Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 835 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Stay We havestayed here before and it was great. We checked in- clerk could not figure out how to charge my card- I wanted to prepay $400 and put the rest on my debit card. He assured me that they would not automatically debit my card for checkout that I would have to check out - WRONG! Got club level upgrade which you described as lounge area, breakfast, hot hors d'oeuvres nightly, etc. Ran out of Diet Coke, NO evening hors d'oeuvres, ran out of breakfast food- woman was awful- guy was great- our keys didn't work initially because the smart clerk did not know what he was doing-- toilet clogged- no hot water on Sunday- what else???? NOT GOOD!!!!!! To top it all off- got charged twice for one night!!!!!!!! December 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude and unhelpful staff My flight from Philadelphia had been cancelled and I'd spent the morning arguing with the Airline for another flight. I wanted somewhere nice to stay so decided to stay at the Sheraton Hotel having enjoyed a recent stay at the Sheraton in Austin. Check in was ok. the room was basic but there is no free wifi in the room (unlike in Austin) and so I went to the lobby to work. Later I attempted to order food in the hotel bar/restaurant but having sat at a table for 15 minutes had not been served I placed my order at the busy bar. 40 minutes later it was evident that my order had not been put through but because I'd placed it at the bar the staff waiting tables told me they didn't want anything to do with it and from that point on refused to acknowledge my presence. My food was re ordered and eventually arrived. The guy from the kitchen who delivered it said he'd get me a knife and fork, but failed to do so. I went behind the bar area to request them. Upon paying at the bar the member of staff who'd 'served' me (and laughed at my accent), perhaps knowing she wasn't getting a tip, chose not to make eye contact and thank me for my custom and instead slapped my change onto the bar and walked away. I was left feeling as if I'd broken some unexplained rule whereby ordering at the bar meant I was no longer eligible for service or plain decency. The attitude of the staff was shameful. I do not understand why they're unable to communicate with one another in order to serve their guests. Given that I was clearly unwelcome in the bar/restaurant I went to my room to watch TV. The room didn't include a menu of the different channels and the TV stopped working within 10 minutes of use. Apparently there was a problem throughout the hotel and guest services said they'd contact me when it was fixed - but never did. I'd stayed in four hotels during my visit and the Sheraton Philadelphia was the only hotel that made the visit more of a hardship. November 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Downtown hotel review The stuff at the front desk was rude and not professional. I was not informed about the basic details of my stuff - eg breakfast. Every conversation was very painful and the stuff was not proactive at all. During the check out, the person at the front desk did not even bother to say good bye nor thank you for my stay. I travel very often and I had been in many hotels all over the world but I have to say this was the worst experience I had with the Sheraton hotels. The only bright moment of this stay was the service during the breakfast on Sunday as the waiter Ed was extremely nice and helpful. On top of that the hall on my floor was really dirty on Sunday morning and stay that way the most of the day. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor choice None of the upgrades that we logged on the Starwoods site were honored or even recorded. The staff had no desire to find us an acceptable room until my wife became visibly upset, mentioned our Starwoods membership and the wedding party that blocked the rooms. After that we were given a room with 2 double beds for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 14 and 11 on the first floor while the rest of the party was on the 26th floor. The only compromise the front desk offered was access for 2 to the club level 25 floors above for a $10 charge! No directions were given for the rooms or club level and only when the mother of the bride asked, were we given the gift bag the front desk was supposed to give all members of the party. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, Okay Everything Else Used a suite night and stayed here for one night on NYE 2012. Checked in, everything seemed ok, staff were nice at the desk. Got to the room and the keys didn't work. Finally got in after getting new key cards, and the suite was okay - looked old and not too well taken care of. Then the toilet was clogged and we had to call 3 times and wait over an hour for someone to come and fix it. The Club Lounge was closed, but we got two free tickets for breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby in the morning. The food was not very good. We were pretty disappointed, but the room serviced its purpose - a comfortable place to sleep - and our room had a view of the fireworks on Penn's Landing, so that was a great part. January 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory stay The room we where given the carpet was so dirty I would not take off my shoes the bath tub looked like they were wash cars in it.. I request to change rooms and they did but the new room wasn't much better... I asked why the sheets where not changed and they told me that they were going green and the only why they would change the sheets is if you request them to...now that was crazy..and the price was out of this world and so not worth it.. I was so disappointed and ready to came home... The construction was ridiculous...such a waste of money.. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work The room was clean and comfortable and the location is great. But there is no real SPG recognition and the lineup at check-in and checkout actually moved faster for non-SPG guests. Philly is a food city but the food here is vile. We ordered "nachos" and we were served a plate of lays potato chips with some white sauce on top of it. I'm not sure how anyone in the name of Christ can call that "nachos." And for $11 no less. Also the "freshly squeezed grapefruit juice" advertised on the breakfast menu was anything but. Stay here, but don't even think about eating here. June 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You Need to Work on It! Parking Attendent - very nice Check In Line - ridiculously long! We checked in at 4 p.m. and could not get the queen bed we requested and were denied the late check out I had requested when making the reservation months ago!. Shuttle to Wedding Reception - conceierge seemed unclear as to times and which door the shuttle would be at. Room - bed was lumpy looking, toilet seat was up so I questioned if the room had been cleaned. The room was hot when we arrived and since we had no down time because of our wait in the lobby to register we had to get ready anyway. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We're coming back with family and friends! Almost everyhthing was above expectations. Loved the beds, the room, beautiiful view of city, healthy food choices, convenience of club services and friendliness of staff. Only issue was that two staff members didn't know what's included with Starwood Preferred Guest membership. December 12, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible check in experience there was terrible service uppon checking in. My company had arranged for a payment method through the company credit card and the young lady at the counter would still not check us in. all of this after a 30 hour flight. it felt like we were bothering for wanting to check in. plus the added embarassment of not sorting our the necessary paperwork to get us through hassle free. in the end, they found the authorization letter, and finally checked us in. this after an hour ordeal in the counter arguing and not being assisted proeprly. is this how "preferred guests" treated? May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service and check in Hotel is in a bad shape with rude check in staff who did not help despite being a SPG elite Gold member. I am really disappointed with the 2 rooms provided on 5th floor for a gold member. The lobby and other common areas are shabby and the construction there does not help. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Two things: 1I just want to personally thank Sean Jin who worked at the hospitality desk and front door. He was very attentive to our needs, and thankfully to him,we were able to catch our bus back to Pittsburgh on time with his swift retrieval of our luggage and hailing down a cab!! Thank you Sean. 2: I was there for the Soccra Examination and unfortunately church services were scheduled at the very same time. Which was very distracting . we were moved to another room but unfotunately tnot until 20 minutes before the test was over. I just hope and pray I passed!!! June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs a total rehabilation I was very dissapointed when I entered the lobby of the Philadelphia Sheration. I expected a clean lobby with great ambience. The floors were dirty, the mats on the outside of the entrance doors were quite dirty as well, and the trash bins in the lobby were full. The elevators to the rooms and garage have reached their useful life and need to be replaced. The carpet throughout the hotel needs to be ripped up and replaced and the beddings especially the down comfortors need to be thrown away and replaced with new decent looking ones. I am never staying at this hotel again. May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth it... I stayed at this hotel the past weekend with my boyfriend. We checked in after 3pm and there were many other large groups checking in as well. We were told that we would be called when our room was ready. After waiting an hour in the lobby with a lot of other people I asked my boyfriend to inquire at the front desk how much longer it would be and they did not even have us down as waiting for our room. After waiting an hour I felt it was beyond unsatisfactory considering we were there for only a weekend and we lost some of our time to sightsee. Once we told them we had already been waiting an hour and were waiting for their call they gave us a room right away. Our room was clean except for an ink stain on the rug. We thought someone would be up to look at it since we did not want to be charged since it was there prior but no one ever came up after they said they would. I feel the staff was to busy to care about our concerns. Overall I would not return. I do not feel like this hotel was really interested in their guests comfort overall. February 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff, But Facility Is Beat Up I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights in conjunction with a professional conference that was occurring in the hotel. I will say that the staff at this hotel was by far the most attentive I've ever encountered. Everyone was unfailingly polite, attentive, and helpful. The physical facility, however, is quite run down. I couldn't believe this was a Sheraton-branded (and priced) property. As a result, I really don't feel that the quality of the accommodations I received was reflective of the price I paid. I doubt I would stay again, even though the staff was superb. October 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement The hotel looks old and feels old. The hallway floor looks like it needs some vacuming. The staff can look a little more cheerful too. I specifically asked for the complimentary wi-fi service at check-in but the guy just nodded his head and failed to inform me that I needed a coupon code. I was never able to get hold of anyone on the phone regarless which key I tried to use. Finally, someone left a bag of dirty towel outside of my door during the whole time I was there. Generally, the place lacks professionalism to me. It's one of the worst Sheratons I've ever stayed at. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helped when i desperately needed it I recently wrote a horrible review on the university Sheraton down the street. I was coming in from a red eye flight and was exhausted. I was met with the worst customer service at the other Sheraton so I called this Sheraton to transfer hotels. I was practically in tears and the man at the front desk at this Sheraton completely turned my day around. He was so incredibly nice and accommodating and made sure I had everything I needed. I am so thankful for great customer service and this experience shouldn't go without recognition. August 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet my expectations.... I reserved 3 rooms due to the wonderful reviews. What a disappointment! I had to wait 40 mins. to get rooms that were not connecting as requested but on the SPG floor. The only recognition I got was "do you want the points?". I asked about an upgrade - none available. Got to room and man was painting the closet... strong odor. Asked for another room and they gave us a "Suite" which was on another floor and consisted of a room with an adjoining sitting room with a worn leather sofa. The furnishings were worn, carpeting stained and nothing special (not even a mini bar). The lounge which was only open for breakfast despite being told differently... computer broken, food was bare minimum at best. What a disappointment. June 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best! When we checked in at 12:15 a.m., we were told that for 24 hours of parking, it would cost $20. At check out, they tried to charge me $38. They did agree to just the $20 finally. We asked the concierge for a recommendation for a restaurant with Philly steak sandwiches and she sent us to one that did not serve these which we did not realize until we had ordered our beverages! Our 16 year old boys were very disappointed. it would have cost us $20 to take a taxi to another restaurant that did serve these! Finally the hallway for the 16th floor was dirty and smelled awful. April 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Service, Nice Stay Everything about our stay was excellent, from the SPG recognition to the amazing 24th floor view, to the comfort of the room. But the staff REALLY makes this place special. From the front desk to the helpful doormen, everyone was efficient and friendly. Topping our list: housekeeping. An hour after we left, my wife discovered she had left in the room an antique pin that meant a lot to her. I called, and the housekeeping coordinator was wonderful, kind and thorough. 15 minutes later, she called to say Derricka (spelling?) had gone in and tracked it down. Thanks to all. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good experience The staff bordered on being rude from the doorman to the wait staff to the guest services people on the phone, nobody seemed interested in providing quality service. On top of that the elevators stopped on every floor due to some glitch and we ended up taking the fire stairs from the tenth floor because the wait was so long. The public hallways were poorly kept with trash sitting out for longer than a day. At the club lounge when I asked for a cup of coffee at 9am, I was told there was no more even though they were open until 10:30. What is wrong with the people here? May 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by location Great location for visiting museums. Definitely geared for the business traveler. We are leisure travelers so except for the location not for us. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Surprise I had not stayed at the Sheraton Downtown hotel for some time. I was very pleased to see the extensive renovation that had been done since my last visit. The common areas, the restaurant and my room were all well done. The friendliness of the staff made it all the more pleasant. I would most likely stay there again the next time that I visit the city. October 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall stay was above par Service throughout my stay was very good. Maid service was very responsive to my requests. Location of hotel is convenient to public transportation around the city and to the airport. October 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Worth The Hassle When I checked in I was given a room with two beds. I called the front desk to inquire about a room with one large bed and was told there were none available. This would have been OK except a co-worker made the same request after I did and received a room with a King Size Bed. So for the next five nights me and my husband had to share a full size bed. For a downtown hotel with over 18 floors, I find it hard to believe your staff could not accomidate us, considering we made the reservation a full 3 months in advance. Then to have a single co worker be given a room we requested added insult to injury. I'll would never in a million years recommend a this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel was the cleaning staff, July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Team Work I would just like to just say the customer service from your Security team and the Concierge front desk were excellent. Doing my stay at your Sheraton I found someone's wallet from out of town, I returned the wallet to the Security Supervisor on duty, who made sure it was returned to the out of country visitor. Also doing this time this security supervisor was pulling an double shift. But he was friendly and even with all that was going on, he made sure the wallet was returned to the happy young man. As a Director of training in Customer Service, this is the first thing I always looked for in team player. On the other hand the front desk team for the day shift, they did everything correct, they just need to smile more. January 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chapman Family Reunion Our family had an exceptional experience during our stay in early August. It exceeded our expectations in every way...even the "PECO Surprise" Sunday morning turned out to be fun for the family! Every department, from the front desk folks, the concierge, to housekeeping, bellmen, food & beverage were all friendly and efficient! Even the random Sheraton employees we met around the hotel were gracious and helpful! Please extend our special thanks to all the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown staff for us for making our reunion a terrific success! August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Discovery I found the hotel as a pleasant discovery. The staff and service was very good, helpful and friendly, reflects the MGMT, which is also very good. The Fitness Center was well equipped and a nice size, never crowded. Club Lounge service was excellent, especially the morning person. Hotel is doing some renovations, upgrades of the property Near by there are plenty of dining and pub establishments and shopping, short walk from hotel. The only issue I had with the hotel, was at check in, the front Desk Staff needs to improve/understand Platinum Benefits/Upgrades, November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection Awesome and the best staff ever !!! this is the model fro how you want any hotel to operate… go and see for yourself. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommendations I have been using you hotel with the Antique Auto Club for many years. May I say that I was very disappointed to see the main lobby clock missing this year. It was like an old friend had passed away. I can understand change, but being older I will never like it. In any case, may I suggest a large city mural on the "clock wall" area as a replacement, as I realize you are modernizing anyway. The only other problem that I had was a room employee ignoring my "do not disturb" sign. I carry valuable electronic equipment with me and do not want room service. Thank you February 11, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29 next>>