Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2002 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems with customer service We had a bad experience at the Hotel since arriving, the receptionist did not properly treated, and also gave us the wrong room (1446), having to ask to change later (to 4630) as we had an upgrade. Regarding Club Lounge, this was the only good thing about staying at the hotel, breakfast and amenities were good. Another factor to improve is checked out, as we found was there was uncoordinated and friendliness of the staff of the Hotel. In summary, our expectations were not met at the Hotel. We have been to several Sheraton across the world and this was a bad experience. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location if you want to be near Time sq and Shows. Our first trip to NY and the hotel is located on one the the busiest street in NY. Lots of restaurants around. We got a Metro pass ( they only take $2.50 in coins as payment on the bus ) and took the subway up to Central Park area. It's best to take the street behind the hotel as it is less crowded ( 6th & 5th ave less crowded) and it takes you to the Museum of Modern Art that is a great place for lunch and Rockefeller Centre . It's a short walk to the discount show ticket booth and we got our show tickets there. Long line,but it moves really fast. BEWARE- Had a bad experience with the people who hustle CD's on the street,very aggressive and they will rob you blind. DO NOT STOP. Hope the city does something about them. We took Yellow Cab from the airport .There were three of us and the cost was reasonable . Do take a bus tour as you learn a lot. July 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Sheraton has declined Check in wait of 35 minutes. Inadequate staff on duty. Available check in stations were unstaffed. Personnel had little concern and no interest passing on my concerns to their supervisor. Dirty tray tables in the hallways all night and much of the morning. I have stayed here many times in the past but never again. The interest in service has deteriorated markedly. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EJR01 Ok, so for the 3rd time in 3weeks SPG/Starwood rescued my trip. First, at the Sheraton 4Points Times Square 2 weeks ago, then , in Alexandria, VA. This time, I was actually registered at another "prominent presidential" historic NYC hotel where the room was so shocking, I called the SheratonTimes Square before putting my bags down. I booked a wonderful room and ran over to find everything I had expected. I lost money on the lesser hotel, but the Sheraton more than made up for it. The front desk, the great concierge and the world class doormen gave me every reason to come back. And I will. Tip: stop wasting time & money on "deals" at other places. Book with SPG. Lesson learned. July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointed!!! I recently stayed at this spg property on 12/4/11 and I must say I will never stay here again. I am a platinum member and disgusted with the service I received. I checked in around 9pm and was told they did not have a room ready for me. It appears there were other guests complaining that they have been waiting for a room since 3pm!!!!! The receptionist advised me they had overbooked and housekeeping was behind. All they could do was give me a drink voucher and a smile! 2 hours later I got my room @ 11pm. This is unacceptable and I am outraged I was not compensated enough points for a free stay! December 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The best location! I enjoyed my stay at this Sheraton. I like the location that's not too close from Times Square, about 10 blocks away, meaning less crowded and subway station just around the corner. I didn't receive any room upgrade as Platinum member. I totally agree with the other recent reviewer , Djscinema, May 15, 2014 about how hard it is to get approved for Suite Night Award from this Sheraton. Suite Night Award should be applied before your arrival, NOT requested at front desk when you check-in. I applied for my Suite Night Award when I booked my room, which is 8-9 days before my arrival, but they didn't approve it. If a lot of Platinum members are complaining about this issue, The Management from Sheraton New York Times Square and Starwood Hotels and Resorts should investigate this matter to see if Suite Night Award program is working properly in this property. By the way, the Club Lounge is way to crowded for breakfast and afternoon reception, but we heard that from other reviewers before. I just want to confirm it again! May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in the Heart of the Theatre District We stayed at the Sheraton New York Times Square so we could go to the theatre nearby. The room was very well appointed and clean, the workout room had lots of cardio machines, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of elevators and the waits are very short, surprising in a hotel as large and busy as this one. Once we checked in, we discovered that MOMA was less than 2 blocks away and, of course, there is lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again. July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suite Night Upgrades Not working I always recommend Sheraton/Starwood but lately I have been having issues with upgrades - mainly while trying to use my suite upgrades. It seems since these have been introduced, I have not only gotten less upgrades but have gotten NO upgrades from these awards. I try to always stay at the NY Sheraton but my upgrades have been harder to come by. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient location, large rooms We really took advantage of the hotels location to many of the great sites in New York. Our room was a generous size not what we expected at all. Any staff we dealt with were always polite & helpful. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lauren Stich There should be a 24-hour coffee shop located inside the hotel so guests don't have to search elsewhere any time of the day for either breakfast, lunch or dinner -- or snacks. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by July one night stay My check in experience was very disappointing. Marilyn who checked me barely acknowledged me. I stay at the Sheraton everytime I visit NYC, and have to say that her customer service was awful. I felt that she was bothered to check me in. She did not ask if I had any preferences to my room, acknowledge that I am a SPG member. She handed my room keys and said nothing to me while handing them to me, not even telling me what my room number was. My overall staywas good, but the check in experience was very dissappointing. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Exceeded Expectations I can’t say enough about the great level of service we received during our stay Jun 25-27. Beginning a few days before our stay all the way to check-out each staff interaction we had was well above our expectations. My wife and I visited NYC to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and the Sheraton New York Times Square staff went above and beyond to make our stay very memorable. One thing that SPG does well beyond other hotel chains is they get the little things right. Every staff interaction is an opportunity to win guests over and they knocked it out of the park for us. On arrival, check-in was hectic due to sold out status, but that didn’t deter welcome staff from apologizing for the wait and passing out bottled water to guests. Once at the check-in desk everything went fast; elite status recognized, elite benefits provided including upgraded room, bottle of wine for the wait, etc. One thing I had done prior to the stay was reach out to a housekeeping email I received to request a fridge. On arrival to the room we were delighted to find the fridge already in room. Another great personal touch was the fact the housekeeping manger (shout out to Pilar) had left us a personalized note welcoming us and acknowledging our anniversary. Shortly after arrival a few complementary treats arrived to help us celebrate. Thanks again to all those who helped make our 5 year anniversary a memorable one, we look forward to returning in the future. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruce M 17 Great hotel, staff was very friendly, always asking us if everything was ok. Very clean and lobby was beautiful. Will be back for sure. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handicap Patrons This was a prepaid stay through an agency. I needed 3 rooms the agency only sent reservations for 2. The missing one was mine which required a handicap room. In the confusion we were given a regular room which made for an extremely bad first night. Walker wouldn't fit thru the bathroom door. The problem was rectified the next day after we called. Response was prompt, new room was excellent. One other comment is maid service carts in the hallways made passage with a wheel chair difficult. Should be narrower or remove outboard wheels. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Vacation The Sheraton met all our expectations. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable, they are a little small, but we were just there to sleep. It is just a few blocks from Time Square. We would stay here again. July 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel had 2 great positives: the location was great, and the concierge made great restaurant recommendations, and was the only reason I gave a "good" review for staff responsiveness. And now the negatives- the front desk staff was professional at check-in, but certainly did not go out of her way for those "little extras". No refrigerator (other than the mini bar) was a downer. But THE BIGGEST negative was the bathroom- it REEKED! It smelled of moldy, wet towels, even after housekeeping came through. Not sure if there was a leak somewhere, but definitely should be checked out. I would still recommend this hotel, as maybe this was just a 1-room problem and we would be willing to give it a try one more time. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Hit or Miss Pros: Good location for tourist spots, relatively comfortable, and competitively priced. Cons: Customer service is a complete hit or miss. Some staff were the incredibly courteous and helpful, other's were outright rude and obstructive. Food is of average quality and incredibly overpriced for what it is (Think standard Sheraton Hotel fare but at 2x the price). Now you could chalk up the waffling customer service and over priced food to your NYC experience, that's what we did, but it's doubtful we'll pick this Sheraton on our next Big Apple trip. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel location and room comfort Overall a great hotel to stay. Management were particularly helpful during our stay- thank you. We are SPG members and upgraded to SPG Club room and were not disappointed. * Beds are very comfortable and we had a lounge and plenty of drawers under the TV. * Good size room overlooked Central Park from high floor. * Great light breakfast and nibbles as well as bottled water available in Club room. * Take a travel clothesline for bathroom as no where to dry underwear. * Unable to use fridge as it is fully stocked and if drinks are removed you are automatically charged! **you can 'hire' a fridge which is ridiculous**. * One male SPG staff member was particularly helpful and friendly when approached the day after arrival. *However, our first impression of NY was 'not friendly' when we first checked with a female staff member being very abrupt and rude. We had travelled from Australia for 22 hours and arrived at 7am. Our room would not be ready until normal check in time of 3pm, I explained our tiredness and she was not sympathetic at all. I offered to leave my phone number but 'there would be no guarantee we will ring you'. I said I won't bother then and she laughed! July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location The room is with a nice touch, and I really like the mirror in the bathroom. Could be better if there wasn't a high rise blocking the view. Staff is efficient when we ask for an extra bath robe. Literally minutes away from broadway. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT hotel experience! This was our second stay at the Sheraton Times Square. Our flight arrived in the morning, and we were allowed to check in early. Our room was on the 39th floor, and was very well appointed. We had a telephone call from Marie checking on us and offering to help us in any way possible. We also received some lovely amenities in our room to celebrate my retirement. That was very much appreciated, and what sets Sheraton apart! We loved our stay, and will definitely return! July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by busy but beautiful city hotel Sometimes a bit overcrowded. Large hotel, but staff and views and comfort are tip top. Staff makes you feel like you are in a boutique hotel. Bravo. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel has a great location with Broadway, Times Square and the MoMA just a few minutes walk away. If you don't feel like walking, there is a subway station just steps away from the main entrance to the hotel. Room size was decent and in line with other hotels; however, the bathrooms are very, very, very small. In general, employees were very friendly. July 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tub Problems The water pressure was great; however, the tub didn't drain well at all! Repeated calls and conversations didn't resolve issue. The hotel staff thought there was toilet and shower head problems - they were fine. Finally gave up asking - just took quick showers while standing in ankle deep water after a few minutes! Disappointing! Also - staff walked in room several times without knocking in the morning. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by beautiful hotel I am completely disappointed to find out that I will not receive ANY SPG points because I booked under a group rate. I stayed for 7 nights and spent almost $2000 and will get 0 credit. Funnies thing is that the day before I checked in, the hotel was advertising a rate BELOW the "group discount rate" I was paying. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by concierge Your concierge, Michael (not sure of his last name) is great. This was our second time staying at the Sheraton Times Square and he did an excellent job helping us to locate the places we wanted to tour. He provided maps, alternate routes, coupons, and his valuable opinion on what would be our best alternatives. He also made us feel very special by sending champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by confirmed room not available upon checkin Arrived about 6pm-my confirmed room(2 doubles)was not available told to come back in couple of hours-then told had to take a king room with chaise for my family of 4-husband had to sleep on chaise-very uncomfortable-stayed here in past and loved it but unacceptable that confirmed room was not available. July 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Huge property with unmotivated staff Noisy. In attentive staff. Overpriced food. Stay apmewhere else. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Baggage storing facolity Was extremely surprised to find I had to pay $ 4 per bag to leave my bags in the hotel for a few hours - no other hotel I know of has a charge for this. And when I went to collect them, they failed to find my bags and kept giving me other people's, and I had to go into the storage to find them myself. So despite being a 'secure' facility, the bags were not really secure at all. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow to Resond Begin this review with we have stated at Sheraton's all across the country from St Louis, Washington DC, Phoenix, Arizona and many more. Sheraton's usually exceed our expectations, unfortunately "Time Square" let us down. I ordered a refrigerator for the room, being we were staying 9 nights, leftovers was a very sure bet. We did not receive the frig until four days into our reservation:(....packages shipped to the hotel signed for but never was able to track them down within the hotel.....another sad face. customer service at the desk was less than friendly, always felt like you were bothering them. Can't say the Sheraton Time Square would be my first or second choice for my next visit to New York. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Very convenient since the dance convention was held there. But disappointed. So many problems.... We had to call three different times for toilet problems; the door would not always close so we had to wait to see if we needed to reach back in and shake the handle. The lamp did not work therefore we could not charge our phones at night. We had to unplug it to turn the lamp off and could plug one phone in to the wall. The bar in the bathtub was broken. And the last few nights we were left with only one comforter. The A/C never cooled the room since there was a draft from the windows. July 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 68 next>>