Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 21 años de edad o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 441 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great environment and location We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new. Very clean and pleasant decor. Perfect location to wander the streets of downtown and the Riverwalk. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by magical at Christmas time A wonderful location, close to everything we wanted to do. The wi-fi was a problem, kept dropping off my laptop, and it seems unfair to want to charge a separate fee for each device, i.e. laptop, smartphone, ipad. OVera;; we loved this fine, historic hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Room Expierence * Desk chair is so close to the bed. (agaist the bed) * Banquest chair instead of desk chair! * Bath tub calukings showed multiple balck moldings. * Bath room window blocking (films?) has partially scratches. I do have photo to back up. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love Benjamin. We had a terrific one night stay at the Sheraton. We took advantage of the gold membership lounge on the 12th floor. The gentleman that worked there was fantastic. Benjamin thanks for the great service and the laughs. See you soon! November 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel & Great Location The Gunter is a lovely boutique hotel located 2 short blocks from the riverwalk, 4 to the Alamo, a trolley stop at the door, with restaurants, drug store, bagels and coffee shop nearby. What else could you want? Super helpful & friendly staff, stately charm and just the right amount of elegance with lovely rooms and comfy beds. I was MORE than pleased with our stay. We loved the old hotel switchboard on display in the lobby. I would recommend the Gunter to anyone. It was a perfect gem, glad we found it. December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Sales and Catering Staff Around Our association hosted a conference at the Sheraton Gunter and the staff treated us very well. They were very accommodating and provided the best atmosphere for the conference. And the food was absolutely amazing. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is so great! Have always loved this hotel and now even more after the new remodeling they did! Everyone is so friendly here and it feels like home! Have been coming here for over 20 years!!! May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff I have always been impressed with the friendly staff and the responsive valets. The rooms are always clean and tidy. The restyled restaurant was inviting. Thanks May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool hotel This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and pillows. Location convenient. AC wasn't as cold as I would like. Only cool to 70 degrees. Otherwise great place and staff very friendly and helpful. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is visually appealing yet comfortable. The hotel has a very attractive look to the inerior yet was comfortable and relaxing. The front desk staff was professional and very helpful. Our room met all of our expectations and more. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible!!! My husband and I were supposed to go to San Antonio together to a convention but due to a back surgery, he could not go. I went alone, stayed in the Sheraton Gunter and had a wonderful experience even though I did not have my husband there. The breakfasts were good and the evening repast. The last day my flight did not leave until 9 pm, therefore I was concerned about sightseeing then having to fly without showering. I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I was out, and then I was able to use the pool shower and the pool so that I was refreshed for my flight!! I am soooo appreciative of that "extra" touch for me!! Thank you sooo much. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay One of the best Sheratons I have stayed at. The amenities are great and the location is close to the Riverwalk. Only negative was the hot tub was normally not hot enough. June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We were in San Antonio as part of a cross country driving vacation. We were checked in by Patrick who was incredibly helpful. After we checked Patrick helped us with recommendations of things to do, places to go, directions and restaurant suggestions. He was right on with everything. The hotel and our room was very nice but our room was somewhat worn. The carpet needs to be replaced. The leather desk chair was torn in several places. The bath and shower was clean but also worn. The shower head is unusually low on the wall making it a bit difficult for an average sized person to shower. The service of the staff, however, made up for the room. April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs to improve Inter-Personal skills The hotel overall is fine. I do have some constructive criticisms which are meant to improve the performance of the hotel. First of all, no recognition was provided to a Gold status member. Not even an acknowledgement of the status. There is a special line for members at check-in but no one is there to assist. If staff cannot go above and beyond to extend some extra favors, e.g. make them feels special, at the very least acknowledge their membership. For example, how hard is it to say, "Sir/Ma'am thank you for being a loyal member of SPG or thank you for being a Gold or Platinum member."? Second of all, if staff do not know the answer to a question be polite and say "Let me ask a manager who may help you with a question." In my case, the staff answered my question wrongly and I was forced to go to the Members benefits online to prove my point. I don't have to go to this extent. If a customer feels strongly about their position, acknowledge that he/she might be right and don't encourage them to prove themselves correct. The staff can simply say "Sir/Ma'am you may be right on this let me call a Manager who might be able to shed better light on this." An important goal of a customer engagement (as far as customer service is concerned) is to make the customer feel comfortable and satisfied. This is the industry standard. Even if the customer representative is correct in his/her position but he/she managed to cause the customer dissatisfaction then the overall outcome is not favorable to both. You will just alienate your customer and fail to gain their loyalty. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel needs updating This is an older hotel that needs updating. The carpets were dirty, the A/C didn't work well, the sink was backed up, etc. etc. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful and historic hotel this was! Great location, walking distance from the "Riverwalk," and much more! September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel This hotel is centrally located downtown and only 1/2 block to the famous Riverwalk. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ear Plugs are not the solution I'm sure you have lots of comments about some rooms being really loud. I give credit to the staff that checked me in but the noise from mechanical systems was very hard to deal with. We also experienced poor service at the bell hop stand and concierge. They seemed very difficult to deal with uninterested in helping guests. The food at the restaurant and coffee shop was great, along with conference food. The rooms are clean and well tended, but the toilet seat was about as old as the hotel and showed it. That too easy a fix not to mention. The location is great and with a few minor changes this should be a flagship location. Best Regards, October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SA Trip Perfect location. Great historic hotel. Very impressed May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location One of the best places to stay at. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay Hotel is newly renovated it is really nice I really liked it. The valet service is a joke though. I had to wait over 15 minutes several times for my car. It was not the valets fault it was just to busy. I know some locations need a valet and this did not just charge me for parking and let me park my car. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Historic Hotel Near Alamo This is currently my favorite hotel in Texas for a number of reasons—but primarily because of the superb job the Sheraton has done in honoring the history of this century-old building and retaining the old world charm. I was upgraded to the Governor’s Suite, which I’ll admit was very kind of the hotel, but the other rooms are equally as nice. The Governor’s Suite was large and spacious. I especially liked the heavy wooden shutters that you could open in the mornings and close in the evenings. While sitting in the lobby, it felt like you were in the early 1900’s…with all the hard wood, marble floors and antique chandeliers. The Alamo is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the River Walk is equally as close. I recommend to SPG Corporate to increase the category designation of this property from Category 2 to Category 3. My opinion is that room quality, guest amenities (including full Club Level lounge), and prime location in historic San Antonio far exceeded expectations for what customers are currently paying/night. Judging by the guest reviews, Hotel Gunter has one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the network, and, I’m giving the hotel 5 stars across all points of evaluation. Keep up the excellent work, Hotel Gunter! Highly recommend this property if you’re considering staying in the San Antonio area. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not live up to my expectations When I made my reservations online I was under the impression that we would recieve breakfast included with our room rate. We could have choosen $166 a night with no breakfast or drinks or $188 a night. We choose the higher of the rates based on the free breakfast and free drinks in the afternoon/evening. We did not get either because the breakfast and drinks is only during the week mon-frid and we were staying here over the weekend. When I asked the front desk about this I was told we were paying more for an updated room which was not the case because we had someone else staying in the hotel for the lower rate and his room looked exactly the same. If this was not something that was offered during the weekend why would this option be offered on the website for a weekend reservation? When we get there we arrive about 2 am on saturday morning only for the lady at the counter to ask if we called to say we would be late, I said no and she said well let me see what we can do. Like we might not have a room. Again I say why would I do that if we made reservations on line and the hotel had already taken out payment for the 2 night reservations. We did end up with a room thank goodness. So I am not pleased with the amount that we spent versus what we thought we were getting. The friendliness of the customer service at the front desk was lacking a great deal. March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel, interesting happenings My overall rating is pretty high, but there were a couple things that were a little odd about our stay. The first was that when we or the room next door flushed the toilet, water started coming out of our faucet. The second was that house keeping knocked on our door at 8:30 wanting to clean our room on the morning of our checkout. Overall, it was a charming hotel in a great location and I would come back. November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mrs Dusting was needed behind the bed and in corners. Dusty air blew in through the heating and cooling vents. November 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Front Desk Service Great new renovation but horrible customer service. I had a friend driving through Texas and wanted to pay for them to stay at the Sheraton Gunter, I thought they would really enjoy it. After I made the reservation I called the front desk and told them that I would be paying for the hotel room with the credit card the reservation was booked under. No problem they said (after I was on hold for about 3 mins) they would email me a credit card authorization form and I just needed to send it back. I waited about half an hour and still had no email, the reservation was for the next night. I finally called back and got the CC auth form. My friends finally arrived into town and they had a late late check in (2am) so the hotel charged them for two nights. FINE! No problem, but then I get a call from my friends saying not only have they been charged once but they have been charged TWICE! I was supposed to pay for this reservation, this was a gift and I made it very clear to the front desk that this was a very special occasion. When I call the hotel, I understand things happen, they slip through the cracks but it's the way the mistakes are handled that make a place a one star or a five star. Five star hotels make mistakes but their employees are trained to handle them. After being passed around for a few minutes from person to person finally I talk to Melissa C at the front desk on Tuesday, June 10th at 6pm and she says "oh yes..they were charged for two nights, there isn't anything I'm authorized to do" But if I'd like to call back some other time I can talk to the revenue manager Cindy Cassias. I told Melissa that I had spoken to several front desk agents over the phone and was know wondering where all my personal information I sent them was? My credit card number, address etc? She finally agreed to check the front desk email and found my email. It had been sitting there in the in box. Melissa also mentioned that there had been no notes in my reservation and no mention of a credit card authorization. It will be easier for me to transfer money into my friends account that to wait for the Sheraton Gunter to figure this situation out. She did say she could refund the purchase and then charge my card, like a huge mistake had not just taken place. Not only was I embarrassed that my friend had to have these charges on her card, thinking the room (that turned into two nights) had been taken care of but I was embarrassed I put her in the Sheraton Gunter. Melissa was flippant and offered no help what so ever. She only offered what I could do to. Like call back at a later time. Mistakes happen…but training your staff on how to handle them is what makes a huge difference. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT A GREAT STAY Was here over the weekend with my 3 teenage kids. Requested early check-in by noon and room wasn't ready til after 3pm. Some kind of yellow stains on the conforter. Went to take a shower and there was a used bandaid in the shower, was sure then that the room hadn't been cleaned completly, had housekeeping come up and remove the bandaid. Was told sorry that the lady who cleans normaly was on vacation. Asked for them to coem clean the shower and now one ever showed up. The best part of our trip was the Club access.. Friendly Staff and Food was good and fresh. No I will not be staying here again. Also for the price really needs some inprovements in the bathroon area. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>