The Park Lane Hotel, London

  • Piccadilly
  • London,
  • England
  • W1J 7BX
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 641 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by A 4star hotel at best This hotel is definitely outdated, it needs a lot of TLC. Although the location is very good, there is plenty to let it down. The staff is generally unfriendly and rude, it feels like there is not a nice atmosphere around. So much for Platinum, and loyalty... got a standard room and was told that there was no upgrade available. Fair enough... but when I called SPG they told me that there was plenty availability. The last upgrade to this facility was probably done in ... 1976?! Will I come back? I don't know... might want to give it a second chance, at least in respect to service, who knows, maybe I will feel welcome as a platinum member next time. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, great suits, good value for money I stayed at the Park Lane Sheraton hotel for 4 nights and as SPG platinum member was up graded to a suite overlooking the park. It was my first stay at this property and reading others review I was a bit concerned. At least the room I got ( a junior suite on 7th floor overlooking the park) was great, specious with a good size bath and shower and seems to be recently decorated to a decent standard. It is a beautiful landmark property with a lot of charm but the downside is that some parts of the hotel are aging. Nice breakfast ( which is free for SPG Platinum) and overall good service. Ofering variety of hot drinks ( espresso, caputicno etc) with no extra cost which is very generous and kind. Rates are very reasonable for the location and hotel standard . July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Condition; Poor Value You can get far better quality in London & just as well located. Room - very small; poor condition with carpets stained, furniture from 1960(?), chipped paint, badly fitting doors. I had one carry on bag and couldn't open it out on the suitcase stand as the room was too small. Bed - comfortable and clean Tea Tray - none in room, but can be requested for free (why not have this in the room like every other hotel?) Bathroom - awful, like something out of a 1 star b&b. Cheap, chipped. Shower curtain couldnt be opened properly. Breakfast - good choice buffet, very slow if you order something Concierge - very helpful. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is fine overall hotel is beautiful - had trouble with the internet connection and called to voice - they just mentioned it should be fine; had no air - they had repair come up both during entire stay room was very hot and uncomfortable. No recognition at all of being SPG. I love this hotel and would stay again. i have stayed before with no issues July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdated The hotel rooms and facilities are very much outdated. This hotel needs renovation especially the bathrooms. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SPG experience I've ever had The first night of my stay, the hotel had a party in its ballroom - it was so loud that my bed was 'thudding,' and even with earplugs I could not sleep until it was over. It was by far the worst experience I have ever had in any SPG hotel. Perhaps if it had been a different weekend, I would have had a better experience; as it was, this stay was entirely dissatisfying and well below SPG standards. I was placed on floor 1 of the hotel despite being Platinum status and was told the hotel was full so there were no options to move. As further note of the hotel's neglect, the towels were fraying and the toilet had not been properly cleaned. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel team, charming rooms, 5* breakfast experience The hotel is great; perfect location, very helpful and kind hotel team, super efficient breakfast and most of all great value. A good example; I wanted a caffeine free tea for my sister, the helpful girl in the Palm room came back within seconds with 3 options for me, and a bucket of ice that i'd asked for. The Breakfast team were also very efficient, and looked after us in 5-star style. The rooms are charming, sure they are not super modern and slick, but that's the point - it's a genuine building and part of London's history - it will never be a vegas style modern room and nor should it should be! The rooms are very comfortable, beds amazing, nice a quiet. Plenty of room and not crammed as many central London hotels are. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a London experience. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Visit to London This was one of the best SPG hotels I have ever stayed in and look forward to returning again soon. Excellent staff, excellent facilities and they treat their guests with the utmost respect. The facilities are stunnigly beautiful. Afternoon tea is a must. Close to Harvey Nichols and the best shopping London has to offerI stay in hotels all over the world but the service here you will find hard to beat - they are wonderful! Thank you so much! June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Puts SPG to disgrace As an SPG member I have never been so disappointed with a hotel. The staffs customer service was below average, rude and did not care about the customer or being an SPG member. They had no knowledge of events in London at the time. The food was average and so was the wait staff. The staff in Citrus were rude and took forever to acknowledge customers. It was like they had to finish there duties first before serving a customer. The reception staff were arrogant excepts one gentlemen. Embarrassing that I had a friend who works in tourism checking out the hotel to and would not recommend this for Famils either. The name Park Lane should be removed to Budget Lane. June 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by more than what I expected I read some reviews that were not so good but my experience was very satisfactory. I emailed the manager myself and told him I have asthma and what we needed and they gave us an upgraded room for SPG gold member that was beyond what I expected. Very nice, big, clean and have a sofa too. Thanks Kieran for making sure we got the room we needed. All the staff were friendly and met all our needs. The location is excellent. I will for sure use this hotel again if I return to London. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Park lane? Try the ZOO Lane! C'mon you were suppose to be the one hotel in the London SPG roster that we can count on. But you let me down. I stayed there for 3 nights in 2010 but never returned! What sucks about you is the frond desk staff (Minus the bell hops and concierge, they were good). No upgrade at all is not cool, but telling me lies about the occupancy is even worse. I have eyes, I see the empty hotel lobby at noon (prime time for check in and check outs) and what's worse about lying to me is having your co-worker come and tell you that you can upgrade me because there are rooms available. BUT what's even worse than that is to not have still been upgraded, I ended up in the same room, but on a higher floor! That's not an upgrade, it's just moving up! Anyway, this is what these hotel managers don't realize. If the check-in experience sucks, no matter how good everything is, we tend to remember that part and write two paragraphs saying how horrible it was and one sentence saying how good everything else was. Good: food, service location. Bad: re-read the first two paragraphs and pound your desk as you read it! This hotel should be a category 3 at best! At best! November 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worth a free stay, but not a penny more Location is great, rooms are clean, housekeeping staff very friendly, but the service at the front desk and the horrible internet connections make the free stay (with points) almost not worth it. I was only in London about 20 waking hours, but I spent about 2-3 hrs just trying to get internet access, which in my case was needed. As a SPG Gold member, I opted for the free internet access as my reward. I was able to get 1 device to work with the internet, well at least for 1 night. But I needed another device connected. After calling the front desk, i was told to come down and get a new access code. After patiently waiting in line about 20-30 minutes. The person at the front desk gave me another code. I wanted to ensure my device connected before leaving but was asked (not politely) to move so she could assist others. I asked for just a minute to connect my device, but she insisted that I move. Well needless to say, the code that I was given did not work. As I tried to get another code, I was told to move to the back of the line. Ok, there went another 30 minutes waiting in line. And yes, once again, I was given a bad code. This time, I refused to move until I got the device working. The glares from the staff we definitely not friendly. And while waiting, I saw them bumbling around as numerous others customers were having problems with their hotel keys no longer working. To finish it off, the next morning none of my devices would connect to the internet. At least my hotel key worked, so I guess I cant complain too much. However, I do not wish to focus on the bad. I do wish to express thanks to the Marta, who did a wonderful job and was the only friendly person working at the front desk. Additionally, all of the non front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Please excuse any typos, I have not finished my morning coffee yet. Thanks, July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Hotel Experience I have spend a total of 374 nights at Starwood hotels and your property in London was terrible. The room had an incredibly noisey portable AC unit that made horrible rattling noise all night. I even checked out early wasting my "Free 5th night" just to get out of there. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend visit Friday night was fine, but Saturday night function was noisy, bass vibrations kept us awake until 12.45 June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is ideal for Central London This Hotel is in the Heart of London and offers excellent accommodation and comfort June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTING I stayed at the Sheraton Park Lane and booked their "RomaticPackage" expecting to see champagne and fruit upon arrival. I had to remind the check in staff I had the romance package. This did not occur and as we had to make a swift dash to the theatre we left shortly after check in. Our luggage had not arrived in the room after 20 minutes so we had to leave for the theatre without changing into our evening clothes.The manager kindly refunded the charge for the romance package. The room was comfortable and over looked the park. I have stayed in a few Sheraton hotels and never not had a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Residents have to phone down to obtain these and so having come back late from the theatre did not know this. so no cup of tea in the morning. After our theatre trip we came back to the bar in the palm court for a drink and snack. we ordered a sandwich after 15 minutes of waiting and then when it arrived it had meat in it and my husband is vegetarian. my sandwich had no butter or dressing in it as ordered! The staff seemed unhappy and not wanting to serve at 11pm at night. It was the impression they gave off. Have to say the bed was great and had a good nights sleep. Went down for breakfast and ordered a medium poached egg and it came back hard !. The manager of the restaurant was talking when we arrived and there were 5 staff on duty but no one came over to seat us within 5 minutes. A young waiter came over and finally sat us down and only then did the manager come over and took over from him. I was not impressed with the breakfast. Choice is good but quality of cooking and service was poor. Cooking a poached egg is a basic and if you cant get that right the rating is incorrect. Having been disappointed with the food quality in both the sandwiches and breakfast we decided to cut our losses and cancel our afternoon tea in the palm court and go to Harrods and do it our self at home. Sadly disappointing when I had looked forward to a romantic rest when I had only positive impressions of Sheraton previously. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood Quality While the location is great, the Hotel did not live up to expectations as a Starwood property. As a platinum member I was quite disappointed. Unfortunately, from the beginning, we felt treated like unwanted house guests when using award points. The staff's common phrase was "not possible" to just about everything. Even when we made some simple requests. Also, for the first 4 days or so the hotel would not give us key cards that lasted more than 24 hours. So every night we had to go to the front desk and show ID to get new cards processed. Not a big deal but an inconvenience after a long day/night. We sought to use our suite upgrades but were denied the request even though we got the sense from the staff that suites were available for some or most of the nights but that they did not want us to move rooms during the stay and wanted to hold on to the suites. The beds are not up to Sheraton standards. All in all neither the hotel nor staff lived up to the Starwood brand. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AN EXCEPTIONAL EXPERIENCE ALL AROUND!! I had the pleasure of staying at the PARK LANE for 4 nts in February, and ALL of my expectations were met! As a platinum guest, I was upgraded to an amazing suite, looking on to Hyde Park. The suite was fabulous! I was personally greeted by Mr. Roman H at the front desk, who went out of his way to ensure that my stay was exceptional. The hotel is older, but the rooms & facilities are modern and spacious. The location is superb, and the complimentary breakfast is generous & tasty. I look forwar to my return to the Park Lane soon. Finally, Mr. Roman H is a superb Ambassador for all that is great about SPG and about this particular hotel. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location..... You simply cannot beat this hotel for location, a must for anyone wishing to visit Buckingham Palace which is just minutes away. Friendly courteous staff and on site Italian Restaurant very good. Afternoon Tea in the Palm Court Restaurant was outstanding, along with resident harpist made the afternoon complete. June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Historic hotel badly in need of refurbishment We were severely disappointed with the size and condition of the room we were given at The Park Lane. Let me preface this review by saying we prefer to stay at historic properties which may have endured a bit of "faded grandeur", as we feel it only adds to the experience of staying in a property with real history. We travel regularly to Europe, so are accustomed to the smaller size of hotel rooms, but the room we were given was clearly a single, with a queen size bed added. The bed was pushed up against the wall on the left hand side, forcing the second occupant to crawl in from the bottom. The left side of the bed lacked any type of reading light or bedside table. The room was so small as to force one of us to retreat to the bed when the ironing board was deployed. We had 4 pieces of luggage with us, including 3 which were carry on size, and still found it difficult to maneuver around the room. The carpet was worn and discolored. The bathroom was a total disaster, with cracked and stained tile throughout. The area behind the toilet was simply disgusting. The bathtub was discolored, with missing and cracked tiles on the baseboard of the tub. Had we intended to stay longer than 18 hours, I would have requested another room, but because this was such a short stay, we chose not to make a fuss. I will offer these points of praise: the mattress was comfortable, the concierge most helpful, and the staff seemed eager to help us. Having been loyal Starwood members for years, and having previously been a travel consultant, I expect a certain standard at hotels bearing the Starwood brand. For such a renowned and historic hotel, it is a shame that it has been allowed to fall in to such disrepair. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by History and charm The hotel was a bit dated but still had the charm of being there back in it's day of glamour. We were fortunate enough to had a room that looked out towards the Embassy and the park. The windows are double pained so you can't hear the traffic. Bathrooms were nice but be careful on the slick marble floors and the booday (why they have these, I can't imagine). Overall a great location and a positive experience. June 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Park Lane This is one of the worst hotel experiences I have had in a while. What a dumpy hotel. The palm court is beautiful, but the room was horrible. It was like two different hotels. The bathroom needed renovation urgently - very cheap porcelain tiles, peeling linoleum around the sink, cheap paint job. The main room was really small. Really cheap hotel furniture with a 70s design the was unfitting for a supposedly luxury hotel in London. I had dinner at the Citrus restaurant and the service was unbelievably slow - incredibly annoying. I decided to stay more this year at Starwood hotels, but I am now having second thoughts after this experience. May 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete Rennovations Needed The proximity of this hotel and the room size were the only good features at this hotel. Our room had a cracked tub, stained carpets, paint peeling off the walls, and doors that were off alignment. It is strange that the reception said they "upgraded" our room, when it is clear that this room is badly in need of repair and total rennovation and should never be assigned to any guests. It was certainly not worth the 12,000 starpoints we used or the upwards of $700 per night paid for by our friends. June 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed There is nothing special about this hotel. The hotel's reception is oddly placed off the entrance from a small street in the rear instead of the main thoroughfare (Piccadilly). Our room was clean (except for stained carpet) and adequate but lack of view made it seem dark and dreary even though the sun was shining. The location is great with proximity to central London sites. Stay here for location but don't expect much from the level of accommodations. June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Desperately needs a fairy godmother! The hotel is located in one of London's most exclusive neighbourhoods, right opposite Green Park and, from the outside, the property looks promising, with an elegant art deco facade.... sadly, that's where the compliments must end as the inside is a completely different story. Over three separate stays, I was given rooms with tainted carpets, soiled curtains and, most unpleasant of all, a shower head that needed to be held with one hand... took me down memory lane to when I was showering in the rural Philippines. Corridors also transmit an uneasy feeling, almost as if on board the Titanic's poorer brother. I am sorry to say this hotel should either be completely refurbished or be given serious reconsideration as part of the Starwood portfolio. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel with great service The rooms were somewhat dated but very nice and clean. I like a firm pillow but the ones supplied were too soft. No I did not ask for firmer pillows. The front desk people and the concierge were very helpful with any request. I was told they are remodeling in September. The sitting room was just wonderful and relaxing with harp music in the afternoon. May 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Decline in quality I was at the Sheraton Park Lane last week and cannot believe how horrible this hotel has become. I first visited in 2005 and was then 1) recognized as an SPG member, 2) always upgraded, and 3) generally made to feel like I was a welcomed guest. Fast forward to 2011. The staff does not care that you may be a long time Starwood member. Reservations for a specific room? Does not matter....you will be given a room arbitrarily based on the discretion of Eastern European who is manning reception. I think I was literally given the worst room in the hotel. The next morning, I was called at 8:00am by a manager who saw the error. I was upgraded....to an almost identical room. Naturally, I laughed when they showed it to me. I moved my bags anyway. The following day, they upgraded me to the sort of room that I remembered and requested. So...in a four night stay, I slept in three separate rooms. I also ordered room service one night. Because I did not order desert and my meal in the same call, they charged me two cover charges. Had it been one call, then no extra charge. Finally, they charge extortionate amounts for WiFi use. I had to convince the reception team (same team who checked me in the first place) that it does not make sense to charge me for 7 days of wifi when I was only in the hotel for four days. If you are accustomed to a level of recognition and service from a Starwood property...look elsewhere. This is not a property that is running well, there are clearly problems, and you should stay elsewhere. I stay with Starwood everywhere I travel and would definitely consider bagging the brand in London if this is what I should expect. The Palm Court room remains beautiful but again...quality is gone. Oh well...I will try to remember this property fondly for what it was like less than ten years ago. Good luck with this place if you have no choice. November 2, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worse places - avoid! Possibly one of the worse experiences I have ever had at any property (250+ nights at SPG): 1. Very poor service - nightshift staff went out of their way to make my stay UNPLEASANT. They were rude and unhelpful even though I really needed their help at 2AM. If I could give negative stars, I would. Although management tried to apologize the next day, I felt it was insincere. If you like good service and to be treated with respect, I would avoid this hotel at all cost. 2. Rooms are from the 1960's I think... Dirty carpets, broken air conditioner/heater, small TV, limited channels, and internet that worked intermediately. Bathroom was not too bad, and to be fair only reason why it gets 2 stars. 3. Location - a bit deceiving. It's on Piccadilly, however it is an unpleasant 15-20 min walk in the cold during winter from Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square. Overall very unpleasant stay and would avoid this establishment like the plague in the future. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised After reading the reviews I have to say I wasn't expecting much but when I got there I was over the moon. Yes the rooms are a bit old fashioned but that was part of the charm, not everyone wants high tech but it was clean, the beds were crisp, well made up, good quality and a pleasure to sleep in, isn't this what its all about. The decor of the hotel was amazing especially the seating area. My biggest criticism would be that we wanted to order drinks after hours in the bar area and ended up having to order room service, going to the room to receive it and then bringing it back down but that was a small price to pay for a great experience. August 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has lost its way... I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past 15 years, but have not been to London for the last 2 years. I came back, and had the worst Starwood experience ever. (For the record, I have more than 1 year of nights in starwood hotels, and am a lifetime gold member). I booked 3 rooms, and got tiny rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor for a Platinum (and Gold) Guests. The Internet was virtually unusable, and help line informed us that they could not help until the next day. The rooms are now very dated, dirty and worn, and in major need to refurbishment. Checked out early and will never be back. This hotel is not up to standard for a modern business traveller, and would recommend that you look somewhere else if you require a functional room that you can work in. February 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>