Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 714 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is an excellent choice in Kauai mainly for location. The beach adjacent to the hotel isn't crowded and swimmable. The shuttle service will take you to a variety of locations. The downside: The staff is very inconsistent and treats you as if you're inconveniencing them. I called prior to arriving at the hotel for information and when I got there the information I was given was untrue. One manager told me one thing and then another changed the policy. The gym was closed for remodeling which will be nice when it's done but it was disappointing to find out after I arrived. They moved some of the equipment to the stairs but no free weights and very very limited. When I asked the front desk she handed me the standard piece of paper saying it was closed. I only knew because I asked. The reviews about the walls being thin are VERY true. I read the reviews prior to my first stay and thought it was exaggerated but it's true. This was my second stay there and I found the noise more annoying than the first. You can hear every conversation in the surrounding rooms and every time a neighbor opens their balcony door it sounds like thunder. If you can get a good rate it's tough to beat the location but by no means is this a 5 star hotel and it's most seen in the service. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Property & Beach Location This was our first time visiting Kauai and we fell in love with Sheraton Kauai the moment we walked into the Front Desk. .. We stayed for 1 night and two full days but would have loved to stay longer! From the moment we checked-in till we checked out - our experience was one of the best we have had. Sissy at the Front Desk truly looked after us; she was not only efficient but also very understanding! We were upgraded to partial Garden and Sea View and a late checkout. Sincerely, we couldn’t ask for more for our short stay! We were invited to the Social Hour and enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting for SPG members while mingling with other hotel guests. What a great way to meet other travellers from far and near! At a very short notice, we were also accommodated in the Wine Paring Dinner the same evening, the only evening we had on the island. We would like to mention in particular what an excellent hotel restaurant RumFire was/is. The food and the Californian wines to go with it were superb. Our experience was enhanced by our stay at Sheraton. We had a great time in Kauai exploring the island's beauty and the ocean! May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is our favorite for family vacation The Sheraton Kauai Resort has become a yearly trip for our family. Our room is always immaculate and very clean. The staff at the breakfast buffet are wonderful and very inviting people. Food is wonderful too. Very responsive management and staff. We are planning to spend more time later this year at this Sheraton because we feel so at home here. Beautiful place and wonderful and caring employees. June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall really good, but bathroom could be updated The hotel is great for the most part. The bathrooms could use some updating. Also, the single light in the bathroom was very dim. The bed was comfortable, but one of the pillows was much harder than the other 3 provided (I didn't realize this until the next morning), and I woke up with very bad neck and back pain. The next few nights I used the other pillows without a problem. Also, I liked that we had Starbucks coffee provided in each room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had an amazing honeymoon Thank you so much to the Sheraton for allowing us to have an amazing, relaxing honeymoon. The plumeria suite was breathtaking! July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A diamond waiting to be discovered This hotel has many excellent possibilities. Location is perfect. The beach and pool facilities are highly recommended. The pool staff were above average in service as well as the pool cafe service. Always smiling, attentive and helpful. But the food in all venues ,with the exception of the grab and go market lack flavor, presentation, and nothing memorable. The room had a wonderful awesome ocean view after we requested to be moved from a partial roof/ocean view. One day our room was never cleaned and after complaiming three times upon returning after 4:30, was then handled. We waited in the bar to be called-we think we should had been comped the drinks we never planned to order. WiFi was sporadic and often useless. It was as if we were dealing with dial up. The hotel needs a little TLC and focus-its a diamond in the rough compared to other Sheratons we've stayed at and to others in the area. Great sized room - better than average, but felt a little tired. The bed was very restful, comfortable and liked the draperies. But the rest of decor seemed dated. Rug was buckled and tub seemed somewhat stained…I wanted to go buy cleaner and see if I could get it white. Bell service, maintenance also were pleasant and responsive. Front desk team seemed to be going thru motions with check in. Surprised that old tennis shoes were being worn with long dresses-recgnize comfort important but gives a lackluster impression and attitude towards work. Even nurses wear nicer shoes and are on their feet all day. I really wanted to like the property overall because I see the potential-it just hasn't been realized by management or perhaps they have gotten too comfortable. In fact, never noticed any management out and about…fyi we travel extensively and was in hotel management for some years, so we are very selective with our hotels and have expectations per each level. This one wants to be a luxury resort but its just missing…felt a little generic and shouldn't. July 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The good and the disappointing Great hotel location and the view of the Deluxe Ocean View Room was really nice. We were on the fourth floor overlooking the pool and the ocean. It was extremely nice sitting on the balcony. This was our third stay at this hotel and we were last there a couple years ago during the pool construction. The pool area came out very nice but we were not overly impressed with the restaurant Lava, we thought they did a much better job with the breakfast buffet during the construction and before than they did this time. Did not get a chance to try Rum Fire the new restaurant. When we got to our room after check-in the tub was dirty and stained and the carpet was buckled in a couple locations, a real safety issue. Our check in time was very late and we just went to bed. The next day we shared our experience at the front desk. They sent someone to the room and the tub was cleaned which was acceptable when they were done. They were not able to do maintenance on the carpet and they offered to change us to another room. We loved the view and decided to stay where we were and live with the carpet. This room should have been taken out of use and maintenance should have fixed this issue long before we were given the room. All indications were the room was used again the carpet still has not been fixed. The real disappointment was the tennis court, wow, this should no longer be listed as an amenity and should be considered a hazard. There are big cracks in the courts and weeds growing up and not small weeds. They were a joke and not maintained at all. They were playable a couple years ago and it is as if they have ignored them. We even came back from dinner one night and the lights were on all three courts. I can not image why they were on, no one was on them and they are not usable. They were so bad I actually took pictures, which I am sorry I can not add to the review. This is a tough review for us since we really like the location of the hotel but had some definite disappointments on this trip. Even with the improvements they made to the pool area they let other aspects of the hotel be neglected. I could still recommend the hotel but we will probably try a new location on our next stay. July 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth the rate While this hotel does have a nice location on the beach, that is about it. We pulled up and the valet was a complete space cadet and unable to answer very basic questions. We waited in line to check in and then we headed to our room. The original room we booked was so far from the beach, we could have been in New Mexico and not have known the difference. It seems to me that the property was once two different hotels and the Sheraton bought both properties. The buildings in the back (our original room) do not match and there is another lobby looking area. That room was dated, and very plain. We called down and asked if any rooms were available in the buildings facing the ocean. There were, for a upgrade fee, and we moved. I would not have booked the original room if I would have known how far and dated it was going to be. The new room had a much better view, but was still dated. We were told with our SPG wristbands we would get a discount on food at the restaurants, never happened. I thought it might be taken off at the end; didn't happen. We never got a newspaper delivered to our door. You have to wait in LONG line daily to get pool towels and then wait in the same LONG line to return them, or else get charged $10 per towel! Really?! I highly doubt people stealing dingy beach towels is that big of a problem. The least they could do would be have a separate line for towels instead of all beach activities in one line. The pool was filled with sand because the area to shower off from the ocean consists of a hose in the sand... not cement pad, no drain, no rubber mat, not even a sprayer on the hose. Just a hose. If you want drinks or food at the pool, you need to just go get it yourself. The servers are terrible and walk around aimlessly, like they don't want to do their job. We learned this the hard way. Also, there is a $30 resort fee daily.... for what?! The wifi is unusable it is so slow and the dingy pool towels that you have to wait in a 10 minute line to get? We had stayed on the north shore of the island the first part of the week and wish we would have stayed. I could have done with out the Sheraton on my honeymoon. It is definitely not worth the money after the upgrade fee to be by the ocean. You can pay just a little more and have outstanding service elsewhere. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A relaxing Trip! Hotel Pros: - Nice facility with lots of outdoor areas to sit - Most Excellent Beach for swimming - Quiet rooms, very little noise from neighbors - Comfy beds with nice pillows - Very friendly staff - Nice garden setting with fish ponds - Hotel uses environmentally friendly containers/forks etc. for serving outdoor food&drink. Very cool! Hotel Cons: - Our Garden View room with 2 double beds felt crammed, awkward TV console/dresser combo took lots of space. - Not enough lounge chairs out by the pool/beach. - Not enough shade options available! The hotel could easily add 10 umbrellas to their poolside furniture. - Resort fee of $30/day??? For amenities that should be included in the room fee? Come on you guys, that's cheesy! February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Love With This Hotel From the beginning at check in we had a great front desk agent who was very nice and catering. Our room was amazing Deluxe Ocean Front. Just in love with the spaciousness of the room and view. Well worth the money and I recommend getting this room. We ate at Lavas and the food was good and our waitress was great. The valet and bell people were catering. I enjoyed the café next to the lobby. They have a great banana bread. So good I bought some before I left the hotel. Overall my view of this hotel was 5 stars for it's cleanliness of room, view, property and people that work there. So Happy that I'm staying in June for my daughters bday. Can't wait! May 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kauai Sheraton Stay I was very displeased with the air conditioning in our room. We made three formal complaints and they sent the maint. man each time but the a/c would not cool the room very well even at night. Very hard to sleep in a hot room. After the third complaint the manager Laura did offer us another Garden View room and we checked it out and it was no cooler than our room. So we then asked for a fan, but was still not very cool. I really believe the problem is the outdated a/c units on the wall can not provide the cooling the room really needs. Very nice hotel to have below par a/c. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our Stay Great Hotel. I wasn't impressed with the $30/day "Resort Fee" that I didn't know about until we checked in. If I pay $ 270 a night to stay somewhere I would expect that if I chose to play tennis it would be covered under the cost of staying at a hotel. Pretty deceptive way to make a few extra bucks. Especially when the services it supposedly covered we didn't even use. My only other comment would be regarding the fitness facility. Take some of that resort fee money and add / upgrade your equipment. The place was packed and not enough cardio equipment to go around. Not to mention it was all rusting and old. I would have expected more . Otherwise the Sheraton was beuatiful and we had an unbelievable vacaton there. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! We were staying on the north end of the island, but had traveled to the south end for a day of hiking in Waimea Canyon. Rather than driving all the way back, we used points to spend the night at the Sheraton. WOW!! Had we known it was such a nice facility, we would have stayed more nights! Next trip to Kauai, we will plan to spend extra days at this hotel! June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place for a relaxing vacation All that you hear is the waves of the Ocean which will put you to sleep. Good bar location with great service - another relaxing place. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A mixed bag Our room was not ready on check in and then late in the afternoon we got a call and were taken to a room with two double beds instead of a king. We had to wait until the next day and be available for them to move us which basically wasted a day. The staff was good about trying to help once the error was discovered. Asked for a cabana since we had to stay on property until we moved but they were sold out. I forgot something in my car. the valet was rude rude rude rude he made me walk out to my car at least a block away without any guidance and then was rude when I asked for help. I complained to the manager who sent wine and strawberries to me. The beach if calm is good for swimming if not calm go to Poipou short drive away. The food was good but a bit pricey. Overall the service was excellent from most of the folks there. Once we got into our fourth floor room with king bed with beach view we were more than happy. The pool made my skin break out it has a lot of chemicals which was too bad since the beach was so rough. It is a good hotel but nothing compared to the Maui Sheraton June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Property Room View was superb. Food at Rum Fire was five star Fitness Room was perfect Please consider more drawers for clothing in the room. There was plenty of space for more, however we only had 3 drawers, not adequate. I also want to mention my suggestion for all hotels (and several have complied) that your typical customer is at least 2 people, so why only one luggage rack in each room when there will be at least 2 suitcases? I believe most people would be appreciative of 2 luggage racks in their room. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Really bad wifi Stayed at the Sheraton for three days (on business). First day, wi-fi was not working. Called tech support and they said they would escalate the issue to network engineers. Problem still not solved. Next day, I called tech support again -- problem still not solved. Second day afternoon, I believe the hotel manager finally reached out and said they would bring a router to my room -- shouldn't this have been done in the first place?? I checked the wifi in the area and there were three other "belkin" routers connected. A sign that others were also having the same issue. As someone who needed connection to run a business, I was not impressed and will Sheraton Kauai likely won't be the top of my list when visiting Kauai again. September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort on Poipu Our ocean front room was very nice and the view was excellent. Very attentive and courteous staff at all levels. Cabanas on the beach are a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay very much. Only complaint was some of the food on the breakfast buffet (eggs, sausage) was not very warm. Menu orders were fine. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this place!!! Me and my husband stayed here as a part of our honeymoon, and we both loved it! We had been traveling around the states for 5 weeks, and this was the prefect end of our vacation!! The rooms were big, clean and fresh. We had a room with partial ocean view, and loved to sit on the balcony watching the ocean. The staff was very nice and helpful!. At check-in we got a gift card for a bottle of champagne, as a celebration of our honeymoon. The location.... oh, my god! It can´t be better. No picture in the world can justify the beauty of this place! It is SO beautiful, it´s like you arrived in heaven! We live in Stockholm, Sweden, and even though we had to travel 30 hours to get to Kauai, we will definitely return to this paradise!! October 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by ON the beach with great service and the ambiance of Kauai No other way to say it other than 'beautiful'. On the beach with a landscaped pool only yards behind... plus another pool in a courtyard away from the beach area. Gorgeous setting with good, friendly service from people who enjoyed making our time there special. Concierge was very good at his job --- helped us make the most of our time on this island (known for its lush beauty and contrasts of incredible landscapes ... all with the ambiance of enjoying a 'slow & slower' pace). So many activities available, but we were there to relax and soak in the scenic beauty --- from the ocean fronts to the canyons, waterfalls, and lush green flora and fauna. Room options from direct ocean view to partial ocean view (ours), to garden views. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome Hotel This hotel was more than we expected, it was quiet and the staff was very professional and friendly and always willing to assist. Very clean and easy to get to. Right along the beach. June 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be sure to book an ocean-view Be sure to book an ocean-view room! It's breathtaking (we were in 12xx) and cannot be compared to the rooms on the other side of the street. We had one for a few hours for our late check-out so can compare. Staff is nice - use the concierge desk and the activities desk. They really helped us to make the most of our stay June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Experience Very Good This Sheraton Hotel is located in a terrific spot near Poipu Beach on Kauai. The pool area is located right behind the beach and was kept in immaculate condition daily. Great friendly service was the rule throughout the hotel for the entire week we were there. We heard virtually no complaints from other guests and noticed a high level of smiles in general. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The main restaurant, Red Rum was excellent, and Lava at the pool was very good as well. We would recommend this Sheraton highly. We noted many families were booked during our stay, so if you object to the normal noise of children in the pool area be advised. However, for overall service and experience in Hawaii this was a very good value. Would go back in a heartbeat. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Views...Amazing Staff We were returning to Kauai after many years of just using our Westin Timeshare in Maui. After a busy family vacation with the six grandchildren, we wanted to celebrate our 49th anniversary on the beautiful island of Kauai. The Sheraton staff welcomed us with a beautiful upgrade to an ocean front room, and sent us a bottle of champagne to start off the celebration of our marriage milestone! From the friendly valets at the front, to the gorgeous views of our room, we cannot say enough about the treatment we received at this particular Sheraton. September 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Improvements Needed Our personal experience with this Sheraton was not a good one. We came back to our room one aft noon to find our door was left open. Was woken up most mornings by guests moving balcony furniture above us. The hallway echoed badly. Housekeeping starts very early in the morning. By 8 am they are knocking on doors yelling housekeeping. Our bellman informed us that 2 bottles of water were included in the sort fee and yet every day we had to call and ask for the bottles because housekeeping never re supplied them. We would not stay here again. September 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work I must say that we were rather disappointed with this Sheraton. Pool area very crowded, small for hotel size, not enough shade, umbrellas. The fitness center was lacking , treadmills out of order, no one at the front desk knew anything, when would be fixed. Broken for 3 days, then just GONE The Rum Fire Restaurant service was abysmal. My husband's main course was brought out 10 minutes before mine. His dinner included dessert and the waiter just brought it out, never asked me if I wanted to order anything, I had to ask for it when my husband was served. My food was mediocre but my sorbet dessert was good. Even the turn down service was disappointing, if there are 2 people in the room, why leave just ONE chocolate? The valets were great and friendly June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still a great spot for fun This was our fourth stay but we had not been for 8 years. It is the very best location on Poipu beach. There were some nice improvements made in the remodel and the rooms (we had two in our family group) were tastefully decorated, spotless and with beautiful views. The front desk, housekeeping and food service staffs are all excellent. The only slight disappointment was that the main restaurant (the only dinner restaurant) has a very limited menu so we only ate one meal (breakfast) which was delicious but we need more choice for dinner. January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing From the minute we arrived, we never felt so appreciative of a hotel stay. We were there for our honeymoon and it was supremely satisfying. The views were breathtaking. The staff amazingly helpful and attentive, especially with recommending other places to visit and things to do on the island. Rum Fire had tasty food and good drinks at the pool. Plus the perks of being a gold spg member were phenomenal along with rhe extra attention we received thanks to being on honeymoon. We fully intend to stay here again and never wanted to leave! September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel, Staff & Location Perfect location, incredible view, beautiful grounds, extremely relaxing, the hospitality of the staff was incredible, Betty at the front desk made our trip; she is amazing (thank you Betty). Our room was quiet and very clean (we couldn’t have asked for a better room). The hotel, the staff and the view from our ocean view room exceeded our expectations. We had an awesome time at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and words can’t describe how much we enjoyed the stay. We can’t wait to return and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai experience was incredible! We just arrived home from our SECOND stay at the Sheraton in Kauai. Things started out rough as our reservation somehow had been cancelled in April, 8 weeks earlier!!! Needless to say, things were iffy at first but the staff and Manager, Peter, got us an off-the-beach room for the night (which in and of itself was amazing!) and got us an even better beach front room that our reservation had originally been. They gave us valet parking free for the week, a bungalo one day, delivered a gorgeous cheese/cracker platter & a bottle of wine on our anniversary. We would run into staff that would ask how we were, stand there and visit and ask if we needed directions anywhere or anything at all! It was almost ALL the staff. We were amazed and pleased. There was a staff person named Laura who stayed in tough with us our entire stay. On the last day, we got a call that there was a gift at the front desk. Laura had purchased a beautiful book called Ohana ("family" in Hawaiian) for us. We can't say enough about Peter and Laura especially! Our experience at the Princess Sheraton in Honolulu was NOT good, however. It is old, dirty, sweaty feeling, small and staff were NOT friendly at all. This review is for Sheraton at Poipu in Kauai. June 27, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>