Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 800 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by You cannot send guests to a different building. It was upsetting when they sent my friend and his family to a different building. How can they do that when he arrived with a small kid and an infant passed their bedtime. My friend had called the hotel and informed he'd be arriving a bit late in order to secure a room too. They didn't even give him discount. I stayed there with a bunch of people and this upset everyone. Our room was comfortable but the drain in the shower room wasn't quite working. Eric who was working at concierge was great to us. Thanks to him, we were able to get late check-out, which we really needed. He deserves bonus! November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by You pay for what you get Breakfast was not included and there was not a fridge in the room. For $150, it was just OK. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable Very comfortable and clean rooms. Hallways and common areas very well kept. Staff very professional and helpful. June 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Linda S Blue I was not happy that I had to return to the service desk two different time because i was not able to enter the room #2519 the first time them I went back to the service desk to get the room key fixed returned and the room was already, opened the door there was someone in that room. I had to return to the service desk again and the clerk indicated that she gave us the wrong room ended that our room was #2518 so I was not happy that I had to go through all of that. the staff should get it right the first time. I Ask to speak with a manager but she stated she would take care of the issue. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by room for improvement The staff member at the door was exceptionally kind and prompt. Some of the front desk were as well, while others seemed less experienced and bothered by having to interact with guests. My room was quite small and the toilet ran the whole time. There was no room service menu in my room. When I called and asked for one, I was informed that room service was not available until the evening. The menu never did arrive. I stayed here for a conference at the Convention Center. Not the closest hotel by a long shot, but it was about a 10-minute walk. Very convenient. April 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Dirty Stay Checked in and they changed the particulars of my rate! When I booked it said breakfast in restaurant, they forced me to eat in the lounge. Food was not refilled and could not get a table. Room was not cleaned until we called at 5 pm. And to add insult to injury they are not posting my points, because I used a suite upgrade!!! Horrible horrible horrible!!!! June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you would expect I would begin by saying the staff were wonderful, from check in, to concierge, to the lovely waitress offering complimentary coffee, to check out. But, unfortunately the hotel was not what we expected for the cost. The hallways were dingy with peeling wallpaper, the furniture was stained and the room was small. In addition, although the room was a no smoking room, the smell of stale cigarette smoke was very strong and must have been in the carpets and draperies as it did not dissipate. Parking was not free for hotel guests and WiFi was expensive. Overall, this was a disappointing stay. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One night in downton Philadelphia I recently spent a night at the downtown Philadelphia Sheraton; I chose the hotel because it was close to the venue of an event I was attending. The hotel itself was very standard; typical Sheraton property. It was clean, met my needs,, just fine for the one night I stayed. The hotel staff is superb; the several staff members I spoke with and asked questions of were all extremely polite, professional, friendly and extremely helpful. I am already planning to visit Philly again and catch up on the local sites and art scene, and will definitely be staying at the Downtown Sheraton again. November 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Stay We havestayed here before and it was great. We checked in- clerk could not figure out how to charge my card- I wanted to prepay $400 and put the rest on my debit card. He assured me that they would not automatically debit my card for checkout that I would have to check out - WRONG! Got club level upgrade which you described as lounge area, breakfast, hot hors d'oeuvres nightly, etc. Ran out of Diet Coke, NO evening hors d'oeuvres, ran out of breakfast food- woman was awful- guy was great- our keys didn't work initially because the smart clerk did not know what he was doing-- toilet clogged- no hot water on Sunday- what else???? NOT GOOD!!!!!! To top it all off- got charged twice for one night!!!!!!!! December 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Downtown hotel review The stuff at the front desk was rude and not professional. I was not informed about the basic details of my stuff - eg breakfast. Every conversation was very painful and the stuff was not proactive at all. During the check out, the person at the front desk did not even bother to say good bye nor thank you for my stay. I travel very often and I had been in many hotels all over the world but I have to say this was the worst experience I had with the Sheraton hotels. The only bright moment of this stay was the service during the breakfast on Sunday as the waiter Ed was extremely nice and helpful. On top of that the hall on my floor was really dirty on Sunday morning and stay that way the most of the day. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Okay Everything Else Used a suite night and stayed here for one night on NYE 2012. Checked in, everything seemed ok, staff were nice at the desk. Got to the room and the keys didn't work. Finally got in after getting new key cards, and the suite was okay - looked old and not too well taken care of. Then the toilet was clogged and we had to call 3 times and wait over an hour for someone to come and fix it. The Club Lounge was closed, but we got two free tickets for breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby in the morning. The food was not very good. We were pretty disappointed, but the room serviced its purpose - a comfortable place to sleep - and our room had a view of the fireworks on Penn's Landing, so that was a great part. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We're coming back with family and friends! Almost everyhthing was above expectations. Loved the beds, the room, beautiiful view of city, healthy food choices, convenience of club services and friendliness of staff. Only issue was that two staff members didn't know what's included with Starwood Preferred Guest membership. December 12, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service and check in Hotel is in a bad shape with rude check in staff who did not help despite being a SPG elite Gold member. I am really disappointed with the 2 rooms provided on 5th floor for a gold member. The lobby and other common areas are shabby and the construction there does not help. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good conference facilities I was on the eighth floor and traffic noise was bad. For the hotel itself, the floors could have been cleaner. Staff and food exceeded expectations. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, but a little outdated I spend a few days every week in Philly and this hotel is my second choice when my first choice is not available. The rooms are comfortable, but a little claustrophobic with low ceilings in the rooms. The HVAC systems tend to be a little noisy, and even after they did a "renovation" earlier this year, it still feels like a relic of the 80s. Overall, it's clean, plus the beds are comfortable. I fount it frustrating that they did not send my receipt which I will be required to call the hotel and request it. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs a total rehabilation I was very dissapointed when I entered the lobby of the Philadelphia Sheration. I expected a clean lobby with great ambience. The floors were dirty, the mats on the outside of the entrance doors were quite dirty as well, and the trash bins in the lobby were full. The elevators to the rooms and garage have reached their useful life and need to be replaced. The carpet throughout the hotel needs to be ripped up and replaced and the beddings especially the down comfortors need to be thrown away and replaced with new decent looking ones. I am never staying at this hotel again. May 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, But Facility Is Beat Up I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights in conjunction with a professional conference that was occurring in the hotel. I will say that the staff at this hotel was by far the most attentive I've ever encountered. Everyone was unfailingly polite, attentive, and helpful. The physical facility, however, is quite run down. I couldn't believe this was a Sheraton-branded (and priced) property. As a result, I really don't feel that the quality of the accommodations I received was reflective of the price I paid. I doubt I would stay again, even though the staff was superb. October 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth it... I stayed at this hotel the past weekend with my boyfriend. We checked in after 3pm and there were many other large groups checking in as well. We were told that we would be called when our room was ready. After waiting an hour in the lobby with a lot of other people I asked my boyfriend to inquire at the front desk how much longer it would be and they did not even have us down as waiting for our room. After waiting an hour I felt it was beyond unsatisfactory considering we were there for only a weekend and we lost some of our time to sightsee. Once we told them we had already been waiting an hour and were waiting for their call they gave us a room right away. Our room was clean except for an ink stain on the rug. We thought someone would be up to look at it since we did not want to be charged since it was there prior but no one ever came up after they said they would. I feel the staff was to busy to care about our concerns. Overall I would not return. I do not feel like this hotel was really interested in their guests comfort overall. February 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The hotel looks old and feels old. The hallway floor looks like it needs some vacuming. The staff can look a little more cheerful too. I specifically asked for the complimentary wi-fi service at check-in but the guy just nodded his head and failed to inform me that I needed a coupon code. I was never able to get hold of anyone on the phone regarless which key I tried to use. Finally, someone left a bag of dirty towel outside of my door during the whole time I was there. Generally, the place lacks professionalism to me. It's one of the worst Sheratons I've ever stayed at. May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet my expectations.... I reserved 3 rooms due to the wonderful reviews. What a disappointment! I had to wait 40 mins. to get rooms that were not connecting as requested but on the SPG floor. The only recognition I got was "do you want the points?". I asked about an upgrade - none available. Got to room and man was painting the closet... strong odor. Asked for another room and they gave us a "Suite" which was on another floor and consisted of a room with an adjoining sitting room with a worn leather sofa. The furnishings were worn, carpeting stained and nothing special (not even a mini bar). The lounge which was only open for breakfast despite being told differently... computer broken, food was bare minimum at best. What a disappointment. June 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Team Work I would just like to just say the customer service from your Security team and the Concierge front desk were excellent. Doing my stay at your Sheraton I found someone's wallet from out of town, I returned the wallet to the Security Supervisor on duty, who made sure it was returned to the out of country visitor. Also doing this time this security supervisor was pulling an double shift. But he was friendly and even with all that was going on, he made sure the wallet was returned to the happy young man. As a Director of training in Customer Service, this is the first thing I always looked for in team player. On the other hand the front desk team for the day shift, they did everything correct, they just need to smile more. January 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best! When we checked in at 12:15 a.m., we were told that for 24 hours of parking, it would cost $20. At check out, they tried to charge me $38. They did agree to just the $20 finally. We asked the concierge for a recommendation for a restaurant with Philly steak sandwiches and she sent us to one that did not serve these which we did not realize until we had ordered our beverages! Our 16 year old boys were very disappointed. it would have cost us $20 to take a taxi to another restaurant that did serve these! Finally the hallway for the 16th floor was dirty and smelled awful. April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good experience The staff bordered on being rude from the doorman to the wait staff to the guest services people on the phone, nobody seemed interested in providing quality service. On top of that the elevators stopped on every floor due to some glitch and we ended up taking the fire stairs from the tenth floor because the wait was so long. The public hallways were poorly kept with trash sitting out for longer than a day. At the club lounge when I asked for a cup of coffee at 9am, I was told there was no more even though they were open until 10:30. What is wrong with the people here? May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Service, Nice Stay Everything about our stay was excellent, from the SPG recognition to the amazing 24th floor view, to the comfort of the room. But the staff REALLY makes this place special. From the front desk to the helpful doormen, everyone was efficient and friendly. Topping our list: housekeeping. An hour after we left, my wife discovered she had left in the room an antique pin that meant a lot to her. I called, and the housekeeping coordinator was wonderful, kind and thorough. 15 minutes later, she called to say Derricka (spelling?) had gone in and tracked it down. Thanks to all. March 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Worth The Hassle When I checked in I was given a room with two beds. I called the front desk to inquire about a room with one large bed and was told there were none available. This would have been OK except a co-worker made the same request after I did and received a room with a King Size Bed. So for the next five nights me and my husband had to share a full size bed. For a downtown hotel with over 18 floors, I find it hard to believe your staff could not accomidate us, considering we made the reservation a full 3 months in advance. Then to have a single co worker be given a room we requested added insult to injury. I'll would never in a million years recommend a this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel was the cleaning staff, July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cat hair all over the room Checked-in very late at night, and was told the room I had booked was not available, and was given a twin-bed in a low floor. Went straight to bed, and realized only in the morning light that the quilts on the beds, the sofa etc. were all covered in cat hair!! Front-office staff only offered to clean it up, and I was in too much of a rush to argue about changing the room. The serrvice in the bar was very slow, since there was only one person behind the bar. The only good thing is the location of this hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A major component to my amazing weekend The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating at all hours even in the midst of a MASSIVE Indian wedding party that was happening all weekend. The hallways were well maintained and everything looked spotless. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you Sheraton, I look forward to our many years of friendship. <3 - Dan May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well located Well located near museums. Good service. June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Discovery I found the hotel as a pleasant discovery. The staff and service was very good, helpful and friendly, reflects the MGMT, which is also very good. The Fitness Center was well equipped and a nice size, never crowded. Club Lounge service was excellent, especially the morning person. Hotel is doing some renovations, upgrades of the property Near by there are plenty of dining and pub establishments and shopping, short walk from hotel. The only issue I had with the hotel, was at check in, the front Desk Staff needs to improve/understand Platinum Benefits/Upgrades, November 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommendations I have been using you hotel with the Antique Auto Club for many years. May I say that I was very disappointed to see the main lobby clock missing this year. It was like an old friend had passed away. I can understand change, but being older I will never like it. In any case, may I suggest a large city mural on the "clock wall" area as a replacement, as I realize you are modernizing anyway. The only other problem that I had was a room employee ignoring my "do not disturb" sign. I carry valuable electronic equipment with me and do not want room service. Thank you February 11, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 28 next>>