Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

  • 31 West Ohio Street
  • Indianapolis,
  • Indiana
  • 46204
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid government-issued ID to check-in. Guests checking into the hotel must have a valid credit card at check-in time.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lack of response I always travel with a black light and inspect the room prior to use. However, the room was not ready at the time of arrival. When I arrived later in the evening I checked the room with my black light. There was urine on the floor, on the toilet, and splashed on the back of the bathroom door. There was blood on the bed skirt. There was also dust buildup on the carpet along the baseboard. There were water soap/spots on the shower/bath walls. When I notified the staff in the morning of the state of the room apologies were offered and promises made. When I returned that evening, the bed skirt had been replaced but the other issues remained. September 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel extrememly comfortable & clean. The room was very clean and we were upgraded to get a great view of the square. Loved that we were able to go to the Club Lounge for complimentary breakfast. Go early though because the food gets sparse the closer you get to 10am. Had a scary experience in one of the elevators. It couldn't decide if it was going up or down. I reported it to the Club Lounge staff and again the next morning to the front desk. The front desk said they would take care of it. Asked for more towels and someone brought them promptly with a smile! Asked the bellman for restaurant suggestions and he was so nice and helpful. We had a great experience, thank you! February 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Hotel, needs attention This hotel at one time probably was pretty nice. It is a far cry from that now. There was mold in the bathroom (that needed to be gutted), tub drained slow, door was damaged, just poor all around. The hotel was noisy due to maintenance, Restaurant overcooked my medium rare tuna to well done. I would not stay here again. I would not recommend this hotel. Parking was also bad. Was afraid that could not park SUV due to low ceiling. Got a nasty note for parking in garage after I had cleared parking in valet area with front desk due to fear of damaging vehicle. Twenty five bucks a day to park was steep as well. Lousy entrance from garage too. Just gross. December 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Absolutely Hit and Miss I've been at this hotel 3 times in the last few months and my experience has been consistent....in that it has been consistently INconsistent. During my most recent stay we had a variety of issues in our room (complete lack of shower pressure, dirty floors, malfunctioning toilets, etc). The buggy system is a joke. Every time I've been there I've requested one to have my luggage brought to/from my car and I've never had one brought to me quicker than half an hour...and on more than one occasion, they simply couldn't find one and I had to haul luggage for 5 people quite a long way. That's is simply unacceptable. In addition, the front desk staff were completely UNaccomodating when I attempted to get details about where they were. They were also generally unhelpful in many other ways...i.e. telling me an extra rollaway bed was available and it would be brought up soon...when I didn't have it within an hour and called back to check they said they were mistaken and one wasnt available...not knowing whether something is available or not is generally incompetent, but not calling back and having the decency to say so is inexcusable. The fitness center is also barely adequate in that most of the equipment is barely functioning and ridiculously noisy...nevermind that the lobby WIFI cant even reach down there. My experience would have been wholly unpleasant if it werent fot the gal running the club lounge who was an absolute gem...helpful in every possible way...friendly and polite. All the staff should take a cue from her when it comes to truly treating your guests like clients and not like inconveniences July 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Discounted rate should not mean discounted service. Of all the service staff I had interacted with during my stay, only 2% were polite and helpful. The attitudes and mannerisms of the front desk employees were far below expectations. I have never been treated so rudely. When I would ask a question, I would receive a rude response or a question with an extremely inappropriate attitude. The air conditioning in the room did not work. The television only had approximately 40-50% of the channels offered. The hot water lasted only a few minutes. Internet was offered as part of the rate offered for the room during the convention stay. I was not provided with this information during my check-in, when I called down to the service desk I was met with attitude and received the answer in a negative tone then hung up on. When I notified the front desk that the air conditioning was not working properly, the response I received was “They’re working on it! If it’s blowing its working”! I was personally too frustrated with my experience to even bring up the hot water; but instead included on my comment card. I was sent to the wrong meeting room when I asked where I was to go for my meeting (I was sent downstairs rather than the 21 floor). I had a package waiting for me at the front desk and when I came to pick it up I was first told that it wasn’t there, and then rudely asked to describe it. I understand that this was a busy time- the conference I was attending had over 200 attendees, but being in customer service it is important to greet with a smile and treat your guest with respect. The least they could have done was apologize for their inappropriate behavior. I usually enjoy my stays at the Sheraton, but after all this I do not think I will be staying at one again. May 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly unremarkable We were passing through on a long road trip and chose this hotel as we love the Sheraton brand for our young family, especially the suites. Unfortunately, this hotel was not adequately staffed when we arrived (11pm), had no luggage carts available, no valet available, and they then said it "looks like we upgraded you to a suite" when in fact our original reservation (what we paid for) was a suite. This hotel wasn't "bad" but was merely adequate when compared to the entirety of our SPG experience. We would try the Westin in town the next time we are passing through even though we prefer the Sheraton branch of SPG to Westin usually. July 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location I have stayed at this hotel several times and the location is perfect. This time I got a suite and found it comfortable and spacious. THey have tried to upgrade the older style with some nice new features. Overall the hotel needs some updating but the improvements do help. The rooms are clean (with the exception of the TV screens). The furniture is less than stellar (couch looked like a cat had a field day on it) but generally comfortable. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was quiet. I was disappointed in the front desk staff at check in as they were unimpressed with my SPG status and did not recognize me at all. November 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel stay ever I feel compelled to write this review because it was such a bad experience and others need to be forewarned. To preface what I am about to say, it is relevant to mention I am very vested in staying at Starwood hotels, am a platinum level member, own multiple timeshares through the Starwood Vacation Ownership program, and have never had a bad experience in any of their properties ... until now. I have stayed at this property a few other times and while the service has always been a bit hit or miss and the hotel is in desperate need of updating, the location is good and overall value has been sufficient. However, what happened this time means that I will never return. There was work being done in the hotel on some of the upper floors - which I understand is needed from time to time. However, this work didn't just happen during the day but into all hours of the night AND so close to rooms where guests were staying that the noise was keeping people up. The first night was irritating but not bad enough to keep me awake. The second night though was an entirely different story. The noise was literally so loud I could barely hear someone when I was on the phone. This continued on so long that finally at MIDNIGHT, I couldn't take it anymore. I called the front desk and the person acted like she had no idea what I was talking about. She said she'd send someone to check into it and ask them to stop. Noise continued. I called again at 12:30AM, she said she knew some work was being done and would ask them to stop. Again, noise continued. I called again and after 3-4 calls, I finally reached her around 1AM and was told she'd send someone again and tell them to stop. Noise continued. Finally, at around 2AM, I left the hotel and went elsewhere. No idea if and when it stopped but do know that the 2nd person in my party in another room heard noise on and off throughout the night. There are multiple problems with all of this. 1) Who schedules work like this during the middle of the night and then why so close to guest rooms that it keeps people up all night?! 2) The service around the issue was horrible. I called multiple times and nothing was resolved. I was never offered to switch rooms to another part of the hotel. Never offered any compensation on the room (I would have never charged a customer for such an experience). No one ever followed up to make sure it got resolved or that I was happy. Nothing. Nada. Zero. 3) Where is the management in all of this? If a customer had such an experience, I'd sure as heck make sure a manager was involved and that person would ensure the issue got resolved and the customer was happy. Instead, all I received was a 3,000 point bonus. That for horrible service, a night of absolutely no sleep, and having to leave and pay for another hotel room elsewhere! Completely unacceptable and really an insult. Also, this was in addition to all the other things about the hotel that weren't good ... but I won't go into that here. In the end, I think this experience says a lot about the hotel management and culture and is the reason I won't ever return. Period. January 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by average I asked for a King bed when I checked in and was told the only room was a handicap accessible room but that the only difference was the shower. I was very mislead. Not only was the shower barely accessible for someone handicap, the bathroom ceiling had a leak and water sprays all over the floor. The "towel racks" are the required assistance bars that are around the toilet. THe hand towels hung on the bar behind the toilet and were touching the back of the toilet and toilet handle/flush. It was very gross. The bath towels all hung on the other bar next to the toilet. If you would actually need to use the bar for assistance off or on the toilet, you'd have to move all the towels somewhere -- but there isn't anywhere else to put them except the floor. There is no shelf or bench or other rack for items to be placed on. The counter space is non existent...I had to put all my toiletries on the floor under the sink. The shower is not wide enough for anyone - handicap or not - to sit or stand in. The shower head is on the long wall (not the typical short wall/top of the shower), which made it even more difficult to shower and not have water spray all over the bathroom floor. The shower curtain was cloth, so when the water did spray on it, it just pushed the curtain back and water went everywhere. During my stay, the TV randomly went out - right as I was showered, in bed and ready to watch my favorite show. I called down to have someone come take a look and try to fix it. I got a call from the manager 3 mins later telling me sorry they can't fix it and that she'll give me HALF a nights stay for free. HALF? I got HALF the amount of SPG points added to my account since they couldn't fix it. She couldn't change my room bc they were completely sold out that night. She did offer for me to go downstairs and watch TV in the bar -- they don't play the sound on the TV's there. No thanks. I told her no one had even come up to look at it and try. She immediately sent the "engineer" on duty and he just looked to see if it was plugged in and the said the digital signal was messed up and he'd go see how to fix it and come back or call. I never heard from anyone again. This hotel also charges $11.95 per day per device for internet. It's slow and pricey. You'd think it'd be free or less than $11.95 per day considering it is 2012 and the internet is no longer the newest invention of our time. The hotel is very loud - you could hear everything going on in the hallways, hear the elevators (which are RIDICULOUSLY slow) and even hear the people in the room next to me. The guests in the room next door were enjoying themselves to the point where not only could I hear everything, but the wall was shaking and causing my bed to shake. It was very disturbing. Also, there is construction - at the hotel and outside the hotel, which is VERY VERY loud. A few good things about this hotel is that is close to the canal - a beautiful part of downtown - tons of runners, bikers, walkers, etc. enjoying the sites and weather. It has a Starbucks attached that serves their full menu of breakfast sandwiches, which is cheaper than the breakfast buffet at the hotel. Overall, I was very unhappy at this hotel. I do not recommend it unless you are ready for something noisy and a wet bathroom. May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by WONDERFUL LOCATION & GREAT STAFF With a super location & wonderful staff, I just couldn't believe that our hotel room was not air conditioned. Also, as a SPG member we were not informed when we checked in that there was a "Club Room." We didn't find out until we saw on the elevator that there was such a room on the 10th floor. When we inquired at the front desk about the availablity of the "Club Room," we were told that it was only for Platinum Members, however, since your here let me have your room key, I this will get you in. Also, we found that the five elevators were very inconsistent. I must admit, that I have never seen a more effiencent hotel staff, and I have traveled around the world. April 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay has some challenges The gym and view were excellent, and the front desk was always helpful when approached in person. My main challenges were with the internet- unreliable and extra cost (not typical in the hotels I have been traveling for business). The room also had no towels the first night. When I called down for towels at 12am, they took awhile to come up (20 minutes+). I called back and was told that the staff/security had "other things to do" and they were coming. I would have appreciated a bit more courtesy. I will be traveling to Indy at least twice a month for the next six months. This experience made me want to book another hotel. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent smaller downtown Indianapolis hotel Attended a small conference, and everything was superb. Staff were friendly and attentive, service was excellent, and accomodations very comfortable. The meeting rooms and food and beverage was above average. Location was central and within convenient walking distance to many restaurants and cultural landmarks. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazing Overnight Experience. I cashed in some of my SPG points for a free night here, after we came across a last-minute opportunity to head to Indy. This was one of the nicest and most surprising stays I've had. 1. Despite booking a basic King room, I scored a free upgrade to a suite...in addition to the check-in gifts. 2. The staff was very friendly. Kudos to Damien for all of his help! 3. The room was great. Clean, spacious, and comfortable. 4. The pool area was nice and large...and being rooftop, the city view was great! 5. The bar area had a really nice atmosphere and fast, friendly service. Kudos to you guys, this was a really great trip! August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GenCon Experience My group stayed at this hotel for GenCon and I thought it was fantastic, my only problems with the room were the small space, and the lack of a fridge or microwave, other than that it was great. A few of my other friends rented a private meeting room in the basement for a game we were going to play, renting the room came with service, a phone to call up and ask for whatever we wanted from the restaurant/bar. This was Excellent, the other places we were trying to rent the meeting rooms for were asking upwards of $1200 for a twelve hour time slot where as the Sheraton was free. We tipped heavily for the fantastic service. August 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please Clean My Room I stayed at this hotel for5 nights over New Years Weekend. I had to asked for more towels every day because when they cleaned the room they would only leave 2 towels for 2 guess. Also on 2 different days they didnt clean our room, even asking 3 different times for them to clean it. I shouldnt have to beg for my room to be cleaned, but apprentely here you have to, but it doesnt mean they will clean it. When we said something to the front desk, they acted like it was no big deal. There also was a fight outside our room with broken glass and things being thrown, no apology was even made to us. I have been a memeber of starwoods for years, but yet nothing was done for it. January 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful service - few complaints The friendliness and helpfulness of every staff member I encountered was the most enjoyable part of my stay. The room was comfortable and clean, and the Club access was well worth the cost of the upgrade. I only have two complaints: nowhere on the website did the description mention a microwave, and a refrigerator was described as costing extra. Thus, I didn't bring along my own food, which I often do to save money. Turned out my room had both, but that didn't help me to find out after arrival. Secondly, the walls are too thin. I could hear the flushing and coughing of people in nearby rooms. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel The only complaint I would have is the first room we were given was full of smoking smell. We were given another room and we were very satisfied. My only comment would be there needs to be a strong follow up to customers that do not follow the rules. They were letting that previous customer off the hook. He should have been fined and banned from SPG hotels in the future. Your good customers deserve this response!!. That is up to the Cleaning staff to immediately report each violation(which they don't) and then to have the Management follow up with the customer and SPG to kick they violators out of the system!!! October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value and Decent Location Downtown We usually stay at the Sheraton when we travel to Indianapolis. Primarily because we travel to Indy for major sporting events with friends and family. During the Indy 500, NCAA Playoffs and Tournaments the prices at every hotel within 20 miles of Downtown go through the roof. The Sheraton seems to be the affordable option for most of the people we travel with and I can not say we have ever been disappointed. The Sheraton is in a good location and within walking distance to just about everything Indy has to offer. The rooms are pretty standard and the staff is usually very helpful. Always an enjoyable visit... April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We will definitely be back to this hotel! This hotel was super clean. The beds are excellent and very comfortable. The poolside and monument circle view is terrific. The rooftop pool is a great relaxation area that we loved as well. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great updates Impressive updates in rooms and common areas! Friendly staff at check in and check out. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by june Room was very nice. Closing doors in the hallway were very loud. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Fun The front desk gave me a map with walking tour suggestions. I enjoyed the fresh lemon water in the lobby when waiting to meet my party. I was running late and asked for breakfast 'to go' and was on my way in no time. Pool and exercise room were terrific. a great experience during the NCAA crew races, June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to downtown Indy This was a last minute booking and I got the last king reservation. Upon arrival was upgraded to Club Level, as only remaining room was accessible. Needed a bathtub and staff was quick to make a room change. New room was clean. Bathroom problems: tile grout coming up on the floor, and the toilet seat (clearly an afterthought after construction was completed) hit the counter, forcing you to hold the seat up in order to use the toilet. Beds were fluffy and very comfortable. Cable had problems of losing the signal every few minutes. Everything downtown is within easy walking distance, and parking was a breeze. November 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close to Circle Center Mall We only stayed here for the night. The room we stayed in was a double and was much smaller than we expected. Especially, for the price, which was a deal, however, compared to other area hotels. The bathroom was very small with the toilet practically in front of the sink! The seat would not stay up either because of being positioned so close to the sink vanity/countertop. Craziest setup I have ever seen in any hotel. The price to park caught us by surprise. I must have missed that somewhere in the hotel description. Other than that, the hotel is within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! Upon arriving at the hotel, we had some trouble checking in due to a 3rd party travel website through which we had booked our stay. However, it was handled more than appropriately by one of the employees, MJ. She was awesome! The other employees we encountered during our stay were very nice and personable. All of our party agreed that the beds were very comfortable, and the view of the city centre from our window was great! We'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone considering it! May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problems Hotel has great features and is located near almost everything. However on a two night stay the only thing the maid did was make bed and replenish soap and shampoo. They never emptied my trash or gave me new glasses to drink out of. I expected better especially I was on the Club level. The hotel should be able to tell you of all ways to get there from airport. I usually took Carey Limo, which was recommended by hotel but they doubled their rates in a year. found out by searching internet that the city ran a bus shuttle that ran every half hour for half the old price and dropped you in front of hotel. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel We were there for a 2 night stay and came to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. Our main event was the Indiana Roof Ballroom Big Band Series. We stayed previously at another hotel, which I will not name, that was attached to the ballroom. This hotel is far superior. We were treated better by the front desk, by the attendant in the club lounge. The continental breakfast and evening snacks in the Club lounge were delicious. It is definitely worth upgrading to the Club level. Rooms are spacious there also. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance and it is just about 2 1/2 blocks from the ballroom. We will definitely stay here when we return. Thanks for a lovely weekend. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location We stayed at this hotel in April 2012. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. This hotel is located within walking distance of tons of food and a mall. This was a great stay.Oh be advised there was some construction going on in front of the building so the sidewalk was closed. The police told us to walk down an alley at night. I was with my son so I was not too thrilled about that. I could not hear the noise from the construction but some others could. We stayed on the 18th floor with a view of the “circle”. Of course, this is not something the hotel can really control but just be aware. April 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little older, but very nice Given mixed reviews of this hotel, I was a little leery about staying here. However, my low expectations were blown away by excellent service and a hotel that's in pretty good shape for its age. There is a nice club lounge with light appetizers in the evenings (every day) and a pretty nice breakfast. The lounge hostess was there both evening and morning, and was super friendly and accommodating. Platinum received suite upgrade even though the hotel was sold out. I was also there on the weekend, and parking on the street (after 9PM on Saturday) is free on Sundays, but watch for no parking signs. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay We booked a king suite and a king room for our Easter stay. I requested a corner room with a view of the monument. I got everything I asked for and it was amazing. The suite was a perfect place for us to hang out together, color Easter eggs and open Easter baskets in the morning. The whole facility is impeccably clean. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. Super comfortable bed. Wonderful shower. This is our favorite Indy hotel. We keep coming back. Excellent location as well. All in all, the best place to stay when in Indy! April 21, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>