Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Didn't know our room was next to a room where a young woman was murdered in 1965. I was somewhat upset about that and I really didn't get a good night's sleep. Overall, I've stayed at this Sheraton before and will do so again, but not on the 6th floor. Also, there was a stinch, sewer smell, maintenance really needs to check that out, all the above was mentioned to clerk when we checked out. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond While we only live 20 miles outside San Antonio, my wife and I made a reservation at this hotel to celebrate our 31st anniversary. Location was key as we were going to take in a show at the Majestic (across the street). I was initially concerned about the mediocre reviews however the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Customer service (on the phone) took my special requests and Jacques (at check-in) confirmed that all was in order. We were booked in a club level corner room that was large, tastefully decorated and had quality linens on the bed. Definitely a touch of class. The only shortcoming during our stay was due to street noise. Although we were on the 11th floor, street noise was still quite loud.....but that is to be expected with any hotel in the heart of the city. Thank you for making our stay special. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Staff, The PERFECT Hotel Experience Too many words to aptly describe the level of excellence that my family and I experienced during our stay! It was just MAGIC!! From beginning to end! EXTRA SPECIAL emphasis on, and much gratitude to Amy, and Victoria at the Front Desk, as well as Steve, the bellman who so graciously and sweetly welcomed and assisted us upon our arrival! The ENTIRE staff here has been nothing but pleasant smiles, even when just communicating over the phone! We only wish we could have stayed longer. It was our family's first visit to San Antonio, and sadly, it was for a funeral of a loved one. But, as I've said, the experience (because of all of these people who very obviously enjoy and take great pride in their jobs here at this beautifully charming hotel) felt more like a 4 STAR Resort VACATION! Amy, I have to say went so far above and beyond to make us, me specifically, feel welcome, comfortable, appreciated....even uplifted! She very much personalized our experience, and you couldn't ask for better service than that!! THANK YOU, and keep up the GREAT WORK! September 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible My company has stayed at this hotel for many years and we are extremely disappointed in the renovations. The wonderful original dark wood in the lobby has been destroyed by painting it white and covering up the supporting columns with white sheets and colored lights. The lobby looks like a night club. The integrity of the historic hotel is gone! Now I move on to the rooms, the bathrooms need new towels and plastic cups . . . please. The wonderful staff the Gunter had for years is gone as well, I can only assume they were forced out and replaced with "clueless" staff. Will not be staying again! Very disappointed! Margaret C Williams April 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hit or Miss Our stay started with the incredibly unhelpful woman at the front desk informing me that the suite I believed I had reserved was just a living room with no bedroom. Even though we had also reserved a bedroom. She moved us into a regular king size room, without any discussion as to the availability of an actual suite we which had obviously been trying to reserve. My problem with this is two fold as (1) I felt she was incredibly short and not accommodating at all (my husband and I were traveling with our four year old and two year old) and (2) I am at a loss for why your website would have ever advertised a living room without a bed room. There was no clear mention anywhere that there was no bedroom with this living room. I have stayed at many hotels and booked considerable number of rooms online and I have never experienced anything like this. Onto the next problem, we were moved into a room that had standing water on the floor. Standing water. Thankfully, everyone of the bellhops we encountered at the hotel were outstanding and he helpfully had our room changed and moved all our belonging to it. The restaurant in the hotel is another example of the downfalls of the hotel. The service was nonexistent and our bill was incorrect twice. On an up note the valets were fantastic. They were quick with the car or an apology for the wait, and just generally delightful. My sisters wedding was also well done. We cannot say enough good things about Mustafa. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool, Historic Hotel The Gunter is a piece of San Antonio history, but that comes with a bit of a price. The rooms are decent sized, but bathrooms a little small. It does have a little bit of a musty smell and the AC runs all the time to keep the room cool. The WiFi would not work on my phone or iPad - - the front desk girl said it would only work on a laptop. I'm not an IT geek, but that just doesn't make sense. Also, SPG Gold really doesn't mean anything anymore (and we are Starwood Vacation Club members). You have to pay extra to get Club Level rooms and access. Doesn't seem right. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geat This was a great experience. The SPG club is fabulous and the attended was right on top of everything. The front Desk people were amazing. The hotel is beautiful and immaculately maintained January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasant surprise We originally booked this hotel because of the price and good reviews. We look forward to our next trip to San Antonio as we know exactly where we'll be staying. Your hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely recommend to our friends. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made our anniversary! During checkin, the staff casually asked the reason for our stay, and I mentioned it was our anniversary. Since we were redeeming points for a free stay, I was pleasantly surprised that we were given a prime corner room on a top floor! We went out for dinner and dancing, and when we returned, the staff (no idea who, or I would mention them by name) had placed a tray with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a surprise! My wife thought it was all my idea, so of course I took the credit, but that was such a thoughtful touch by the staff! Please thank them for me. Our Anniversary stay was wonderful! Thank you! The hotel is a 100+ year old landmark, but is nicely renovated and up to date. As you can see, the staff is great, and really makes the difference. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our time was great The hotel is beautiful, clean and the beds are comfortable. The Club Lounge is wonderful. The bathrooms are tight though. That would be my only complaint. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable. A few blocks from Riverwalk but close enough to all the excitement and far enough from the noise. My family and I had a great time for our first time being in San Antonio. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Great downtown location and the blend of an old hotel with recent refurbishments. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location A very nice location and close to many restaurants and shops. The hotel itself has a very nice charm, yet still modern facilities. Great for family or business. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True San Antonio Experience When you travel for work and stay at chains you sometimes wake up and forget what city you are in. Not so with the Gunter. This is a great historic hotel with uniquely decorated rooms. The staff is consistently friendly, efficient and ready to assist with whatever you may need. Because of this I frequently stay at the Gunter when in town for business, Fiesta events, or concerts at the Majestic and Empire theaters. All are within walking distance and you avoid the hassle of post event traffic. Plus you can grab a quick nightcap at Barrons which has a beautiful antique bar. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Historic Property With GREAT STAFF Sheraton Gunter is a beautiful old historic property, wonderfully restored. The location is superb, a block from the Riverwalk and walkable to all the downtown sites. Staff is outstanding, exceeding expectations in every respect. The front desk, concierge, reastaurant staff and bell staff were ready and willing to do all they could to make our stay the best it could be. They only criticism might be that the street noise at times was an issue, but ear plugs were provided in the bathroom and only were needed for a very brief time one evening. We thoroughly enjoyed evverything about the Gunter. If you want a cookie cutter hotel, this is not for you, but if you want to enjoy old world flavor, the Gunter is exceptional. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room 620 (636) Very interesting room..... I will be back!!! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Beautiful Hotel! Very Friendly and Helpful Staff. The best part was that it was pet friendly MIA & Henry are part of our family and we were happy to know we can stay at an elegant hotel and not have to downsize just because we have a pet and for no extra cost. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, Pleasantly Historical Hotel This hotel was built in the very early 1900s. They have done a great job of keeping in touch with the historical roots of the building. It is conveniently located right downtown. There is plenty of parking across the street if you choose not to go with the valet parking. If you opt for valet parking they have implemented a text based program, which makes retrieving your car extremely painless. The renovations to the lobby and club lounge are now complete. Amazing. The lobby looks great, and the club lounge is huge! This property is the best of the SPG options in town. The touch of old San Antonio and a great staff make it an easy choice. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Riverwal location, very clean & historic building I am in sales and cover San Antonio and this is my place of choice. I really love the history behind this hotel and it is a walk back in time. With that note, please know the bathrooms are small. Some of the rooms are small. If you have ever traveled to Europe or visited historic buildings, you know they were smaller than we are used to today. I've stayed at many hotels in S.A. and most of the rooms are this size. Why stay at a cookie cutter hotel, same old, same old? Try this place. Parking is a little pricey at $28 for valet (only option), but they are fast and your car stays safe & covered. You want your car covered out of the Texas sun. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE SHERATON HOTEL Best location in downtown San Antonio ,with walking distance for cafés, restaurants, mall, Riverwalk,etc... Professional staff . They just renovate most areas, like the lobby, restaurant and bar, Club Floor and Platinum SPG lounge, and rooms. Remember that is a 100 year hotel, with a lot of history behind the walls. Good rest and sleep quality. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service & tradition This is probably the most positive hotel experience I've had in two decades. The hotel knew that I was in town for a special occasion, which they recognized up on my arrival. Both the GM and the Director of Rooms introduced themselves upon check in. Today, so many hotels focus on hitting the minimum threshold, which they see as points and minimum benefits per the loyalty program. This classic hotel's team focuses instead on guest recognition and guest needs. There are a ton of hotel options in San Antonio, but I will only choose the Gunter in the future. Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, which looks gorgeous. Great location and well-appointed hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location cannot be better Travelled with my in laws + 4 year old daughter and at the end of our trip we all could not be happier. 2 doors away from the Children Museum 1 block away from a river walk entrance and 5 minutes away walking distance from everything we wanted to visited or take a tour for. This is the 3rd hotel we have stayed in the river walk area and by far the less noisy and take in account that it was Fiesta time.Due to our status we had access to the Business Lounge which was great May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprised On all my trips to San Antonio I had never used this hotel and I hesitated because it had a low star rating? What a delight--the lobby was great, my room was large, well decorated and had real wood shutters! My dinner one night was a sandwich in the bar very late and all was very good. The front desk representative who checked me in was the most delightful friendly person I have met at a front desk in over 40 years of traveling--Victoria! I will definitely return here. January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax We live in San Antonio, and have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter several times, just for a getaway. This was our first visit since the renovation was completed. Very, very well done. LOVE the new look, yet still captures the history of the hotel. Location is convenient to Majestic Theatre right across the street, Buckhorn Saloon a block away, riverwalk across the street, and San Fernando Cathedral - a couple of blocks - but a must go to at 9 p.m. for the light show. Fantastic! Joseph in the Club Level made us feel welcome, and went out of his way to make sure all guests were relaxed and taken care of with great appetizers and beverages. Great restaurant and café, and wine bar is really, really nice. ONLY issue we had - at check in I asked for a 4 p.m. checkout since we are Gold members. I was told Starwood had changed their rules recently, and now only Platinum members were given 4 p.m. checkout. The latest for Gold was now 1 p.m. I called Starwood from the room (which was very lovely, by the way) and was told there was no such rule change. I called down to the desk, spoke to the same staff member, and this time she told me it was a rule of Sheraton Gunter - they grant 4 p.m. checkout only to Platinum members. I am calling the hotel manager, Steve Cook, today. Don't agree with "random" hotel rules that violate Starwood policy for members. Other than that, we loved our stay, and will definitely visit the hotel again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Hotel With Character "They don't build them this way anymore", is the best way to describe the Sheraton Gunter. A grand hotel with ageless architecture which is carefully and well-maintained. The hotel's staff is as friendly and customer oriented as any that I have met. Restaurant and room service provide excellent food. I would stay here again. Thanks for your fine service and hospitality. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Security Security personnel are non-existent at this hotel. Had two ladies fighting in the hallway (club level). Called security repeatedly, and they did not come and do anything about it. Over 30 minutes of listening to them cursing & swearing right outside our door. Lasted until past midnight. Across the hall, guests had left a dog in the room. The dog barked non-stop all night. Again, security refused to address the situation. They actually had the nerve to get upset with another guest in our hall at 3AM, asking the other guest what they expected the hotel to do. Totally unacceptable behavior for a hotel of this caliber. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere I have stayed at many hotels but non with the ambience that the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio has. I don't know if it's the historic building or it's employees or both. Whatever it is, it's the best hotel and my entire family's favorite hotel. The moment you walk in, you feel relaxed at at ease. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff, Location, and Atmosphere I stayed for only one night in a gorgeous suite here. I used an upgrade request, and boy, did it pay off. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating, and the whole look and feel of the hotel was spectacular. I was born and raised in San Antonio, so this is the first time I've stayed at such a grand hotel in this city. The location was in a prime area, so although parking was a little high for my taste, we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. My only complaint would be the small bathrooms in the room, but this is an old building, so I won't deduct points for that. It was by no means unclean, just on the small side for 4 girls staying in one room. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio This hotel was wonderful. Beautifully restored historic hotel with very professional staff, clean rooms and nice extras. Centrally located in downtown--only mintues to Riverwalk and The Alamo. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference at the Gunter Outstanding service and food. Could not have been better. April 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>