Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 379 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BAD MATTRESS THE MATRESS THAT WE HAD IN OUR ROOM WAS TERRIBLE. WE DID NOT SLEEP WELL AT ALL. WAS TOOOOOO SOFT. HAVE NEVER HAD A MATTRESS LIKE THIS IN THIS HOTEL AT ALL. WE HAVE ALWAYS SLEPT WELL EXCEPT FOR THIS TIME. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Comfortable! The hotel is very nice and comfortable! The mattresses are the best I've ever slept on in a hotel, none better. The staff made me feel like royalty, very personable and friendly! They have renovated the hotel lobby, I would like to have seen the pre-renovation still intact - just loved the "step into history" feel that it was 3 years ago when I was there. Also, the gift shop was gone. Was looking forward to aquiring a book on the hotel's history this trip. But, overall, you can't go wrong staying here! April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gold Members be aware Be aware if you stay at this location and are, and I quote "only a gold member" (add smirk) you will not be afforded the luxury of visiting their, and I quote "prestigious lounge for platinum members". First in more than a dozen different Sheraton locations that we were denied lounge access. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!!! My wife and I checked in after 13 hours driving, on my 60th birthday, and your front-desk staff helped to make it a memorable birthday! She was working the evening of the 15th and is a credit to your facility, charming, professional, and welcoming. Great hotel, great location, great city! Thank you for a memorable vacation! April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My recent stay The room and staff were good. The front desk people and servers in the banquet rooms were great. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, but had a lot of traffic noise and the Internet was intermittent - it kept stopping and making me sign in again. The banquet food itself was tasty, but the meal choices (which very well may have been the fault of the planners, rather than the staff) was repetitive over the four days and high calorie. More variety and healthier choices would have been good. April 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant stay! As always, everything was perfect - the desk staff were very pleasant, welcoming, and competent. The room was large, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. We'll see you on our next trip to San Antonio! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by san antonio weekend Wonderful 4 day weekend; in town for family event. Great customer service; answered all questions quickly; helped secure needed wheelchair. Executive lounge staff; bar; restaurant; front desk and concierge/parking staff all were attentive; some calling us by name. Room was large; bed very comfortable. Would like to have seen higher quality towels; but that is the only suggestion to offer and admittingly not that significant. WIll return to SA and will not look for another hotel; location was excellent too February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointing Arrived at the hotel late, Valet guy was on the ball and greeted me immediately, however had to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes to be helped. Front desk clerk did not even mention my Platinum status or even ask about points or welcome gift. Was given a room that appeared to be clean, with the exception of the carpeting and furnishings. Carpet had several stains and had been cleaned so many times that it was loose and had waves in it. Went to the restroom and stepped on the transition from carpet to the tile, and was stabbed in the foot by the tack strip on the carpet. I would never stay at this location again. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good features, however.... Upon check-in I was informed by the desk attendant that your hotel had a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. When I checked the water temperature of the pool and hot tub after dropping my luggage off in my room the temperature was at 72 degrees! It was not warm enough for me to enter. I mentioned this at the front desk they told the appropriate hotel personnel. When I checked the water temperature 2 days later it had risen to 78 degrees. It was still not warm enough for me to enter. My suggestion would be for the desk personnel to not inform guests that the pool and hot tub are heated when they are lukewarm at best. November 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the experience I expected. The Club Room & Lounge room was not even close to being worth the value; tiny and poor selections available. Room carpet was significantly water stained inside room, mirror cracked. The rest of the room was very well appointed, though. Street noise inexplicably loud all night for being over ten stories up; windows clearly need better insulation. Made it hard to sleep. The entraces, resturant and bar were all wonderful, as were the associated staffs. Had a very pleasent experience everywhere except for the room and the club lounge. Valet brought wrong car and had half hour wait for them to find the right one. September 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Renovations" ruined this historial hotel This is the very worse we have ever seen in 'renovations'. The beautiful lobby shown on the website is no longer in existance. All of the beautiful wood has been painted stark white. The beautiful chandaliers have been covered. They have taken all of the beauty out of everything in the lobby. There was no respect given to the history of this property. We will not return again and will no longer recommend it as one of the most beautiful hotels in San Antonio. December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY WEDDING WAS AWESOME STACY IS WONDERFUL . SHE MAKES PLANING A WEDDING AWAY FROM HOME A BREEZE. HOTEL IS NEWLY REMODEL BUT STILL HOLD TRUE TO IT'S SAN ANTONIO ROOTS. ELEGANT AND MY FAMILY & FRIENDS LOVED THE EASY WALK ACROSS THE STREET TO THE RIVER WALK. April 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not to Starwood standards Negative: TV system went out. No decent Hotel services guide in the room. Had to ask for one and got a battered copy. T.P. holder more than an arm's distance away from the commode. In a noisy environment. There were ear plugs provided among the amenities. Iffy coordination between the restaurant and the billing system. Very slow service and iffy service in the restaurant. Positive: PLENTY of sockets. Very comfortable mattress. Lots of towels. Friendly staff. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in Great Location You can't do better than the Sheraton Gunter for a great downtown location. Close to the RiverWalk, the Alamo and across the street from the grand Majestic Theatre. The property is older and historic so don't expect shiny and modern. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Club Lounge services are a nice bonus. Overall this property offers good value for the money. April 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel did not meet my expectations for the price. The Valet and front desk personnel were courteous and helpful. The room was dirty when I arrived and there was hair in the bathtub. The heat didn't work and I could not get the room warmer than 65. The following day housekeeping did not replace the coffee or breakfast menu. Other than that they cleaned well. Barron's food was just not very good. One evening I was told that I could not order from the menu that the buffet was my only option. I relented and fixed my plate. Then they took menus to the table in front of me. I was leaving and not going to pay for my meal. Service was just not up to par. April 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rating Of Sheraton Gunter Hotel For the price of 1 day at the hotel...it was ridiculous for the pricing. The rooms weren't the greatest. The bathrooms were dirty. The tub had a mat in it with a black ring around it. Around the knobs in the sink were nasty. Toilet nasty. Showers walls dirty with grit all in them. Hated the carpet in the hallways, very hard to pull luggage. Just basically not what we expected especially when coming from the Westin. Didn't really get a good nights sleep...walls paper thin and could here toilets flushing all throughout the night and loud people in the hallway. Glad we only had to stay for one night. February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recommend stay somewhere else First of all, good luck with finding this hotel if you are an out of town traveler. Second, when I got to my room, I remembered why I stopped staying at the Sheraton. This hotel is sooo old that it is ridiculous. I was afraid to use the bathroom! I was afraid the elevator would stop on me. They charge for valet parking and neglect to tell you that there is no other parking. My Internet services were crappy at best and I was up all night because of the noise from the hallway and downtown. I am a small person and the bathroom made me feel claustrophobic so I can only imagine someone of avg height and weight would feel. The staff was wonderful but even they cannot compensate for this hotel. March 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mrs Friendly staff but housekeeping did not clean our room and bathroom. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant The Sheraton Gunter Hotel has a charming antique feel, with enough modern amenities to make it easy to forget that the building is over 100 years old. Victoria, at the front desk, made our stay especially memorable by upgrading the rooms at check-in. The only negative experience of the stay occurred during checkout- to no fault of the hotel staff. Another guest was attempting to check-in early (11:30A.M.) and his room was not yet ready. His puerile fit of impatience only highlighted the helpful nature of the front desk agent, who attempted to switch him into another room for immediate check-in. February 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going through changing pains Overall the stay was okay. However, the restaurant was opening for the public and did a very poor job preparing for it. On 3/31 we sat outside to have a drink. No one came out to serve us for 15 minutes. A manager just said they were short handed. We finally went inside to the bar (another customer left all together for another restaurant). At the bar the bartenders couldn't find the wine listed on the wine list, saying they were new to the bar. The next morning the service was only slightly better, but my wife didn't get exactly what she ordered. When we asked the manager why he couldn't help with the customers he replied that he has things to do behind the scenes. Web went to the pool and it had oily scum and hair in it. Finally, we were disappointed that we couldn't use the lounge (only now for premium members). We pay monthly fees too! Front desk was great. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipped...but Recovered Initial visit to this hotel found room provided us was already in use, as we opened the door to go in for a rest after a long drive. Immediately headed back to desk for new room and noted wife being a travel agent was not impressed so far. Staff provided another room and it was acceptable. Towels for such a hotel were not very thick..but size okay. Did not get hand towels on second night....which we would expect...every night, so had to improvise. We have to come back to San Antonio in Nov and Dec...as son is in US Air Force Reserve, should I stay with you again......? Need a good reason sure. October 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shocked I have made it a personal preference to stay in Starwood hotels whenever possible, however, this hotel should be demolished. My room had cigarette burned carpeting, stained carpets, and mold in the bathrooms. To make matters worse, this was for a room on the club level floor. While eating at the hotel restaurant, the food was cold, the menu was the same each evening, a pasta buffett. Overall, it is by far the worst hotel I have stayed at in years. I will never stay there again, and I will make sure that if anyone asks me about the accomodations, I will recomend that they stay elsewhere. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great experience After traveling overseas, I have been jaded on hotels and the services offered. This hotel renewed my enthusiasm for travel. The room was huge and the temperature easily controlled. The bed was more than comfortable. The hot water and the water pressure more than ample. The location made for easy access to public transportation. The guest services personnel gave recommendations for great restaurants and places to see. Room service was fast; the food arrived hot and the portions were more than ample and tasted good. The gift shop had everything and a drugstore is less than a block away. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time in San Antonio! We had a wonderful time in San Antonio, the staff was very friendly and if you are not a club member, you definitley should join! The continental breakfast, availabilty of beverages and evening hours were a wonderful addition to our trip! It was very nice to have a cold bottle of water available after having a wonderful time walking around the river! June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient & Clean Great view of the parking lot. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I loved the location...close to the Riverwalk and only about a 15 min walk to the convention center. :) Room was huge...but, needs a little TLC. My carpet seemed very dirty and there was no way, I would lay in that tub for a bath. It really needs a new spray coat on the tub. Best suited for one person, since there is no counter space. But, the overall room was huge! Also, they provided our group with free internet (wireless in room). Could never get a signal in room 409 for "sheraton link"...so, I went to lobby OR just signed on via Sheraton and got the the pay version. But, they were nice enough to credit it back! Overall, I would return...just hoping for a different room that was a little more "useable" :) November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The staff was very attentive and the immentities outstanding April 16, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>