Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superlative valet parking employee My daughter and I stayed at the Sheraton on Wednesday, November 27. My daughter has Down's syndrome and OCD/hoarding. The latter means she brings a huge quantity of her possessions wherever she goes, and she becomes very anxious about managing and accessing them during visits. Gunther instantly understood the situation and immediately eased all her concerns, recognizing that what most people would consider help would make her extremely uneasy. As we went through the ins and outs of the next day Gunther continued to make our stay far easier than my pre-trip worry could ever have imagined. I hope the hotel is aware of his unusual insight, skill and kindness.. Janet Bennett December 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Great location but....The room, although labeled as an upgrade, was smaller than most European rooms--made it exceptionally crowded for the three folks we had there--one of which was a child. Recommend making this a "King" room. The sound from the adjacent guest room was clearly (and annoyingly) loud--even though they didn't seem to be unusually loud themselves--just the room wasn't insulated very well. The club room was the least maintained of any I've experienced in a while--that may be due to some guest families spending a great deal of time there. I stayed there on "points" but in general I wouldn't recommend the experience to anyone else--especially for business trips. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much Improved Hotel I have stayed atleast 6 times since my horrid experience I shared with you. I have seen a steady improvement in service and the quality of service. The lobby area is now excellent - like a SPR Hotel should be! Thanks for the comfort you provided this week whan I was there. June 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Perfect Historical Location Location Location The hotel is under construction so be prepared. Very pleasant staff except my wife wasn't a big fan of the concierge. Additionally, she had issues witth the AT&T WiFi connection throughout the weekend. The helpdesk was extremely helpful, but needed them way too many times. Once the construction is complete I truly believe this will be a wonderful hotel. The location to everything "Founding Father" is awesome. The Club Lounge is one of the better lounges in the Starwood brand. Prices are reasonable considering its a 4 Star Hotel in a major city. The indoor pool perhaps is the best feature in the hotel! March 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The hotel was comfortable. However, the HVAC unit sounds like an airplane is taking off in your room when it turns on. The loud start up woke me up from a sound sleep. Also, I was there for one night and met in the lobyy with an appointment only to find out this hotel does not have breakfast in the morning. How is that possible? November 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hurricane Sandy We had just returned from a vacation to Niagara Falls where we stayed at Sheraton on the Falls in Canada. Upon return we were evacuated from our home on a Barrier Island during Hurricane Sandy. We needed to relocate quickly, the reservationist found us a great room at a great price. Everyone at the hotel was more than accomodating. Having access to the Starwood Club room was a big bonus since all nearby restaurants were closed. The staff and general manager all made themselves known to us and were very friendly and sympathetic to everyones situation. Almost all of the guests were evacuees. November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I came to stay at the Sheraton in Society Hill by way of the downtown hotel. Their system crashed reservation lost, so no room. Had to make another reservation so instead of getting the room for, 109.00 had to pay 195.00 a night. Asked the front manager, Nadia if there was a way that I could get the room for the rate that I was going to pay downtown, without any hesitation she said no, why not it's a, Sheraton, because we're in a different part of town was her response. Although the hotel is very nice, I must say I was very disappointed in the fact that the front manager, Nadia, would not honor the rate of the downtown hotel. I would be very hesitant about recommending your hotel to someone visiting the city. July 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable service delivered Although booking more than 1 month in advance with request for a 'quiet room' we got a room on top level (good) with a huge ventalitor or something on the roof. Thus: no sleep at all because the thing was on constantly. At checkout you also tried to charge valet parking costs again, although you could have seen it was already paid for in advance. And you where the only hotel during our 23 nights stays in 14 hotels in that part of the USA, on similar Quality level that did not have free WIFI. Penny wise, dollar foolish. . August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff Needs People Skills I stay at this hotel frequently due to business needs in the area. The location suits me. In the last 6 months, staff has become unresponsive, abrasive and unfriendly. Last visit, I found a bug in the bathroom as soon as I checked in. The bug ran into the room and I killed it. The housekeeping wanted evidence that it was indeed a bug. I refused to stay in the same room. I had to argue with the front desk to give me a different room. It was not easy. One member of the front desk staff could speak hardly any english. The visit after this one was uneventful. It appears that the front desk staff is under a lot of stress. You can forget about the complimentary upgrade to the Club Level. They want $50 for that now. Other hotels are giving full breakfast and evening snacks free!!! December 5, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by We were very disappointed We had used points to book this hotel, and have another reservation for September as two of our children are in school there. I have booked a reservation at an alternate hotel do to my dissatisfaction, but have not cancelled my 4 points reservation. We arrived at 4:15 in the afternoon to find that there were no rooms with King beds available due to housekeeping staff issues. We agreed to take a room with 2 double beds, and upon entry there was a strong odor of smoke, we requested another room, waited about 10 minutes and an associate came to us with a key and upgraded us to a "suite." I am not one who often complains - and the staff was responsive, but things were not up to Sheraton standards - bathroom floor cleanliness, towel size and quality, empty dispensers in the shower, sluggish tub drainage. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay, Thanks! Sometimes it is just the little details that make all the difference. I stayed here for one night while passing through Philly, and the stay was good. I would have rated it a 4/5, front desk people were good, valet door people were great,club lounge was ok (could use improvement) but what converted it to a five was the housekeeping staff who all greated me very warmly (5 or 6 of them) the next morning and again as I was leaving. It left me witha smile on my face for the rest of the day. Thanks! April 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is in a wonderful area I enjoyed my stay at your hotel. It was an enjoyable experience from the moment I walked in. The only reason I did not give out excellent on room comfort, was when I reserved the room I requested a king bed. When I arrived at 8:15PM on the night I arrived there was still a wait for a king room to become available. I enjoyed the double bed room that I went into. The sleep aspect of it had nothing to do with your hotel and more to do with my own activities. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful getaway! From the minute we walked into the foyer and saw that beautiful waterfall to the minute we left , my husband and I were treated like royalty. We enjoyed a quiet cocktail (or 2) in the bar and I loved the indoor pool! The restaurant served us a scrumptious breakfast as well. I had the grilled ham and gruyere sandwich...I am going to try and duplicate it at home! I was in need of some pampering and your Society Hill Sheraton worked like a charm! We will be back! February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, service and location! If the only thing I have to say critical about the hotel is that the layout (in terms of my room assignment) was a bit circuitous to the elevator, I think we're getting in the weeds... this Sheraton is really great, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the facilities are top notch. I had hoped to try the restaurant for my breakfast needs beyond the cafe (the full menu looked really great), but felt that even the simpler dishes were exorbitant July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, bad room Overall my stay was below average. The air conditioning in the room was extremely loud, I think the condensor may have been broken. Everytime it kicked on, it sounded like a gun shot. I finally woke up so many times at night from it, that i had to shut off the air and deal with a warm room the rest of the night. At checkout I was never asked how my stay was and was in a rush to a meeting or else I would of told mamagement how poorly my stay was. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great New Year's Eve This was the second year in a row that we stayed here for New Year's Eve; we wanted to see the fireworks. While the desk clerk repeatedly told us that no rooms with a river view were available, nevertheless, we ended up with a room facing the river. The only downsides were a) there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and b) the newly reappointed rooms displayed shoddy workmanship... this however did not reflect on the cleanness and service. January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel would not provide free parking Even though the hotel was great and met every expectation for out of town guests, the only thing I would change is I would not charge guests to park their cars espcially if they we're coming in for a wedding at your hotel. I think it's crazy that we are staying the night and we also have to pay for parking! The hotel gave people that were not staying at the hotel free parking but not for their own guests. That really troubled me! March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Hotel This is where the family stays when we overnight in Philly. Pool is the bonus and the desk staff are always very friendly. Location is good. Easy walk to South St. and Olde City. Recent improvements are a good addition. I will add that if I reviewed this hotel 5 years ago, I would have given it negative remarks. I think I was once there with four wedding parties. It was LOUD. Kudos to staff and management for positive changes. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel We loved our recent stay at this hotel. The location in old historic Philadelphia was fabulous, nestled in the trees and surprisingly quiet. Very comfortable room. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Also enjoyed having quick access to the waterfront at Penn's Landing, and a stop close by for the "hop on and off bus". Lots of good restaurants nearby as well. Would definitely stay there again. June 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Valet needs work Your hotel is beautiful and clean, great location. However Valet needs some work. We called down at 1030 for our car, no one answered the phone (because it was so busy), then we got down stairs and waited 50 minutes for our car (we were told 15). If it's going to average 50-60 mimutes to get your car, that should be made known. We would have called downstairs (or walked down) at 930. Thats the only issue. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel marred by poor noise controls From prior years we knew this to an strong average Sheraton, neither surprisingly good nor distressingly weak. But our recent stay was spoiled by constant hallway noise as families scampered to and from the nearby pool. While this ended at 10 PM (pool closure), the HVAC cycled loudly throughout the night, and a treadmill user thumped us awake from the health club at 6 AM. Not an upscale experience. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Great Service Staff is absolutely outstanding at this hotel, well trained and helpful. Parking valet staff, desk staff, restaurant staff, all great. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are well supplied. Hotel is located within walking distance of many Philadelphia attractions, and close to some amazing restaurants (Zahav is my favorite). I recommend this hotel to everyone I know. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basically good hotel Room's are nice and beds extemely comfortable and I have travelled alot. Hallway and Lobby decor a bit pedestrian. The club floor is worth it. Pool is over crowded and they run out of towels and take long time to replenish. There was an issue with loud neighbors - party people. Had to call 3 times to resolve. Staff responsive, but I am wary of staying in a hotel that has such gets. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved my stay! This was my fourth stay at the Sheraton Society Hill and it never disappoints! This visit was for a work conference and the food, staff, and accommodations were fantastic! I have also chosen this hotel for a romantic night away (I actually stayed there my engagement night) and for nights "out on the town." Great experiences overall! June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel For a family of 3 plus a dog, this hotel was great...the Sheraton is much more family friendly than the Westin in Philly...this was my 4th time staying at this hotel and will definitely stay again in the future... I really appreciated the ladies at the front desk accommodating me and my family's travel needs... January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why did I pay so much money for this? Free wifi in lobby but then you want to charge $9.99 a day for room access? ludicrous. I order breakfast to the room, eat half, go to another friends room for an hour and when I get back someone had come into my room, took the tray and the rest of my food off my desk. Unbelievable. I did call to get a refund on the food they took and as they should have they refunded me half the bill. A/C in the room could only be set to Auto or turned on constant Low speed for about 30 minutes until it would switch back over to Auto. Room was too hot. For the price of the room there should be free WiFi and the A/C should be able to be set to constant low or high. Water never got cold in the sink in the bathroom either, at best room temperature. For the premium price this hotel asks I was expecting a top tier experience and instead received a mediocre stay with valet only parking that cost nearly $40 per night. If this hotel was half the price then this experience would have been acceptable. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conference Choice This site was the one assigned for our conference, and I must say that it was excellent all the way around--great food, comfortable accommodations, helpful staff--it was all there. Right down the street from fascinating historical landmarks. Will stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING We had a spectacular room. I believe it was recently renovated. Comfortable and beautiful. The bed and comforters were luxurious. Your desk staff, concierge, bell boy (man) and maid service was fantasitic. My only complaint was that we did not spend more time at the hotel. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, newly updated facility Very much enjoyed my recent stay. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is looking and feeling great. Can't beat the location for getting around Phila. Close to the sports venues and downtown. Only suggestion is that the restaurant/bar hours be extended. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location, pleasant atmoasphere and staff Great location in historical section of Philadelphia. Staff is very accommodating and responsive. Concierge lounge is very well set up and organized. Front Desk very helpful and the bar personnel and bellman are also excellent. June 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>