton Times Square. I plan to in the future to come there again and the next time I will check all the plumbing before unpacking (smile). August 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's just ok It's close to Times Square. Great for tourists. May be too crowded/busy for business travelers. The property itself is in good shape. The lounge offering is a little disappointing. It gets pretty crowded in the morning and the breakfast spread mainly consists of cold items like muffins, bagels, toast. The property also does not participate in the Green Choice program. May 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff We recently stayed in the Sheraton during Hurraine Sandy, following our evacuation from our hotel. The staff were all amazing especially Matthew on the check in desk, who helped us so much. Even though the hotel was at full capacity, the staff (who were also personally dealing with the impact of the hurricane) all had time to listen and went out of their way to help. November 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel has great location The location of the hotel is great. The registration staff was most accommodating. The room was very nice, while bathroom was small, it met our needs. The housekeeping staff was top of the line. Very nice, more than accommodating, and always greeted us and did an excellent job. Our housekeeper was so great that she would be a major reason for us to stay there again. April 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel Big, recently renovated hotel without much charm or personality. The biggest issue was the room had a mildew smell when we walked in. After running the air conditioning for a while, it improved a bit (but never totally went away). Given that we checked in rather late, the smell wasn't bad enough to ask for a different room - but wasn't the best overall experience. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location and Value in NYC Perfect location to walk everywhere in New York City for business or pleasure. Staff was friendly and if you are a SPG member the club lounge is very nice. Given the high prices of hotels in the city, this one provides a great value. I will stay here again on my next trip. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was the perfect place to stay It is in a GREAT location! You could walk anywhere and there was also a subway station right across the street. Room was very clean and it was easy to find your way around the hotel. Coffee bar in the morning and bar snacks were perfect. Staff very helpful. Fantastic New York atmosphere and although the hotel is huge, it gives a very small comfortable feel as well! May 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Towels and Linens Smell Bad First time ever, staying anywhere, that I could not stand the smell of the towels or bed linens (smelt funky, nasty, musky). Staff informed us that there is a problem with the cleaning contractor. No excuse. Only refunded us a portion of spg pts used. First time ever staying with SPG that i have not been satisfied. Would avoid this hotel until this problem is fixed August 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor welcome Front desk clerk could not find our reservation. Pretended that arrival was for a day earlier, when booking was changed two weeks prior. Indicated that the hotel was full and they could not accept SPG members on points. Room charge would have to be paid cash. Issue was resolved after wiating GM for half hour in the lobby. This hotel is not friendly to SPG memebr. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel with friendly staff This hotel is beautiful, clean, and has lots of ammenities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable, although the pillows were not comfortable at all. The breakfast buffet was one of the best ones I have ever been too, but still over-priced. I love the little bar area that has breakfast food and starbucks coffee. February 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and bad. The good: The location, the hotel facilities. I was given a floor in the 40's. The bad: The room was run down, the view was of another hotel, and the door had to be forced shut and pulled open harshly causing a massive noise every time I entered/exited my room. If you can manage a decent rate, stay here, otherwise I definitely recommend The Westin on Times Square. April 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised by the Rudeness of Front Desk Staff My husband and I always stay at this hotel when in NY every year, and some years, twice a year. Upon check-in, I requested a 4PM check-out for my day of departure as I had a very late flight. I was told it was no problem. Unfortunately, when I called the night before checking out to confirm, I was told very abruptly that 4PM is not offered. I tried to explain what I had discussed days earlier, and was told that it was not true, and 4 PM check-out is not allowed. I asked for a manager who told me my request was never noted. After some discussion on my part, she agreed to a 2PM and complimentary baggage check. I appreciate how she offered this to assist me, but as I needed to go to Red Hook that day, the 2PM check-out left me rushed, and very inconvenienced. I do like your hotel, but I really think some of your staff needs training on treating guests, who stay at your hotel every year for the last 7 years, with more courtesy. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has everything you need. The rooms are larger than many others in NYC. The hotel and rooms are clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. We had 2 preteens in our room and there was plenty of space. It is located in walking distance to many NYC landmarks, shopping, Central Park, diners and fine dining, theaters. We have stayed here at least a half dozen times and I have no complaints. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above-and-Beyond-the-Call-of-Duty While checking out of the hotel my colleg-age daughter lost her designer purse somewhere in the hotel lobby. Unable to find it anywhere, we had to leave in order to make our flight back to Ohio. The Night Security Manager found it later that evening, somehow tracked our phone number through the medical insurance card in her wallet and then sent the handbag and its contents to our home the next day. All this effort even though he believed she had not been a guest at the hotel because the reservation was in my (her parent's) name...not hers. Any hotel staff member could have kept the purse itself just because of its value - not to mention the money and contents inside the purse. Rudy was so honest and diligent that he went out of his way to find the owner of that handbag. Rudy went far above and beyond the call of duty that day and he has helped make life-long loyal Sheraton Hotels & Resort customers of our family and friends. March 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay in New York City Was an excellent facility, and staff was wonderful. Jon was a welcomed friendly face at breakfast. The room was noisy. The door and walls are not very well insulated. You could hear every door on the hall open and close all night long. Voices carried from other rooms and hall as well. The hotel was centrally located and was convenient for everywhere we went. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oh how I loved It I've been to New York several times in the past two years, but never ever have I stayed in Manhattan. Boy oh boy I was like a kid in a candy store the minute I entered the hotel. Upon checking in, the receptionist was very articulate and knowledgeable. Service was awesome and the food and room service was above and beyond. I will be back there in a few months. November 26, 2012
<<prev 41 42 43 44 45 ... 68 next>>