Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2171 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location & value Luxury accomodations right in the middle of everything, walking distance to so many great NYC sites & also any subway stop is steps away. My second stay & would definitely stay here again! August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful location very friendly Staff and helpful !!!!! April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like no other Excellent location and service November 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Nice Room, Just Poor Service Everything was great with the exception of the front desk staff. In particular one person was exceedingly rude and condescending to questions and requests. I'd recommend the hotel, just don't expect much from the front desk. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude staff Exceptionally rude staff. May 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My local favorite let me down. I often stay in this hotel on business. Last week I checked in around midnight and a the front desk attendant stated the hotel would be without hot water until 6:00am the following morning. This was a bit inconvenient, but I waited until 7:00a to try and shower. We still had no hot water. I eventually had to give up and endure the pain of an ice-cold shower so that I could go to work. The hotel staff never acknowledged that they failed to provide hot water at a reasonable time, blaming it on the city. The rest of the week was a normal quality stay. I was just surprised regarding the hotel staff's attitude regarding the pain of having to shower with ice water. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by There are better options I was in New York for five nights for a conference at the Sheraton Times Square so it made sense for me to get my room in the same facility. After five nights of terrible sleep, I will not be returning. To keep things simple, I will just highlight some key issues. Everything not mentioned here was fine. SPG Recognition: I am an SPG Gold member, as I travel quite a bit. I booked my room two months in advance, requesting a high floor and a quiet room. Out of the 50 floors available, I was placed on the 10th floor, directly in front of the ice machine and elevators. I spent five nights hearing intoxicated teenagers get ice and large groups of people get on and off the elevators. The 40 floors above me were entirely booked two months in advance? Obviously no room upgrade was available, but I would at least expect such easy requests to be honored. The check-in was also very unsatisfactory, with one person at the SPG Gold/Platinum desk and multiple at the standard check-in desk. Unfortunately, if you happen to be SPG Gold or Platinum, the standard check-in staff will not assist you - they just keep calling regular guests, while you wait in line for your single assigned staff member to check you in. It defeats the entire purpose of priority check-in. Bedding/Sleep Quality: Typically I do not comment on the bed, as it is very subjective. However, in this case, I will say that this bed had clearly reached the end of its useful life. It caved in towards the middle and was extremely uncomfortable. This alone is enough to ruin a hotel for me. Internet: Internet is included in the price, and I suppose the logic is that if they give it to you for free, you shouldn't complain. The problem is, I would much rather pay for it (or receive it as my SPG gift) and actually have a useful service than receive what they offered for free. It was just enough to open e-mails if I was lucky. Good luck trying to check facebook - the internet simply cannot handle loading pictures. I tried a brand new Sony Vaio laptop, an iPad, a Blackberry Q10 and an iPhone - and all of these devices normally work perfectly. I normally have great experiences with Starwood properties (hence my regular stays there), but this appears to be an exception to the norm. If you need to be in Times Square and must go Starwood, pay the premium and go to the Westin Times Square (as I have done in the past - a truly fantastic property) - or look for something entirely different. August 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel met all my needs, A+ for cusotmer service! I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was clean, updated, great work out area and most importantly the staff was excellent. Our cleaning lady Mrs. Enriqueta Newman was the epitome of GREAT customer service!! She assisted us while we were at the hotel and took care of our requests immediately. The room was clean, it was set up efficiently and the complimentry Starbucks coffee and Earl Grey tea was a PLUS! We liked the location near Radio City Music hall which is right around the corner and Times Square which is a few blocks down the street. Easy walk to subway/train/bus transportation and/or if you prefer a cab there were tons of them. The hotel lobby and bar were quite nice. Room service was quick, approximately 30 minutes to arrive (they met the time provided to us when we ordered) and the food was excellent; we arrived late and ordered a cheesburger, Reuben, salad and Calamari ...it arrived hot not cold!! In addition, I had an opportunity to meet the manager while checking out, she was informative, professional and happily took my commendation for the associate that checked us in. He was very informative and helpful with all of our questions. He informed us of all the hotels amenities as well as recommendations for site seeing. We loved our stay at this hotel and will most definitiely return and/or recommend it to my family or friends! Good job Sheraton staff! February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, poor service We visited NYC for a three day weekend before Christmas. The positives: the room was updated, clean and nice. Housekeeping service was prompt and courteous. The negatives (and what would keep me from staying here again): Check in was a disaster. We arrived at 3pm on a Friday and the line to check in snaked around the lobby with only 3-4 cashiers. We waited 20 minutes, and the line barely moved, so we decided to check our bags and come back later. We were charged $4.00 per bag to check our luggage. Reprehensible! When we returned to check in 2 hours later, we waited 40 minutes. At the same time, there was a private party waiting in a line to be let into the conference room and the line blocked the access to baggage check. There were 4 employees in the baggage check area at the time we retrieved our bags and not one offered to assist us with our bags to our room. Of course, a bell man was nowhere to be found. We had a similar experience at check out. We had a late flight, and I waited 25 minutes to check my bags and leave for the day. Upon returning, same thing. 20 minute wait to retrieve our bags, at $4.00 per bag. While I understand the hotel has a large amount of rooms, the welcome, check in and bag claim situation is unacceptable. More staff and better facilites to service guests could easily address an otherwise disappointing situation. December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate plus I appreciate the new look of the property but find the hotel to be increasingly corporate and impersonal. The lobby is always crowded, noisy and busy (I guess that's good if you're the operator) and finding a place to sit in the bar area is nearly impossible. Squeezing the Link into the same area has made it even more congested so I always have appreciated having access to the 44th floor concierge lounge. Unfortunately, the remodeling of that space has made it far less appealing. That lounge feels cramped and has extremely poor layout for access to food. The loss of the long and more gracious entry leaves a bottleneck at the front door and chaos with even modest crowds. Thomas and Muhammad are the bright spots with their remarkable memory for guests and outstanding customer service. The furniture, though, is awful, especially the two seater tables under which feet don't fit. The rooms are fine...though as a Platinum, I haven't had a suite upgrade in years. I appreciated the welcoming email from a manager, but she had me incorrectly identified as a Gold SPG, not Platinum. So, overall, the property is 'functional', but with the loss of the unique 44th check in option, the degradation of the concierge lounge and the lobby mess, I'm inclined to finally move to another property (likely still Starwood) for my next NYC visit. December 14, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is good With some improvements the hotel can be a great business Hotel it starts to be came a touristic hotel and the general attitude is for one time random visitor. Your hotel as five stars with Loyalty membership is one of few that charges for Wifi (your staff gave me a relief but it is ad hoc. Another big frustration was with the packages outsourcing company LL level that when I tell friends that for 5 days Sheraton is my address but no one called my room that I will come down, but gave it to the Outsourcing company that after-few hours asked me 20 $ for keeping value of less than 20$ the hotel shift manager understood me and gave me a discount to keep me happy but this is not a way to bypass the commitment to call the client first anf if he is not responding to tell that charges will be implied. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor check in experience I've never had such a poor check in experience. As a Platinum member I've had easy experiences getting checked in quickly and with a high level of service. When I arrived at the hotel on Saturday at 8pm, the lobby was filled with guests waiting to check in. There were no front desk agents at the SPG preferred check in desk for at least 5 minutes. There were only a few agents working the regular check in line. And the service was extremely slow. There weren't any managers walking around the lobby to apologize to the guests for the delay or offer them water while they wait. Nothing. People had to ask the managers walking around what is going on and if they could get more front desk agents to help. When we finally got to the counter we were told that our room wasn't ready. At 8pm this is not acceptable. The good part was that they offered us a complimentary dinner to compensate for the room not being ready. This was a great perk. I went back to check in after a good meal at the burger bar, but then found out I had not been upgraded to a bigger room (every other Starwood hotel has upgraded me because of my Platinum status). It was probably because the hotel was so packed, but I just didn't feel like a VIP at that point. The room itself was tiny, and the bathroom smelled like someone had just used it. The shower was dripping all night. I won't be coming here again. August 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only good if you are paying a cheap rate This is a value hotel in NYC for the Starwood brand so if you don't get a rate cheap rate you will be very disappointed most likely I've stayed here many times when I needed a cheap alternative and most other hotels were too pricey. The lobby is always packed and not always the best element hanging around there i.e. (been propositioned many times). The renovated rooms are ok the lobby is always packed with tours who get good group rates - a bit of a zoo. November 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent hotel, good location, poorly managed We stayed one night. The hotel is in a great location, and the prices are decent. The buffet breakfast was good, too, albeit a but expensive; if you have the option, get the buffet included with your room. The room was small but adequate, nicely decorated, and the view was decent from the 24th floor. Poor bathroom lighting except in the shower itself. Now for the bad: The staff was completely overwhelmed on both days. Checking in tool almost 45 minutes, most of which was spent waiting in line. Checking out, we opted for the express check-out, then had to wait over 45 minutes for the garage to bring our car down. The parking rate is insane, and for the money I expected my car to be available much faster. The doors do a horrible job insulating sound; we were awoken every time anyone walked down the hall (at one point, it sounded like there was a party in the hall) or got ice. Granted, some of the noise may have been luck-of-the-draw, and we just were "lucky" enough to get a bad floor/room, but better doors would really help. Also, as an SPG member, I was disappointed by the fact that my membership wasn't recognized, nor did it get me any advantages. Not sure I see the point to all the SPG points I've accumulated, or the loyalty I've shown to the chain over the years. I'd still consider staying at the hotel again, but my expectations certainly won't be as high next time. March 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by great hotel bust dont forget somethingo ug Went to this hotel with my daughter to see the sights of new York. Great location and enjoyed the stay. the only negative thing I can say is don't forget something at the hotel I realized once I got home I left my camera charger pulled into the outlet in my hotel room called to inform them of it. I had to call serveral times to find out if they found it. To this date I have not heard from the hotel I had to replace the charger which was 79 for the battery and then another 80 for the charger. Very expensive. It would have been cheaper to buy a new camera but it was my daughter's very disappointed in the customer service I receieved or lack there of. September 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No SPG Recognition At This Hotel For my very first business trip to New York City, I I decided to choose this property based on my Platinum SPG status and the benefits that accompany that status. This was a big mistake. I received minimal to no recognition at this property, being told there were "no upgrades available". I decided to "test" this by later looking for a new booking (after I had checked in) and discovered there were numerous upgrade rooms available for the night I was staying. For my next business trip to New York City, I will definitely avoid this property. If you are a SPG member with Platinum status, don't expect to get any benefits from staying at this property. January 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Time Square First Time in New York so my expectations were big.... I was disappointed. Our room was nice you could clearly see it had been re-done with new carpet, furniture, drapes etc. but the surroundings were old, very small... and not worth the extremely high price we paid nearly 900.00 for 2/night stay. We also stood in line to check in/out for over 1 hour. People every where, crowded, no assistance obtaning cab out front which should be the norm in a place like this. I will never return to this Hotel.. I recommend looking around. The bed was beautiful but very very hard and uncomfortable..... I felt sick after paying my bill................. October 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location In 2010 and 2011, I stayed at the Sheraton NY Hotel & Towers at least 30 nights. The hotel's location is its greatest asset. It's in the heart of the city with easy access to everything. As a platinum member, I can't remember a time when I wasn't upgraded. Throughout my stays, some rooms were better than others - especially if I happened to get a room that hadn't been redone. The newly renovated rooms were much better than those that hadn't been renovated. The rooms are typical NY rooms - small - but you can't really expect anything else in that location. The Sheraton Club was always welcoming and I made great use of it. One drawback to the hotel is that it caters to large groups - and often times that meant young children on field trips - that can be annoying for a business traveler - but the benefits outweighed the annoyance, usually. The breakfasts are great - but overpriced - nothing new for a NY hotel. And the lobby Starbucks is convenient. Within walking distance of the hotel are hundreds of restaurants to choose from - so you aren't stuck in the hotel for food choices. The staff was always helpful and friendly - and if there ever was a problem, they were able to resolve it immediately. This hotel is a good option for NYC if you're on a business travel budget. The rates usually work for business travel and offer the standard SPG amenities you expect! I would return next time I'm in NY. April 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay! The reviews on the hotel really scared me but my I really enjoyed my stay!! August 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Very close to Time Square and Rockefeller Center. Staff was kind and friendly. Check in for SPG guests was not so good. It was faster to go in the regular guest line. One of our two rooms was ready the second we were told would not be ready until 7 pm. Thought that was odd seeing that are current room was next door to it and housekeeping was working on it at 1 pm when we checked in. Overall great time. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms are nice, lobby is insane Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was helpful, good location, excellent gym, but if you are looking for a hotel that feels welcoming and relaxing when you walk in, don't say here. The lobby is crawling with ~100 tourists and children running around barefoot and screaming at all hours of the night. It feels stressful to enter. Like walking onto a playground during recess. Thankfully, my room and hallway were not like this or else I would not recommend this hotel. However, I was on the top floor due to my SPG status, so it is possible that lower floors were not as quiet. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Hotel is in a great location. Very clean, great staff August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service We were checking in with a large group on Saturday and the check in was quick and efficient. We needed to add one more room and Mr. Fish was extremely helpful and accommodating. He needs a raise! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful service a wonderful reservationist Alex Olpindo, so considerate of all your needs and polite and respectful to your needs. Covered all upon check in. Pleasant man..... August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon luxury turned into disaster I booked the Sheraton hotel for a four night stay for our honeymoon from the 28th April to 2nd May. After a long flight from the UK we arrived to the hotel. Everything was perfect. We were checked into the hotel by a very friendly receptionist called Nicole who was very efficient. To our amazement she very kindly upgraded us to a superior room as we were on our honeymoon. She also told us that she would include complimentary breakfast for the whole stay which we were absolutely delighted with as with the expense of a wedding and a honeymoon to pay for we could not have afforded the $60 a day for breakfast for the two of us. Our room was great and cleaned every day. We went for breakfast every day and signed every day. On every receipt it stated complimentary and we double checked with staff. On check out our bill was delivered to our room and stated a $0 charge. So on our return to the UK two weeks later we received a credit card bill from the Sheraton hotel charged for breakfast. This was a huge shock as we had been informed this was complimentary. This is not a small amount of money and something that we would not have had if we believed it was then going to be charged anyway. We certainly would not have given the receptionist a large tip for being so kind, as we now feel that this has also been unfairly taken from us. We have contacted the hotel twice by e mail over the past two weeks and still had no response. And am hoping that someone will get back to me as this has not been a good start to our married life. May 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meets expectations for location but... I travel with SPG-branded hotels in Asia for work relatively frequently. The hotel meets expectations with regards to location in manhattan. Unfortunately, noise pollution; failure to clearly disclose fees; and questionable service trade-offs puts a permanent blemish on the experience. We stayed in a corner room facing seventh avenue and could clearly hear not only the hallway but also conversation from the next room. Investment in sound dampening would have been much appreciated. If its raining - I am used to the hotel providing umbrellas. This hotel instead asked me to purchase one from a street vendor for $5. Regarding fees, we were given toothbrushes / toothpaste at check-in when we asked the front desk. No one mentioned that the hotel charged $4+ until they showed up as an obscure line item on the final bill. Finally, the hotel does not provide a complimentary baggage check service to guests who remain in the area after noon- checkout. Management refer people to a $3.75-a-bag vendor service in the same hotel. Why the Sheraton would choose to add fees for basic service items on a $300+ USD per night hotel room is not clear to me. I do think that had a brochure of fees been available at check-in, it would be easier to swallow. Unfortunately they do not. As such, I can only take the low-road and infer the hotel is trying to maximize profit instead of loyalty from its customers. As such, I can not recommend this hotel to other guests looking to stay in the times square area without the above warnings. December 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb Hospitality I am writing this review to share the highlights and lowlights and more specifically commend an employee who went far and above anyone that I've encountered in my many, many years of traveling to Starwood properties. I brought my daughter to the Sheraton New York at Times Square to celebrate a very important milestone. We had several delays in our long travel day and arrived exhausted. I had previously requested the Suite Night award but unfortunately it was not available. Upon check-in, I was notified that an upgrade view room would be available in about 1-2 hours. Sounded good and we went to dinner. On our return we were checked in and given the keys to what turned out to be an already occupied room. I took our luggage and headed to the club room on the 44th floor. That is where we met Jorge, the on-duty VIP supervisor who personally saw to it that our trip was to be one of the best ever. He greeted us, grabbed our luggage, procured us a refreshment and set about getting us a new room assignment. For the next five days we felt completely pampered as well as a valued Starwood member. Each morning, Jorge was there to greet us in the Club room and insisted on getting my daughter her hot water and lemon himself as well as recommend restaurants, sights, etc. He arranged for a special celebratory gesture to be delivered to our room the evening of her event accompanied with a congratulatory card signed by the staff. This goes to show how just one employee can truly make a difference and we cannot thank him enough for his kindness and hospitality. We are already looking forward to our next trip to the Sheraton New York! On the negative side, the only area lacking at this particular hotel is the reception staff. I have been to this hotel about 10 times and not once have I felt welcomed. No front desk associate that I have come in contact with has ever greeted me, acknowledged brand loyalty or returning guest, acted happy, or basically cared about their position as the initial point-of-contact employee. As a unit, they seem generally unhappy that you are there to check-in/ask questions/etc. and treat you as such. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great place The room was very light while trying to sleep,as we could not get the electric blinds to come down. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst hotel stays I have ever had From the very beginning it was a bad experience, the front desk staff, arrogant, poorly trained with comments from the Front Desk Supervisor stating "it doesn't matter whether you are gold or platinum there are no rooms (even though we were confirmed to have rooms and they were prepaid in the Club Level). The rooms on the executive level are basic, small and no frills. Although advertised to have water bottles, the entire 3 day stay no waters were to be seen. The rooms on the executive floors were small and certainly not worth the $500+ per day that they charge. The club lounge was always crowded, the hotel operator, concierge or guest services operator had long waits to answer and one would eventully hang up because of the long wait. No one ever apologized for anything that went wrong. By the way the pool and spa are in the Manhattan Hotel across the street, so if you work out in their fitness center (it was nice) you have to get dressed and go across the street if you want to swim or take in a sauna after your work out. went to look at it and it was dirty and old. It was like the staff was doing the guest a favor for staying there and no one ever said "How may I help you". This hotel does not deserve to be a member of the SPG family. As a frequent traveler and a soon to be Platinum member of SPG, the company should be embarrased to have this hotel as part of its offering of properties. The ENTIRE staff needs to be trained on customer service and hospitality services. This was 2 stays in one, first and last, at this hotel December 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Probems w/ Elevators Overall, I am very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Time Square. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and I consistently felt like they went above and beyond to ensure all of our needs were met. Now, the experience that was NOT above and beyond was the use of the elevators. Since we were on the 39th floor, we had no choice but to use the elevators. Every morning, there was a 5-10 minute wait to get an elevator however, this is somewhat expected during such a busy season in a multi-floored hotel. However, on our last day, a group of us from the floor waited over 20 minutes for an elevator until we realized there had to be an issue. After waiting for someone from the hotel to meet us to explain how much longer we should anticipate waiting, we were told one of the elevators was down which was causing a back-up in the remaining elevators. Since we had already scheduled a tour for that morning, we had no choice but to walk down 39 floors to get to the lobby in order to make our tour and not lose out on the $200+ we spent to reserve our spots. This was ridiculous! Thank god we are young and health is on our side BUT....as guests, contingency plans should be in place should the use of an elevator be down. There were a lot of very upset people who were unable to walk down 39 floors and rather than adding fuel to the already brewing fire, we decided to take the only alternative available to us, the stairs. Like I mentioned previously, we had an otherwise fantastic experience but this incident will make me reluctant to stay at this hotel in the future. December 9, 2013
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 ... 74 next>>