Sheraton Iowa City Hotel

  • 210 S Dubuque Street
  • Iowa City,
  • Iowa
  • 52240
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 223 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by lack of service. We requested an upper floor in our booking and the gave us a pool side room. The desk then wanted to argue about what we booked. The lady at the desk was not very knowledgeable about the room prices. Had it been before 4:00 I would have cancelled.I have stayed at this hotel several times. The prices are not great. The rooms are acceptable. The service has been better. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay We were traveling when the weather was turning stormy. Since we were driving a Corvette, we wanted to spend the night in a hotel that had covered parking. This location was great and down by many eating establishments. The room was VERY clean and the beds very comfortable. Despite the storm outside, the room was very quiet. The staff was very helpful. The parking garage is a city owned lot and confusing to get to the hotel from the lot. Other than that, the stay was perfect. May 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 The Shower Doors Fell On Me While Showering I had quite an experience at this hotel, at which i have stayed before and have a pending reservation in the future -- perhaps. While showering the glass sliding shower doors fell in one me. Well, one did, the other started falling away for me. I caught both of them and after a struggle stacked them against the wall. Had to shower without shower doors. All I got from the manager was "thanks for telling us about it." Insulting. July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by There were definitely pros and cons to the hotel. I was very pleased with the lobby staff. The bell staff was very helpful in providing directions and suggestions when asked. They were extremely friendly. The front desk staff was responsive and considerate. They were quick to act and ease our frustrations. And there were frustrations... we were awoken at 7 am by the housekeeping staff restocking their carts and chatting outside of our room, even after we nicely asked that they please keep it down. We had a stranger try to key into our room (he was told that it was his room upon his check in), on our first day. Our biggest frustration was that our room was not cleaned at all on Saturday (even though it was vacant and there was not sign on the door asking for privacy most of the day). I was happy with the responsiveness of the staff when we spoke about these complaints, however I was promised that I would hear from the GM and I never did. That was disappointing. All in all, it was a mixed experience. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will definitely stay here again! I stayed here for a business conference. The room was clean and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with amazing blankets. Nice, roomy shower and great lighting in the bathroom. I liked the extras - blow dryer, iron, make-up mirror, etc. Staff was very friendly. Our conference was held in the motel also. The food was great and the meeting rooms were very nice. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed and shower Excellent location, wonderful staff but there were two amenities that were subpar: (1) bed and (2) shower. The first bed we got was like sleeping in a gully - one of those beds that sank in the middle. The staff, however, was very accommodating and moved us to a room with a much better bed. However, this room had a shower with an obviously defective shower valve that went from hot to cold to hot - it was quite an adventure trying to take a shower without burning or freezing ourselves. We reported that problem and they offered to move us again but it was too much of a hassle. They did try to adjust the valve and it was somewhat better but still obviously defective. If it wasn't for these two things I would have rated this hotel as one of the best and friendliest at which I have stayed. The location is perfect and the staff simply wonderful. May 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The Sheraton in Iowa City meet all of my needs and expectations. I was greeted by friendly staff and my accommodations were excellent. The location is prime and offers lots of accessible downtown amenities. I plant to visit this property again on my next trip to Iowa City. August 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A marginally OK experience. Overall cleanliness of hallways needed improvement. Bathrooms too small. The arrangement for parking in the adjoining City lot was awkward, and seemed disconnected between the lot attendant and front desk. Because of electronic billing, we did not realize until after leaving that we had paid $9.00 more in parking fees than needed. Not something guests should have to deal with after the stay is completed. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Experience 1)A lot of issues with keys not working~we were locked out of our room 3 times 2)A lot of issues with charges~ make sure you get a bill when you check out and check the charges and your room rate ~we were signicantly over charged~they are doing paperless billing so unless you ask to see your bill you wont get one~not a good idea 3)Club level food is the worst we have ever had at all Sheratons~VERY minimal food~and no t that wonderful August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Subtle Changes at Hotel No longer slip check-out stmt under door night before check-out. Have to ask for a copy to review charges. Housekeeping only replenishes Shampoo & Conditioner not bars of soap, shower gel or Qtip/Cotton balls. No longer provide small loufah for shower. Choices in Club Level have decreased as well as quantity. Rooms are still wonderful, comfortable and well cleaned. Will always go back when in town and available. Still love the hotel. August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel except for bathroom The public areas of this hotel are nicer than the rooms themselves. The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. There was no vanity (toilet, sink, and tub/shower only) making it difficult to keep toiletries in the bathroom and to put on makeup. The wallcovering in the bathroom appeared to be coming off the wall. Overall, not a bad experience, but not what I usually see in a Sheraton property. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Miserably uncomfortable bed This was in many ways a great hotel. Wonderful location, pleasant and efficient staff, nice-looking rooms. The bedding looked lovely, but the bed itself was unbearable. We had a queen bed, with two of us sleeping in it. This bed was so badly sloped in the middle that we ended up placing pillows down the middle of the bed, wedged under ourselves to kept from rolling into the middle. Also, on the bed there is a plastic comforter August 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK hotel, terrible club product This is an average Sheraton-issue product. Very little storage space in the room. The Club product is an absolute joke. The breakfast offered is an insult to the guest. The pastries are no better than edible, the eggs are horrible. The quantity and variety of the offering leads one to believe that no one thought guests would show up in the morning to have breakfast. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY IMPRESSED Never stayed at a place like this. Always go for the Comfort Inn types, but this was close to where we needed to be and I'm so glad we tried it. The room was sized very well and I can't say enough about the wonderful bed. I also like how they integrated the entertainment options throught the TV stand. Adequate room to eat within. It seemed cleaner than other places I've been and the bed and bedding! Wow! It was fabulous. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Downtown I really enjoyed the stay. My daughter (12) and a friend enjoyed the pool. We could complain about the people loud in the hallways in the middle of the night. But, why would that be the hotels fault? Beautiful room! Bed was so comfortable and WHITE. Was worried about the hot cheetos fingers getting on the beds. Bathroom was very impressive. I don't get around ALOT...but, I was very impressed with the beauty of the decor. November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service and location. The employees are great! They all put forth the effort I expect from a Sheriton. They were always polite, smiling and gave the impression they genuinely cared that we were happy. Rooms and hotel were clean and updated. Negatives -The fitness center is lacking in weight equipment. The machine that is there is junk and not up to the standard I expect. Parking is $10 a day, Wi-Fi is an extra cost, which I think is absurd. July 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location, nice staff, but didnt respond to our problem with A/C we have stayed with you a few times and always enjoyed a ourselves. Your front desk people are very welcoming. One big problem this time though, our room was 77 degrees as the cooling did not work. Alerted the desk on my second day and when I returned at midnight it was still 77 degrees. No note form the staff saying that had even been to the room so perhaps they did not even try. Other than that, we enjoy your place November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Iowa City - close to several good restaurants and coffee houses. The room was extremely comfortable, and the staff was efficient and friendly. The rate was reasonable, and included parking at a nearby parking ramp. I would definitely stay here again. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by no internet I needed the internet for an online class. When I finally was able to connect to a network, the internet was very slow and disconnected within seconds, over and over. I told the front desk I would pay for high speed and still did not work. There was an offer to have engineers come look at my room for the problem. After one hour of waiting, I went to bed. I would only recommend this hotel for the location. May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need to be better prepared to handle check ins. We stay at this hotel when we return for a reunion every year. Every year upon check in it is a 30 minute process. Not enough staff to handle the check-ins around 5pm. It was at least 15 minutes before what appeared to be a manager or assistant arrived to try to assist with expediting the process. This has also been an issue on other trips not associated with our yearly visit. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good location and service As a platinum member we had a wonderful upgrade. We enjoyed the room and requested a refrigerator because we were traveling with perishable food in 100 degree temperatures in a cooler. They supplied the refrigerator. The bathroom had a shower usually seen in European hotels that save on water. The club room had very nice appetizers and breakfast. We were very pleased with this our third stay at this hotel. July 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Location was Perfect Wow - my family and I really like college towns and when we are travelling, like to stay in or near one. Well, this hotel's location was amazing and right near Iowa's campus, located near restaurants, shops, and had a great pool. The only two things that we wished that it had were free internet service and a breakfast that wasn't so expensive, especially since we had to pay to park and we had two children. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by two night visit Staff excellent, Sher restaurant excellent, beds excellent -- I have a little critiicism -- it seemed the phone, messaging system antiquated (it seemed impossible to shut off the blinking light that claimed I had messages); connecting to the wi fi seemed more awkward than at some other hotels -- and it is an add on cost; there is no night light or at least none I discovered (some hotels have such things). October 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Bed The Customer Service Representative (April) was very rude & unprofessional when we checked in the hotel. Prior to our arrival I worked with Jennifer and she was accomodating, very pleasant and professional. After April was rude, I asked specifically for Jennifer who assisted me quite well! Other than that our stay went extremely well! July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Susan Anderson We love IA City and we love this hotel. We have never been disappointed. Our accommodations have always been perfect, exactly what we booked and very clean. The staff at the front desk are wonderful. Always helpful and friendly. We love Share, the food is always great as all the other resturants in IA City. And of course the Jazz is always top notch! July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Should do better I have stayed here several times a year since the Hotel opened this weekend was my worst stay. Had to change in bathroom after room not ready by 4pm. Never got call ,as promised room was ready. The front desk was vey bad. Lot of misinformation. And one could not get the keys right. The Bell Stand was a bright spot. I been here at many busy times- never seen this run this bad. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Must have been a bad night and morning We stay here four times a year for chemotherapy treatments and checks at the hospital. .The chairs are always poorly arranged for chatting and watching TV. The refrigerator was unplugged and needed to be pushed across the room to a plug. In the concierge room there was very little fruit and not replenished. In the morning, there was a long wait for regular coffee, and the egg dish ran out. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Service Service was really exceptional, I was consistently surprised by how willing the staff was to go above and beyond. This translated to the restaurants and bar, too. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel! The staff was courteous. The room was lovely. The amenities (pool, weight room, etc...) were great! Our only issue was the contracted parking garage attendant who treated us badly. When I informed the hotel, they took care of the problem and even comped us with a surprise bottle of wine and strawberries! I am impressed. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff When we checked in we discovered the TV did not work and the clock by the bed was way off of the correct time. We called the front desk and repair person was there immediately. Tim could not fix it fast so he arranged for us to move down the hall to a different room. First he checked everything in our new room before helping us move to a working room. Tim was excellent. May 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>