The Park Lane Hotel, London

  • Piccadilly
  • London,
  • England
  • W1J 7BX
  • Großbritannien
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Hinweis: In diesem Hotel gelten Gäste bis zum Alter von 12 Jahren als Kinder. Bitte passen Sie ggf. die Anzahl an Erwachsenen und Kindern an.
Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Für Familien

Für Kinder bis 12 Jahre ist die Übernachtung in vorhandenen Betten kostenlos, sofern sie das Zimmer mit einem zahlenden Erwachsenen teilen. Für Zusatzbetten, Kinderzusatzbetten und Kinderbetten können zusätzliche Gebühren anfallen.

Altersrichtlinien

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein und einen gültigen Lichtbildausweis vorlegen können.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 753 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel must be up for sale This stay at the Park Lane was utterly dreadful. Here is my experience: arrive from LHR 9 hour flight with bags in tow. I pass 4 employees, not a single one of whom offers assistance. Reach check in desk to be greeted by clerk who speaks so rapidly I have to repeatedly ask her what she is saying. Her first question is have I ever stayed there before. Then she tells me the hotel is totally booked so there are no upgrades and reads the policy that check in time is not for another 4 hours. After much pleading she gives me a disgusting cramped smoke stinking room 543 that has no heating. I just start to nap and someone pounds on my door. When I open it a maintenance person apologizes, wrong room. Meanwhile I ask if a package has arrived for me and am told no. I call my secretary in the states to confirm it was shipped and she gives me the signature of hotel clerk who accepted parcel the day before. I go back downstairs to check in and again am told no package but to go check at concierge. I do and there is the package, however it had not been entered into the handwritten. Not computerized!!! Log. Later that afternoon I go to door to catch a cab but no one is there. I finally see a worker and I stop him and ask if he can get a cab and he says go inside and see if the concierge is there. He wasn't so I left and finally got a cab in my own . The final straw: when I checked in I told the clerk I would need a 4:00 check out. At 3:30 I tried to enter my room and the key would not work so I had to rush back downstairs to get the key reactivated April 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been a great stay... Great upgrade to a studio suite overlooking Green Park and very pleasant staff at check-in. We took advantage of a special offer of 50% off food and beverages on in-room dining and the food was delicious. This stay was all set to get a five-star review, but then... the a/c didn't work and, because the walls lean inwards, the curtains do not hang flush against the windows resulting in lots of light coming in as soon as the sun was up. And when I complained that it was misleading that some of the food and beverages costs were not discounted by 50% -- no exclusions were listed on the offer -- I was told simply that it was not misleading. Clearly I must be stupid to be so misled! April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over priced awful quality We stayed at the Sheraton Park Lane on Saturday the 14th April 2012. It was our first visit, and having stayed at nearly every hotel in Mayfair/Park Lane for 30 years, I can safely say it will be our last visit. The hotel is tired to say the least. Our room, referred to as a 'Classic' was awful. Small, dingy, terrible view, seedy bathroom, cold and overpriced. We had a quick drink in the bar before we went out. Our white wine was awful, the bar was cold and dark. (For some reason it was empty, too). Aside from the above the following issues needed addressing; intermittent sound on TV, bathroom door lock broken, safe needed servicing. As we arrived with about an hour to spare before we went out we decided to leave the problems as we were in a hurry and did not want staff in our room while we were out. (I realise staff can gain entry whenever, we were unsure wether the hotel would use outside labour to rectify the faults so we left the issues). The following morning I mentioned the problems when checking out. The girl at the front desk was to say the least uninterested. She did say she was sorry. She did not seem concerned about my complaints. Her attitude was cold and diffident at best. (What she was sorry about was I had not told the hotel of the issues when we arrived. She was not sorry about the poor experience we had staying at the hotel). I was not appeased in any way, which I found odd considering the hotel is supposed to be 5 stars. The check out agent did ask me what I would like to do, 'simple' I said, ' I will not stay in a Starwood hotel again' April 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Stay! The staff is number 1 in customer service. I was there on Easter and the front desk went out of thier way to be helpful. One of the best stay I have ever had. This hotel is a must stay. I can not wait to return. I just want to thank everyone for their professionalism and hospitality. This was my first stay in the UK and what an impression you made on me. April 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Average The top positive thing is the location. It's less than 5 minutes walk from Green Park tube (subway) station (Piccadilly line) and about 10 minutes walk from Buckingham palace. I stay for the location, price and very solid gym facilities. The rooms are very stylistically dated, and could do with a total refresh. If you want a decent Starwood property to sleep in when you're in town doing stuff from early till late, this is your place. No coffee / tea makers in room. Just be prepared for that. April 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff and Rooms Beware not all rooms are equally kept-up some show more wear than others. Otherwise, central local and great staff. April 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel with History This hotel review is longer than most of my reviews because it includes a history of the hotel (which I found very fascinating), of course, you could skip the Hotel History section and jump to the review, but what fun would that be? Hotel History: The Park Lane Hotel is a grand London hotel built in the early 1920s. The hotel’s steel frame was erected before the beginning of World War I {Use Roman numerals, not Arabic numbers to designate WWI and WWII}, but construction was abandoned due to a lack of financing. The property was completed in 1927 by Sir Bracewell Smith and reflected the era’s Art Deco style. The hotel is widely recognized for its ballroom and Palm Court where afternoon tea is served. In fact, during World War II, Parliament decided that the Park Lane Hotel ballroom would be used by the Commons in the event the Houses of Parliament were damaged. When the Park Lane opened to the public in 1927 a single room w/private bath rented for 76 pence to £ 1.05 (about $1.18 to $1.76 in US dollars), a double room rented for £ 1.41 to £1.75 and a suite rented for £2.66 - £3.15. The hotel’s interior design was managed by Lady Bracewell Smith and all the rooms were designed and furnished by top designers of the day. For example, the breakfast room, an Art Deco style room, was decorated by Harrods. After Sheraton acquired the hotel in 1996 at a cost of £44 million, the ballroom was renovated and restored to reflect its original splendor and re-opened in 1997 to celebrate the hotel’s 70th anniversary. The hotel has been featured in many TV shows and hit moves including the James Bond feature “Golden Eye,” “Shanghai Surprise” and "The End of the Affair." Hotel Review: Overall Today, the hotel retains its historical charm. The rooms are modern and well designed for business travelers and visitors alike. As with most old hotels, the floors creek, but I didn’t find it bothersome during my stay. While you can hear the floors creeking in the hallway throughout the day (especially when the bellman or housekeeping bring their carts through) there’s minimal creeking at night - during the time most people are sleeping. There are only two lifts (elevators) in the hotel, and that can create challenges at times – at least once during the first 9 nights of my stay one of the lifts was not working during the busy morning hours. If you’re into walking stairs, there is a beautiful staircase in the center of the hotel that leads to all floors. The hotel offers a traditional high-tea service on the weekend and the Palm Court bar serves a limited menu and sushi in the evenings. Breakfast is served in Bracewells, just off Palm Court, and Citrus serves lunch and dinner. There is no concierge lounge or Sheraton club at this hotel and Starwood elite status benefits are limited (no complimentary water in the room for example). There is a gym on the lower level of the hotel that always seemed busy. Check-in This was the first time in almost five years staying with Starwood that I’ve had a bad experience at check-in. I arrived at 3 pm local time – the hotel’s official check-in time – and my room was not ready. I was told that I was upgraded to an executive room with more space since I would be staying 19 nights - I was very happy about that. I was advised that my room would be ready in about 90 minutes (4:30 local time). Since the weather was awful, I went to the bar and had a sandwich and cup of tea (which I thought were reasonably priced until I remembered that prices were listed in Pounds, not Dollars!). I returned to the front desk about 4:30 and was informed that my room was still not ready. I was offered a different room but the agent recommended I wait for the original room because she thought I would be unhappy in the other room which was smaller and next to a lift (she said it would be loud.) I really appreciated her suggestion and agreed to wait another 40 minutes for the room. The third time I returned to the front desk, the room was still not ready, and at this point, I was getting very frustrated. The agent assured me that it would be ready in 20 more minutes. Indeed, it was ready after an additional 20 minutes. So in the end, I waited just over 2 1/2 hours for a room – something that’s never happened to me before at a Starwood property. I think the reason I got so frustrated about the wait was not because I had to wait, but because the weather was terrible and I was stuck waiting around the hotel. There is no formal lobby in the hotel, so I had to wait in the bar area – I was hungry when I arrived so I didn’t mind getting a sandwich & drink – but what would I have done if I wasn’t hungry? The bartenders don’t like non-paying customers just taking up space. I also felt like the hotel could have said, have a cup of tea on us, or here’s an access code for free wifi while you wait. But they offered nothing. I did speak with the hotel, and received an email from the Assistant Front Office manager which essentially said we’re very sorry, we look forward to having you for a considerable length of time, but you chose to wait for the upgraded room, we had something earlier, but you didn’t want it. My response was that I didn’t want it because the girl said it was next to an elevator and loud – so why would I want that room? And why did it take 2 ½ hours to get a room ready. In any case, I was finally in my room at 6 pm and my luggage (which the hotel held during the wait) was delivered very promptly. For my platinum amenity at check-in, I selected the continental breakfast choice. This was definitely the best choice given the length of my stay. It turns out, that was a great choice because the hotel allows you to have the full breakfast buffet in the restaurant and they have an amazing selection of choices. The restaurant was always very crowded, but service has been excellent and there’s never a wait. The Room As I noted, I was upgraded to an executive room, and it was very spacious. My room had a king size bed, a couch and chair and a work desk. The desks even featured electrical outlets for UK plugs, EU plugs and US plugs. Upon request, I was also provided with an adaptor for use during my stay. The hotel emptied out the mini-bar for me so that I could store some of my own items – which I appreciated. I found the room to be very dark once the sun went down. The lighting in the room didn’t suffice. So I contacted the hotel and they brought up a lamp that made the room very bright and allowed me to keep working (or blogging) in the evenings. The bathroom was large and had a bathtub and shower. The shower only has a waterfall shower head and so I found the water pressure to be weaker than most Sheratons that have standard shower heads. The bathroom also had a towel rack that was heated – though I haven’t yet turned it on. The bathtub was the only part of the bathroom that showed its age. There were non-slip strips on the floor of the tub that looked old and showed some dirt. Another great benefit of the room was the walk in closet. It had plenty of space for my suitcases and I was able to unpack and hang and fold all my clothes – after all, for 19 nights, it’s worth unpacking. The hotel even brought up extra hangers. Restaurants and Room Service As I mentioned, the breakfast is great – but if I wasn’t getting it as a Platinum benefit, I probably wouldn’t pay for it out of pocket. I did notice that the hotel was offering 20% off breakfast with a coupon from the front desk. Room Service is very expensive. I ordered room service one evening and requested a tuna fish sandwich (it’s on the menu) and within 5 minutes I had a call back from room service asking me what tuna was. I’m not kidding. I just re-read the menu item to him and said okay. Luckily the correct item did show up less than 20 minutes later. I have not yet had the chance to try Citrus, but I suspect I will at some point during my visit. I’ll update the post if/when I try it. General There were several, let’s call them, hiccups that I’ve experienced so far during my stay. The first day after checking in there was no hot water in the hotel until around 11 am due to a flood in the boiler room. Nothing the hotel could really do about that – but still bothersome. I already blogged about my experience with the rudest hotel concierge ever –the hotel did respond by apologizing profusely (in fact, SPG social media team reached out to me before the hotel did – they’re always impressive with customer service). The hotel Front Office manager did call me today to check in, see if I was comfortable and apologize again. He also sent a tray of crumpets and bottled water to the room (they were very good). So I think they handled the hiccups very well. The hotels location is very central and close to Buckingham Palace and other tourist sites. It’s also within 10 minute walk of the Green Park tube stop , which made it easy to commute to the office. So far, I have had some very good experiences with the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel and a couple of not so great experiences. I imagine with any long stay, there are bound to be issues. I am glad the hotel has addressed them all. If anything changes during the next ten days or so, I will be sure to update this report. April 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The location is perfect for all the London attractions. If you can't walk to it, the Tube is 5 minutes away. The Tube from Heathrow to Park Lane is very convenient. The hotel is charming and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The two rooms we had were quite large - which was a nice surprise after hearing about how small London hotel rooms can be. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we needed help locating an item left on the airplane. Next time in London, we'll definitely return. March 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stay! Professional staff, excellent location, wonderful stay! March 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bad reviews possibly exaggerated - good hotel I recently submitted a bid on PriceLine for a 5 star hotel in London and with my bid eventually being accepted by The Sheraton Park Lane Hotel on Piccadilly. And after our mostly pleasant stay at the hotel, I have to say that either the Park Lane quickly got their ducks in a row in response to several bad reviews or most of the negative reviews are over-exaggerated. Either that or most of the American reviewers don’t take into account that European accommodations are more expensive and sometimes are not as nice as they are in the States for a comparably priced hotel. Granted the Park Lane is old and could probably use a facelift. But my wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Park Lane and we would most definitely stay there again - if the price is right. Initially after reading all the mostly negative reviews about this hotel, I must admit I immediately set out to get a refund or anything and everything I could do to get out of the Priceline reservation. I usually take a few bad reviews with a grain of salt. But with the more than several bad reviews being written about the Park Lane, I was obviously very concerned. But after being denied a refund or any other recourse, we decided to make the best of the situation and enjoy ourselves. But before we checked in, I contacted the hotel management directly via E-mail, shared my concerns over the negative reviews, and made a few special requests such as no smoking preferences and possible early check-in. And to my pleasant surprise, the hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful and our room was ready for check-in at 9 am. Yes - a 9 am check-in. Since we were coming from Stuttgart, we wouldn't be jet lagged and were to the contrary ready to hit the ground running. And we did just that since our room was ready at 9 am. Even if it hadn't been ready, the hotel has luggage storage which we did use on our last day there. As far as the negatives of this hotel, there weren't that many and they were minor. Again given the different standards between US and European hotels, this hotel probably wouldn't rate a 5 star in the States. But at the same time it was very elegant, historic, and clean. Regardless, the only negatives I can think of are the hallway floors did creak when you walked on them, a sign of old age. But that wasn't a big issue with us. Also, the bathroom lavatory had one faucet for hot water and one faucet for cold water. So in other words, you couldn't get warm water to come out of the faucet. The shower had a "regular" faucet and we had no problems with inconsistent water temperature. I will agree though with one reviewer that stated the shower curtain was a bit too short for the tub although we didn't have any problems with getting water on the floor. And since my Priceline bid was accepted, the price for a London hotel was pretty good. However, I would have hated to have paid full price for the same room, which I think at the time was approaching $400 US per night. Now for the positives - and there are many. Fantastic location! You are less than a five minute walk in either direction on Piccadilly to a Tube stop and about a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus in one direction and Harrod's in the other direction. And along the way to the Green Park Tube stop, there are numerous places to have a more decently priced breakfast, including a Pret and a Starbucks. If you're flying into Heathrow, the location is also fantastic since you just have to get on a Piccadilly Line train at Heathrow and stay on until you get to Hyde Park Corner or Green Park Tube stops. You don't have to change trains. Although the Paddington Express is probably good for other hotels, the Park Lane's location and convenience essentially nullifies any time you would save by using the Express since you'd have to change trains at Paddington. The area around Buckingham Palace is also just across the street. And I could go on and on about the location. The only other thing that would have made the location better is if it was right next to a Tube stop. Otherwise, the location can't be beat. As far as the room itself, the size was comparable to many hotels I've stayed in in the States. My wife absolutely loved the firm King bed although it was a little too firm for my tastes. There was a heated towel rack, the bathroom was a great size, and I didn't smell any smoke or mustiness in the common areas as one reviewer mentioned. And I would be able to smell smoke a mile away since I don't smoke and I'm allergic to it. Bottom line, I believe most of the negative reviews on the Park Lane are over-exaggerated and probably come from people who are used to a five star level equivalent to the Four Seasons on Maui or some other exotic location. Again granted the hotel is a little old and could use a facelift. But the old charm of the hotel, including the art deco design in the Ballroom area, and its fantastic location make it a true gem of London hotels. Again, I'd have hated to have paid full price for the same room. But when we come to London again, we'll probably try Priceline again and hope that we get this hotel once again. T.D. Music City USA (Nashville, TN) March 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by March at the Park Lane Another excellent stay at the Park Lane. As usual, the staff was very helpful, especially the resourceful, thoughtful concierge gentlemen. March 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Results We stayed at the Park Lane twice in a month. The first stay we were upgraded to a big room with a big bath and closet. Comfortable but out of date. For four nights it was quite nice and we had no isse. Our second stay was overnight in a "Classic" room, because there were no upgrades. Classic means tiny, cramped, ugly, and out of date. If it weren't just for a quick overnight, we would have left. The room ws clean, the bedding good, and the towels good. Everything was functionl, but this is so out of date and ugly, it really should be down-marketed. It is very untypical of the Starwood properties we usually stay in. March 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love Hate Sometimes this hotel can do no wrong but sometimes they can really screw it up. I either love this hotel or really dislike this hotel. This time somewhere in the middle. Got there at 2 30pm room not ready the front desk very seldom recognizes the Platinum status. Didn't offer coffee or drink there is no sympathy just go wait come back at 3pm that's check in. You can understand my frustration arrived in London at 6 am. March 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor experience My stay at this hotel has been quite disappointing. At the check-in, mild SPG recognition... they claimed they upgraded us to an 'executive' room, but I believe I got the worst accomodation in the hotel, very old and poorly furnished room in a lost corner of the hotel. View from the window, a brick wall 50cm in front of me or looking down, a narrow courtyard where they dump their garbage. Bathroom in 1950s style almost no amenities. One bathrobe missing, no slippers. No complimentary water, let alone the small present I normally get as a platinum guest. Very depressing experience. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great London Location This is a great location. In the middle of everything. There are some very nice rooms and some very dated rooms. Hard to know what to expect. As a Plat I have been upgraded to some nice rooms. The staff is pleasant and stays out of your way. A good value in London. March 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worn out. I did not like this hotel. It is worn out and dated. I had a suite and it reminded me of being in a low rent apartment. Awful. The suite was dim and dingy. It is just too depressing to write about. I did not get my room through price line etc so I paid a lot. Lots of better hotels in the area. Awful March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Points stay Stayed at hotel on points. Room not available on arrival, despite request,(though Hotel was full), but was fresh and bright once inside. amenities for an exec room, a little on the basic side. No cotton buds, shoe cleaning kit, available. Was kept awake by kids in room next door belting out Abba songs late at night and early morning. Could hear a lot of what was being said too in that room. Hotel bar staff friendly and efficient, though a strange (cleaning like) smell lingered in the bar during the time I was there. Internet worked efficiently, though object to having to pay GBP 16 per day for its use. Hotel location good, which is a major plus. February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience Just completed an 8 night stay at the Sheraton Park Lane. Let me just say that it was the most UNPLEASANT experience I have ever had at any hotel. From Check-in all the way through check-out, it was terrible. The staff suffered from a complete lack of communication which caused my credit account to be over charged by almost 700 pounds. I was then mistreated by staff members as if it were my fault. Finally a manager intervened with a terrible attitude as well. The room was tiny, the hall was loud, the hotel is outdated, creaky floor boards, and doors slamming every 5 minutes, and one of the biggest problems was the shower. The water was so inconsistent. When I thought I finally had adjusted to the right temperature the water drastically changed to EXTREMELY HOT and burned my legs! I brought this to the Hotel Reception manager's attention and was told that this was the same in all rooms and I could not be moved. Never mind the fact that I was burned and had to purchase a lotion to sooth my legs. On day number 5 I went to take a shower again and the the shower head came loose and water sprayed in every direction. At check out I had issues with billing again as the total for the stay alone was about 50 pounds more than I was quoted at check in. When I brought this to their attention I received no sympathy and was told that when I checked in I was given an exchange rate by the Sheraton but upon check out they use the Starwood Exchange Rate. I ordered 5 teas one evening and upon delivery of the tea the room telephone rings and the manager said he has a problem with me ordering so many teas as I am not to have guests in my room. So naturally I asked my guests to leave but was still charged for the 5 teas because I ordered them. I advised the manager that the guests had to leave and no one had the tea, I should not have to pay. The response I got was "you should know you are not to have any guests in your room" I was forced to pay 35 pounds for 5 teas and then the front desk agent tells me "well there is free tea and coffee upon request, you should have read the cards in your room" They had no idea what they were doing. Funny thing is when I was waiting in line to Check out there was a guest at the desk complaining as well. I have noticed many people not very satisfied. The result from all of this? I was basically handed a business card containing the email address of the hotel manager and told to deal with him via email. You pay 5 star rates for a 2 star hotel and service... My advice is, stay somewhere else! February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Enough When I am in London, I normally stay at this hotel as the location is fairly good and I am upgraded to a suite as a Platinum. All the facilities are old and the renovation is expected, but the staffs are very kind and I feel as a second home. February 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel does not deserve to be a 5 star hotel! I had the worst check in experience. Then i was ask to move into a room that was filled with fumes of newly painted walls. The worst was yet to come..I set the tap to desired temperature before shifting water to the shower...to my surprise i was greeted with extreemly burning hot water, i immidiatly pulled out and requested for room to be changed. The next room was not so bad except the fact that it had plumbing issues as well and was a non smoking room while i had specifically requested and reserved a smoking room. My room was changed again, this time to the farthest corner of the floor and guess what it had the same water temperature issues! the bathroom was all white except the WC cover which was stained black and just does not belong in a 5 star hotel! Next morning I experienced yet another freezing shower! I complained to the front desk and was informed that hotel had turned off the heating system and water would be normal later on! I am wondering why the hotel guest were not informed???? Since my room was paid for and non refundable, i just gave up for rest of my stay...so in short everyday i was forced to take either a freezing shower or extreemly burning hot shower! The housekeeping does not show up unless and until you ask for it which is not a standard for a 5 star hotel. Any request from housekeeping or other department would take atleast 30 minutes! I travel extensively and this is the first time in my life i have seen squeeky floors and nasty bathroom in a 5 star hotel! Each of the 8 floors were squeeky and begging for renovation! Moving to checkout experience, i was greeted by manager who seemed concerned enough to make sure i leave satisfied but at the ame time reluctant to admit anything as wrong during my stay. I paid the dues in full and left for the airport. To my surprize they charged my credit card again for an ammount of 30 GBP for what i do not know!!!!!! The only positive i can write about this hotel was concierge who did manage to get me reervations at all the exclusive places! Thanks Nigel ! I would seriously request sheraton to look into either withdrawing thier name or to proceed with extensive renovation at this hotel. This hotel needs complete overhaul from staff to rooms to bathroom to attitude! I would never ever stay at this or another sheraton again! February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic location The hotel was easy to find, just a 5 minute walk from the tube station. The location within London was perfect, just a 5 minute walk through the park to Buckingham Palace. Every member of staff were extremely polite. The room was a decent size and very clean. Good selection within the mini bar and the room service selection. Breakfast was delicious and was served within a fantastic time window. All in all we had a lovely time. If we had to be critical in any way then it would be the lack of communal areas within the hotel for a family with a small child to go. The bar and afternoon tea area wasn't very welcoming. February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best location I have stayed here 3 times in the last year at first did not like it very much but know I really appreciate this hotel. The rooms are nice size they are old but very clean. Two elevators no waiting. The location you cant get much better then this unless you stay at Buckingham Palace. I hope when the renovate and one day they will they do not change the Palm Court it is truly great for just sitting or having high tea one of the best for high teas in London. Yes the Service is also much better then the first time as the staff get to know you. February 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Standard hotel This hotel is OK, but doesn't equal the price. Unless you are collecting points, stay somewhere else. January 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Rooms in a Central Locale My wife and I stayed here for five nights and had a very pleasant experience. While the hotel is showing some age, the character of the tea room and the decor of the rooms is beautiful. We were upgraded to a large suite that was very comfortable. While the restaurant was a tad pricey, the food was pretty good. The location is great, you can get to many tourist attractions in just a couple minute walk and there are many excellent pubs and restaurants nearby. January 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could do better We were impressed by the location - a good central position. We liked: positive check-in experience warm room clean room very comfortable bed efficient check-out we didn't like the aged decor and furniture ( we had 2 large tables in our small room) the large air-conditioning unit taking up even more space no complimentary water in the room expensive wi-fi charges no tea and coffee-making equipment in the room breakfast hot buffet - leathery bacon, pale sausages, tasteless mushrooms and soggy hash browns and why doesn't the hotel have an egg chef? We had a good weekend but aren't sure that we would choose to stay in the Park Lane Hotel again unless improvements are made. January 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The location was perfect for tourists. We were disappointed our room wasn't fully prepared on our arrival at 5:30 pm and had to wait for an extra bed to be set up in our room (not good after 25 hours of travel). The safe in our room didn't work and wasn't fixed during our 6 day stay. We had to use the safe in the reception area which was inconvenient. The bathroom needed upgrading as did the bedroom - old and tired. Happy with breakfast and restaurant meals. Disappointed that we weren't able to have breakfast in our room on our last day. We had to leave at 6:15 am and the breakfast area didn't open until 6:30am and we were told the price we paid for our room only included breakfast in the restaurant, not room service (a bit mean). Concierge staff and restaurant staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. January 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cold Service From Front Desk Staff We stayed in a corner executive room on the third floor. From the reviews I was not expecting much from the room, but it wasn't as dated as the classic rooms and had a large bathroom. That was about the only positive from our stay beyond the concierge being helpful when ordering take away. Negative: - The women working the front desk were extremely cold and at times felt very rude. - I was aware that Starwood hotels in Europe try and add on a UNICEF donation without asking, but there were several other charges tacked on my bill that I never asked for. For example, a charge for a newspaper that was delivered to my room that I never requested. The front desk explained that on my SPG profile they saw I liked a particular newspaper. Pretty sure in any other hotel this newspaper would have been free, otherwise why did they not ask at check in if I would like one? - Was never asked at check in for my email and if I would like my bill emailed to me. You can check your bill on the TV but if you need a copy or need something changed be sure to allow at least 30 minutes waiting in line in the morning to check out. This and the newspaper problem could have been prevented if the front desk knew proper check-in procedures. - Each day we declined housekeeping, but the housekeeping manager would always knock on the door around 1pm even though the do not disturb sign was out. She told me that it was policy that someone in housekeeping must enter the room each day to make sure things are ok in the room. Guess I'll check with the Starwood corporate office on this one as it was rather annoying. - 3 of the mornings housekeeping tried entering our room at 8am even though the sign was out. - Around 7am every morning about 4-5 housekeepers congregated outside of our door since the service elevator was nearby and decided to have a nice loud chat. - Early one morning the TV automatically turned on and an alarm gradually got louder in volume. On the screen was a message letting us know that in a few hours they were going to carry out a fire alarm test. So an alarm to make you aware of a future alarm... great... 5 out of 5 days we did not get to sleep in past 7am. What a vacation! To the General Manager: Thanks for the bottle of wine for my birthday and the upgrade to the nice executive room. I understand that you can't renovated your hotel overnight to make the reviews of your hotel more positive, but I've read many reviews about the level of service at this hotel and my stay also reflects the low level of service. This hotel is not up to brand standards. Your front desk is not only cold to customers, they are not knowledgeable about the hotel or the Sheraton brand. Not only that, but your housekeeping staff needs a review on how to handle themselves in front of guests in order to provide a more pleasant experience for the guests. I do not often give such a negative review, but I feel that these changes are within your power as general manager and you are aware of the problems but have not taken enough action to fix them. January 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Was there 1 night last week. Definitely not a 5 star as advertised! Very old and dated. Room was not very clean, especially the bathroom. Staff was OK but when I went to talk to concierge at 6 pm no one was there. the bellhop guy told me he went on a break...he tried to help me, and was very nice, but he did not know much about restaurants, etc. I can't believe they had no one at 6 pm! Location however is fantastic! Will stay there just for that... January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, but .... Hotel booked through agent's "secret hotels" on basis of location (which is great). Standard/quality of room and bathroom accommodation was however significantly below five star billing (even allowing for "secret hotel" discount) and was poor value for money. Music from New Year's eve function pounded throughout hotel well beyond acceptable timeframe. January 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location/Outstanding Service Our stay began before we arrived. While in Rome for Christmas, I sent an email to the hotel asking them to put 2 large bottles of water in our room and to make us a dinner reservation at a place close to the hotel that would not require us to change clothes, as we were going to arrive around 7pm. The Concierge responded within the hour to tell me that all was taken care of and asking if we needed anything further. The hotel proved to be the perfect location for us. All of our needs were met and then some. The big treat at the hotel was meeting the hotel's Executive Chef. He is such a gentleman and a kind and caring professional. He has been awarded the MBE from the Queen as the result of his outstanding service to the community. This is a man and a hotel that gives back and that is very important to us. The hotel gave us an outstanding value for our money and we highly recommend it to you. January 5, 2012
  • 2015-04-26T18:39:48.555-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-25, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_753, tr_753
  • loc_en_US, sid_105, prod, sort_default
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 next>>