Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 1972 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meets expectations for location but... I travel with SPG-branded hotels in Asia for work relatively frequently. The hotel meets expectations with regards to location in manhattan. Unfortunately, noise pollution; failure to clearly disclose fees; and questionable service trade-offs puts a permanent blemish on the experience. We stayed in a corner room facing seventh avenue and could clearly hear not only the hallway but also conversation from the next room. Investment in sound dampening would have been much appreciated. If its raining - I am used to the hotel providing umbrellas. This hotel instead asked me to purchase one from a street vendor for $5. Regarding fees, we were given toothbrushes / toothpaste at check-in when we asked the front desk. No one mentioned that the hotel charged $4+ until they showed up as an obscure line item on the final bill. Finally, the hotel does not provide a complimentary baggage check service to guests who remain in the area after noon- checkout. Management refer people to a $3.75-a-bag vendor service in the same hotel. Why the Sheraton would choose to add fees for basic service items on a $300+ USD per night hotel room is not clear to me. I do think that had a brochure of fees been available at check-in, it would be easier to swallow. Unfortunately they do not. As such, I can only take the low-road and infer the hotel is trying to maximize profit instead of loyalty from its customers. As such, I can not recommend this hotel to other guests looking to stay in the times square area without the above warnings. December 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst hotel stays I have ever had From the very beginning it was a bad experience, the front desk staff, arrogant, poorly trained with comments from the Front Desk Supervisor stating "it doesn't matter whether you are gold or platinum there are no rooms (even though we were confirmed to have rooms and they were prepaid in the Club Level). The rooms on the executive level are basic, small and no frills. Although advertised to have water bottles, the entire 3 day stay no waters were to be seen. The rooms on the executive floors were small and certainly not worth the $500+ per day that they charge. The club lounge was always crowded, the hotel operator, concierge or guest services operator had long waits to answer and one would eventully hang up because of the long wait. No one ever apologized for anything that went wrong. By the way the pool and spa are in the Manhattan Hotel across the street, so if you work out in their fitness center (it was nice) you have to get dressed and go across the street if you want to swim or take in a sauna after your work out. went to look at it and it was dirty and old. It was like the staff was doing the guest a favor for staying there and no one ever said "How may I help you". This hotel does not deserve to be a member of the SPG family. As a frequent traveler and a soon to be Platinum member of SPG, the company should be embarrased to have this hotel as part of its offering of properties. The ENTIRE staff needs to be trained on customer service and hospitality services. This was 2 stays in one, first and last, at this hotel December 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location This hotel is in a great location! The staff is friendly and very responsive. The room we had was very clean and larger than we expected. We enjoyed the Starbuck's in the morning and the bar in the afternoon:). Good use of space. Our granddaughter has already asked for a return visit to the city- including staying at this very hotel. We will recommend this hotel to others May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by For the location and money I expected more I have to say the biggest drawback was the bathroom. The staff did not even clean the toilet (excrement) from the previous visitor, and then that lovely toilet wouldn't STOP flushing! You have to jiggle the handle after every flush or you have a constant interval of flushes. Aside from that the space is very cramped, which probably wouldn't be so bad if they didn't cram it with furniture that you have to weave around. In order to hold open the door for the bellman, he can't get IN past you with the luggage. In all it is just below standard from what I expect from SPG. I thought the storm would be my biggest complaint.... February 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great installations, TERRIBLE experience My stay here would have been perfect if not for the last night of our stay. The next door neighbors where a couple having a terrible fight. At least one of them was VERY drunk and kept shouting from 1am to 5am. They cursed terrible words and were SO violent on there language that I was scared even if knowing they was a wall separating us. I had my 7 month old baby with me and I was worried they were going to wake him up and that he would be exposed to this circus. I couldn't even think of sleeping and called costumer service twice, The first time I explained the situation and they said they would do something about it. Around 15 minutes after my call someone did come to their room, it was roomservice BRINGING them a bottle of wine!!!! They were already drunk and this only made things worse. I called again and said that they were still shouting and screaming, cursing and offending me, not to say interrupting 4 hours of my sleep. Nothing was done and eventually these people feel asleep. Thank God I had placed the crib in the furthest part of the room and baby did not wake up to these shouting scene. The next morning I checked out and communicated how upset I was. They said they would compensate me with points equivalent to a free night stay. Nothing could undo the terrible time I had during these hours in the morning, but at least knowing it would be a free stay gave me peace of mind. I never got these promised points and have the worst opinion of this sheraton's costumer service. Had THE WORST night ever, it was what you could expect of a night in a bad halfway house. May 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff, recently renovated Exceptional check in staff, very friendly and willing to converse on all things to make the process flow with ease after a long travel day. Provided tips of things to do in the city, restaurants, etc. I can't remember her name but if there's someway to track back our reservation, she deserves a promotion. The hotel was a bit further from Times Square then expecting as we had to walk with all our bags which makes the distance even longer, right by CBS and Radiocity, Central Park only a few blocks away. The hotel is large, unfortunately the walls are thin and both nights had people partying and didn't get much sleep. That's not the hotels fault tho. Overall a great stay, just wish it was warmer! March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed in this hotel twice within the week of March 29-April 5 (there's a gap in between because we did a side trip to Washington DC). I've stayed in several other Sheraton's before in other major cities and I could safely say that this is the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed in. The doormen were not welcoming and courteous, there was a long line-up to check-in (front office was under staffed), guest services on the phone was rude, Francois in ticketing was likewise rude and accusatory (more on this later in my review), the shower curtain in both rooms smelled like mildew, and there was limited space in the lobby for group check-ins. I mentioned Francois because when we booked a shuttle for the Woodbury Commons he asked me how many were accompanying me on my trip. I replied that we were three. Later in the day I realized that my son shouldn't have been charged as full rate since he was below 12. I ask him about it right befiore our shuttle leaves and he says, "well, you didn't tell me!" I responded by saying that all you asked was how many was accompanying me in my party? He didn't ask me how many adults and how many children. He then proceeds by saying to talk to a manager when we get back. To me that is poor customer service. You should never blame the customer and you should go out of your way to remedy the situation. In this regard, I wiould like to commend Nancy who helped process my credit. I would say that she's the exception to the rule. Also exemplary are the staff at the Hudson Market as well as it's food. Anyway, please be warned that this hotel falls below the usual high Sheraton standards. April 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel Not sure why there are so many bad reviews. Fantastic hotel in a great location! The little cafe across from the hotel was great for breakfast, blocks away from many hotspots, and was central to most places which makes it worth it if you plan on walking everywhere. Really close to the subway too which are much cheaper than cabs. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. Room was ready on time, very clean, and spacious (surprising!). Front desk had maps and other brochures for shows and attractions. Overall wonderful hotel and not too crowded. Very short waiting time to check-in and check-out was a breeze. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hectic Lobby, Peaceful Rooms This large hotel is understandably busy in its public spaces -and the open-to-lobby coffee shop is less than restful. Staff, especially in the Hudson Market are excellent, as is the quality of the hotel food, both in restaurants and through room service. The location is very convenient -a few blocks to Broadway, Fifth Avenue, Times Square, Lincoln Centre, Central Park etc. Not cheap, with hefty, apparently mandatory, tips added to all bills, but hard to begrudge the excellent staff. The room on the SPG floor was fine, with excellent TV, well-stocked mini-bar and a very comfortable bed. Very aware and plentiful staff to ensure safety. November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad, good location I normally shy away from Sheraton properties but the pre-paid rate was really good and I needed another property to get credit for two stays. I booked the room at the Sheraton Times Sq. The location was great. The room on the other hand was small and had little room to walk around. The bed was not comfortable and my back is sore now from sleeping on that hard bed. The bathroom sink didn't drain well and there was very little water pressure in the shower. The walls between the rooms are thin and I could hear the conversation of the folks in the next room even with my TV on. I went to the club on the evening of my arrival. I don't drink so I don't care that they charge for alcohol. I had a diet coke which was perfect. The offerings of food were sub-par. Three types of raw vegetables and cheese and crackers. Not my kind of food for a club... I stopped up for breakfast on Memorial Day and it was completely cleaned up and over by 10am. Seriously, over by 10am on a holiday??? The only upgrade was to a newly renovated room. It was just okay. Seriously, if you have Platinum members in your property and you cannot offer an upgrade, send something up to the room... cookies and a soda goes a long way in keeping me happy. The real kicker was when I went to check out, I wanted to leave my bag with the bell desk. They said they don't take bags and that I would need to go to the bag check room in the back of the lobby. When I went to check my bag the guy wanted money for the storage. Never before have I EVER run into this. He said it would be free if I was checking in, but as I was checking out I had to pay. Forget that. I would have complained but the check-out line was so long that I decided not to wait and express checked out. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by July-August 2012 - Olympics room staff was great. Guest Service Mgrs were not. the hotel's television system is way below average. multiple channels in shown as overblown SD instead of HD including NBC channels which is significant because (A) hundreds of people working the Games in NY for NBC were staying at the hotel and (B) when I called Guest Services early into my stay I was told by both Marisal (7/28) and Joe (8/1) that someone from Engineering would be getting back to me but no one did until I called again on 8/4. and I called Joe because Marisal never called back thoguh she said she would. The channel guides are also off with some channels mislabelled. August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lower your expectations. Bare basics. But OK. First time at Sheraton New York. Overall, if you just need a place to sleep this hotel is OK. Don't expect much else. Usually Sheratons in big cities are amazing. This one was all about volume. I guess someone forgot to tell them it's the holiday season and they need to prepare for it. Reception desk was understaffed. People waiting in lines to check in for 15 minutes was ridiculous. Check out was about 20 people deep. Just drop your card and skip the line at checkout. Regular water... 6 dollars? The next day they charged me 10 bucks for holding my bags for three hours because it's only free when you check in and your room is not ready, and apparently they forget to tell you that the check room is not part of Sheraton. Rip off all the way. First time I ever had to pay for bag check at a hotel I'm staying at. The worst part of it all was the disorganization. Why wasn't the cleaning staff informed that we were checking out late ... and why would they storm into a room after one knock at 9 am in the morning! What hotel cleans rooms at 9 am with guests still in it? Why not start with rooms that already checked out? And forget about security. Anyone can get into the hotel and freely roam around on all the floors. Lock your doors! The room however was very nice. Small (NYC standard) but nice. Sheets had some weird stains on them but coming back from the city at 2 am we just did not care too much about it. Higher floors in NYC give you a much needed break from traffic noise. If you're a light sleeper it's worth it to wait for a room on a high floor. I'm disappointed though that as a GOLD SPG member I was not given a room with a better view, or at least on the SPG Preferred Guest floors, even more so that I booked the room 3 weeks in advance. December 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great VIP Hosts Had the privilege of being helped by SHeraton's VIP managers during this visit to NYC. I wish to personally thank Anne Mari, Brittany and George who assist of different days in the Concierge Lounge. I was with the hotel for over a week this stay and found their help extraordinarily useful in terms of making sure I was in a comfortable room and when I had guests join me they were able to pre-block room nearby. Exactly what I needed while studying for business exam's in the City. I cannot wait to return in July with my wife and family for a long weekend and hope to be in touch with this excellent team of managers. I must add that on more than one occasion while in the Starwood Lounge I saw them go above and beyond in providing excellent customer service. This could range from helping a distressed person with room issues, to helping a person get comfortably seated in the lounge when it was full, to looking up reservation details, to assisting with a multitude of issues that travelers encounter. They were invaluable aspects of my experience at the Sheraton Time Square. Thank you to all 3 of them - Brittany, George, Annemarie. Sincerely, Fred Michel Starwood #; 53612676 May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel For Starwood Platinums, But Would Not Recommend For Anyone With Less Status This was our second stay at this this hotel since it was remodeled. It was our first stay as Platinums. Once they realized we were Platinums (we had to tell them…their computer said we were still Golds and welcoming fruit/beverage gift delivered to us on second night addressed us as Golds), they treated us great; the room was great and they responded to all our little problems (shower power and mini-bar) quite well. This is all in sharp contrast to our experience at this same hotel as Starwood Gold’s last summer. The lounge (not available to Gold’s last summer, except for an additional charge) was nicely remodeled, but much smaller than it used to be. Also the food in the lounge was considerably more meager than I remember from the pre-remodeling facilities a few years ago (no berries, melons, meats, eggs (except hard boiled) and no Danish or donuts at breakfast). This bothered me at first, but then the nice selection of bagels (with bulk cream cheese instead of little packets….although they would bring these if you asked)& muffins, great hot oatmeal ( with nuts ,honey, brown sugar and dried fruit available as toppings), lots of yogurt choices(flavored & plain, sweetened & unsweetened, bulk and in individual containers…but no full fat flavored yogurts)and the availability of great choice of coffee and other beverages made me change my mind and view this as potentially more healthy. All staff were friendly, helpful and provided accurate information. Soundproofing was so good that, if I did not see newspapers outside doors of other rooms near us, I would have thought that we were only ones on the floor. Internet was excellent and free for Platinums, but annoyingly you had register each day for each device. Elevator service was fine (particularly for a 50 story building!), and of course location is great. New key system using chips instead of magnetic strips (and just waving at lock) was what all hotels should have. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior rooms and service! As a first time visitor to New York, I was met with so much kindness by people working at the Sheraton! Everyone was welcoming and helpful to me! The room was quiet and clean, and I will definitely be staying there again! Thanks so much for the hospitality! May 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor customer response I have stayed at this hotel in 2012 and 2013, each time for over a week. It was a good location. I found everything else average except for the concierge service which was of little help so I quit using it. This year I went to make my reservation for ten nights and they wanted payment for the full ten nights up front and non refundable if I wanted a decent rate. I emailed the hotel and asked if it would be possible to make the reservation at the rate quoted with a one night non refundable deposit. This seemed to be the policy of other hotels in the area. I was a past client and it was not in prime time. I did not even get a reply email. This is not very good customer service. I have since reserved at a brand new hotel in the same area, with free in room wifi for a better rate and the one night deposit policy. April 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just one problem I opted for the concierge floor on my recent visit, the first in almost a year, and wanted to know my displeasure with an otherwise excellent concierge facility. Up until this year the breakfast had a remarkable fresh fruit array but this year it was gone, replaced by little cups of yogurt. Staff told me the change had been made to cut costs, but in doing so, the hotel also brought down the level of breakfast amenities dramatically, to more on the level of a roadside motel breakfast which has little to recommend it. I would urge the Sheraton to restore the breakfast to what it was last year and in previous years, and look for ways to make it even better. May 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Recent club lounge changes for the worse I have stayed many times at this hotel as a platinum member. At my last stay, the Club Lounge made changes which were very disappointing in an effort to reduce cost. First, the Lounge used to have hot appetizers, cookies and sweets. Now those are gone and there is only a few cheeses, crackers and vegetable sticks which were there previously. Second the breakfast has been scaled back. There used to be lots of fresh berries and pastries that were available in the morning. These have also been scaled back. Overall very disappointed in this change. There was no notice of this change given....I stay at this hotel ever 2 to 3 weeks. August 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by As a returning guest, the hotel has failed to meet expectations I am terribly disappointed with my current stay at the hotel and utterly distraught on the hotel's service. The first night was absolutely horrifying as we were not able to have our sleep the entire night.I have requested as well for extra pillows on my reservation. I received an email that the room is ready for our arrival but instead, my simple request for pillows has not been granted. I had to ask it form housekeeping which gave us the pillows after more than an hour of waiting and it was already past midnight by then. We were initially assigned to a room close to the elevator at 2806. We heard a lot of banging of doors, noise from outside the room and the jackhammering from somewhere. In effect, no sleep for us for the entire night. We asked for a change of room. The front desk was helpful and referred us to a manager that tried to fix the situation. Apparently, they had no clue who is the guest and kept on calling me with another name which makes me feel unwelcome to the hotel. It seems that the hotel is not keen on personal approach to the guests. I even received numerous excuses when a simple apology can suffice to loosen the tension. When we were supposed to move the room, it seems that there was no available bell man to assist us so we had to rush and move to the new room which added to my roommate's anxiety that caused his anxiety attack at noon which even needed some emergency medical services. I actually thought that being a starwood preferred guest will make a difference in treatment and service but apparently such has no bearing. This is not the first time i have stayed to a Starwood Hotel Chain and it appears that this is the worst experience ever. I apologize that our need for a good sleep apparently is not as significant as a better view that has been kept on reiterated to us. I apologize, as well, that maybe it is best to reconsider this Sheraton for a return stay. Its reputation does not meet consistency and does not meet expectations. We hope that next time, situation like this will not happen to other guests with that appropriate and necessary actions will be made. November 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Needs Improvement Overall this hotel needs to improve especially in the area of customer service. Being that it it a very busy hotel very little time is spent to "Take Care of the Customer" My hotel hair dryer was broken it took 4 phone calls to get a replacement. The ceiling stucco in the restroom was old and crumbling from ceiling. There was one employee that was outstanding her name was JOY. She has outstanding customer service. Joy is an outstanding employee and great with customers. Even the Manager on duty was rude and unresponsive to my concerns. I still have an unresolved issue with my sons hotel bill . (which was on my credit card) This hotel has lots of potencial April 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My stay The hotel was very clean and organiged, when I heard I had free wi fi in the lobby, by typying my name and room number, it did not work the entire time i was there, the staff tried everything, i was very unhappy about that, terrible....they tried to remedy it , for some reason they blamed it on the reservation, but did no want to cancel and redo cuz a ddeposit would encure. i feel a discount for future stay is in order, or a free room good for one year, this was very hard to talk to my small kids. April 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by NY Times Sheraton There is one side of the hotel that does not seem to be as updated (lower 20 floors). The reception staff is very busy - and didn't give eye contact or smile. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great Both my wife and I have enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staf were great, friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. close to all needed and desired activities. Its a recommended hotel. May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Sheraton Welcome What made this a truly outstanding hotel experience for us was the wonderful and sincere welcome we received from Molly as we checked in. While we chatted and she explained the hotel amenities and enrolled us in the SPG program, Molly learned that we were in the city celebrating our 50th anniversary, and sent a lovely card and welcome gift to our room. I have already recommended this hotel to several friends based on Molly's hospitality and thoughtfulness. The NYC Sheraton is lucky to have her on its staff! Our room was spacious and spotless, with a spectacular bird's-eye view, and it was great to be so close to TImes Square. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my trip I appreciated the security--not intrusive but present May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NYC stay for 12k points Good use of points, room was small however. May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Terrible Room Experience! We were quite upset during our stay when one evening we lost total electricity to half of our room. We placed a call to guest services/housekeeping to report the incident and waited over one hour (without lights). When we placed a follow-up call, the incident was treated as if it had not been reported previously!!!! The next day, we returned to our hotel room to find a flooded bathroom with soaked towels on the floor. No note was left about the leak or incident causing the excessive water on the floor nor an apology for the inconvenience. When one pays top dollar, one expects not to have to deal with incidents like these. We felt totally disregarded as guests!! September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall it was fine However the bag storage was not acceptable. The line was almost out the door to store bags. It was slow and I almost missed an appointment. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We stayed on a club level floor in which the room was large, clean and impecably decorated. I was a bit nervous after reading other reviews but the hotel far exceded what I had expected. We were there during a warm holiday weekend and the entire city was packed but they hotel had us checked us quickly and were quicj to answer any questions we had. We had an issue with the room next to us, which they immedately looked into, although not resolved to my liking we realize only so much can be done with inconsiderate loud people. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent Traveler NYC rooms are traditionally small but the total renovation at this property has mazimized the usable space. Great renovation job. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and its nice to see the same faces time after time. I only visit the hotel about 4 times a year so I am delighted that I am remembered. December 26, 2011
<<prev 24 25 26 27 28 ... 67 next>>