Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid government issued identification to reserve and to check in to a guestroom.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 736 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeeded Expectations The stay at the hotel was great. From the moment you walk in there is a fragrance in the air that makes your feel welcome. Staff was attentive and the location is perfect for the New Orleans experience. I will be back! July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend Getaway From a local New Orleans couple, this hotel always best fits our needs with the fabulous late check out time after a night of partying in the city. Hotel is always spotless clean, with luxury linens, and Starbucks. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Location This hotel met all of our needs, the staff from the Bellman to the Hotel manager were outstanding. The only two negative experiences we had was the Lobby Bar did not know how to set a table for an evening meal when the normal resturant was booked for a private party and the other was the kitchen was not well managed. They didn't know what the menu description of a item was and what they served and the were not prepared to meet the needs of the guest at the breakfast buffet as man item were always out or were before the line would get thru. We had a fantastic stay. March 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor staff Check in time is 4 pm. We arrived after 10 hour drive at the hotel at 5 pm. Room was not ready and no parking on site. Staff could have cared less. We told they were cleaning the room. In the mean time we drove to a parking garage half a mile away to park. Room still wasn't ready so we had to change and get ready in the lobby bathrooms. Room was finally ready at 630 pm. We arrived at our room to she they were still inside cleaning it. Staff did nothing to help with the inconvenience. Now I am a gold card member and stay a lot of places. This is one I don't recommend January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great If you are looking for a place in central new orleans, where you have amazing views, and great comfort, go to the Sheraton and you won't be disappointed! August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Great location and staff. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wet floors and waited 25 minutes for security to let me in my room I originally checked into a room on the 40th floor and was really excited to have such a great room, near the elevator with a wonderful view. Soon after unpacking, I discovered the bathroom shower faucet would not stop running. Not just a drip-running. Couldn't turn it off. Then, as I was putting clothes away, I noticed the floor was wet. A huge section of the floor in front of the closet was just wet and gross. I moved rooms to the 34th floor. I locked myself out of my room as I was getting a towel from housekeeping. She was wonderful an called right away for me, however, I waited 23 minutes for someone to come. She was very apologetic but security wasn't. Nice hotel in a great area, but I'd think twice before coming back February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Weekend Getaway This Hotel is located in proximity to all the local attractions and Riverwalk activities. A short walk to Burbon street and Resturants. Did I mention great food in the resturant ,also. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by John Review The pool environment needs to be more closely monitored. There was lots of drinking and bad language at the pool and my 8 year old daugher and wife had to leave because it got so bad. i was dissapointed that there were no Sheraton staff to monitor this area. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great property, service needs work. Hotel location is great. It is generally in good shape. My room was very nice and well-kept. Service could go a long way. Stefania at the desk was great. Other than that. - Dock worker watched us unload a truck and didn't offer any assistance. - Pallet driver was slow, very very slow. - Left a note and an item at desk for my wife. She checked in and neither were delivered. I had to retrieve note and item and give them to her personally. - Asked for crib to be put in room. Didn't happen and I had to ask again. - Bartender during in-room reception repeated several times that we were out of time and that he had to leave and we would need to serve ourselves. Oddly, no one asked and no one cared that he was leaving, but he kept saying it anyway. - Elevators were a disaster. Walked down 47 flights of stairs once and up 39 after waiting for more than 20 minutes for an elevator. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs better staff I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. At first glance, the hotel seemed to be perfect. However, it all started to go downhill when I started to ask the staff a few simple questions. Not only did the staff have no idea where certain conference events were held but also they oddly refused to ask their manager about it. Needless to say, I spent most of my time running around the hotel trying to find where I was suppose to go for the conference. Moreover, the concierge led us to extremely tourist-y places when we indicated that we wanted to experience local things. I would recommend staying at this hotel but the hotel definitely needs to get better staff, or at least staff who know how to answer a customer's question. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms Needed Cleaning I travel for work and am in and out of hotels all the time. When I went into the restroom to bathe, I noticed hairs on the toilet and in the shower that were not mine. There also seemed to be more scum than normal. My colleague mentioned there was a giant stain on one of the beds (bedding) in his room- he thought it could have been coffee. I'm not totally anal about some of these things, and I did chalk it up to "being in New Orleans," however, that being said, we were in New Orleans, so clean is comforting! June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location But Mixed Experience When we arrived we were given a good room on a high view with a lovely view over the river. Unfortunately, when we arrived in our room, the bathroom was not clean. We called guest services and we were told this would be dealt with immediately. We left for a drink at the hotel bar and returned 90 minutes later to find that no one had been by yet. The bathroom was then cleaned within 30 minutes - after a second call to guest services.The first night we received 3 unrequested wake up calls between 2:30 and 3:30am - so not a good first night. Our only other real issue was a fuse blew in our bathroom while using the hair dryer but this was fixed within 15 minutes. Overall an attractive Sheraton in a convenient location - but needs to iron out the service/ quality control issues. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great rooms. I really enjoyed my stay. I was there for a conference and the facilities were excellent. It was easy to navigate to the different areas and all the staff I dealt with was very helpful. Lastly, the food that was served at the meals was very good. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience I have stayed at the Sheraton previously, and this past stay would be my fourth. I have never had a problem in the past but this time was terrible. Two friends and I decided to go to New Orleans for New Years and I chose the Sheraton as our hotel of choice. We checked in on the 31st with no issues. The next day (Jan. 1st) two of us went to get lunch and my friend was still in the room when the maid came. She signed off on the “make a green choice” door tag to not clean the room for that day. When I got back to the room I called “guest services” to bring us some new towels, cups and water. I explained (and was ok with) that the maid had not cleaned the room for that particular day but asked for them to please replenish the stuff we needed. We left the room and got back around 10pm to a room with unmade beds, no new towels, water or cups. The next morning (Jan. 2nd) I called “guess services” to bring up some water bottles for us. It took them 2 hours to bring up 3 water bottles. This process continued throughout our entire stay, resulting in 4 full days without having our beds even turned down, or anything in the room replenished or cleaned. January 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No fridge and no microwave oven in hotel I wouldn't recommend this hotel as no proper house keeping. In addition, there is no refrigerator and no microwave oven in the hotel. June 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Experience I have stayed in many Starwood hotels and the New Orleans Sheraton was not my favorite. The "free" internet speed was equivalent to dial-up and the elevator system was horrendous. I waited one evening for 20 minutes to be picked up on the 34th floor. The following day my colleague and 11 others were trapped in the elevator for at least 10 minutes. Both instances resulted in a delayed or missed meeting. I dislike complaining but not being able to conduct business online and dealing with a goofy elevator system ruined the experience for me. May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel for a convention This hotel was set up nicely for a convention. The convention rooms were easily accessible and there was plenty of space. The room was a good size with a confortable bed. A few drawbacks that I noted were that there were shutters instead of a curtain over the window so it didn't stay dark in the room when I was trying to sleep past sunrise. The hot water was also very sporadic at night when trying to shower. Much better for a morning or daytime shower though. Overall a good hotel and in a great location in New Orleans. Would definitely stay again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has good location This hotel has good location, excellent customer service, friendly staff, and the experience overall was great. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Extended Weekend Getaway The hotel was nice considering the construction......Not a lot of amenities, but in a GREAT location. Most of the staff was very friendly, but there was an incident with housekeeping that I believe could have been prevented. I called down for towels and wash cloths, and after waiting an hour I went out in the hall to ask the housekeeper on our floor. She was nowhere to be found, but her cart was outside our door. So I proceeded to grab two towels for my boyfriend and I. Well that made her appear.....She got upset with me for tampering with her cart. When I told her why, she began to argue with me. Then there was the issue of receiving wrong information from several front desk clerks regarding charges which then got management involved. I will not let this experience detour me from staying at Sheraton again......I just hope the issues are fixed going forward. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Modern and attractive My room was quite nice, however it hadn't been cleaned properly. The chair at the desk had potato chips in it and a towel was left hanging over the shower rod. Everything else was great! The size of the room was good. The bed was comfortable, the television was an HD version and had good stations. The only complaint was ongoing construction on the restrooms located on the conference floors necessitating members to travel three floors down to use the restroom. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too Much Hot Water ???? After my first nights sleep ,I attempted to shower at 6:00AM. The shower could not be adjusted so that the water was not scalding hot.I washed up in the sink .and asked my wife to call maintenance while I was at conference. A maintenance man was promt to "look at "the faucet ,but recommended that ifv you barely turn on the water it would not scald. His solution was definetly true , but hardly fixed the faulty anti scald valve ... Shower water pressure was lacking because the low flow solution . This was very substandard for such a hotel !!!! May 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel Had construction going on The hotel had construction going on and I wanted to rest during the day, but the noise was so loud it really bothered me. The hotel is located in a great part of New Orleans on Canal ST so getting to different attraction throughout the city is quite easy. The hotel told me they had a computer glitch the day after my check in and the two rooms i had pre-paid for were charged to my American express card again. The over-all experience was ok, nothing to write home about however. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best.. I've stayed at many Starwood properties over the past many years but the Sheraton New Orleans is one of the best. The facility is conveniently located and is well maintained and comfortable. What truly makes this property stand out however is it's staff. From the moment that we checked in, EVERY employee that we met went out of their way to be helpful, courteous and simply nice. Mr. Cook should certainly be proud of his team as they are making the difference. We loved our stay and cannot wait to return. Thank you Sheraton New Orleans and Mr. Cook. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Orleans Hotel is centrally located for tourists. Staff is very helpful. Hotel is clean and has a fun atmosphere. But the city is a mess. Roads and streets are deplorable. General population in area very rude. Trash everywhere. Does not feel safe. Such a sad state of affairs. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT EXPERIENCE! We came to New Orleans for our first time to get the "Bourbon street experience" so we weren't sure what to expect but i wanted to stay somewhere where i felt safe and i did at the Sheraton. The distance from bourbon street is ideal. It's a short walk but it's far enough away that your not having to deal with the chaos that is bourbon street. You are also in short walking distance from the Harrah's casino and there is a Starbucks in the Sheraton which was amazing! Hotel rooms were really nice and the beds are very comfortable. I was the only girl on a guys trip and loved that i had a nice, comfortable room to return to after a long day/night with rowdy men. IF i ever return to New Orleans, i will definitely be staying here again. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elevator Our room was great....except for the fact that the bed headboards backed up to the elevator shafts. Alllllllllllllll day and night the whoosh, motorized sounds of the elevator traveling up and down, up and down, up and down. When mentioned at the front desk, we were answered with..."At least you weren't in 3509" (beside the elevator!!!. Don't know what would have made that worse!!!! Nothing done but deducting a $20.00 bar charge! Oh Boy! July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel personnel are very accomodating The valet service had my car out in the morning before I got there, which is much appreciated since i have to get to meetings downtown and i do not have to sit and wait. The room is clean, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom a little too small. the food on the conceirge level could be better and more varied. Should offer mix drinks as well August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to stay in. This hotel was very nice and clean. Was located next Bourbon street. Hotel staff was very helpful. We rented two rooms and both were very nice and roomy. We did not get to use the pool, but it seemed very nice. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Conference Facility/ Warm Staff This facility had nice meeting rooms. The AC during evening dinners was teeth chattering cold though. The staff was very warm, friendly and helpful. Very nice workout room! This is a good choice for the business traveler. I must say that it was not only disappointing, but an inconvenience though that Wi-Fi was only available on an unlimited basis on the Club Room computers. I was only able to use free wi-fi for 24 hrs while working on my lap-top in the privacy of my room. I would recommend it being included in the Club Level room upgrades. Thank you! September 23, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 26 next>>