Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 1986 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent hotel, good location, poorly managed We stayed one night. The hotel is in a great location, and the prices are decent. The buffet breakfast was good, too, albeit a but expensive; if you have the option, get the buffet included with your room. The room was small but adequate, nicely decorated, and the view was decent from the 24th floor. Poor bathroom lighting except in the shower itself. Now for the bad: The staff was completely overwhelmed on both days. Checking in tool almost 45 minutes, most of which was spent waiting in line. Checking out, we opted for the express check-out, then had to wait over 45 minutes for the garage to bring our car down. The parking rate is insane, and for the money I expected my car to be available much faster. The doors do a horrible job insulating sound; we were awoken every time anyone walked down the hall (at one point, it sounded like there was a party in the hall) or got ice. Granted, some of the noise may have been luck-of-the-draw, and we just were "lucky" enough to get a bad floor/room, but better doors would really help. Also, as an SPG member, I was disappointed by the fact that my membership wasn't recognized, nor did it get me any advantages. Not sure I see the point to all the SPG points I've accumulated, or the loyalty I've shown to the chain over the years. I'd still consider staying at the hotel again, but my expectations certainly won't be as high next time. March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Probems w/ Elevators Overall, I am very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Time Square. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and I consistently felt like they went above and beyond to ensure all of our needs were met. Now, the experience that was NOT above and beyond was the use of the elevators. Since we were on the 39th floor, we had no choice but to use the elevators. Every morning, there was a 5-10 minute wait to get an elevator however, this is somewhat expected during such a busy season in a multi-floored hotel. However, on our last day, a group of us from the floor waited over 20 minutes for an elevator until we realized there had to be an issue. After waiting for someone from the hotel to meet us to explain how much longer we should anticipate waiting, we were told one of the elevators was down which was causing a back-up in the remaining elevators. Since we had already scheduled a tour for that morning, we had no choice but to walk down 39 floors to get to the lobby in order to make our tour and not lose out on the $200+ we spent to reserve our spots. This was ridiculous! Thank god we are young and health is on our side BUT....as guests, contingency plans should be in place should the use of an elevator be down. There were a lot of very upset people who were unable to walk down 39 floors and rather than adding fuel to the already brewing fire, we decided to take the only alternative available to us, the stairs. Like I mentioned previously, we had an otherwise fantastic experience but this incident will make me reluctant to stay at this hotel in the future. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No SPG Recognition At This Hotel For my very first business trip to New York City, I I decided to choose this property based on my Platinum SPG status and the benefits that accompany that status. This was a big mistake. I received minimal to no recognition at this property, being told there were "no upgrades available". I decided to "test" this by later looking for a new booking (after I had checked in) and discovered there were numerous upgrade rooms available for the night I was staying. For my next business trip to New York City, I will definitely avoid this property. If you are a SPG member with Platinum status, don't expect to get any benefits from staying at this property. January 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Time Square First Time in New York so my expectations were big.... I was disappointed. Our room was nice you could clearly see it had been re-done with new carpet, furniture, drapes etc. but the surroundings were old, very small... and not worth the extremely high price we paid nearly 900.00 for 2/night stay. We also stood in line to check in/out for over 1 hour. People every where, crowded, no assistance obtaning cab out front which should be the norm in a place like this. I will never return to this Hotel.. I recommend looking around. The bed was beautiful but very very hard and uncomfortable..... I felt sick after paying my bill................. October 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location In 2010 and 2011, I stayed at the Sheraton NY Hotel & Towers at least 30 nights. The hotel's location is its greatest asset. It's in the heart of the city with easy access to everything. As a platinum member, I can't remember a time when I wasn't upgraded. Throughout my stays, some rooms were better than others - especially if I happened to get a room that hadn't been redone. The newly renovated rooms were much better than those that hadn't been renovated. The rooms are typical NY rooms - small - but you can't really expect anything else in that location. The Sheraton Club was always welcoming and I made great use of it. One drawback to the hotel is that it caters to large groups - and often times that meant young children on field trips - that can be annoying for a business traveler - but the benefits outweighed the annoyance, usually. The breakfasts are great - but overpriced - nothing new for a NY hotel. And the lobby Starbucks is convenient. Within walking distance of the hotel are hundreds of restaurants to choose from - so you aren't stuck in the hotel for food choices. The staff was always helpful and friendly - and if there ever was a problem, they were able to resolve it immediately. This hotel is a good option for NYC if you're on a business travel budget. The rates usually work for business travel and offer the standard SPG amenities you expect! I would return next time I'm in NY. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don Macaulay Outstanding service and really nice hotel. I try to book this place every time I travel to new york (I go there a lot for business!). Not only is it centrally located, but it is a beautifully appointed hotel. Kuddos to the entire staff. May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon luxury turned into disaster I booked the Sheraton hotel for a four night stay for our honeymoon from the 28th April to 2nd May. After a long flight from the UK we arrived to the hotel. Everything was perfect. We were checked into the hotel by a very friendly receptionist called Nicole who was very efficient. To our amazement she very kindly upgraded us to a superior room as we were on our honeymoon. She also told us that she would include complimentary breakfast for the whole stay which we were absolutely delighted with as with the expense of a wedding and a honeymoon to pay for we could not have afforded the $60 a day for breakfast for the two of us. Our room was great and cleaned every day. We went for breakfast every day and signed every day. On every receipt it stated complimentary and we double checked with staff. On check out our bill was delivered to our room and stated a $0 charge. So on our return to the UK two weeks later we received a credit card bill from the Sheraton hotel charged for breakfast. This was a huge shock as we had been informed this was complimentary. This is not a small amount of money and something that we would not have had if we believed it was then going to be charged anyway. We certainly would not have given the receptionist a large tip for being so kind, as we now feel that this has also been unfairly taken from us. We have contacted the hotel twice by e mail over the past two weeks and still had no response. And am hoping that someone will get back to me as this has not been a good start to our married life. May 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Conference Facilitities Attended a conference and was surprised that the hotel had wonderful meeting rooms. Elevators very fast and efficient, location great for meal options, and everything is within walking distance or subway during non conference times! May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meets expectations for location but... I travel with SPG-branded hotels in Asia for work relatively frequently. The hotel meets expectations with regards to location in manhattan. Unfortunately, noise pollution; failure to clearly disclose fees; and questionable service trade-offs puts a permanent blemish on the experience. We stayed in a corner room facing seventh avenue and could clearly hear not only the hallway but also conversation from the next room. Investment in sound dampening would have been much appreciated. If its raining - I am used to the hotel providing umbrellas. This hotel instead asked me to purchase one from a street vendor for $5. Regarding fees, we were given toothbrushes / toothpaste at check-in when we asked the front desk. No one mentioned that the hotel charged $4+ until they showed up as an obscure line item on the final bill. Finally, the hotel does not provide a complimentary baggage check service to guests who remain in the area after noon- checkout. Management refer people to a $3.75-a-bag vendor service in the same hotel. Why the Sheraton would choose to add fees for basic service items on a $300+ USD per night hotel room is not clear to me. I do think that had a brochure of fees been available at check-in, it would be easier to swallow. Unfortunately they do not. As such, I can only take the low-road and infer the hotel is trying to maximize profit instead of loyalty from its customers. As such, I can not recommend this hotel to other guests looking to stay in the times square area without the above warnings. December 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst hotel stays I have ever had From the very beginning it was a bad experience, the front desk staff, arrogant, poorly trained with comments from the Front Desk Supervisor stating "it doesn't matter whether you are gold or platinum there are no rooms (even though we were confirmed to have rooms and they were prepaid in the Club Level). The rooms on the executive level are basic, small and no frills. Although advertised to have water bottles, the entire 3 day stay no waters were to be seen. The rooms on the executive floors were small and certainly not worth the $500+ per day that they charge. The club lounge was always crowded, the hotel operator, concierge or guest services operator had long waits to answer and one would eventully hang up because of the long wait. No one ever apologized for anything that went wrong. By the way the pool and spa are in the Manhattan Hotel across the street, so if you work out in their fitness center (it was nice) you have to get dressed and go across the street if you want to swim or take in a sauna after your work out. went to look at it and it was dirty and old. It was like the staff was doing the guest a favor for staying there and no one ever said "How may I help you". This hotel does not deserve to be a member of the SPG family. As a frequent traveler and a soon to be Platinum member of SPG, the company should be embarrased to have this hotel as part of its offering of properties. The ENTIRE staff needs to be trained on customer service and hospitality services. This was 2 stays in one, first and last, at this hotel December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! I am a frequent traveler and have been coming to this hotel on and off on a weekly basis for the past 3 years. This is my favorite hotel in NY. It's very conveniently located. I love the view in the lounge and the staff is great. It can get crazy on week-ends when there are big groups, but that's typically confined to the lobby. I would like to commend Daunus, one of the staff members in the check-in area for his great customer service. He always goes above and beyond to accomodate my requests and always ends up finding me the perfect room based on my needs. He is welcoming, funny, always wears a smile and remembers me even when I haven't been around for a few months. Keep up the good work! March 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great installations, TERRIBLE experience My stay here would have been perfect if not for the last night of our stay. The next door neighbors where a couple having a terrible fight. At least one of them was VERY drunk and kept shouting from 1am to 5am. They cursed terrible words and were SO violent on there language that I was scared even if knowing they was a wall separating us. I had my 7 month old baby with me and I was worried they were going to wake him up and that he would be exposed to this circus. I couldn't even think of sleeping and called costumer service twice, The first time I explained the situation and they said they would do something about it. Around 15 minutes after my call someone did come to their room, it was roomservice BRINGING them a bottle of wine!!!! They were already drunk and this only made things worse. I called again and said that they were still shouting and screaming, cursing and offending me, not to say interrupting 4 hours of my sleep. Nothing was done and eventually these people feel asleep. Thank God I had placed the crib in the furthest part of the room and baby did not wake up to these shouting scene. The next morning I checked out and communicated how upset I was. They said they would compensate me with points equivalent to a free night stay. Nothing could undo the terrible time I had during these hours in the morning, but at least knowing it would be a free stay gave me peace of mind. I never got these promised points and have the worst opinion of this sheraton's costumer service. Had THE WORST night ever, it was what you could expect of a night in a bad halfway house. May 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed in this hotel twice within the week of March 29-April 5 (there's a gap in between because we did a side trip to Washington DC). I've stayed in several other Sheraton's before in other major cities and I could safely say that this is the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed in. The doormen were not welcoming and courteous, there was a long line-up to check-in (front office was under staffed), guest services on the phone was rude, Francois in ticketing was likewise rude and accusatory (more on this later in my review), the shower curtain in both rooms smelled like mildew, and there was limited space in the lobby for group check-ins. I mentioned Francois because when we booked a shuttle for the Woodbury Commons he asked me how many were accompanying me on my trip. I replied that we were three. Later in the day I realized that my son shouldn't have been charged as full rate since he was below 12. I ask him about it right befiore our shuttle leaves and he says, "well, you didn't tell me!" I responded by saying that all you asked was how many was accompanying me in my party? He didn't ask me how many adults and how many children. He then proceeds by saying to talk to a manager when we get back. To me that is poor customer service. You should never blame the customer and you should go out of your way to remedy the situation. In this regard, I wiould like to commend Nancy who helped process my credit. I would say that she's the exception to the rule. Also exemplary are the staff at the Hudson Market as well as it's food. Anyway, please be warned that this hotel falls below the usual high Sheraton standards. April 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by For the location and money I expected more I have to say the biggest drawback was the bathroom. The staff did not even clean the toilet (excrement) from the previous visitor, and then that lovely toilet wouldn't STOP flushing! You have to jiggle the handle after every flush or you have a constant interval of flushes. Aside from that the space is very cramped, which probably wouldn't be so bad if they didn't cram it with furniture that you have to weave around. In order to hold open the door for the bellman, he can't get IN past you with the luggage. In all it is just below standard from what I expect from SPG. I thought the storm would be my biggest complaint.... February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel Not sure why there are so many bad reviews. Fantastic hotel in a great location! The little cafe across from the hotel was great for breakfast, blocks away from many hotspots, and was central to most places which makes it worth it if you plan on walking everywhere. Really close to the subway too which are much cheaper than cabs. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. Room was ready on time, very clean, and spacious (surprising!). Front desk had maps and other brochures for shows and attractions. Overall wonderful hotel and not too crowded. Very short waiting time to check-in and check-out was a breeze. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hectic Lobby, Peaceful Rooms This large hotel is understandably busy in its public spaces -and the open-to-lobby coffee shop is less than restful. Staff, especially in the Hudson Market are excellent, as is the quality of the hotel food, both in restaurants and through room service. The location is very convenient -a few blocks to Broadway, Fifth Avenue, Times Square, Lincoln Centre, Central Park etc. Not cheap, with hefty, apparently mandatory, tips added to all bills, but hard to begrudge the excellent staff. The room on the SPG floor was fine, with excellent TV, well-stocked mini-bar and a very comfortable bed. Very aware and plentiful staff to ensure safety. November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad, good location I normally shy away from Sheraton properties but the pre-paid rate was really good and I needed another property to get credit for two stays. I booked the room at the Sheraton Times Sq. The location was great. The room on the other hand was small and had little room to walk around. The bed was not comfortable and my back is sore now from sleeping on that hard bed. The bathroom sink didn't drain well and there was very little water pressure in the shower. The walls between the rooms are thin and I could hear the conversation of the folks in the next room even with my TV on. I went to the club on the evening of my arrival. I don't drink so I don't care that they charge for alcohol. I had a diet coke which was perfect. The offerings of food were sub-par. Three types of raw vegetables and cheese and crackers. Not my kind of food for a club... I stopped up for breakfast on Memorial Day and it was completely cleaned up and over by 10am. Seriously, over by 10am on a holiday??? The only upgrade was to a newly renovated room. It was just okay. Seriously, if you have Platinum members in your property and you cannot offer an upgrade, send something up to the room... cookies and a soda goes a long way in keeping me happy. The real kicker was when I went to check out, I wanted to leave my bag with the bell desk. They said they don't take bags and that I would need to go to the bag check room in the back of the lobby. When I went to check my bag the guy wanted money for the storage. Never before have I EVER run into this. He said it would be free if I was checking in, but as I was checking out I had to pay. Forget that. I would have complained but the check-out line was so long that I decided not to wait and express checked out. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff, recently renovated Exceptional check in staff, very friendly and willing to converse on all things to make the process flow with ease after a long travel day. Provided tips of things to do in the city, restaurants, etc. I can't remember her name but if there's someway to track back our reservation, she deserves a promotion. The hotel was a bit further from Times Square then expecting as we had to walk with all our bags which makes the distance even longer, right by CBS and Radiocity, Central Park only a few blocks away. The hotel is large, unfortunately the walls are thin and both nights had people partying and didn't get much sleep. That's not the hotels fault tho. Overall a great stay, just wish it was warmer! March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by July-August 2012 - Olympics room staff was great. Guest Service Mgrs were not. the hotel's television system is way below average. multiple channels in shown as overblown SD instead of HD including NBC channels which is significant because (A) hundreds of people working the Games in NY for NBC were staying at the hotel and (B) when I called Guest Services early into my stay I was told by both Marisal (7/28) and Joe (8/1) that someone from Engineering would be getting back to me but no one did until I called again on 8/4. and I called Joe because Marisal never called back thoguh she said she would. The channel guides are also off with some channels mislabelled. August 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible stay Bathroom was smelly all the time Was never given any water till i asked several times Service was awful May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lower your expectations. Bare basics. But OK. First time at Sheraton New York. Overall, if you just need a place to sleep this hotel is OK. Don't expect much else. Usually Sheratons in big cities are amazing. This one was all about volume. I guess someone forgot to tell them it's the holiday season and they need to prepare for it. Reception desk was understaffed. People waiting in lines to check in for 15 minutes was ridiculous. Check out was about 20 people deep. Just drop your card and skip the line at checkout. Regular water... 6 dollars? The next day they charged me 10 bucks for holding my bags for three hours because it's only free when you check in and your room is not ready, and apparently they forget to tell you that the check room is not part of Sheraton. Rip off all the way. First time I ever had to pay for bag check at a hotel I'm staying at. The worst part of it all was the disorganization. Why wasn't the cleaning staff informed that we were checking out late ... and why would they storm into a room after one knock at 9 am in the morning! What hotel cleans rooms at 9 am with guests still in it? Why not start with rooms that already checked out? And forget about security. Anyone can get into the hotel and freely roam around on all the floors. Lock your doors! The room however was very nice. Small (NYC standard) but nice. Sheets had some weird stains on them but coming back from the city at 2 am we just did not care too much about it. Higher floors in NYC give you a much needed break from traffic noise. If you're a light sleeper it's worth it to wait for a room on a high floor. I'm disappointed though that as a GOLD SPG member I was not given a room with a better view, or at least on the SPG Preferred Guest floors, even more so that I booked the room 3 weeks in advance. December 12, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Sherton This Sheraton does not meet Starwood standards. The lobby is nice, but the rooms are not. They are dated and LOUD. The staff was not the best either. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprisingly Good Stay I've stayed here a number of times and know it as a "hotel factory" - always busy to the point of not getting any personalized service. But my most recent stay with my family was surprisingly good. The VIP team took very good care of us as we celebrated a family birthday. We'll definitely return. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5��by Great Hotel For Starwood Platinums, But Would Not Recommend For Anyone With Less Status This was our second stay at this this hotel since it was remodeled. It was our first stay as Platinums. Once they realized we were Platinums (we had to tell them…their computer said we were still Golds and welcoming fruit/beverage gift delivered to us on second night addressed us as Golds), they treated us great; the room was great and they responded to all our little problems (shower power and mini-bar) quite well. This is all in sharp contrast to our experience at this same hotel as Starwood Gold’s last summer. The lounge (not available to Gold’s last summer, except for an additional charge) was nicely remodeled, but much smaller than it used to be. Also the food in the lounge was considerably more meager than I remember from the pre-remodeling facilities a few years ago (no berries, melons, meats, eggs (except hard boiled) and no Danish or donuts at breakfast). This bothered me at first, but then the nice selection of bagels (with bulk cream cheese instead of little packets….although they would bring these if you asked)& muffins, great hot oatmeal ( with nuts ,honey, brown sugar and dried fruit available as toppings), lots of yogurt choices(flavored & plain, sweetened & unsweetened, bulk and in individual containers…but no full fat flavored yogurts)and the availability of great choice of coffee and other beverages made me change my mind and view this as potentially more healthy. All staff were friendly, helpful and provided accurate information. Soundproofing was so good that, if I did not see newspapers outside doors of other rooms near us, I would have thought that we were only ones on the floor. Internet was excellent and free for Platinums, but annoyingly you had register each day for each device. Elevator service was fine (particularly for a 50 story building!), and of course location is great. New key system using chips instead of magnetic strips (and just waving at lock) was what all hotels should have. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleased customer Great stay at this Sheraton! More than met our expectations, nice amenities and lovely room. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay in NYC This hotel was wonderful. Great location and the staff was great! Loved the Club Lounge. Thanks for a great stay!! May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just one problem I opted for the concierge floor on my recent visit, the first in almost a year, and wanted to know my displeasure with an otherwise excellent concierge facility. Up until this year the breakfast had a remarkable fresh fruit array but this year it was gone, replaced by little cups of yogurt. Staff told me the change had been made to cut costs, but in doing so, the hotel also brought down the level of breakfast amenities dramatically, to more on the level of a roadside motel breakfast which has little to recommend it. I would urge the Sheraton to restore the breakfast to what it was last year and in previous years, and look for ways to make it even better. May 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recent club lounge changes for the worse I have stayed many times at this hotel as a platinum member. At my last stay, the Club Lounge made changes which were very disappointing in an effort to reduce cost. First, the Lounge used to have hot appetizers, cookies and sweets. Now those are gone and there is only a few cheeses, crackers and vegetable sticks which were there previously. Second the breakfast has been scaled back. There used to be lots of fresh berries and pastries that were available in the morning. These have also been scaled back. Overall very disappointed in this change. There was no notice of this change given....I stay at this hotel ever 2 to 3 weeks. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is in a great location! The staff is friendly and very responsive. The room we had was very clean and larger than we expected. We enjoyed the Starbuck's in the morning and the bar in the afternoon:). Good use of space. Our granddaughter has already asked for a return visit to the city- including staying at this very hotel. We will recommend this hotel to others May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by As a returning guest, the hotel has failed to meet expectations I am terribly disappointed with my current stay at the hotel and utterly distraught on the hotel's service. The first night was absolutely horrifying as we were not able to have our sleep the entire night.I have requested as well for extra pillows on my reservation. I received an email that the room is ready for our arrival but instead, my simple request for pillows has not been granted. I had to ask it form housekeeping which gave us the pillows after more than an hour of waiting and it was already past midnight by then. We were initially assigned to a room close to the elevator at 2806. We heard a lot of banging of doors, noise from outside the room and the jackhammering from somewhere. In effect, no sleep for us for the entire night. We asked for a change of room. The front desk was helpful and referred us to a manager that tried to fix the situation. Apparently, they had no clue who is the guest and kept on calling me with another name which makes me feel unwelcome to the hotel. It seems that the hotel is not keen on personal approach to the guests. I even received numerous excuses when a simple apology can suffice to loosen the tension. When we were supposed to move the room, it seems that there was no available bell man to assist us so we had to rush and move to the new room which added to my roommate's anxiety that caused his anxiety attack at noon which even needed some emergency medical services. I actually thought that being a starwood preferred guest will make a difference in treatment and service but apparently such has no bearing. This is not the first time i have stayed to a Starwood Hotel Chain and it appears that this is the worst experience ever. I apologize that our need for a good sleep apparently is not as significant as a better view that has been kept on reiterated to us. I apologize, as well, that maybe it is best to reconsider this Sheraton for a return stay. Its reputation does not meet consistency and does not meet expectations. We hope that next time, situation like this will not happen to other guests with that appropriate and necessary actions will be made. November 14, 2012
<<prev 24 25 26 27 28 ... 67 next>>