Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2247 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel with a "NY attitude" Hotel itself is nice. I have stayed here numerous times for business. This latest visit, there was some construction going on on the ground floor. Despite being on the 34th floor, it was quite loud. When I called the front desk to see about changing my room, the woman who answered did help me but had an attitude about it. I have experienced less than favourable attitude on numerous occasions. March 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location is the only good thing I was extremely disappointed during my recent stay. The Preferred Desk staff was surly, arrogant and unfriendly. They never used my name, and were brusque and robotic during check-in. The room was the worst I have ever had at this hotel. It was extremely tiny and had NO dresser or drawers. We had to literally live out of our suitcases for three days. Given the tiny, tiny size of the room, this made the space even more uncomfortable. The “security” staff they have in place in front of the elevators is a joke – they NEVER once asked anyone to show room keys. Anyone and everyone who wanted to come in off the street and enter the room elevators had unfettered access. Obviously, the location of the hotel is great – and that is the only thing I can recommend about this hotel. I certainly did not feel like a Gold SPG member and this stay made me question why I should remain loyal to the Starwood brand. December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will Stay Here Again Beyond my expectations! From the staff, to the room, amenities and location! I will definetly stay here again and recommend to friends and family. The staff was so accomodating. The reservation desk, the concierge...the staff in the lobby, in the Club Room--even the cleaning people were so nice. Honestly, I do not write reviews unless I feel that strongly about something. So here it is. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great localization, but too busy The hotel it is right there,upper part of theTimes Square, very close to Central Park, 52nd St and 6th Ave / Broadway. Daily rates are also fair - considering NYC is a very expensive place. However, this Sheraton is one of those big hotels, hundreds of rooms, fully booked, people walking all over. If you like some privacy, that would be a probleml. If you don´t mind, it is a good choice. The only bad experience is that check out is @ noon, the majority of the international flights departs in the evening, but the hotel charges $4.00/piece, no matter if it is a big luggage or a small handbag, no matter if it is for 15 minutes or 7 hours. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Everything about Sheraton Times Sq hotel was fab-from the staff to the room to the view everything about the hotel was great!Room was great size and was spotless. The location was ideal-53rd&7th -everything was in walking distance.The room rate was also great.the staff were so helpful and friendly.Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it for a New York stay! March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay in mid summer I came to this hotel with my expectations in check because of reviews I had read. The hotel exceeded my expectations in most respects. The location is terrific, the ac was great and the lounge, while crowded, was sufficient for food but superior for service. Our first night there we arrived as they were putting things away and the kind fellow returned trays of food for us to enjoy. August 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Miserable experience Room was 80 degrees when I checked in. Two calls to desk got No results. Spoke with front desk mgr next morning and when I returned the room was a chilly 66 and when I went to bed that night it was 62 degrees. Another call to desk and back to 79 degrees. I have never been so uncomfortable in a hotel and believe me I will never stay at this property again nor would I recommend it. January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yes I'll return! I had a great experience at this Hotel. The staff was very professional. My room was impeccable! It looked like a picture it was so neat and pressed out! Everything was gleaming, the mirrors, the furniture, the chrome in the bathroom. Almost fake. I was very impressed. It was a pleasure to come back each afternoon to find my room pressed out. Great housekeeping! Yes I'll return! January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by CHARGE TO STORE LUGGAGE The facilities and food at awards banquet were average. We helped hotel by "going green" and not having any maid service during stay. Then we were presented with an additional $15-16 charge to watch four pieces of luggage while we went to eat lunch before leaving for airport. Very disappointed in hotel for this charge. . June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location, well run facility Very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton NY. We were just a hop and a jump away from Times Square, Central Park, and the metro stop right next to our hotel could take us anywhere in NYC quickly. We slept great, had great staff service, and enjoyed all the hotel had to offer. Would definitely stay again. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service and Kindness The hotel staff was extremely accommodating. From the moment that we entered, we were immediately pampered and handled with such care by our Front Desk Receptionist Nicole. She enthusiastically engaged us about our stay and when she found out that it is was my mother's 69th Birthday, she immediately offered us a beautiful breakfast comp; which she most definitely did not have to do. That's wasn't the end of her generosity though. When my mom and I returned to our room from our night out, there was a bottle of champagne, champagne glasses, chocolate covered strawberries and the most beautiful note from Nicole wishing us a great time and letting my mom know how fabulous she looked, along with a Joyful Birthday Wish.... Our room attendant from housekeeping, Ms. Naomi Chin was welcoming from the moment we entered the floor to go to our room. Everyday we encountered her and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome and to just brighten our day. The hotel itself is amazing and busy and full of life and excitement. The hotel is located in a great location which made it easy to hop on a subway, get a taxi or just walk to our planned destinations. We will most definitely be back again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New York at your doorstep Loved everything about the hotel. Staff was wonderful taking care of special requests. The computer lounge in the lobby was great. But..... the best part is the hotel's location. New York was at our doorstep. We were a short walk from Time Square and all the theaters. Subway stop was steps from the entrance. We will stay there for our next trip. Can't wait to go back. March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Only Hotel to Stay at in NYC Simply put, this is the perfect hotel to stay at in NYC! In a city full of thousands of hotel this is my fourth stay at this hotel, if that doesn't say anything I am not sure what will. I have status with many hotel but I always choose this hotel. Besides the location, the staff all around is nothing but hospitable. Joy was a pleasure to check-in with. Muhammad, like always, is overly sweet and very attentive when we were in the club lounge and Ann Marie at VIP was ready to help with anything we needed. In general the entire hotel staff will cater to your every need! Our room/suite was big and very well decorated and turn down service was amazing every night. The club lounge is a savior for both breakfast, happy hour and everything in between. Not sure what more you can ask for! October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location & Comfortable Rooms Our family came for a weekend visit to see a Broadway show. We had 2 club floor rooms - double and king-sized. Both configurations were clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated as a result of recent renovations. We enjoyed access to the club lounge for the continental breakfast or to get a beverage and a snack. The views of Midtown from the lounge are great. The location of the Sheraton at 53rd & 7th is excellent. It is very close to all the action but just far enough to be away from large crowds or traffic noise. It is just a couple of blocks to reach Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue or Central Park. In addition, there is a subway stop right next to the hotel. It is a busy hotel and I would not count on early check-in being available, but this is typical for most hotels in Midtown Manhattan. We will definitely return to this awesome hotel and highly recommend to others visiting New York City. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton New York Times Square Too dirty, particularly the bathroom (shower curtain and bathtub were full of hairs) and the closet (found coins, toilet paper and business cards). Too small, the bathroom is too small. Two people can't be there at the same time. Shower is uncomfortable. As usual, I asked for it every time: Internet is a commodity. Stop charging it to your guests, it must be complementary. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Introducing Our 18 year old Grandson to NYC Being a Starwood member, we chose the Sheraton Times Square Hotel on W. 52nd and Seventh because we had stayed there many times and because it is centrally located. We requested an upgrade with a view (if possible). The Sheraton treated us like royalty giving us a corner suite with a connecting room on the 36th floor. Wonderful stay; beautifully renovated hotel; great staff. June 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Late check in I have been a frequent business traveller for 20 years. This is the first time in 20 years that I arrived at 11 am and had to wait 4 hours to check in. When I asked for help the lady behind the calendar told me that if I wanted guaranteed early check in then I should have booked the room 1 night earlier. I will NEVER stay here again. This hasn't happened to me anywhere else. December 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Solid Hotel - No Frills Hotel is good but nothing to get excited about. I stay here often - kind of go to hotel. Relatively reasonable price and rooms are descent size, like the club lounge, etc.. But don't expect too much personal treatment or surprises as it really is a high volume establishment. Couple of issue to point out for mgmt / others to be aware: - Front desk is very stingy with platinum upgrades. I have been to this hotel several dozen times and they always claim to be booked up. This time they said they upgraded me but it was the same upgrade I paid for with my points already. And this was after a 5 minute discussion the front desk staff had with the "mgr" in the back room...so I know there was something available or they would not have bothered to go ask the mgr. - Breakfast buffet is a bit pricey given there is no made-to-order items...well except for the waffles that you make yourself. Fruit was good. A few tasty pre-made items. This really should be beefed up for 30/person. - The doorman kind of irritated my this trip too. I was with my family and we needed a taxi to go to the airport. They took me out the side door (warning!) where they had a large black SUV that pulled up. As many of you know what this means... you know they should ask if I want a taxi or a limo but they were just going to put me in it for $45 vs. $30 by taxi meter. And the limo guy claiming he charges same as taxi. I know these doormen are all tipped by the drivers and this is frankly inappropriate. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by August 3, 2013 I have stayed at this property many times with no complaints, however I used my points on August 3, 2013 to book 1 night and the room was not ready to checkin to at 9:30pm. they offered free wifi but that was not good enough. I called hotel and left message with manager and they never returned my call. I used a lot of points (12000)to book this room and I was very unhappy. October 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel was fine Hotel was adequate and in a decent location. However, I prepaid the hotel on the Starwood website and then the hotel then billed me again. I have called to get this problem fixed but had to leave a message and the voicemail said they would return my phone call in a couple days. I frankly don't have time for this kind of irritation so I would recommend staying elsewhere. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping very poor hi. When I arrived I noticed that all the surfaces were dusty -- days worth of dust. The table next to the chaise lounge was dirty -- someone had eaten dinner on it and left a mess and it was not cleaned up. There were also crumbs and debris on the floor. I rang housekeeping and they sent someone to vacuum the floor, but the table and other surfaces were never cleaned. October 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Two unsatisfactory experiences in a row Last time I stayed, the laundry service lost my favorite shirt. This time, I was given a bad room (#4201). The room is more like a meeting room than a regular hotel room. And the metal bottom corners of the bed are sharp. Hurt my left foot twice! My opinion is the room may be suitable for business meetings but not for hotel guests where we don't wear shoes in the room. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruce M 17 Great hotel, staff was very friendly, always asking us if everything was ok. Very clean and lobby was beautiful. Will be back for sure. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Bellhops The most annoying thing about this hotel is ts bellhops blowing whistles to hale in taxis all day long and often very late into the night. The ear-piercing noise is very obnoxious, very loud, very persistent, totally excessive and unnecessary because a taxi stand is right there and bellmen could have easily used flashing lights or other visual means to flag down cabs. April 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by filthy hotel There was a dried blood stain on one of the towels. The floor hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. There were coffee stains on the curtain, and smudges on the window. One day I rolled back the bedcovers, and discovered an empty, wrinkled pillowcase that had been forgotten there (dirty? clean?). It really made me wonder what else might be dirty in ways that are not visible. August 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by busy but beautiful city hotel Sometimes a bit overcrowded. Large hotel, but staff and views and comfort are tip top. Staff makes you feel like you are in a boutique hotel. Bravo. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful stay Our room could not have been better...clean, comfy and INCREDIBLE view. We upgraded to club level which was well worth it in NYC and the staff in club lounge was super pleasant. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Excellent location...not right smack in Times Square but a few walking blocks from the crowds and also very close to Central Park and attractions. July 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service I stayed over 40 nights at this hotel in 2012. I have noticed that the service level has gone down in some areas and the upkeep of the rooms need a better job and more eye for detail. The hotel is a great location for my work needs but I have been considering changing locations because of the service level i have been used to at this location. I hope they fix it ! January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very, very hard working and friendly staff Christmastime in New York. Very, very busy time, and stress is at an elevated level with shoppers and customers. I saw everyone from the front desk crew, to the bellman, to the Concierge, to the management display class, helpfulness, and smiles. Outstanding staff, excellent new, upgraded rooms at a fair price for New York. My first choice when coming to the city! December 14, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by all aspects outstanding Totally pleased with stay; room location and furnishings excellant. Great location; ideal accesss to all points of interest. Staff exemplary; day shift doorman off-duty responded to our need of .asistance for subway directions; extremely helpful in a most customer friendly manner would most assuredly recommend hotel as #1 choice. WILL RETURN; GREAT STAY; THANKS! April 20, 2013
<<prev 15 16 17 18 19 ... 76 next>>