Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 21 años de edad o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 439 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel needs updating This is an older hotel that needs updating. The carpets were dirty, the A/C didn't work well, the sink was backed up, etc. etc. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful and historic hotel this was! Great location, walking distance from the "Riverwalk," and much more! September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel This hotel is centrally located downtown and only 1/2 block to the famous Riverwalk. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ear Plugs are not the solution I'm sure you have lots of comments about some rooms being really loud. I give credit to the staff that checked me in but the noise from mechanical systems was very hard to deal with. We also experienced poor service at the bell hop stand and concierge. They seemed very difficult to deal with uninterested in helping guests. The food at the restaurant and coffee shop was great, along with conference food. The rooms are clean and well tended, but the toilet seat was about as old as the hotel and showed it. That too easy a fix not to mention. The location is great and with a few minor changes this should be a flagship location. Best Regards, October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SA Trip Perfect location. Great historic hotel. Very impressed May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location One of the best places to stay at. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Historic Hotel Near Alamo This is currently my favorite hotel in Texas for a number of reasons—but primarily because of the superb job the Sheraton has done in honoring the history of this century-old building and retaining the old world charm. I was upgraded to the Governor’s Suite, which I’ll admit was very kind of the hotel, but the other rooms are equally as nice. The Governor’s Suite was large and spacious. I especially liked the heavy wooden shutters that you could open in the mornings and close in the evenings. While sitting in the lobby, it felt like you were in the early 1900’s…with all the hard wood, marble floors and antique chandeliers. The Alamo is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the River Walk is equally as close. I recommend to SPG Corporate to increase the category designation of this property from Category 2 to Category 3. My opinion is that room quality, guest amenities (including full Club Level lounge), and prime location in historic San Antonio far exceeded expectations for what customers are currently paying/night. Judging by the guest reviews, Hotel Gunter has one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the network, and, I’m giving the hotel 5 stars across all points of evaluation. Keep up the excellent work, Hotel Gunter! Highly recommend this property if you’re considering staying in the San Antonio area. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not live up to my expectations When I made my reservations online I was under the impression that we would recieve breakfast included with our room rate. We could have choosen $166 a night with no breakfast or drinks or $188 a night. We choose the higher of the rates based on the free breakfast and free drinks in the afternoon/evening. We did not get either because the breakfast and drinks is only during the week mon-frid and we were staying here over the weekend. When I asked the front desk about this I was told we were paying more for an updated room which was not the case because we had someone else staying in the hotel for the lower rate and his room looked exactly the same. If this was not something that was offered during the weekend why would this option be offered on the website for a weekend reservation? When we get there we arrive about 2 am on saturday morning only for the lady at the counter to ask if we called to say we would be late, I said no and she said well let me see what we can do. Like we might not have a room. Again I say why would I do that if we made reservations on line and the hotel had already taken out payment for the 2 night reservations. We did end up with a room thank goodness. So I am not pleased with the amount that we spent versus what we thought we were getting. The friendliness of the customer service at the front desk was lacking a great deal. March 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Front Desk Service Great new renovation but horrible customer service. I had a friend driving through Texas and wanted to pay for them to stay at the Sheraton Gunter, I thought they would really enjoy it. After I made the reservation I called the front desk and told them that I would be paying for the hotel room with the credit card the reservation was booked under. No problem they said (after I was on hold for about 3 mins) they would email me a credit card authorization form and I just needed to send it back. I waited about half an hour and still had no email, the reservation was for the next night. I finally called back and got the CC auth form. My friends finally arrived into town and they had a late late check in (2am) so the hotel charged them for two nights. FINE! No problem, but then I get a call from my friends saying not only have they been charged once but they have been charged TWICE! I was supposed to pay for this reservation, this was a gift and I made it very clear to the front desk that this was a very special occasion. When I call the hotel, I understand things happen, they slip through the cracks but it's the way the mistakes are handled that make a place a one star or a five star. Five star hotels make mistakes but their employees are trained to handle them. After being passed around for a few minutes from person to person finally I talk to Melissa C at the front desk on Tuesday, June 10th at 6pm and she says "oh yes..they were charged for two nights, there isn't anything I'm authorized to do" But if I'd like to call back some other time I can talk to the revenue manager Cindy Cassias. I told Melissa that I had spoken to several front desk agents over the phone and was know wondering where all my personal information I sent them was? My credit card number, address etc? She finally agreed to check the front desk email and found my email. It had been sitting there in the in box. Melissa also mentioned that there had been no notes in my reservation and no mention of a credit card authorization. It will be easier for me to transfer money into my friends account that to wait for the Sheraton Gunter to figure this situation out. She did say she could refund the purchase and then charge my card, like a huge mistake had not just taken place. Not only was I embarrassed that my friend had to have these charges on her card, thinking the room (that turned into two nights) had been taken care of but I was embarrassed I put her in the Sheraton Gunter. Melissa was flippant and offered no help what so ever. She only offered what I could do to. Like call back at a later time. Mistakes happen…but training your staff on how to handle them is what makes a huge difference. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't have asked for more! This past weekend we stood at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel for the first time and we couldn't be more pleased with our stay. The customer service was amazing and the quality of service was great! For being such a historic hotel we expected little quirks here and there, nothing that would ruin your stay. We definitely plan to stay here again. Thank you for such great service and making our anniversary trip memorable! August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT A GREAT STAY Was here over the weekend with my 3 teenage kids. Requested early check-in by noon and room wasn't ready til after 3pm. Some kind of yellow stains on the conforter. Went to take a shower and there was a used bandaid in the shower, was sure then that the room hadn't been cleaned completly, had housekeeping come up and remove the bandaid. Was told sorry that the lady who cleans normaly was on vacation. Asked for them to coem clean the shower and now one ever showed up. The best part of our trip was the Club access.. Friendly Staff and Food was good and fresh. No I will not be staying here again. Also for the price really needs some inprovements in the bathroon area. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit or Miss Our stay started with the incredibly unhelpful woman at the front desk informing me that the suite I believed I had reserved was just a living room with no bedroom. Even though we had also reserved a bedroom. She moved us into a regular king size room, without any discussion as to the availability of an actual suite we which had obviously been trying to reserve. My problem with this is two fold as (1) I felt she was incredibly short and not accommodating at all (my husband and I were traveling with our four year old and two year old) and (2) I am at a loss for why your website would have ever advertised a living room without a bed room. There was no clear mention anywhere that there was no bedroom with this living room. I have stayed at many hotels and booked considerable number of rooms online and I have never experienced anything like this. Onto the next problem, we were moved into a room that had standing water on the floor. Standing water. Thankfully, everyone of the bellhops we encountered at the hotel were outstanding and he helpfully had our room changed and moved all our belonging to it. The restaurant in the hotel is another example of the downfalls of the hotel. The service was nonexistent and our bill was incorrect twice. On an up note the valets were fantastic. They were quick with the car or an apology for the wait, and just generally delightful. My sisters wedding was also well done. We cannot say enough good things about Mustafa. October 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Secret Heaven I want to keep for myself! A stay at San Antonio Sheraton was nothing short of divine. The warm, caring and delightfully friendly staff is the gateway to a fabulous, fresh, newly designed and renovated Sheraton. It was pure heaven to have the big city cultural attraction with a small city comfort. What a jewel, walking distance from tons of cultural attractions. Even with Fiesta going on, it was a very comfortable city to be exploring. Don't forget to try the Sheraton restaurant, food is fabulous. Location, Location, Location, fresh, crisp, lovely decor, this place is a winner!!! I will be looking at where to buy the lovely duvet and shower curtain. We will be back to the Sheraton San Antonio!!! April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by san antonio weekend Wonderful 4 day weekend; in town for family event. Great customer service; answered all questions quickly; helped secure needed wheelchair. Executive lounge staff; bar; restaurant; front desk and concierge/parking staff all were attentive; some calling us by name. Room was large; bed very comfortable. Would like to have seen higher quality towels; but that is the only suggestion to offer and admittingly not that significant. WIll return to SA and will not look for another hotel; location was excellent too February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointing Arrived at the hotel late, Valet guy was on the ball and greeted me immediately, however had to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes to be helped. Front desk clerk did not even mention my Platinum status or even ask about points or welcome gift. Was given a room that appeared to be clean, with the exception of the carpeting and furnishings. Carpet had several stains and had been cleaned so many times that it was loose and had waves in it. Went to the restroom and stepped on the transition from carpet to the tile, and was stabbed in the foot by the tack strip on the carpet. I would never stay at this location again. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel will take your breath away when you walk through the doors! The colors and style are simply amazing. The rooms are a nice size and even with four of us in the room we never felt cramped. You might want to ask for a "room with a view", as we looked at the other wall of the hotel rooms and it was very unattractive. Every staff member I came in contact with greeted me warmly and always inquired on how my stay was going. I found that to be a nice touch. Parking is expensive at the hotel, but we parked int he public garage just across the street for much less and it worked out fine. The hotel is within walking distance of just about anything you might want to do or see. I highly recommend this hotel! August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good features, however.... Upon check-in I was informed by the desk attendant that your hotel had a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. When I checked the water temperature of the pool and hot tub after dropping my luggage off in my room the temperature was at 72 degrees! It was not warm enough for me to enter. I mentioned this at the front desk they told the appropriate hotel personnel. When I checked the water temperature 2 days later it had risen to 78 degrees. It was still not warm enough for me to enter. My suggestion would be for the desk personnel to not inform guests that the pool and hot tub are heated when they are lukewarm at best. November 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the experience I expected. The Club Room & Lounge room was not even close to being worth the value; tiny and poor selections available. Room carpet was significantly water stained inside room, mirror cracked. The rest of the room was very well appointed, though. Street noise inexplicably loud all night for being over ten stories up; windows clearly need better insulation. Made it hard to sleep. The entraces, resturant and bar were all wonderful, as were the associated staffs. Had a very pleasent experience everywhere except for the room and the club lounge. Valet brought wrong car and had half hour wait for them to find the right one. September 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing! We've had a lot of good experiences at Sheratons, but not this one. We asked for feathers to be removed prior to our arrival-they were not; we took them off the bed and put them in a corner, and they were simply left there by the cleaning staff. The toilet hadn't been checked, and didn't work, which was hugely embarrassing at 5am; and the internet was down, with no estimate for a fix, for the two days we were there, which was a massive work problem. Not impressive, especially for Platinum guests. At least the reception guy on checkout gave us 7,000 points, which at least was something. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Renovations" ruined this historial hotel This is the very worse we have ever seen in 'renovations'. The beautiful lobby shown on the website is no longer in existance. All of the beautiful wood has been painted stark white. The beautiful chandaliers have been covered. They have taken all of the beauty out of everything in the lobby. There was no respect given to the history of this property. We will not return again and will no longer recommend it as one of the most beautiful hotels in San Antonio. December 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Parking fees high!!!!! We were there for a anniversary celebration which was held at the hotel. Due to having two small kids and a lot of luggage/gowns/tuxedo, we needed to valet park. Other parking was across A busy street. Even though my brother and his wife were paying a large amount for the reception/dinner there, no compensation was given in reduced valet fee. It was $30.00 a night. There were a large number of family staying there so some reduced valet parking could have been given. Also, cable went out in my room. I called and notified them. Over 3 hours later it still was not working and had to call again. June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recommend stay somewhere else First of all, good luck with finding this hotel if you are an out of town traveler. Second, when I got to my room, I remembered why I stopped staying at the Sheraton. This hotel is sooo old that it is ridiculous. I was afraid to use the bathroom! I was afraid the elevator would stop on me. They charge for valet parking and neglect to tell you that there is no other parking. My Internet services were crappy at best and I was up all night because of the noise from the hallway and downtown. I am a small person and the bathroom made me feel claustrophobic so I can only imagine someone of avg height and weight would feel. The staff was wonderful but even they cannot compensate for this hotel. March 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rating Of Sheraton Gunter Hotel For the price of 1 day at the hotel...it was ridiculous for the pricing. The rooms weren't the greatest. The bathrooms were dirty. The tub had a mat in it with a black ring around it. Around the knobs in the sink were nasty. Toilet nasty. Showers walls dirty with grit all in them. Hated the carpet in the hallways, very hard to pull luggage. Just basically not what we expected especially when coming from the Westin. Didn't really get a good nights sleep...walls paper thin and could here toilets flushing all throughout the night and loud people in the hallway. Glad we only had to stay for one night. February 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel did not meet my expectations for the price. The Valet and front desk personnel were courteous and helpful. The room was dirty when I arrived and there was hair in the bathtub. The heat didn't work and I could not get the room warmer than 65. The following day housekeeping did not replace the coffee or breakfast menu. Other than that they cleaned well. Barron's food was just not very good. One evening I was told that I could not order from the menu that the buffet was my only option. I relented and fixed my plate. Then they took menus to the table in front of me. I was leaving and not going to pay for my meal. Service was just not up to par. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant The Sheraton Gunter Hotel has a charming antique feel, with enough modern amenities to make it easy to forget that the building is over 100 years old. Victoria, at the front desk, made our stay especially memorable by upgrading the rooms at check-in. The only negative experience of the stay occurred during checkout- to no fault of the hotel staff. Another guest was attempting to check-in early (11:30A.M.) and his room was not yet ready. His puerile fit of impatience only highlighted the helpful nature of the front desk agent, who attempted to switch him into another room for immediate check-in. February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location A very nice location and close to many restaurants and shops. The hotel itself has a very nice charm, yet still modern facilities. Great for family or business. September 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipped...but Recovered Initial visit to this hotel found room provided us was already in use, as we opened the door to go in for a rest after a long drive. Immediately headed back to desk for new room and noted wife being a travel agent was not impressed so far. Staff provided another room and it was acceptable. Towels for such a hotel were not very thick..but size okay. Did not get hand towels on second night....which we would expect...every night, so had to improvise. We have to come back to San Antonio in Nov and Dec...as son is in US Air Force Reserve, should I stay with you again......? Need a good reason sure. October 18, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>