Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 336 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Discourteous Front Desk Basic overview: Front Desk was not friendly upon check in, unhelpful in attempting to resolve an issue for a platinum member, and took several rounds of questioning and pressure to seek a resolution that could have been attempted without added pressure.. Detailed Story: Front Desk greeted me by saying if we are checking in there are no rooms available (Time was 1PM) We had requested early check on the SPG site to use the room to get ready for a mid-afternoon wedding but never heard back that it was not possible. The Front Desk said they never received the request and blamed SPG technology and said a room would not be available until 2PM. We asked if anyone had checked out already and if a room could be made available quickly since standard check out time is 12PM and people do check out early. Front Desk then informed us that rooms take 45 minutes to clean and since check out is at noon no rooms are available (keep in mind it is 1PM) at this time. We pressured the front desk to ask if house keeping could quickly make a room available given our need to get ready for a wedding to which they responded that house keeping is currently working on rooms and unable to do so. We applied additional pressure by just asking the front desk to check with housekeeping to see what could be done to speed up the timeline - after calling housekeeping they realized they had a block of rooms that were clean but not in the system and could get us a room in 10-15 minutes. Don't think any of this added pressure was needed for simple accommodations, let alone when there was a mistake on early check in for a platinum member whether it was made centrally or at the hotel. May 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel needs improvement We stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks. First visit room not ready at 4;30, told to come back in half hour,came back in 2 hours, room was not cleaned, had to get another room. Also hotel was filled with kids from baseball and volley ball teams . Running up and down hallways pressing all buttons on elevators, complained at front desk and was told not much could be done. Second stay room was dirty, food on the floor bedding stained. Will not stay here again. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total comfort I was impressed from day one. I let them know my needs each and every day. Everything as awesome and comfortable from day one. Thank you Sheraton! May 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but pricey While this hotel has an outdated design, it has been updated nicely. The beds were comfy and in general the staff was polite. We were in town for a conference at this hotel and the meeting room was nicely set up and everything seemed to run smoothly. While everything with the conference went well, we just felt that the high room rate, the high cost of breakfast and that they charged for internet use were extreme. We would probably stay again if our conference was located there again, but would probably try to find something nearby that has similar features but includes breakfast, internet and other amenities if staying in the area again for other reasons. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed in Thursday night's banquet dinner We were given a choice of meal for our banquet dinner, and I chose "seared chicken breast topped with artichokes, olives, blistered tomatoes in a light sauce of chicken stock, white wine, fresh lime and herbs". Sounded delicious! Imagine my disappointment when I was served a thin, processed chicken breast (which was either baked or microwaved) topped with nothing other than a sauce (I did taste the lime). I realize what I was served was cheaper to prepare, but if you're going to offer something, please serve it. March 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has attractive features and ease in parking I made a reservation for a room on the top floor with a king size bed. Check in time was available at 3 pm. I checked in after 4 pm and was told the room was not ready. When checking in 2nd time the clerk tried to give me a room on the 5th floor. She did finally give me one on the top floor but it had 2 reg. size beds, instead of the king size. There was dust on the desk and table the tv sitting on. The breakfast the next morning was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would possibly give this hotel a 2nd chance. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so Building is obviously old and needs repair. Linens were either stained or dirty. Also, no wifi access is a negative. Employees are nice. January 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by gone down hill heating unit blasted hot air even when set to 63 degrees. Bath tub wouldn't drain and had to take shower in dirty bath water after my husband. i'm both Gold status and have negotiated free internet via my company's negotiated rate, yet had internet charge on bill! Was told I was no longer allowed in club AND have pending charge on my ccd for use of a club I didn't use. FAIL November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite in West Des Moines I love this hotel. What makes it #1 for me is the friendliness, attentiveness, and competency of the staff from the moment I am picked up at the airport, through registration, on-site concierge services, transport to and from my office, to my trip back to the airport. November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond I'm a frequent business traveler who generally makes SPG platinum by June. So I've been used to the hospitality standards of Sheraton / Westin properties. But of note is Mohsen in the lounge who is quite welcoming and makes guests feel like regulars on their second stay. He even sewed the button back onto my shirt cuff, once it was submitted for laundry and fell off in the press machine. Thanks Mo! November 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was nice The room was nice and clean and updated. Even though it was 15 degrees outside, we could not get the room cooled down. We had the thermostat set on 60 degrees and don't think it got much under 70. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend getaway The staff was friendly durng our stay. November 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Drake Parents We are Drake Football parents,so we overnight in Des Moines at least 7-10 times during Football season. We have stayed at the Sheraton 4-5 times in the last year.I Really don't have anything terrible to say about your Hotel. But more importantly I also don't have anything positive to say. I guess it's the little things that have me wanting for more out of our stays. Check in never has gone smoothly. The carpet in the hallway is a disaster. Breakfast is very overpriced. I suppose I expect better quality from a Starwood Hotel. We also stay at other hotels in Des Moines. Their staff at check in is always very nice and check in always goes smoothly. Although the hotel is older it seems that that take pride in what they are doing. Something is just missing from your Hotel??? October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met Expectations Pros--Location, clean, Club Level, easiness of everything, quite Cons--Older lady in Club Level might as well go home. She sat and read the paper the entire time. Older gentleman who worked in the Club Level was awesome!! October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I will pass next time... It's disappointing when you stay a a hotel and have to pay for WiFi access and breakfast. Most hotels, in your price point, offer both as part of your stay. For the most part, I've always liked your lobby; the waterfall is very peaceful. The meeting rooms were comfortable. I will probably pass on staying again as so many other hotels offer amenities which are important to me. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job! We were booked here for business & heard about some bad reviews, but our stay here was great. Nice rooms, clean, quiet & the staff was very responsive. I would stay here again. October 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not So Great I found this hotel to be dated with a distinct damp and musky smell and high priced for what you get. I have stayed in many other hotels that are just as old but have been remodeled so appear much newer for far less. To get a higher rating they would need to bring the room decor into the 21st century and get rid of the smell. Also found many stains on the ceilings, floors and walls of the general hotel area. Overall a poor experience.. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Happy Went to this hotel for a night getaway, was very welcoming at front desk. Room originally was supposed to be one king, was two queens when we got there. However very willing to switch it back with no problems. :) October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really only complaints on service The problems; 1) I phoned with allergies to feathers and did not get replaced when I was out for two hours . . Had to rephone the request in. 2) Said I could check out electronically, but wasn't on the TV service, and then was put on hold to check out by phone . . . Added more time than I had. October 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice the room was very nice and staff friendly. the club room attendant was very personable. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lower your bar I expected more from Sheraton. Musty smell in the hallways, with stained, loose carpet. Only 2 elevators that took FOREVER. We did get a nice workout using the stairs during our 2-day stay :-) Room was okay, except the heater didn't work and maintenance couldn't do anything about it. Only stay on the 3rd floor if you enjoy the roof-top, HVAC view. We've stayed in worse, but expected more from Sheraton. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Achieved our expectations We had stayed there before. We love the height, the openness. Every time I made reservations, the person at the hotel, not the national reservation center, was very concise, pleasant and positive. Check-in was quick and easy. There was plenty of parking (even on weekends when the hotel seems full) and the rooms were large, clean and in repair. We really like this hotel. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ver nice hotl The hotel, rooms and staff are great. My only complaint was the pool. Although indoors the pool was not heated and was very cold so was not really useable. September 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs improvements In this day and age, how could you not offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - especially in your room? This is the reason why when I come back to Des Moines, I will NOT be staying at this location again. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guests Services Had a great stay at the Sheraton West Des Moines. John the Bellman drove us to our dinner reservations, he was kind, professional, and most of all pleasant, and a lot of fun. I wish more Bellman at more hotels were like John. Zach at the Front Desk, was a pleasure to deal with also. It was a great stay, will stay with you folks again when in town. The only thing I would maybe change is that breakfast be included with all rooms. Several other hotels of your caliber in the DSM area offer full hot breakfasts included in the room price for all rooms. All in all though a fantastic stay! JB September 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by AC/Check in The AC didn't work and they are understaffed at the front desk September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Accomodations The room was set up in such a way that made getting ready for the day easy and efficient. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the bathtub (deep and long). I love to soak to relax. September 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Check out nightmare. Hotel was not anything special, price compared to other places that we have stayed was too high plus no complimentary breakfast. Check out was a nightmare took nearly an hour. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bad check-in experience I booked a room on club floor for 8-14. Needed another room and just booked a regular room. Upon check in I asked if the other room could be upgraded and was told they don't upgrade gold members! Got the key for our room on club floor. Oops! Someone in that room! Went back to get another room and wasn't offered any points back for the whole strange mix up. In the a.m. I was told we would get some points back haven't seen them yet. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent place to stay My group was very pleased on this hotel August 19, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:51:45.515-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_336, tr_336
  • loc_en_US, sid_1557, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>