Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique relative à l’âge requis

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 21 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 414 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful and historic hotel this was! Great location, walking distance from the "Riverwalk," and much more! September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel This hotel is centrally located downtown and only 1/2 block to the famous Riverwalk. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location One of the best places to stay at. December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ear Plugs are not the solution I'm sure you have lots of comments about some rooms being really loud. I give credit to the staff that checked me in but the noise from mechanical systems was very hard to deal with. We also experienced poor service at the bell hop stand and concierge. They seemed very difficult to deal with uninterested in helping guests. The food at the restaurant and coffee shop was great, along with conference food. The rooms are clean and well tended, but the toilet seat was about as old as the hotel and showed it. That too easy a fix not to mention. The location is great and with a few minor changes this should be a flagship location. Best Regards, October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SA Trip Perfect location. Great historic hotel. Very impressed May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hospitality - Staff goes out of their way We had a splended stay during the July 4th weekend when we stayed at Sheraton Gunter hotel. I had booked three rooms and Victoria, the front desk Manager went out of her way to upgrade all our rooms to club level, with free parking and even extended our check-out time to 6 pm for all the rooms. The rooms have all been upgraded and the lobby is huge and elegant. We all were so happy with our stay that we are going to stay in this hotel every time we visit San Antonio. Thanks Victoria and thanks Sheraton! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Historic Hotel Near Alamo This is currently my favorite hotel in Texas for a number of reasons—but primarily because of the superb job the Sheraton has done in honoring the history of this century-old building and retaining the old world charm. I was upgraded to the Governor’s Suite, which I’ll admit was very kind of the hotel, but the other rooms are equally as nice. The Governor’s Suite was large and spacious. I especially liked the heavy wooden shutters that you could open in the mornings and close in the evenings. While sitting in the lobby, it felt like you were in the early 1900’s…with all the hard wood, marble floors and antique chandeliers. The Alamo is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the River Walk is equally as close. I recommend to SPG Corporate to increase the category designation of this property from Category 2 to Category 3. My opinion is that room quality, guest amenities (including full Club Level lounge), and prime location in historic San Antonio far exceeded expectations for what customers are currently paying/night. Judging by the guest reviews, Hotel Gunter has one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the network, and, I’m giving the hotel 5 stars across all points of evaluation. Keep up the excellent work, Hotel Gunter! Highly recommend this property if you’re considering staying in the San Antonio area. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not live up to my expectations When I made my reservations online I was under the impression that we would recieve breakfast included with our room rate. We could have choosen $166 a night with no breakfast or drinks or $188 a night. We choose the higher of the rates based on the free breakfast and free drinks in the afternoon/evening. We did not get either because the breakfast and drinks is only during the week mon-frid and we were staying here over the weekend. When I asked the front desk about this I was told we were paying more for an updated room which was not the case because we had someone else staying in the hotel for the lower rate and his room looked exactly the same. If this was not something that was offered during the weekend why would this option be offered on the website for a weekend reservation? When we get there we arrive about 2 am on saturday morning only for the lady at the counter to ask if we called to say we would be late, I said no and she said well let me see what we can do. Like we might not have a room. Again I say why would I do that if we made reservations on line and the hotel had already taken out payment for the 2 night reservations. We did end up with a room thank goodness. So I am not pleased with the amount that we spent versus what we thought we were getting. The friendliness of the customer service at the front desk was lacking a great deal. March 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Parking fees high!!!!! We were there for a anniversary celebration which was held at the hotel. Due to having two small kids and a lot of luggage/gowns/tuxedo, we needed to valet park. Other parking was across A busy street. Even though my brother and his wife were paying a large amount for the reception/dinner there, no compensation was given in reduced valet fee. It was $30.00 a night. There were a large number of family staying there so some reduced valet parking could have been given. Also, cable went out in my room. I called and notified them. Over 3 hours later it still was not working and had to call again. June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Building, Bad Hotel We arrived in the evening and got settled into our room. Ordered room service at 9:45 and were told a 30 minute wait. At 10:43 we received a call from room service that they were out of some of our selections, after reordering and them assuring us that even though our other food was already ready but wouldn't get cold we received our order at 11:10....nothing was hot except for the food that was reordered. The room service staff was full of excuses. They also forgot part of the order. The room never cooled down and stayed quite humid, maintenance came in to try to fix it, banged around on the a/c up in the ceiling, got it cold for about an hour after which we left, when we returned later that evening the room was once again humid and not cold, in fact the sheets felt wet bc of the humidity. We were too tired to argue with the staff about it and choose to tell them in the morning at check-out, the lady acted like she could care less. The restaurant was under staffed and we were sat and then waited for 10 min for someone to come over to get our breakfast orders, eventually got up and walked down the street to bagel shop, which was yummy with great service. Valet service was impeccable, they had our car waiting every time we came down and even helped us clean it out at one point. The hotel itself was beautiful, the staff just isn't attentive and doesn't seem to know what they are doing. Attention to detail is key when in the service industry. July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Secret Heaven I want to keep for myself! A stay at San Antonio Sheraton was nothing short of divine. The warm, caring and delightfully friendly staff is the gateway to a fabulous, fresh, newly designed and renovated Sheraton. It was pure heaven to have the big city cultural attraction with a small city comfort. What a jewel, walking distance from tons of cultural attractions. Even with Fiesta going on, it was a very comfortable city to be exploring. Don't forget to try the Sheraton restaurant, food is fabulous. Location, Location, Location, fresh, crisp, lovely decor, this place is a winner!!! I will be looking at where to buy the lovely duvet and shower curtain. We will be back to the Sheraton San Antonio!!! April 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Gunter not what expected! Hotel was not very clean nor spacious enough for comfort. July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unexpected poor quality for Sheraton This hotel sadly did not live up to our expectations. Our bathroom was not cleaned and was only done after I made a special request. Even after this request the following day the same thing occurred. The Rooms were very small and dated,the bed was very old and squeaky. The Air conditioning very loud and effected my sleep. The Outdoor pool was dirty and needed to be cleaned and was not fit to swim in. A very disappointing experience one which I would not like to repeat and would probably question me staying at a Sheraton hotel in the future. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall not bad The hotel itself is nice. It has lots of historic value and well maintained. At check in I felt rushed though and there wasn't even a line of check-in's, just me. I recommend a little less of getting people rushed through check-in and more time connecting with guests. Judy in the restaurant was extremely nice and very helpful. The food was fantastic as well. One thing that bothered me was the height of the counter that had the bacon, sausage, and potatoes during breakfast. I'm only about 5'6" and the top of the counter was about up to my eyes (it made me feel small). I know this is a historic hotel but I felt more like an employee in my room's bathroom due to the type of toilet and the type of toilet paper. Other than that It was a nice hotel with helpful friendly staff. keep up the good work with the team members! July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consider Valet Parking Fee Be advised that there is only Valet Parking available on site at $28.00 per day. The only option is parking in a public parking space at $9.00 per day across the street. Valet Parking is listed as a plus on the website not a near requirement. The only explanation offered was that other hotels do this also. If you have a car, be sure to consider this in your decision to stay here. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff Great staff. The hotel is beautiful. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Usually dependable but not this time. I have stayed at the Gunter many times. Normally it is great. The Staff is great and I almost always get upgraded to a corner suite. But this time something went wrong. The A/C in room 813/815 (bedroom) did not function properly. the Quesadilla I ordered for room service was terrible (sitting atop blackening lettuce??). And then little things started ticking me off, like why I have to go through 4 independent stations, 3 religious stations, 3 PBS stations, Azteca, Ion and Gala before ever reaching a network station (ABC). Shouldn't those stations be on the back end and the stations people are looking for be first up on the dial?? I think ESPN is like channel 35 or something. Why? And why can I see the unfinished wood supports under the new curtain forms? Could you paint them? And why are the same 4 non-descript pictures (aligned in a little square) in both the bedroom and the living room? And why are the same three meaningless and ugly pictures on the hallway wall repeated again just 30 feet down the hall? And what is the one picture with just some random design? UGLY. Sorry, normally these things wouldn't bother me, but I hate it when things are done halfway. All of those little things at the end are just not paying attention to detail. And why the big revamp of the lobby, but the rooms have the same carpet, chairs, and ugly brown wallpaper? Are you planning to re-do the rooms too? Lastly, the new workout room is nice and roomy -- almost too roomy. Maybe you plan to put in more lifting equipment, or at least some additional weights (other than just dumbells), but more equipment would be nice. The food issue is not new - the Gunter room service has never been great, but it should be at least appetizing to look at. A revamp of that menu would be nice. On the plus side, the lobby re-do is nice and the young lady at the bar was delightful. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with noisy neighbors I had to call 3 times on Saturday night starting at 12:26 AM, to report the noisy next door neighbors. The 3rd time I called, the front desk told me that they were having a party and that security gave them a warning. I told him it was 1 o'clock in the morning and my adjoining room door let all the noise into my room and it sounded like there were 100 people in that room. He said he would attend to it himself, and then the noise stopped. Unexceptable June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review This hotel has historic significance, which is part of its charm, although you don't feel that from the very modern lobby. The bathroom in the room had a certain "industrial" feel to it which was unlike other Starwood properties where I've stayed. In other Starwood hotels, I felt very warm and friendly front desk staffs. The experience here was different. I was also disappointed that when I made my reservation (via phone to SPG). I was told I'd be on a club level for my trip with certain benefits, but there was no club lounge available during my stay. It's a case of missed expectations. The hotel's location is fine--a comfortable walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We ate in the restaurant; the food was good and the staff there was helpful and friendly. I normally don't review hotels, but felt like I needed to with this recent experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by san antonio weekend Wonderful 4 day weekend; in town for family event. Great customer service; answered all questions quickly; helped secure needed wheelchair. Executive lounge staff; bar; restaurant; front desk and concierge/parking staff all were attentive; some calling us by name. Room was large; bed very comfortable. Would like to have seen higher quality towels; but that is the only suggestion to offer and admittingly not that significant. WIll return to SA and will not look for another hotel; location was excellent too February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointing Arrived at the hotel late, Valet guy was on the ball and greeted me immediately, however had to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes to be helped. Front desk clerk did not even mention my Platinum status or even ask about points or welcome gift. Was given a room that appeared to be clean, with the exception of the carpeting and furnishings. Carpet had several stains and had been cleaned so many times that it was loose and had waves in it. Went to the restroom and stepped on the transition from carpet to the tile, and was stabbed in the foot by the tack strip on the carpet. I would never stay at this location again. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good features, however.... Upon check-in I was informed by the desk attendant that your hotel had a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. When I checked the water temperature of the pool and hot tub after dropping my luggage off in my room the temperature was at 72 degrees! It was not warm enough for me to enter. I mentioned this at the front desk they told the appropriate hotel personnel. When I checked the water temperature 2 days later it had risen to 78 degrees. It was still not warm enough for me to enter. My suggestion would be for the desk personnel to not inform guests that the pool and hot tub are heated when they are lukewarm at best. November 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the experience I expected. The Club Room & Lounge room was not even close to being worth the value; tiny and poor selections available. Room carpet was significantly water stained inside room, mirror cracked. The rest of the room was very well appointed, though. Street noise inexplicably loud all night for being over ten stories up; windows clearly need better insulation. Made it hard to sleep. The entraces, resturant and bar were all wonderful, as were the associated staffs. Had a very pleasent experience everywhere except for the room and the club lounge. Valet brought wrong car and had half hour wait for them to find the right one. September 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel is below Sheraton standards. There was a rectangular vacant spot on the wall of our room, which appears to have been a mirror at one time but now is only a discoloration with seven holes in the plaster. There was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel has only something resembling a coffee shop but no real restaurant with a real menu. Glad the Palm and Bohannan's were next door. The staff, especially in the lobby bar, were great. June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Renovations" ruined this historial hotel This is the very worse we have ever seen in 'renovations'. The beautiful lobby shown on the website is no longer in existance. All of the beautiful wood has been painted stark white. The beautiful chandaliers have been covered. They have taken all of the beauty out of everything in the lobby. There was no respect given to the history of this property. We will not return again and will no longer recommend it as one of the most beautiful hotels in San Antonio. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel overall was good Except for the obvious disrepair (ballroom ceiling had fallen in this week), the rooms were updated and very comfortable. Staff was generally very helpful and responsive; one employee at the Houston Market was particularly rude and would not give us a table height table to sit at. Luckily other employees there over compensated for his rudeness and came to our aid. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rating Of Sheraton Gunter Hotel For the price of 1 day at the hotel...it was ridiculous for the pricing. The rooms weren't the greatest. The bathrooms were dirty. The tub had a mat in it with a black ring around it. Around the knobs in the sink were nasty. Toilet nasty. Showers walls dirty with grit all in them. Hated the carpet in the hallways, very hard to pull luggage. Just basically not what we expected especially when coming from the Westin. Didn't really get a good nights sleep...walls paper thin and could here toilets flushing all throughout the night and loud people in the hallway. Glad we only had to stay for one night. February 26, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>