Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 802 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Trash left in room We stayed here for the Hair of the Dog event. Once we got into our room the first thing we did was open the window curtain to see what view of the city we got. We were thrilled we were facing St. Peters. On the windowsill however there was a half eating Gino's Steak wrapped up in its wrapper. I was kind of stunned. I've never stayed at a hotel where there was someone else's trash left over. It wasn’t a big enough deal to complain at the front desk or to make a big stink ove It was just the fact that it was there and we were paying money to stay here. January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was not what I expected One of the most important factors that I look at when I stay at a hotel is whether or not the hotel is clean. This hotel is unsatisfactory as far as cleanliness. The hallways are very dirty and had the same trash items laying on the floor for my whole four day stay. My room had a pretzel on the floor when we arrived and it was still there when we checked out four days later. Toilet paper was not replenished when used and I needed to call the desk to get more. One of the days when we returned to our room there was blood on a blanket and I needed to call the desk to get that replaced. Not sure what the housekeeping did that got blood on the blanket. The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating each time I called to them. July 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient ...big hotel Convenient to sites and public transportation. Affordable price for the city. Followed another reviewers recommendation. Parking at the hotel is outrageous just go around the corner on Vine St and there are numerous commuter lots. This is a big hotel. Lobby is huge so it feels like a convention center hotel. Elevators are slow. TV stations were quirky. Bed comfortable, room clean, bathroom very clean, would stay there again. Check the cancellation policy to see if it meets your needs. Hotel web site had a cheaper rate after I had booked through Starwood. September 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Facility This facility is in serious need of renovation and renewal. February 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Most Mediocre Philly Starwood Property No Valet, scary elevators, and terrible maid service. May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay but this Sheraton is starting to show some wear Great stay overall. Always enjoy this specific Sheraton. Have stayed here twice over the last 2 1/2 years. The bed was great - super comfortable. My only gripe is some of the furniture (Desk/chair) are starting to show some major wear and tear. The carpet was randomly bunched up in different areas. Typical lack of attention to detail I see in hotels in Philadelphia to be honest... nothing major though. The bathroom was fine... no major concerns. Rooms are overall fairly cramped, but it's a downtown hotel built in the 70's or 80's I assume, so that's par for the course. Staff always great at this Sheraton so have no complaints about them or the breakfast service at the restaurant in the lobby. I would recommend staying here to anyone. January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good lodgings Excellent bath room. I didn't have to fight to activate the shower. Room could have used a fridge. June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is worst Sheraton I've ever stay at; DO NOT GO HERE I have SPG Platinum status and travel about two weeks every month, primarily staying in Starwood properties around the country. Also, as I travel for business, my associates often stay in the same hotel. This was, by far, the absolute worst Sheraton in which I've stayed. It was terrible--I had awful experiences from the moment I checked in until I, mercifully, left. Each one of the clients I saw and had the misfortune of coming to the hotel encountered problems. It was almost comical, if it wasn't so awful. Whatever you do, stay anywhere but here. April 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You pay for what you get Breakfast was not included and there was not a fridge in the room. For $150, it was just OK. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable Very comfortable and clean rooms. Hallways and common areas very well kept. Staff very professional and helpful. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by First Disappoint of a Sheraton Property Housekeeping issues seem to be the theme of others who have stayed at the hotel. In addition, the room keys have issues, in-room movies have sound problems, lack of towels, housekeeping taking unopened bottles of water, hearing about a guest who found cockroaches didn't surprise me. As a frequent traveler, I find this Sheraton to be one of the most INFERIOR I have ever stayed at. The front desk did bend over backward to make sure I was satisfied. Maybe a training session with Housekeeping would be a good place to start. Fitness center was okay. August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you to the staff I wanted to write this review specifically because of the assistance I received from our waitress Amanda who was working in the Lobby Lounge the evening of October the 10th, 2012. My business partner and I were looking for a great steakhouse to eat at. We asked for her opinion, as both of us have never visited Philadelphia before. She not only gave us recommendations but also made reservations for us and told us that transportation was available right outside at the bell hop stand. She went above and beyond her call of duty. Thanks very much. October 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was a great disappointment to us We had stayed in this hotel in years past. However, this time was very disappointing. The hotel was dirty. We had to change our rooms twice since the ceilings in the bathrooms were seriously damaged from water leakage. Once we changed rooms, we were charged a higher rate and had to bring the overcharge to the staff's attention before it was corrected. The hallways were not vacuumed during our entire stay and were filthy. We were very disappointed and are now looking for an alternate place to stay during our visit to Philadelphia next month. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent rooms The hotel staff and facility was great, however the food service was lacking. The restaurant was closed. It was Saturday night of the Army Navy football game and all rooms were occupied, yet the only dining option waves food from the lobby bar. The restaurant tenant having vacated could not be helped but opening the Terrace Grill for the evening would seem to have been practical and helpful. We have stayed in the hotel for 9 Army Navy games and enjoyed it, we will make reservations for 2015 when the game returns to Philly. Beat Army! December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wait for the refurbish to complete I heard late night construction and trucks dropping off supplies at night. Not a restful night. The lack of food service past 11:00pm is a crime against business travelers. I arrived @ 11:30pm after an airline delay and found myself having to scrounge through local pizza shops and Chinese food shops that woudl deliver late. No room service. During the day, food service was limited to the lounge and its very limited menu. The fitness center was great but the rest of the hotel was very low budget -- not a fair exchange for the room rate. September 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I'd stay here again I just spent 3 night at the Sheraton Philly and overall enjoyed my stay. Location was good for driving as most of my meetings were outside the downtown area. Highway is right there. As a Platinum I was upgraded to a suite with was very nice and comfortable. I found the Club Lounge to lack good options and the gym wasnt great. The $38 for parking is very expensive but there are special spots for Platinum members (not that there is anything stopping non-platinums from parking there) Staff was good and took care of anything I asked for. March 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed I was extremely disappointed in my recent stay at the Philadelphia Sheraton. My room had peeling paint and wallpaper, stains on the carpet, shower head pulling away from the wall, and there was some kind of shredded paper all over the hallway in front of my room that did not get cleaned up the entire time I was there (4 days). Vending machines were only located on one floor of the entire hotel, and would only accept dollar bills (no coins). Since there were no change machines either, I was unable to use my coins or my $20 bill. January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Philly Marathon I booked 4 rooms 8 months before race. When we arrived the lobby was packed with people and luggage. The check in line was long and we heard numerous people complaining. When we tried to check-in we were told our rooms were not ready and they could not tell us when they would be ready. They had suggested they could move some of us to a different Sheraton by bus. We had a friend that was able to get a room, so we all left our things in her room and went out. We received a call about 5:45pm that are rooms were now ready. My four rooms were on different floors of the hotel, 4th, 7th, 14th and 20th. The hotel had a "young" convention booked. The hotel was extremely noisy. I needed to go into the hallway twice after 11pm to ask for quiet. Not a pleasant stay November 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I was disappointed overall in my stay at the Sheraton. I was in town for a conference being held in the hotel, but it seemed that the staff of the hotel were not prepared for the number of guests who were attending the conference. it took over 2 hours to check in (after standard check in time) to get a room upon arrival (despite being in the waiting area with an infant, who clearly needed to get into the room). also, service in the restaurant was inconsistent at best. the "salad bar" special at the restaurant for the conference was grossly understaffed and underprepared (not enough food for everyone, took over 10 minutes to bring out new plates when they ran out, etc.). staff in the restaurant (with a few exceptions) were slow, unresponsive, and impolite. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - but cleanliness leaves MUCH to be desired My family and I came to stay here over the President's Day weekend to view the sights. First, the Good: Great location - we had stunning views of the Philladelphia Museum of Art and we easily walked to Chinatown, Rittenhouse Square and the shopping along Walnut and Chestnut streets. The Bad: Hotel was very disappointing in terms of the usual Sheraton 'hardware'. By that I mean that the facilties were average (the pool seemed dirty to me) and the gym was overrun by unaccompanied children abusing the hi-tech equipment. The downright Ugly: The rooms (we had 2 connecting rooms) were FILTY. Not just a little dirty. We did not switch on our air conditioning unit the entire 3 night stay as there was a layer of dust, food particles and other unknown substances in plain sight on the grille. It made us worry about the rest of the room's cleanliness. Despite 3 phone calls to guest services and 1 talk with the front desk officer, nothing was done about it during our stay. Furthermore, on a separate note, we had an incident at the hotel where our 2 year old son fell off the desk chair and split the front of his head open. When I rushed down to the front desk there was only one staff on duty and, despite seeing my son with blood gushing out of his head, did not reach out to assist us. Instead, I had to interrupt her discussion with a guest and ask where the nearest ER was. She did not know and had to refer to a colleague by phone. Luckily it was not far and my son was stitched up and is fine. All this is certainly NOT indicative of the standards of service afforded at the Sheraton usually. All round it was disappointing stay and I only recommend the hotel because of the location. February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Little attention to detail Check in was fine. When I got to my room I got a nice whiff of tobacco smoke smell, which I'm allergic to. I called the customer service line and was transferred to the front desk, and was put on hold. I was hoping to change rooms before I got unpacked. About 3 minutes later the phone just hung up. I called customer service again, waited about 10 minutes, then just hung up and gave up. About 30 minutes later, a guy showed up and squirted some Fabreeze around the room. The handle in the shower didn't work well, one of the bathrooms on the mezzanie level had no toilet paper. Some of the juices and food trays ran out for the breakfasts of the meetings. I just felt like these were some basic operational details that a high-quality business hotel should get right. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Phenomenal Staff and good exercise room This is a good hotel and I was pleased to discover a REAL exercise room with machines and weights, not simply a few pieces of cardio equipment. But it is the staff that makes the difference! When I checked in, they took the time (never felt rushed) to answer every question, point out every benefit, and went a few extra steps in setting up WiFi and such. Anytime I needed something from housekeeping, it was there quickly. When I needed to depart, the concierge printed out my boarding pass! Solid hotel with great staff! January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good conference facilities I was on the eighth floor and traffic noise was bad. For the hotel itself, the floors could have been cleaner. Staff and food exceeded expectations. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not stay here again. I can not begin to express my disappointment with this stay. The paint was peeling from the walls. The door would not close completely. Air conditioning didn't work. I had to travel over three floors to get ice. This was quite a task since the entire stay at least one third of the elevators were out of service. I definitely expected much better of the Sheraton name. When I shared my complaints with the staff, their response was, "Oh sorry to hear that, have a great day." No attempts to correct or acknowledge the deficiencies. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A major component to my amazing weekend The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating at all hours even in the midst of a MASSIVE Indian wedding party that was happening all weekend. The hallways were well maintained and everything looked spotless. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you Sheraton, I look forward to our many years of friendship. <3 - Dan May 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I understand why this is called the "Sceraton" Not only are the rooms in need of a serious face lift, but I and my coworkers always have issues with room cleanliness. I always find foreign hairs nestled between the sheets and the comforters. Coworkers have found hair, food, and bodily fluid on various stays. My sheets were never changed, though I called guest services and specifically requested it. I know some places are 'going green' and so they only do it if requested, but even that didn't work. They should make available a card to place on your bed for fresh linens. February 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by ALARM! Disappointing. 1st thing I noticed was the hallways were not very clean. Rooms were small and would have preferred queen beds to the double beds. On the last night of our stay at almost 1AM, the emergency alarm went off. It was loud and continued for 15 minutes. We didn't know what to do because the alarm stated it was "investigating the situation". After I called the front desk, all they told me was there was nothing to worry about. No info was given until the alarm stopped ringing. The kids were scared, it ruined our final nights stay and were all very tired and weary the next and final day in Philly. No explanation or compensation offered to us by the hotel. Shouldn't have to share these negative stories about our vacation to friends and family when we returned. July 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Acceptable For Business Traveler My king room was ill equipped for a business traveler. There was no arm chair in which to sit and read, leaving the only option of sitting at a desk or laying in bed. There wasn't even a pin or pad by the phone. Light bunt out by bed. Bedding was shoddy, not even a bed skirt and I could see the bottom of the mattress (a piece of the plastic trim was even laying on the floor below in plain view. I complained to on-site management and was told that the room is 'Up to the Starwood Specs." If that's the case, then the specs need to be revisited. I booked the hotel because of a conference and decided to stay simply because of access to conference and difficulty in switching hotels. Otherwise, I would have checked out immediately upon seeing the room. TOTALLY disappointed. October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff not helpful at all Concierge and check in staff and service is great however, there is an error on my receipt and your accounting staff (Phillip) was not very helpful at all. Our organization travels a lot and because of this experience we will not be utilizing Sheraton Hotels in the future. Our organization also refers alot of candidates from out of state to lodging in our area and we will not be recommending any more clients to Sheraton Hotels. Your organization really needs some professional development on customer services skills. March 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well located Well located near museums. Good service. June 8, 2014
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 28 next>>