Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, terrible service I am a platinum level memeber and I was never asked if I wanted to receive free breakfast, points, etc. So upon checkout I had to negotiate with manager to provide refund for breakfast. Furthermore, the service by the pool and on the onsite restaurants was the worse I have ever experienced at a Starwood property. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, excellent beach! We had a great time with my family at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Rooms are big and clean and we were upgraded to an ocean view. By the way watching the sunset from our balcony was phenomenal! I received a free breakfast for 2 and complimentary vallet parking. A drawback is that there is no club lounge. The pool is beautiful and cabanas need to be rented if you want some shadow by the pool area. The beach is amazing and good for snorkeling. Food is overpriced in my opinion but we received a complementary discount for lunch or dinner in either restaurant. Staff is nice and attentive. Overall very good experience. September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internet connection is terrible The Internet connection was terrible kept losing the connection or could not connect at all. You are charge for the Internet through the resort fee but you might as well bring your own hotspot. Good thing I had my smart phone so I could get my email. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel My stay at the Sheraton was a great experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Everyone seemed so friendly. The rooms were very nice and the bed comfortable! I enjoyed my stay immensely and hope to return again soon. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing overall The setting and seascapes are awesome, the rooms are spacious, the valet service is friendly and efficient, and the food and drink offerings are tasty (when the restaurants are open, that is). But the property is disappointing in many other aspects. This was not what I expect at an upscale Sheraton resort property. Examples: I paid a $30 per day "resort fee" for, essentially, a liter of bottled water per day plus very spotty, unreliable WiFi coverage throughout the property. The hotel provides CoffeeMate instead of half-and-half for the in-room coffee service. The front desk staff was insincerely "friendly" and seemed to always try to find a way to say "no" -- certainly not the aloha spirit we expect on the Garden Island. The signature restaurant and bar, RumFire, is closed on Sunday and Monday evenings -- and the only other option (the poolside restaurant/bar) closes at 9:00 PM. All of these deficiencies are unacceptable for an expensive and supposedly high-end resort property in a fabulous location. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by super time at sheraton We had a wonderful time here for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The staff & management treated us royally in all respects. The resort far exceeded our expectations. We would highly recommend it for a great relaxing & fun vacation for anyone!!! Brad & Sue, Half Moon Bay, CA July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfying stay with couple of quirks Very nice place to stay, excellent restaurant with classy service. Definitely the best experience out of four hotels we stayed in during our 20 days trip throughout Hawaii islands. However, there were two irritating negatives: The parking lot by the beach would allow anyone to park. Therefore it was completely occupied by locals during the afternoons and when we returned from our trips before sunset there was nowhere to park. We had to park in the street (difficult to find a spot) and then re-park the car in the evening when locals left for home. The same applies to lounge furniture around the pool. Substantial percentage of occupants were not hotel guests. We actually stayed longer by the pool one afternoon and watched where the people would go. At least 30% of them left for the above mentioned parking lot and drove away. The access to hotel facilities should be limited to guests and enforced, otherwise it would be difficult to see any advantage in being an actual hotel guest as opposed to renting local B&B and using the hotel facilities anyway. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great times in Poipu! The Sheraton staff was amazing! From the bartenders & servers to the check in desk and concierge staff, everyone was very accommodating and prompt. Execution on all of our events - meetings and dinners - was spot on. Thank you for being prepared and making every detail a priority. Plus, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Great times in Poipu! I'll be back. July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful location, Hotel needs renovation Mixed feelings. Love this location in Poipu. Staff is very friendly, especially valet team. Bags delivered to room immediately. The problem - and it is a big one: this hotel is WAY over due for a renovation. I've stayed twice in the last 5 years and both times was disgusted by the condition of the room. Battled ants in 2008 and last week - what appeared to be tiny roaches? Mattresses are old, carpet is stained and filthy. The bathroom walls have not been wiped down in DECADES. And the grout in the tub/shower area is nearly black with grime. The room smells old and musty. I thought my experience in 2008 was a fluke - I now know this is just the condition of this sub-standard facility. It's really a shame because the beach location is wonderful. One shouldn't have to feel like they need a shower after stepping out of the hotel shower. I would be embarrassed to recommend this location to anyone (without a huge warning/disclaimer about the rooms). For this reason, I won't return until they renovate. Too many other options available in that price range. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GSM We could not have picked a better place to hold our Gobal Sales Meeting. The staff was A+ July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by sheraton kuai promised gift Never got it. Ordered plate of pasta.Received portion so small you needed glasses to find it. A box of pasta costs .79 in a store not 79. Prices for tours so expensive that a few would cost a half of hotel bill August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by June in Kauai We were so excited to return to the Sheraton Kauai. We had been there last year during their reconstruction and were eager to see the finished facility. This hotel definitely has the best location on Poipu. We took advantage of the new ocean front pool which was wonderful. We had a great experience right from the beginning at check in. Amy Victorino was personable, and welcoming at the front desk. The breakfast buffet had the best view in Poipu. The price was reasonable and the food was delicious. We especially appreciated the friendly omelette maker. Thanks also to staff member Owen who told us about the turtle cove within walking distance of the hotel. He was right we walked to the location and saw about a dozen turtles right near the shore. We had booked through kayak so our bed choice was not guaranteed and we ended up with 2 double beds.They offered to change our room but we were happy with our fourht floor room so did not change. Next time we will book directly through the hotel. A great beginning to our vacation before we headed to the other side of the island. Mahalo! June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I traveled to this resort with my entire company. Chip and his entire team did an excellent job taking care of us throughout the week. We were a large group yet they made you feel as if you were the only guest. I highly recommend staying here. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort Your staff couldn't have been more accommodating, or the setting more beautiful. We had a great experience. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rooms are nice, but.. Rooms very nice, but walls must be paper thin, unless it was just the room we were in. Could hear everything going on in room next door. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A so so hotel Does not seem to get things right the first time and does not show a real desire to do so. March 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't book a partial ocean view We booked a partial ocean view room. We were placed in a small room on the bottom floor of a building, across a street from the beach, with our "porch" facing the parking lot. Yes, there was a "partial ocean view" if you got on your tip toes and looked over the cars. This was building "3" for those interested (and who want to avoid it). So, moral of the story is they really shouldn't be labeling this a partial ocean view room. That said, we complained, and the management was very understanding and accommodating. We otherwise had a great time, and the resort is nice. It could use another restaurant. October 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Location but... Upon our arrival at the Sheraton Kauai Resort we were greeted by extremely warm, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Being SPG members our room was upgraded to an oceanfront which we greatly appreciated. There was an SPG wine tasting event which we also enjoyed very much. Things took a left from there. Although we were at the resort to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary, life back home still had to be handled. It was shortly after we arrived in our room that we discovered that the internet was not working. We called down and was told to contact the IT department. We did this 3 times in the course of 2 days trying to get coverage. A modem was finally bought to the room which improved things a bit. Later this same evening It was time for our celebratory dinner and while getting ready, I was greeted by a cockroach from behind the bathroom mirror. We immediately contacted the front desk and was told they would spray while we were at dinner. Upon our return to the room it was evident that the room had been sprayed even though we were told the spray would be odorless. With all that being said, the location of this property cannot be beat, its beautiful. I just wish my lasting impressions of the property were better. October 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has Everything you need to Relax Chip Bahouth, Runs a Great Hotel! The service was wonderful. Everything you thought Kauai would be is right here at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. The staff was great and on top of our every need. Thank You very much for a wonderful experience. Thanks Kris July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by pleasant surprise as a Platinum member we were given a room with a beautiful view as our suite upgrade was not available. The room was spacious and the view spectacular. While there was no happy hour there was a small wine tasting that night however the sip of each wine we were allowed was a little punk. We had a drink at the bar and then walked over to a small shopping center that had several restaurants where we had a great meal. The staff was delightful and for the one night we stayed at this hotel we enjoyed it a lot. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream Vacation We stayed in room 1236 (deluxe oceanfront) the week of 11/15-11/22/13. Our first encounter of the hotel was with the valet staff, who were welcoming and friendly. Upon checking in we learned that because of our SPG Gold status we would be upgraded from partial ocean view to deluxe ocean view. The welcome also included great restaurant tips for the evening and an aloha and smile. Our room was lovely, but became even more amazing when we opened the doors to the lanai. A perfect, unspoiled and private beach view!! As this was our 15th anniversary celebration, we were also surprised with complimentary champagne. Honestly, this hotel gave us the best SPG recognition we have ever had in over 4 yrs (and SPG Amex) of membership. We also got free valet parking for the week and 10% off at the hotel restaurants. The property was clean, open, breezy and easy to enjoy from every space. The gardens, beaches, pools and hot tubs were immaculate. Everything felt relaxed and lovely. We met with Suzanne the concierge who made great suggestions. The hotel activity desk did a superb job in booking us for excursions, and we got a AAA discount. We felt right at home even on day one and it was hard to leave. Would recommend this hotel for a true Kauai experience full of beauty and relaxation. November 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is an excellent choice in Kauai mainly for location. The beach adjacent to the hotel isn't crowded and swimmable. The shuttle service will take you to a variety of locations. The downside: The staff is very inconsistent and treats you as if you're inconveniencing them. I called prior to arriving at the hotel for information and when I got there the information I was given was untrue. One manager told me one thing and then another changed the policy. The gym was closed for remodeling which will be nice when it's done but it was disappointing to find out after I arrived. They moved some of the equipment to the stairs but no free weights and very very limited. When I asked the front desk she handed me the standard piece of paper saying it was closed. I only knew because I asked. The reviews about the walls being thin are VERY true. I read the reviews prior to my first stay and thought it was exaggerated but it's true. This was my second stay there and I found the noise more annoying than the first. You can hear every conversation in the surrounding rooms and every time a neighbor opens their balcony door it sounds like thunder. If you can get a good rate it's tough to beat the location but by no means is this a 5 star hotel and it's most seen in the service. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding location This hotel not only has great amenities but also a great location relative to the quality of beach, proximity to town and rooms where you can relax and literally watch the world pass by! July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Good News and Bad News our first night was spent in the "garden rooms". These rooms are OLD; walls are paper thin; garden and pool are lovely in this section. We were able to upgrade to an ocean front which was lovely. However, on our last night, a pipe burst and flooded our room and we had to move in the middle of the night. No offer from management for points or a free night. Seemed very strange and disappointing. I would not recommend the garden rooms but would recommend the ocean front. Food service in the open air bar/coffee shop was very sub par as was the food. We found local places to eat. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by High level of Friendliness and Hospitality Staff were all so nice and helpful. Location was amazing. clean and comfortable. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Staff The staff at this resort were amazing. Always there to help and make our stay as comfortable as possible. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great Staff was outstanding, always directing you when you needed help, customerservicewastop notch July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Treatment The team in HI was fantastic and absolutely excelled in service to our party of over 200. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel. Terrible housekeeping. This hotel was wonderful. From the rooms to the facilities we loved every second. There were only two downfalls. 1. The housekeeping was very inconsistent. If they showed up at all (didn't twice) they often didn't replace things like the tea. Our robes were taken away the second day and never replaced. We did not receive the mouthwash, body lotion, and vanity kit until he third day and never did again after. 2. Rumfire was an awful experience. We had a reservation but we're asked to wait 15 minutes past out time even though seats were available. Then it took 15 minutes to be greeted by a waitress and given water. We had a coupon from the local golf club saying we would get a free appetizer. They did not honor it saying it was for the rum fire on a different island. Why would the golf course be advertising for the restaurant on another island and not the one right down the road? Also, the spa was not open once in our 8 days. Otherwise the staff was great and we had a wonderful time. The staff at Lavas was particularly wonderful. May 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A diamond waiting to be discovered This hotel has many excellent possibilities. Location is perfect. The beach and pool facilities are highly recommended. The pool staff were above average in service as well as the pool cafe service. Always smiling, attentive and helpful. But the food in all venues ,with the exception of the grab and go market lack flavor, presentation, and nothing memorable. The room had a wonderful awesome ocean view after we requested to be moved from a partial roof/ocean view. One day our room was never cleaned and after complaiming three times upon returning after 4:30, was then handled. We waited in the bar to be called-we think we should had been comped the drinks we never planned to order. WiFi was sporadic and often useless. It was as if we were dealing with dial up. The hotel needs a little TLC and focus-its a diamond in the rough compared to other Sheratons we've stayed at and to others in the area. Great sized room - better than average, but felt a little tired. The bed was very restful, comfortable and liked the draperies. But the rest of decor seemed dated. Rug was buckled and tub seemed somewhat stained…I wanted to go buy cleaner and see if I could get it white. Bell service, maintenance also were pleasant and responsive. Front desk team seemed to be going thru motions with check in. Surprised that old tennis shoes were being worn with long dresses-recgnize comfort important but gives a lackluster impression and attitude towards work. Even nurses wear nicer shoes and are on their feet all day. I really wanted to like the property overall because I see the potential-it just hasn't been realized by management or perhaps they have gotten too comfortable. In fact, never noticed any management out and about…fyi we travel extensively and was in hotel management for some years, so we are very selective with our hotels and have expectations per each level. This one wants to be a luxury resort but its just missing…felt a little generic and shouldn't. July 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>