Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 21 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 413 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere I have stayed at many hotels but non with the ambience that the Sheraton Gunter in San Antonio has. I don't know if it's the historic building or it's employees or both. Whatever it is, it's the best hotel and my entire family's favorite hotel. The moment you walk in, you feel relaxed at at ease. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff, Location, and Atmosphere I stayed for only one night in a gorgeous suite here. I used an upgrade request, and boy, did it pay off. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating, and the whole look and feel of the hotel was spectacular. I was born and raised in San Antonio, so this is the first time I've stayed at such a grand hotel in this city. The location was in a prime area, so although parking was a little high for my taste, we were able to walk anywhere we needed to go. My only complaint would be the small bathrooms in the room, but this is an old building, so I won't deduct points for that. It was by no means unclean, just on the small side for 4 girls staying in one room. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio This hotel was wonderful. Beautifully restored historic hotel with very professional staff, clean rooms and nice extras. Centrally located in downtown--only mintues to Riverwalk and The Alamo. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay! May 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but tiny rooms The hotel is nice, and close to the River-walk, but the room was very very small. New York City has bigger rooms. I could wash my hands in the bathroom sink while sitting on the toilet. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Brought in the new yr at your hotel and I enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff and rooms were very welcoming. I will definitely be visting with my family there again soon. Thank you January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jewel in the Heart of San Antonio This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel in several years, and it will be the first of many. The newly renovated Club Lounge is top notch and when I saw that the offerings were fried quail and lamp chops I was hooked. The complimentary beer and wine doesn't hurt either, as well as the congenial Club Lounge Staff, particularly Joseph.... August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run down property and horrible experience! Stayed for 3 nights and had to change rooms 3 times. First Room - Filthy carpet where my white socks got black walking, found TV remote under the comforter which had big stains and wonder if sheets were ever changed, desk chair was like 25 years old and entire fabric was ripped off. Bathroom looks like never maintained and dirty, Heater did not work Had blood stains on bathroom walls. I requested room change and 2nd room which i was sent was dirty and WIFI did not work so asked to move to another room. 3rd room was little better, however very sub standard rooms. 2nd night my heater did not work which was on Saturday and since they were sold out i had to sleep in cold room. I had made very clear to have engineer fix the heater in morning which did not happen so i had to request front desk to fix. The heater was fixed and i got sleep on my last night. I experienced so many issues during my stay and NOT once I was contacted from any managers to find out if everything was fine. After all this issues, I expected some sort of compensation for this horrible experience. This property is completely run down and i just don't understand how Starwood allows such poor performing properties to run??? October 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too outdated coupled with lack of cleanliness I booked a two night stay at Gunter for a short Spring Break trip to San Antonio with my family. We picked this hotel based on its location along with a semi-favorable reviews on trip advisor. The first room we had checked into has carpets that were folding up and was very outdated. We would be fine with that (we've stayed in several old/quaint hotels in the past), but it was evident that cleaning had been neglected for a while. The handicap/safety bar was loose from the wall and tape (?) was used to hold it in place. We had to get another room. The second room (the staff was understanding) as marginally better but not enough to make us feel like we wanted to be in the room for any length of time. Again the room felt dirty. Loose change could be seen in the corners of the room (and it wasn't ours!). In short, we felt the hotel had reached a tipping point in terms of uncleanliness. If a few items were out of order they probably would of been dealt with, but with so much on their plate they probably felt overwhelmed. In short we ended up checking out early and made the trip back home. Not much of a Spring Break but we tried to make the best of it. Not something we would of expected at an SPG hotel. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by honesty of staff I was a guest at your hotel on 8/6 with Delta Airlines. We are new to your hotel and as a flight attendant who has stayed in San Antonio for years, I am very glad to be staying at your beautiful establishment. After 26 years of flying I have never left anything behind in my room. This was not the case for my stay with you as I left my I-pad on the desk. I didn't realize it until I got home later that evening. You can imagine my anxiousness. I immediately called the hotel and was transferred to loss prevention. I spoke to Joseph and to my surprise he told me it had been turned in by housekeeper Rachel. I couldn't believe it! He told me to call his boss, Jimmy, the next morning to make arrangements for its return. When I spoke to Jimmy the next morning he was so gracious and told me how things like this were normally handled. He shipped it overnight to my home and I received it the next morning. I can not thank everyone involved enough, especially Rachel. Her honesty and integrity is something I don't see very often in my line of work! I have told this story to many of my friends and co-workers and everyone has the same shocked look on their face as I did when Joseph told me he had my I-pad. Please except my sincere thanks to everyone involved. I hope to come back soon and thank them all in person. August 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT A GREAT STAY Was here over the weekend with my 3 teenage kids. Requested early check-in by noon and room wasn't ready til after 3pm. Some kind of yellow stains on the conforter. Went to take a shower and there was a used bandaid in the shower, was sure then that the room hadn't been cleaned completly, had housekeeping come up and remove the bandaid. Was told sorry that the lady who cleans normaly was on vacation. Asked for them to coem clean the shower and now one ever showed up. The best part of our trip was the Club access.. Friendly Staff and Food was good and fresh. No I will not be staying here again. Also for the price really needs some inprovements in the bathroon area. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing! We've had a lot of good experiences at Sheratons, but not this one. We asked for feathers to be removed prior to our arrival-they were not; we took them off the bed and put them in a corner, and they were simply left there by the cleaning staff. The toilet hadn't been checked, and didn't work, which was hugely embarrassing at 5am; and the internet was down, with no estimate for a fix, for the two days we were there, which was a massive work problem. Not impressive, especially for Platinum guests. At least the reception guy on checkout gave us 7,000 points, which at least was something. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but will not be staying any longer... My family and I have stayed at this hotel several times (4) but this will probably be the last. The hotel is good overall, great value, great location and fantastic staff that meet our needs/ concerns. We were highly disappointed that they greatly reduced their SPG club lounge hours and it has become a hangout for kids and loud groups of younger adults.. There is no longer breakfast or evening reception services on the weekend; including Friday when the majority of people stay at hotels. This policy has recently changed in the past 2 weeks with new ownership and because of this, we will be staying at other hotels that have better values for SPG members. We were very disappointed with this change.... January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Cool Hotel I've really enjoyed by two stays here when coming to San Antonio for business. The hotel is in a very cool historic building that they are in the process of renovating. Great looking lobby. Slight dust and work noises, but nothing much really. Once they are totally done, it's going to be one sharp looking hotel. The front desk is always very friendly, outgoing and seem to genuinely want to help make your stay great. Located a short walk from the Riverwalk and other attractions. If you are not RIGHT on the Riverwalk,this is a great place to stay. I also enjoy the bar as well. Friendly bartenders that pour good drinks and are good with conversation. This is def my go to place when coming to San Antonio. November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by near downton confortable hotel, close to the downton kind employees August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I gave one star because I had to The room was very drafty - I don't think there was any insulation at all around our room. We could hear the neighbors coughing through the night and his electric razor the next morning. The hotel stank - smelled very musty - like there had been a flood and not properly cleaned and dried. The carpet in our room was filthy. We requested a king size room - I spoke with Jason prior to our arrival and he confirmed that our reservation was for a king size deluxe room. When we arrived, we received a room with two queen beds. We called down to the front desk and spoke with Amy. She was very irritated that she had to deal with our situation because in her words, "I'm off the clock!" As it turned out, a gentleman traveling alone in our group had received a king room and he traded with us - therefore not causing Amy any more grief because she was being inconvenienced. We came with the group of dancers and cheer squads for the Alamo Bowl. The food that was served to these young women, who are by definition very much athletes, was horrendous. We/they were served a cold soggy egg burrito for breakfast and a cold sandwich for lunch the first day - lunch didn't include a beverage. The second day the athletes were served a biscuit sandwich and a poor excuse for a Caesar salad (which consisted mostly of lettuce with less than an ounce of chicken) again without a beverage. This was the last meal these athletes received prior to their performance in the Alamo Bowl - we were with them for the game, rode back on the same bus which arrived after 11:00 pm that night. Thankfully, we were able to provide our granddaughter a hot meal from another facility prior to departing for the Alamo Bowl. Other girls who were traveling with a chaperone didn't have that luxury. Most places that include breakfast and lunch in their program provide a healthy buffet with a variety of foods - I guess you're not most places. Needless to say, I will not be staying at your facility again and will recommend others to find different lodging should they be visiting San Antonio. With the exception of Amy, the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful .... this is the only positive to our visit. Actually, the reservation number above was for an additional night to our stay with the Worldstrides Heritage Group. We had planned on staying over and celebrating New Year's Eve in San Antonio - but the room was so horrid, we decided to travel back home instead. January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed Room was extremly dusty and not properly cleaned I have pictures to prove this August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC SAN ANTONIO HOTEL The Gunter is a Great Hotel with a superb location in downtown San Antonio, near everything, including the River walk. Houston street is the one with restaurants and cafés , just in front of the Majestic Theater. The new lobby make a nice contrast withe the old school luxury hotel atmosphere. More than 100 years of history. Very good bar and hotel restaurant The Market, with terrace. If you reserve a Club Room the best ones you can use the Club Lounge, and Oasis for relax and drinks, with a nice tv and more. The Staff is very Professional and friendly. The rooms are not big but very clean and with all the amenities you need for a fantastic rest and accommodation. Mr Cook the GM and all the staff and managers are doing an excellent job so every guest have a fantastic experience in the Gunter my Home in SA. Old School and nice Texas Atmosphere. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I love the charm and character of this older hotel. Bed was comfy, linens were great, hotel staff exhibited that great Texas hospitality. I'm looking forward to staying here again. January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs to improve Inter-Personal skills The hotel overall is fine. I do have some constructive criticisms which are meant to improve the performance of the hotel. First of all, no recognition was provided to a Gold status member. Not even an acknowledgement of the status. There is a special line for members at check-in but no one is there to assist. If staff cannot go above and beyond to extend some extra favors, e.g. make them feels special, at the very least acknowledge their membership. For example, how hard is it to say, "Sir/Ma'am thank you for being a loyal member of SPG or thank you for being a Gold or Platinum member."? Second of all, if staff do not know the answer to a question be polite and say "Let me ask a manager who may help you with a question." In my case, the staff answered my question wrongly and I was forced to go to the Members benefits online to prove my point. I don't have to go to this extent. If a customer feels strongly about their position, acknowledge that he/she might be right and don't encourage them to prove themselves correct. The staff can simply say "Sir/Ma'am you may be right on this let me call a Manager who might be able to shed better light on this." An important goal of a customer engagement (as far as customer service is concerned) is to make the customer feel comfortable and satisfied. This is the industry standard. Even if the customer representative is correct in his/her position but he/she managed to cause the customer dissatisfaction then the overall outcome is not favorable to both. You will just alienate your customer and fail to gain their loyalty. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Classic Hotel in Downtown San Antonio The Sheraton Gunter Hotel is a classic with the beautiful entry and lobby one expects to find in a historical hotel located in old San Antonio. The rooms, service and food are great and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located across from the old Majestic Theater and is within easy walking distance of everything you want to see and do such as The RiverWalk, Alamo, and great restaurants. A Trolley will take you to the Mexican Market for about 25cents! Unless you want to go to the beautiful shopping malls you can park your car in the hotel lot and forget it. We come to San Antonio for 1 or 2 nights often and always stay at the Gunter. There is a nice Club Room on the 12th Floor with good wines and food. July 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever I have never wrote a review before but after my stay at this hotel I decided that I needed to for the sake of other future guest. There were some positives but so many negatives. First we called 8 hours before arriving and asked to have a roll away bed available for are stay the staff on the phone said yes that this was not a problem and that this would be available when we arrived. When we arrived there were no roll way beds available so no big deal we called guest services and the sweetest gentleman sized one of the two rooms we reserved and brought one over. We had to call back downstairs to get a cot since the roll away would not fit in the 2nd room. The staff on the phone told us there were plenty available so to go out and when we got back they would send one up. When we got back from the Riverwalk the cot was not there and there were no more available so we had to sleep on the floor. The TV in this room did not work when we mentioned it no one was ever sent up to fix it and when we mentioned it again at checkout they didn't even ask which room did not have a working TV all they could do was say sorry and look at me in a dismissive manner. The 3rd strike was the next day we went to use the pool and it was closed with no sign on the door or anything. We went downstairs and asked if they could let us in and the front desk staff said yes they must of forgot to open it mind you this was at 9:00 am and the pool hours are 5:00 am to 12:00 am. So we say ok no problem we take the kids back upstairs by the pool door and wait for an additional 10-15 minutes and still are unable to get in. So we call back downstairs and they notify that the pool will not be open till further notice with no explanation or apologies. I'm sorry for this long drawn out review but I can say when you are 2 moms traveling with 2 babies and 2 ten year olds you can see how no bed to sleep on, no TV, and no swimming pool is not much of a vacation!!! I can say that the valet was awesome and the gentleman that brought a rollaway to 1 of the rooms, and the gentleman that helped with are luggage at arrival were great they were very personable and helpful. I think what upset me about the entire stay was the lack of empathy and customer service I know there is nothing you can do if the pool is not working this is just an unfortunate thing. But as for the rest it could have been prevented or there could have been some effort to fix the problems but there was nothing and this is what caused so much of the dissatisfaction. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORSE EXPERIENCE EVER I went to the gunter twice, in a period of two weeks. Once right before Christmas and once right after. The service was mediocre at best, the valley and bell boy's where excellent. We where sent 3 blow driers that did not work. Twice we ate at the restaurant for breakfast and the service was the worse service we have ever had. I would tell the guy making the omelets "light oil" and with an attitude he would do what he wanted totally drench them in oil. This happened with me, my wife and daughter, then on our second trip i brought my mother in law with us and the same thing happened. The service was horrible. To be frank horrible doesnt describe it. The waiters where not really taking care of the table. It was bad. As an SPG customer this was disappointing. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by gunter review I have stayed at the Gunter many times over the past 20 years so they must do something right. we always have enjoyed the proximity to the river walk, without being on the walk. I will say the front desk staff on this trip was not as caring and accommodating as in the past. To the point at check in I almost turned around and walked out. 4 hours later, after leaving and calling back to confirm the room, "Amy" whom answered was very pleasant and made things right. My first encounter with Elizabeth was terrible. I also noticed that food trays from room service stayed in the hallways as long as 24 hours, not a good example of cleanliness. Over all the bell staff, and valet did an amazing job as usual, and the Café was amazing. We did get shorted towels, however we called and they made things work. We realize it was a busy weekend due to weddings etc, however our opinion is that we had just moved over from the Mokara, on the river walk due to a meeting I had, and they went out of their way to give you that "WOW" felling. I got that in the Café only with the Gunter on this trip July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel allows pets This was my second time staying at this hotel and I believe it was even better the second time around! The staff is always so friendly and helpful. I was allowed to bring my dog, which took off a load of stress since I didn't have to board him. The staff was even friendly towards my dog! We were there seeing the Blue Man Group and the hotel was right across the street from the Majestic Theater. Talk about convienience. It was a very pleasant stay. I will definately go back to the Gunter Hotel and recommend it to my friends. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more First time in SA. As Starwwod owners, this was the first hotel that did not honor a late checkout request. The Restaurant Market on Houston is not ready for prime time. The service was ...odd, the food, bad. On the upside, we realized my husband had left some clothing articles in the closet. We live in Ca. My call was promptly responded to and the clothes were found and are being returned. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room, could be cleaner Great stay overall with all equipment in good condition and 2 Showtime channels make for good entertainment, but tiled flooring for some reason was not very clean. You can't tell walking around barefoot unless you have sensitive feet or until you go to shower and the black grime comes off in the wet tub. Unfortunately I was too busy with work to use the fitness room or pool. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a wonderful time staying at your hotel, it is centrally located and everything is near by. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Front Desk Service Great new renovation but horrible customer service. I had a friend driving through Texas and wanted to pay for them to stay at the Sheraton Gunter, I thought they would really enjoy it. After I made the reservation I called the front desk and told them that I would be paying for the hotel room with the credit card the reservation was booked under. No problem they said (after I was on hold for about 3 mins) they would email me a credit card authorization form and I just needed to send it back. I waited about half an hour and still had no email, the reservation was for the next night. I finally called back and got the CC auth form. My friends finally arrived into town and they had a late late check in (2am) so the hotel charged them for two nights. FINE! No problem, but then I get a call from my friends saying not only have they been charged once but they have been charged TWICE! I was supposed to pay for this reservation, this was a gift and I made it very clear to the front desk that this was a very special occasion. When I call the hotel, I understand things happen, they slip through the cracks but it's the way the mistakes are handled that make a place a one star or a five star. Five star hotels make mistakes but their employees are trained to handle them. After being passed around for a few minutes from person to person finally I talk to Melissa C at the front desk on Tuesday, June 10th at 6pm and she says "oh yes..they were charged for two nights, there isn't anything I'm authorized to do" But if I'd like to call back some other time I can talk to the revenue manager Cindy Cassias. I told Melissa that I had spoken to several front desk agents over the phone and was know wondering where all my personal information I sent them was? My credit card number, address etc? She finally agreed to check the front desk email and found my email. It had been sitting there in the in box. Melissa also mentioned that there had been no notes in my reservation and no mention of a credit card authorization. It will be easier for me to transfer money into my friends account that to wait for the Sheraton Gunter to figure this situation out. She did say she could refund the purchase and then charge my card, like a huge mistake had not just taken place. Not only was I embarrassed that my friend had to have these charges on her card, thinking the room (that turned into two nights) had been taken care of but I was embarrassed I put her in the Sheraton Gunter. Melissa was flippant and offered no help what so ever. She only offered what I could do to. Like call back at a later time. Mistakes happen…but training your staff on how to handle them is what makes a huge difference. June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic hotel near San Antonio's River Walk This hotel has lots of history in and around its location which is situated just a few blocks (short walk) from the Alamo. However, because of the Gunter's status as an historic hotel, renovations have been limited in some areas - bathrooms are smaller than those found in more modern hotels and standard room sizes tend to be somewhat smaller as well. The staff was great. The hotel was under renovation during our stay which likely took away from some of the finer points the hotel has to offer. There is a pool but it was not heated while we were there even though the website info said it was...there is also a "whiirlpooll" (not to be confused with a hot tub) but it was not working properly and barely functioned...if you didn't mind the water being cold. $28 valet daily parking can add up, too. October 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>