The Park Lane Hotel, Londres

  • Piccadilly
  • Londres,
  • Inglaterra
  • W1J 7BX
  • Reino Unido
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Nota: En este hotel, los huéspedes de hasta 12 años de edad se consideran niños. Por favor, adecue la cantidad de adultos y niños según sea necesario.
Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política del familiar

Los niños de 12 años o menores pueden utilizar las camas existentes en la habitación de cortesía acompañados por un adulto. Podrín cargarse cargos adicionales por camas plegables, camas plegables para niños y cunas.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben ser de 18 años de edad o mayores y contar con una identificación con fotografía para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 662 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by more than what I expected I read some reviews that were not so good but my experience was very satisfactory. I emailed the manager myself and told him I have asthma and what we needed and they gave us an upgraded room for SPG gold member that was beyond what I expected. Very nice, big, clean and have a sofa too. Thanks Kieran for making sure we got the room we needed. All the staff were friendly and met all our needs. The location is excellent. I will for sure use this hotel again if I return to London. June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Puts SPG to disgrace As an SPG member I have never been so disappointed with a hotel. The staffs customer service was below average, rude and did not care about the customer or being an SPG member. They had no knowledge of events in London at the time. The food was average and so was the wait staff. The staff in Citrus were rude and took forever to acknowledge customers. It was like they had to finish there duties first before serving a customer. The reception staff were arrogant excepts one gentlemen. Embarrassing that I had a friend who works in tourism checking out the hotel to and would not recommend this for Famils either. The name Park Lane should be removed to Budget Lane. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is fine overall hotel is beautiful - had trouble with the internet connection and called to voice - they just mentioned it should be fine; had no air - they had repair come up both during entire stay room was very hot and uncomfortable. No recognition at all of being SPG. I love this hotel and would stay again. i have stayed before with no issues July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdated The hotel rooms and facilities are very much outdated. This hotel needs renovation especially the bathrooms. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Desperately needs a fairy godmother! The hotel is located in one of London's most exclusive neighbourhoods, right opposite Green Park and, from the outside, the property looks promising, with an elegant art deco facade.... sadly, that's where the compliments must end as the inside is a completely different story. Over three separate stays, I was given rooms with tainted carpets, soiled curtains and, most unpleasant of all, a shower head that needed to be held with one hand... took me down memory lane to when I was showering in the rural Philippines. Corridors also transmit an uneasy feeling, almost as if on board the Titanic's poorer brother. I am sorry to say this hotel should either be completely refurbished or be given serious reconsideration as part of the Starwood portfolio. August 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Decline in quality I was at the Sheraton Park Lane last week and cannot believe how horrible this hotel has become. I first visited in 2005 and was then 1) recognized as an SPG member, 2) always upgraded, and 3) generally made to feel like I was a welcomed guest. Fast forward to 2011. The staff does not care that you may be a long time Starwood member. Reservations for a specific room? Does not matter....you will be given a room arbitrarily based on the discretion of Eastern European who is manning reception. I think I was literally given the worst room in the hotel. The next morning, I was called at 8:00am by a manager who saw the error. I was upgraded....to an almost identical room. Naturally, I laughed when they showed it to me. I moved my bags anyway. The following day, they upgraded me to the sort of room that I remembered and requested. So...in a four night stay, I slept in three separate rooms. I also ordered room service one night. Because I did not order desert and my meal in the same call, they charged me two cover charges. Had it been one call, then no extra charge. Finally, they charge extortionate amounts for WiFi use. I had to convince the reception team (same team who checked me in the first place) that it does not make sense to charge me for 7 days of wifi when I was only in the hotel for four days. If you are accustomed to a level of recognition and service from a Starwood property...look elsewhere. This is not a property that is running well, there are clearly problems, and you should stay elsewhere. I stay with Starwood everywhere I travel and would definitely consider bagging the brand in London if this is what I should expect. The Palm Court room remains beautiful but again...quality is gone. Oh well...I will try to remember this property fondly for what it was like less than ten years ago. Good luck with this place if you have no choice. November 2, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Park Lane This is one of the worst hotel experiences I have had in a while. What a dumpy hotel. The palm court is beautiful, but the room was horrible. It was like two different hotels. The bathroom needed renovation urgently - very cheap porcelain tiles, peeling linoleum around the sink, cheap paint job. The main room was really small. Really cheap hotel furniture with a 70s design the was unfitting for a supposedly luxury hotel in London. I had dinner at the Citrus restaurant and the service was unbelievably slow - incredibly annoying. I decided to stay more this year at Starwood hotels, but I am now having second thoughts after this experience. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised After reading the reviews I have to say I wasn't expecting much but when I got there I was over the moon. Yes the rooms are a bit old fashioned but that was part of the charm, not everyone wants high tech but it was clean, the beds were crisp, well made up, good quality and a pleasure to sleep in, isn't this what its all about. The decor of the hotel was amazing especially the seating area. My biggest criticism would be that we wanted to order drinks after hours in the bar area and ended up having to order room service, going to the room to receive it and then bringing it back down but that was a small price to pay for a great experience. August 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worse places - avoid! Possibly one of the worse experiences I have ever had at any property (250+ nights at SPG): 1. Very poor service - nightshift staff went out of their way to make my stay UNPLEASANT. They were rude and unhelpful even though I really needed their help at 2AM. If I could give negative stars, I would. Although management tried to apologize the next day, I felt it was insincere. If you like good service and to be treated with respect, I would avoid this hotel at all cost. 2. Rooms are from the 1960's I think... Dirty carpets, broken air conditioner/heater, small TV, limited channels, and internet that worked intermediately. Bathroom was not too bad, and to be fair only reason why it gets 2 stars. 3. Location - a bit deceiving. It's on Piccadilly, however it is an unpleasant 15-20 min walk in the cold during winter from Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square. Overall very unpleasant stay and would avoid this establishment like the plague in the future. January 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cold Service From Front Desk Staff We stayed in a corner executive room on the third floor. From the reviews I was not expecting much from the room, but it wasn't as dated as the classic rooms and had a large bathroom. That was about the only positive from our stay beyond the concierge being helpful when ordering take away. Negative: - The women working the front desk were extremely cold and at times felt very rude. - I was aware that Starwood hotels in Europe try and add on a UNICEF donation without asking, but there were several other charges tacked on my bill that I never asked for. For example, a charge for a newspaper that was delivered to my room that I never requested. The front desk explained that on my SPG profile they saw I liked a particular newspaper. Pretty sure in any other hotel this newspaper would have been free, otherwise why did they not ask at check in if I would like one? - Was never asked at check in for my email and if I would like my bill emailed to me. You can check your bill on the TV but if you need a copy or need something changed be sure to allow at least 30 minutes waiting in line in the morning to check out. This and the newspaper problem could have been prevented if the front desk knew proper check-in procedures. - Each day we declined housekeeping, but the housekeeping manager would always knock on the door around 1pm even though the do not disturb sign was out. She told me that it was policy that someone in housekeeping must enter the room each day to make sure things are ok in the room. Guess I'll check with the Starwood corporate office on this one as it was rather annoying. - 3 of the mornings housekeeping tried entering our room at 8am even though the sign was out. - Around 7am every morning about 4-5 housekeepers congregated outside of our door since the service elevator was nearby and decided to have a nice loud chat. - Early one morning the TV automatically turned on and an alarm gradually got louder in volume. On the screen was a message letting us know that in a few hours they were going to carry out a fire alarm test. So an alarm to make you aware of a future alarm... great... 5 out of 5 days we did not get to sleep in past 7am. What a vacation! To the General Manager: Thanks for the bottle of wine for my birthday and the upgrade to the nice executive room. I understand that you can't renovated your hotel overnight to make the reviews of your hotel more positive, but I've read many reviews about the level of service at this hotel and my stay also reflects the low level of service. This hotel is not up to brand standards. Your front desk is not only cold to customers, they are not knowledgeable about the hotel or the Sheraton brand. Not only that, but your housekeeping staff needs a review on how to handle themselves in front of guests in order to provide a more pleasant experience for the guests. I do not often give such a negative review, but I feel that these changes are within your power as general manager and you are aware of the problems but have not taken enough action to fix them. January 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has lost its way... I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past 15 years, but have not been to London for the last 2 years. I came back, and had the worst Starwood experience ever. (For the record, I have more than 1 year of nights in starwood hotels, and am a lifetime gold member). I booked 3 rooms, and got tiny rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor for a Platinum (and Gold) Guests. The Internet was virtually unusable, and help line informed us that they could not help until the next day. The rooms are now very dated, dirty and worn, and in major need to refurbishment. Checked out early and will never be back. This hotel is not up to standard for a modern business traveller, and would recommend that you look somewhere else if you require a functional room that you can work in. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with History This hotel review is longer than most of my reviews because it includes a history of the hotel (which I found very fascinating), of course, you could skip the Hotel History section and jump to the review, but what fun would that be? Hotel History: The Park Lane Hotel is a grand London hotel built in the early 1920s. The hotel’s steel frame was erected before the beginning of World War I {Use Roman numerals, not Arabic numbers to designate WWI and WWII}, but construction was abandoned due to a lack of financing. The property was completed in 1927 by Sir Bracewell Smith and reflected the era’s Art Deco style. The hotel is widely recognized for its ballroom and Palm Court where afternoon tea is served. In fact, during World War II, Parliament decided that the Park Lane Hotel ballroom would be used by the Commons in the event the Houses of Parliament were damaged. When the Park Lane opened to the public in 1927 a single room w/private bath rented for 76 pence to £ 1.05 (about $1.18 to $1.76 in US dollars), a double room rented for £ 1.41 to £1.75 and a suite rented for £2.66 - £3.15. The hotel’s interior design was managed by Lady Bracewell Smith and all the rooms were designed and furnished by top designers of the day. For example, the breakfast room, an Art Deco style room, was decorated by Harrods. After Sheraton acquired the hotel in 1996 at a cost of £44 million, the ballroom was renovated and restored to reflect its original splendor and re-opened in 1997 to celebrate the hotel’s 70th anniversary. The hotel has been featured in many TV shows and hit moves including the James Bond feature “Golden Eye,” “Shanghai Surprise” and "The End of the Affair." Hotel Review: Overall Today, the hotel retains its historical charm. The rooms are modern and well designed for business travelers and visitors alike. As with most old hotels, the floors creek, but I didn’t find it bothersome during my stay. While you can hear the floors creeking in the hallway throughout the day (especially when the bellman or housekeeping bring their carts through) there’s minimal creeking at night - during the time most people are sleeping. There are only two lifts (elevators) in the hotel, and that can create challenges at times – at least once during the first 9 nights of my stay one of the lifts was not working during the busy morning hours. If you’re into walking stairs, there is a beautiful staircase in the center of the hotel that leads to all floors. The hotel offers a traditional high-tea service on the weekend and the Palm Court bar serves a limited menu and sushi in the evenings. Breakfast is served in Bracewells, just off Palm Court, and Citrus serves lunch and dinner. There is no concierge lounge or Sheraton club at this hotel and Starwood elite status benefits are limited (no complimentary water in the room for example). There is a gym on the lower level of the hotel that always seemed busy. Check-in This was the first time in almost five years staying with Starwood that I’ve had a bad experience at check-in. I arrived at 3 pm local time – the hotel’s official check-in time – and my room was not ready. I was told that I was upgraded to an executive room with more space since I would be staying 19 nights - I was very happy about that. I was advised that my room would be ready in about 90 minutes (4:30 local time). Since the weather was awful, I went to the bar and had a sandwich and cup of tea (which I thought were reasonably priced until I remembered that prices were listed in Pounds, not Dollars!). I returned to the front desk about 4:30 and was informed that my room was still not ready. I was offered a different room but the agent recommended I wait for the original room because she thought I would be unhappy in the other room which was smaller and next to a lift (she said it would be loud.) I really appreciated her suggestion and agreed to wait another 40 minutes for the room. The third time I returned to the front desk, the room was still not ready, and at this point, I was getting very frustrated. The agent assured me that it would be ready in 20 more minutes. Indeed, it was ready after an additional 20 minutes. So in the end, I waited just over 2 1/2 hours for a room – something that’s never happened to me before at a Starwood property. I think the reason I got so frustrated about the wait was not because I had to wait, but because the weather was terrible and I was stuck waiting around the hotel. There is no formal lobby in the hotel, so I had to wait in the bar area – I was hungry when I arrived so I didn’t mind getting a sandwich & drink – but what would I have done if I wasn’t hungry? The bartenders don’t like non-paying customers just taking up space. I also felt like the hotel could have said, have a cup of tea on us, or here’s an access code for free wifi while you wait. But they offered nothing. I did speak with the hotel, and received an email from the Assistant Front Office manager which essentially said we’re very sorry, we look forward to having you for a considerable length of time, but you chose to wait for the upgraded room, we had something earlier, but you didn’t want it. My response was that I didn’t want it because the girl said it was next to an elevator and loud – so why would I want that room? And why did it take 2 ½ hours to get a room ready. In any case, I was finally in my room at 6 pm and my luggage (which the hotel held during the wait) was delivered very promptly. For my platinum amenity at check-in, I selected the continental breakfast choice. This was definitely the best choice given the length of my stay. It turns out, that was a great choice because the hotel allows you to have the full breakfast buffet in the restaurant and they have an amazing selection of choices. The restaurant was always very crowded, but service has been excellent and there’s never a wait. The Room As I noted, I was upgraded to an executive room, and it was very spacious. My room had a king size bed, a couch and chair and a work desk. The desks even featured electrical outlets for UK plugs, EU plugs and US plugs. Upon request, I was also provided with an adaptor for use during my stay. The hotel emptied out the mini-bar for me so that I could store some of my own items – which I appreciated. I found the room to be very dark once the sun went down. The lighting in the room didn’t suffice. So I contacted the hotel and they brought up a lamp that made the room very bright and allowed me to keep working (or blogging) in the evenings. The bathroom was large and had a bathtub and shower. The shower only has a waterfall shower head and so I found the water pressure to be weaker than most Sheratons that have standard shower heads. The bathroom also had a towel rack that was heated – though I haven’t yet turned it on. The bathtub was the only part of the bathroom that showed its age. There were non-slip strips on the floor of the tub that looked old and showed some dirt. Another great benefit of the room was the walk in closet. It had plenty of space for my suitcases and I was able to unpack and hang and fold all my clothes – after all, for 19 nights, it’s worth unpacking. The hotel even brought up extra hangers. Restaurants and Room Service As I mentioned, the breakfast is great – but if I wasn’t getting it as a Platinum benefit, I probably wouldn’t pay for it out of pocket. I did notice that the hotel was offering 20% off breakfast with a coupon from the front desk. Room Service is very expensive. I ordered room service one evening and requested a tuna fish sandwich (it’s on the menu) and within 5 minutes I had a call back from room service asking me what tuna was. I’m not kidding. I just re-read the menu item to him and said okay. Luckily the correct item did show up less than 20 minutes later. I have not yet had the chance to try Citrus, but I suspect I will at some point during my visit. I’ll update the post if/when I try it. General There were several, let’s call them, hiccups that I’ve experienced so far during my stay. The first day after checking in there was no hot water in the hotel until around 11 am due to a flood in the boiler room. Nothing the hotel could really do about that – but still bothersome. I already blogged about my experience with the rudest hotel concierge ever –the hotel did respond by apologizing profusely (in fact, SPG social media team reached out to me before the hotel did – they’re always impressive with customer service). The hotel Front Office manager did call me today to check in, see if I was comfortable and apologize again. He also sent a tray of crumpets and bottled water to the room (they were very good). So I think they handled the hiccups very well. The hotels location is very central and close to Buckingham Palace and other tourist sites. It’s also within 10 minute walk of the Green Park tube stop , which made it easy to commute to the office. So far, I have had some very good experiences with the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel and a couple of not so great experiences. I imagine with any long stay, there are bound to be issues. I am glad the hotel has addressed them all. If anything changes during the next ten days or so, I will be sure to update this report. April 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Hotel Experience I have spend a total of 374 nights at Starwood hotels and your property in London was terrible. The room had an incredibly noisey portable AC unit that made horrible rattling noise all night. I even checked out early wasting my "Free 5th night" just to get out of there. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worth a free stay, but not a penny more Location is great, rooms are clean, housekeeping staff very friendly, but the service at the front desk and the horrible internet connections make the free stay (with points) almost not worth it. I was only in London about 20 waking hours, but I spent about 2-3 hrs just trying to get internet access, which in my case was needed. As a SPG Gold member, I opted for the free internet access as my reward. I was able to get 1 device to work with the internet, well at least for 1 night. But I needed another device connected. After calling the front desk, i was told to come down and get a new access code. After patiently waiting in line about 20-30 minutes. The person at the front desk gave me another code. I wanted to ensure my device connected before leaving but was asked (not politely) to move so she could assist others. I asked for just a minute to connect my device, but she insisted that I move. Well needless to say, the code that I was given did not work. As I tried to get another code, I was told to move to the back of the line. Ok, there went another 30 minutes waiting in line. And yes, once again, I was given a bad code. This time, I refused to move until I got the device working. The glares from the staff we definitely not friendly. And while waiting, I saw them bumbling around as numerous others customers were having problems with their hotel keys no longer working. To finish it off, the next morning none of my devices would connect to the internet. At least my hotel key worked, so I guess I cant complain too much. However, I do not wish to focus on the bad. I do wish to express thanks to the Marta, who did a wonderful job and was the only friendly person working at the front desk. Additionally, all of the non front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Please excuse any typos, I have not finished my morning coffee yet. Thanks, July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 3 STAR ROOM IN A FIVE STAR PROPERTY WE BOOKED A 5 STAR PROPERTY BUT WE GOT A 3 STAR ROOM. WHEN WE ASKED ABOUT IT, WE WERE TOLD " IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT YOU GOT STUCK IN ONE OF OUR UNRENOVATED ROOMS" WE ASKED TO BE MOVED BUT THEY DEMANDED ONOTHER $100.00 PER NIGHT!! THIS ROOM HAD A PORTABLE A/C UNIT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FLOOR!! November 8, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best location I have stayed here 3 times in the last year at first did not like it very much but know I really appreciate this hotel. The rooms are nice size they are old but very clean. Two elevators no waiting. The location you cant get much better then this unless you stay at Buckingham Palace. I hope when the renovate and one day they will they do not change the Palm Court it is truly great for just sitting or having high tea one of the best for high teas in London. Yes the Service is also much better then the first time as the staff get to know you. February 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend visit Friday night was fine, but Saturday night function was noisy, bass vibrations kept us awake until 12.45 June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has style and character We found this hotel to be very clean and comfortable,decorated in a lovely art deco style.The rooms were presented well and very inviting. Towels and linen were crisp and white with a good choice of toiletries.The staff were obliging and helpful at all times. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some negative reviews. We struggled to find any fault any where in the hotel. Great location and ideal for getting around. We will recommended this super hotel and definitely re visit in the near future. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is ideal for Central London This Hotel is in the Heart of London and offers excellent accommodation and comfort June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTING I stayed at the Sheraton Park Lane and booked their "RomaticPackage" expecting to see champagne and fruit upon arrival. I had to remind the check in staff I had the romance package. This did not occur and as we had to make a swift dash to the theatre we left shortly after check in. Our luggage had not arrived in the room after 20 minutes so we had to leave for the theatre without changing into our evening clothes.The manager kindly refunded the charge for the romance package. The room was comfortable and over looked the park. I have stayed in a few Sheraton hotels and never not had a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Residents have to phone down to obtain these and so having come back late from the theatre did not know this. so no cup of tea in the morning. After our theatre trip we came back to the bar in the palm court for a drink and snack. we ordered a sandwich after 15 minutes of waiting and then when it arrived it had meat in it and my husband is vegetarian. my sandwich had no butter or dressing in it as ordered! The staff seemed unhappy and not wanting to serve at 11pm at night. It was the impression they gave off. Have to say the bed was great and had a good nights sleep. Went down for breakfast and ordered a medium poached egg and it came back hard !. The manager of the restaurant was talking when we arrived and there were 5 staff on duty but no one came over to seat us within 5 minutes. A young waiter came over and finally sat us down and only then did the manager come over and took over from him. I was not impressed with the breakfast. Choice is good but quality of cooking and service was poor. Cooking a poached egg is a basic and if you cant get that right the rating is incorrect. Having been disappointed with the food quality in both the sandwiches and breakfast we decided to cut our losses and cancel our afternoon tea in the palm court and go to Harrods and do it our self at home. Sadly disappointing when I had looked forward to a romantic rest when I had only positive impressions of Sheraton previously. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Rooms in a Central Locale My wife and I stayed here for five nights and had a very pleasant experience. While the hotel is showing some age, the character of the tea room and the decor of the rooms is beautiful. We were upgraded to a large suite that was very comfortable. While the restaurant was a tad pricey, the food was pretty good. The location is great, you can get to many tourist attractions in just a couple minute walk and there are many excellent pubs and restaurants nearby. January 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel with great service The rooms were somewhat dated but very nice and clean. I like a firm pillow but the ones supplied were too soft. No I did not ask for firmer pillows. The front desk people and the concierge were very helpful with any request. I was told they are remodeling in September. The sitting room was just wonderful and relaxing with harp music in the afternoon. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location..... You simply cannot beat this hotel for location, a must for anyone wishing to visit Buckingham Palace which is just minutes away. Friendly courteous staff and on site Italian Restaurant very good. Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court Restaurant was outstanding, along with resident harpist made the afternoon complete. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired Old Lady ... Great Location Yes, this is beautiful old hotel, but it is in need of a serious make over. It looks tired, and the bathrooms are just old and dingy. The Palm Court bar is nice, and the bar servers are all really great. Though it is strange to have new guests walk through the tea service with luggage in tow. (there are 2 entrances to the hotel, but the Court is off the main street and reception is off the alley entrance). Housekeeping was merely adequate and did not remove used cups, etc. so we ended up with quite a stack after a few days. Bracewells is good for breakfast. Concierge service is spotty. NOW, all that said, it is a great location right across from Green Park. Just wish they would remodel a bit. October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by History and charm The hotel was a bit dated but still had the charm of being there back in it's day of glamour. We were fortunate enough to had a room that looked out towards the Embassy and the park. The windows are double pained so you can't hear the traffic. Bathrooms were nice but be careful on the slick marble floors and the booday (why they have these, I can't imagine). Overall a great location and a positive experience. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Park Lane is a gem The ambience at the Park Lane is just what one needs after travel or a busy day in the city. Staff are great, and go the extra mile. Everyone from check-in, concierge, security, housekeeping, bell staff, Palm Court --are caring and excellent. Room was comfortable, bed was great, bathroom elegant. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Historic hotel badly in need of refurbishment We were severely disappointed with the size and condition of the room we were given at The Park Lane. Let me preface this review by saying we prefer to stay at historic properties which may have endured a bit of "faded grandeur", as we feel it only adds to the experience of staying in a property with real history. We travel regularly to Europe, so are accustomed to the smaller size of hotel rooms, but the room we were given was clearly a single, with a queen size bed added. The bed was pushed up against the wall on the left hand side, forcing the second occupant to crawl in from the bottom. The left side of the bed lacked any type of reading light or bedside table. The room was so small as to force one of us to retreat to the bed when the ironing board was deployed. We had 4 pieces of luggage with us, including 3 which were carry on size, and still found it difficult to maneuver around the room. The carpet was worn and discolored. The bathroom was a total disaster, with cracked and stained tile throughout. The area behind the toilet was simply disgusting. The bathtub was discolored, with missing and cracked tiles on the baseboard of the tub. Had we intended to stay longer than 18 hours, I would have requested another room, but because this was such a short stay, we chose not to make a fuss. I will offer these points of praise: the mattress was comfortable, the concierge most helpful, and the staff seemed eager to help us. Having been loyal Starwood members for years, and having previously been a travel consultant, I expect a certain standard at hotels bearing the Starwood brand. For such a renowned and historic hotel, it is a shame that it has been allowed to fall in to such disrepair. June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete Rennovations Needed The proximity of this hotel and the room size were the only good features at this hotel. Our room had a cracked tub, stained carpets, paint peeling off the walls, and doors that were off alignment. It is strange that the reception said they "upgraded" our room, when it is clear that this room is badly in need of repair and total rennovation and should never be assigned to any guests. It was certainly not worth the 12,000 starpoints we used or the upwards of $700 per night paid for by our friends. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff. The concierge staff made finding London's highlights easy. Plus they got us a great dinner reservation. Room service was prompt, August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding experience High class hotel in a great location. The concierge staff are superb. June 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>