The Park Lane Hotel, London

  • Piccadilly
  • London,
  • England
  • W1J 7BX
  • United Kingdom
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 665 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Slightly Faded Hotel The hotel is well situated and the public areas are lovely. March 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by worn out worn out rooms and shower too small for price September 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big rooms the concierge Stewart was a fantastic help. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel does have great features excellent service and great location March 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some improvements Internet should be free I beleive:) September 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm a regular guest of this hotel My latest stay was fine, thanks! February 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not to the standards expected This is a tired hotel much in need of renovation. As a platinum member I'm used to being treated as a valued guest and given access to the best the hotel has to offer. Unfortunately it didn't seem to matter who I was. From the old carpets in the hallway, to the damaged room doors, to the poorly lit room which faced the wall of another building and gave no view whatsoever to the toilet paper shoved in the window frame to stop the wind and rain blowing through, this hotel was a disappointment from start to finish. Breakfast, for which we were charged £70 (I understand that I chose a non-inclusive rate but then the hotel doesn't have a club lounge which I expected to use) consisted of 4 hot menu items and an automated machine to make pancakes. The umbrella, if you wanted to use one was £15 and there was no iron in either of the two dark rooms we reserved. The bathrooms were small. cold, dark and originally constructed in the 80's (or that's how old they felt), there were cracks in the paint and wallpaper, the bed was to twin units pushed together and very uncomfortable. The TV reception quality was grainy and the light fitting in the ceiling rattled when people above walked around. All in all a very disappointing visit and I won't be going back to this venue again when there are such wonderful hotels in the area. My loyalty to the Sheraton brand on this occasion has not been rewarded in spite of the usually very high standards I've experienced at other Sheraton hotels. December 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive, worn out and disappointing Stayed here on a Friday night. Wanted a central location and did expect to pay for this, however also expected room to be close to worth the money - it wasn't. I'm a gold SPG member and while I know that getting an upgrade is subject to availability the indifference (or lack of empowerment) of the staff around managing my expectations on not getting an upgrade was poor - no alternative offered. As a reward I was offered a free drink (just one, there were two of us) or points and free wifi. Opted for that one, no sign of the wifi, not critical however shows lack of attention to detail - overall, experience as SPG gold member was very poor. The room was very small, stuffy and dated. Everything crammed in. The bathroom was completely worn out, with cracked tiles, yellowing fixtures and while functional was very disappointing for this price and location. Bed was comfortable, however let down by the rest of the room. VERY noisy but not from outside, rather from the internal hotel corridors. Doors must be very thin. Didn't try the food, room service or other services so can't comment on those. It was okay for one night, however I would not want to stay any longer especially at the prices charged. I'll be trying a different hotel next time - there is a big choice in the area and the benefits of SPG loyalty aren't worth sticking with this hotel for. July 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst experience in starwood hotel chain • When I arrived at the hotel at around 8:30 am, the early check in wasn’t arranged despite the request, and a reception staff said “Your room won’t be ready by 10:00 am”. - This is not ideal but still acceptable. • No room/space for refresh (shower & change) was not provided despite the request. A staff told me to go to a toilet. • Given these circumstances, I had to reschedule the appoint with my business partner. • Despite a reminder by me, my room hadn’t been ready until around 10:30 am. Given this, I had to re-reschedule the appointment. • The room was small, dark and stuffy. • No consistency with amenity goods (e.g. the tooth brush was provided only 3rd and 4th day, the slipper was only 3rd day etc…) • It took almost half hour to deliver a small parcel to my room. • Since then, the message light had kept flushing until I checked out. • There was no tea/coffee facility in the room. When I checked out, I asked about this. A reception staff said it’s on demand (correct?). I had never heard this in Sheraton. It wasn’t explained at check in and wasn’t described in the tariff when I booked. • Internet connection that was free for corporate account was charged to my bill until I pointed out. • There was some more but too many to remember all… • There was no word of apology from staff at all for all above poor servicess • Overall, this was my worst experience in starwood hotel chain. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Location is the only upside We stayed here June 11 to June 14 2013 as part of a month long trip to Europe from the US. It was a Starwood points trip and we had booked 2 adjoining rooms since we were traveling with our kids 10 and 12. We arrived late on the 11th , from Scotland , to find out that our rooms were not available because the person in there had decided to stay an extra night??? There was no apology, no explanation of why the other person wasn't moved instead, and no offer to make it up somehow. Only an emotionless desk clerk with an offer to try to get us something at least on the same floor. We ended up at opposite ends of the first floor in the most dreadful dated rooms overlooking the roof of the lobby below. The next day we did get moved to our previously reserved rooms, but still no follow up or a note from management. As a Gold Starwood member I expect at least a little service and courtesy. The hotel is located perfectly and close to the underground BUT it us in very poor shape, dark, dingy and dated. The breakfast was OK , but way overpriced, as was room service. Not good value for money there either. Its worth noting that my comments are not a case of someone from the US having expectations that were too high coming to the UK. I was born and raised in the UK and stayed at places across the Country growing up. I live in the US now. This is just not a good hotel. I would look at other Starwood locations. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton by name but not by standard The whole experience was very disappointing. While the location and public areas are excellent, this is not followed through in the accommodation section. The room was unbearably small and the door swung back into me, leaving a bruise on my arm. The room was very run down: peeling paint on the frames, a curtain which did not cover the whole window. If I had not booked on a pre-paid basis, I would have checked out immediately. There are far better hotels in London available for less. The Reception Staff need attention. They were frazzled and inefficient. They spoke downwards and muttered even when asked not to do so. I am deaf and hate having to say this to people to get them to speak directly to me. Even when I said it, they invariably spoke down again meaning that I could neither catch what they said or lip read. In spite of correcting them again and again, they addressed me by the wrong title. One Receptionist even tried to convince me that I had booked under another name (other than my own?!?) It was a very frustrating experience. Other staff we met, however, were most pleasant and efficient. Paying for WiFi??? In this day and age, it is ridiculous - especially for a business hotel. It is the first time in years I was asked to pay for WiFi in any hotel I stay in. The breakfast was okay but certainly not on par with that served in other Sheratons we have stayed in. Our whole experience left us thinking this is a Sheraton in name but not standard. We won't be back and we certainly will not be recommending it. November 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Much work needed to bring this hotel up to 5-star standard I always appreciate the SPG recognition and the excellent attitude of the staff here. However, the hotel falls a long way short of providing a five-star service. For example: - There are no longer tea/coffee trays in the rooms. These have to be requested, which is a hassle and a delay. - Despite a card on the desk saying that I was in a wifi zone, the signal was too weak to be usable. - The in-room television system is antiquated with few British channels (no BBC3/4, ITV2/3/4, for example) and just two radio ones (Capital and Classic FM). Most of the tv content is 16:9 non-HD, but then side-cropped to 4:3 before distribution to the 16:9 LCD screens in the rooms. Madness. - At breakfast, no porridge; no egg/pancake/omelette station -- scrambled and cold hard-boiled are the only egg options on the buffet; no vegetarian options such as veggie sausage. - I've had some rooms where the a/c has been ineffective. - The workmanship in the rooms is poor. Out of a dozen or so wall pictures, fittings, mains sockets, etc. I don't think a single one had been secured with the help of a spirit level. Some were seriously askew. - There is no Club lounge. - The two lifts, not being together, are not used efficiently, and can lead to an unnecessarily long wait if you happen to pick the wrong one. A system is needed where you select a floor outside the lift, and are then told which lift to go to. It's such a shame that there are flaws, because, with good management, this hotel could be superb. May 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel must be up for sale This stay at the Park Lane was utterly dreadful. Here is my experience: arrive from LHR 9 hour flight with bags in tow. I pass 4 employees, not a single one of whom offers assistance. Reach check in desk to be greeted by clerk who speaks so rapidly I have to repeatedly ask her what she is saying. Her first question is have I ever stayed there before. Then she tells me the hotel is totally booked so there are no upgrades and reads the policy that check in time is not for another 4 hours. After much pleading she gives me a disgusting cramped smoke stinking room 543 that has no heating. I just start to nap and someone pounds on my door. When I open it a maintenance person apologizes, wrong room. Meanwhile I ask if a package has arrived for me and am told no. I call my secretary in the states to confirm it was shipped and she gives me the signature of hotel clerk who accepted parcel the day before. I go back downstairs to check in and again am told no package but to go check at concierge. I do and there is the package, however it had not been entered into the handwritten. Not computerized!!! Log. Later that afternoon I go to door to catch a cab but no one is there. I finally see a worker and I stop him and ask if he can get a cab and he says go inside and see if the concierge is there. He wasn't so I left and finally got a cab in my own . The final straw: when I checked in I told the clerk I would need a 4:00 check out. At 3:30 I tried to enter my room and the key would not work so I had to rush back downstairs to get the key reactivated April 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor room and excuses I had a standard room. I was forced to upgrade to an executive room to obtain something acceptable. In the standard room, there was no shower and the sink was blocked. I cleaned my teeth and was left with a mess in the sink - and could not then shave. The shower was over the bath, but the curtain was a flimsy plastic affair that stopped 6 inches above the bath. It had two affects: 1) the bathroom floor became flooded as did the toilet seat 2) the curtain instantly wrapped around and clung to your body making it a very poor cold experience - in fact almost impossible to rinse - and leaving further soapy, slippery floor. I complained. The excuse provided was that the curtains are all like that because head office think it’s unsafe to have a longer curtain in case anyone slips! Why are guests treated as idiots? Having a curtain the overlaps the top of the bath is not dangerous for goodness sakes. On the contrary, guaranteeing a wet soapy slippery floor is! The room itself had a noisy (would I sleep!?) portable aircon unit - with a flexi pipe running to a whole in the window. Not nice, or good. I agreed to pay to upgrade. I was asked to come back to reception to get the new key! i.e. get dried, dressed, re-pack, descend, queue, wait - do all in reverse. Reception did agree to send someone up with my new key to minimise the inconvenience. Yes, it's a standard room I had - but standard cannot and should not equate to poor! The staff were on the whole great, polite and professional - especially when they stopped trying to justify poor quality with puffery. September 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over priced awful quality We stayed at the Sheraton Park Lane on Saturday the 14th April 2012. It was our first visit, and having stayed at nearly every hotel in Mayfair/Park Lane for 30 years, I can safely say it will be our last visit. The hotel is tired to say the least. Our room, referred to as a 'Classic' was awful. Small, dingy, terrible view, seedy bathroom, cold and overpriced. We had a quick drink in the bar before we went out. Our white wine was awful, the bar was cold and dark. (For some reason it was empty, too). Aside from the above the following issues needed addressing; intermittent sound on TV, bathroom door lock broken, safe needed servicing. As we arrived with about an hour to spare before we went out we decided to leave the problems as we were in a hurry and did not want staff in our room while we were out. (I realise staff can gain entry whenever, we were unsure wether the hotel would use outside labour to rectify the faults so we left the issues). The following morning I mentioned the problems when checking out. The girl at the front desk was to say the least uninterested. She did say she was sorry. She did not seem concerned about my complaints. Her attitude was cold and diffident at best. (What she was sorry about was I had not told the hotel of the issues when we arrived. She was not sorry about the poor experience we had staying at the hotel). I was not appeased in any way, which I found odd considering the hotel is supposed to be 5 stars. The check out agent did ask me what I would like to do, 'simple' I said, ' I will not stay in a Starwood hotel again' April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid if you can A few years ago, this property was amongst the best SPG hotels I have the pleasure of staying. I spent over 100 nights per year at SPG. Their member recognition during check in was impeccable, their rooms nice, their staff, from reception to the house keeping crew along with room service and the restaurants were as good and dedicated to excellence as the best properties in Asia, and then 3 or 4 years ago it all went down hill. My best guess?! Management changed and people stop doing their best to simply focus on doing nothing. Probably an emulation of management. I traded SPG to another chain where I also enjoy the highest membership level while in London and waited patiently for this property to return to a normal and expected SPG service. I booked this hotel again hoping that after these short years they would have changed the management and things would go back to the way I remembered. Unfortunately, it didn't, and in fact, it got worst. 1 - If you are a gold or platinum member, do not expect any recognition what so ever at reception. I do not believe anyone care. Even if you have your ambassador call ahead of time. 2 - If you need anything delivered to your room, make sure you call 24 hours in advance, perhaps if you are lucky, someone will remember you called 3 - If you expect a smile, a warm welcome either at the breakfast room or at the bar, that would be wishful thinking. Help yourself, they wont mind. I could go one, but I thing whomever reads this gets the picture. Interesting enough the only personnel that showed interest, dedication, professionalism and courtesy was the garage which turns out does not belong to the hotel but works with them. Hope this helps some people make the right choice while in London. Good Luck. October 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by An Old Friend I have stayed at The Park Lane on every trip to London since 1994. I love the neighborhood, ease of getting to the tube stations and bus, the restaurant, and the staff. The neighborhood is safe and Buckingham Palace is a quick seven minute walk through the park. I have been with my husband on some trips and by myself on most and have always had wonderful service and been allocated an upgraded room. I have never had a dark, side room with a bad view or a room near the elevator so my perspective on the hotel may be different from those guests who have been given the less desirable rooms. If my room wasn't ready after a ten hour flight I was offered a small room to use or sleep in until my reserved room was ready. I have been given vouchers for drinks at the bar as well if I had to wait for my room for any reason. Yes, the hotel could use upgrades and yes, it is a little down at heel but your experience here will depend almost entirely upon the room you receive. For the past twelve years I've been given a park view room, either an executive, a junior suite, or a suite each time I have visited. The public rooms are beautiful, the restaurant is fabulous and the location is suburb. Yes, the hotel is old and has quirks but for me that's part of its charm. I love the old place with all its age-related faults. As for SPG perks, in addition to the upgraded rooms, I've always been given a welcome amenity. Sometimes it's fruit and bottled water, others a bottle of wine and snacks, the last time it was champagne, strawberries, and shortbread cookies If you like historic hotels and can put up with its oddities and always book an executive room at minimum, you may find you love it as much as I do. April 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible concierge service Having stayed at this hotel numerous times, I knew better than to expect stellar service. I stay here as I am very comfortable with the location and know the surrounding area well. On this visit, we walked by the concierge desk first to for a walking map and a simple question on how to get around as London was celebrating National Remembrance Day. We were handed a map and before we could open our mouths the concierge walked away. The next experience was trying to find out if we could get theatre tickets. We were told there would be not problem. We asked what shows were in town and the concierge walked away with out a word. An employee wearing a "tool belt" around his waist, started to look around behind the counter to help us. The concierge came out from the back room and dismissively gave us a poorly printed list of shows. No dialog, no suggestions. The next time, we walked by and there was no concierge. After a few moments, a young man walked up to ask us if we needed help. But before we could ask our question,a senior concierge walked up and lead the other employee into the back room. The senior concierge was so rude! I walked to the reception desk and asked to speak to the manager. He apologized and called us in the room to give us information regarding train tickets to Birmingham. We asked about a rental; car option, he could not assist us. We ended up researching and booking online. Took us about an hour as we kept having to go to google maps to figure out what location was closest. After leaving we realized that the poor service at the concierge desk came from the top down. The senior concierge, who I have seen on previous visits sets the negative tone of all of his staff. The other realization was how much I appreciate all of the wonderful concierges I had the pleasure to have assist me with enjoying my stay or simplifying my stay. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for location, bad for everything else I came to the Park Lane after staying in Rome for several days, where my Suite Night Awards landed me one of the best rooms of my life. I knew not to expect the same level of comfort at the Park Lane, but I did not expect to be as disappointed as I was. 1. I called ahead to inquire about the best way to get to the hotel on the Underground and was told the Piccadilly station would be best. As I learned after traipsing through London with two large bags in tow, this is incorrect. The Green Park station is half again as close to the hotel. 2. There were no bellmen at the door, and there are several areas with stairs between the door and the reception area. I struggled with two large bags over each of these areas, in plain view of the concierge, but was not offered assistance. 3. I chose the breakfast option as my platinum welcome gift, but was not told when or where to obtain it in the morning. I called the concierge from my room to inquire, but hung up after waiting extensively without anyone picking up the phone. 4. The "suite" I was awarded after plunking down two Suite Night Awards is abysmal. The TV was blaring when I reached the room, leaving me to wonder if someone had actually been in to clean between me and the last guest. The furnishings are sub-par at best. The windows are absolutely tiny and, as another reviewer mentioned, down a dark alley of other rooms that blocks light and keeps one from being able to open the curtains. I don't know if I was given this "suite" because I booked on points or because it really is typical of what the hotel has to offer, but I'm really surprised that Starwood hasn't stepped in to renovate this property and improve its service. It's a good location for tourists in London, but that is the only positive. July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mediocre: History Does Not Equal A Comfortable Stay There are a few comments here regarding this hotel’s history. This is all very well, but I think history and comfort are not mutually exclusive. This hotel is desperately in need of an extensive refurbishment., yet nothing is on the cards. I have booked a two-room weekend stay here as I was travelling with my parents As a Platinum I was given an “upgrade”, but the courtesy was not extended to both rooms. Fine, I understand that, so I gave my parents the upgraded room. Well, the upgraded room was nothing more than a room which had been refurbished in the mid-90s. The room I got, whilst big, was a shockingly dated room, which had probably last seen a new coat of paint circa 1982. Bathroom was tatty, and the room had paint peeling all over the place. All furniture looked really dated and the whole room smelled faintly of mould. It was, however very large by London standards. The communal areas are also crying for an update. The lobby area is poorly laid out, and the hotel lacks any logical access from the Piccadilly side. If you arrive by tube from Green Park, you will need to cross the hotel bar with all your luggage until you reach reception and someone can help with your bags , by which time, of course, it’s already too late to be of any use. The main entrance is via a back alley, which is just inexplicable to me. The location is this place’s highlight: you are within minutes’ walking distance of some of London’s best dining and nightlife options, and lots of sights are also within easy walking distance. True, you can often find a room here for considerably less than nearby 5-star options, but you will be getting what you pay for! On the bright side, room service (especially the Barilla pasta dishes) is very reasonably priced and tasty by London standards. September 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fairly Awful It's hard to know where to begin. The property is a mess. The reception area is old, worn and faded, just like the rooms. Seems that not much has been updated since Margaret Thatcher left office. The space is awful, awkwardly set up and not what one expects from a Sheraton property. Aside from the lovely Palm Court, which is a restaurant, not a reception area, there is no space for the public other than to stand in a very cramped few square meters in front of the reception desk. The rooms are equally tattered, faded and unpleasant. The walls, floors and decor are from another century and not in a lovely antique way. Even the beds do not come up to the Sheraton standard. And they are set up with a strange collection of beat up, mismatched furniture. Lastly, there are the issues of process and customer service. When I checked in I was told that the card I had reserved with had been declined. (which it turned out was not true...they never even tried to charge it--I checked with my credit card company--, and my colleague staying at the property had the same experience.). So, I gave the desk clerk a different card and all was well....until my room service was delivered at 6 the next morning. The server asked me to pay in cash as he said reception said I had no card on file. At my request he called reception who kept insisting I had no card on file. I told the server that I would not pay cash and to take the food away (to his credit he left the meal). When I got back to the hotel later in the day after work, I checked in with reception and they were baffled, as I did indeed have a card on file. I asked to speak with a manager, who it seems was in a meeting. The clerks at reception were very nice, but, in all, this experience, combined with the terrible shape of the facilities, left me with a terrible impression of this property. August 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dated hotel with unfriendly staff I stayed at this hotel for nearly 3 weeks in May (2012) and was left unimpressed. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just steps from Piccadilly and the heart of Mayfair. The building itself is quite old, and the rooms are hit or miss. Some are quite large (for London) and kept in decent shape while others are awkward, small, and are years past their need for renovation. The first room I had reeked of smoke despite it being labeled a non-smoking room. I declined the staff's offer to "febreeze" the room to freshen it up and requested another room instead. Generally, my experience with the staff was unimpressive. I tried to extend my stay twice as my business meetings were taking longer than expected. The first time I was told there were no rooms available, only to find some available on spg.com at at the same rate. The second time I was told they were "very busy" and if I wanted to stay they would have to nearly triple my rate. Again, I found a room available online (from my phone while standing at reception), except that time the rate online was nearly 1/3 of what they were offering me. When I brought this to their attention, the attendant merely smirked and shrugged her shoulders - then seemingly reluctantly gave me the rate I found. Given that the hotel is quite pricey as it is, it was uncomfortable to get the feeling you were getting hustled for a few extra pounds - or perhaps they did not really care if I extended or not. I had other more minor issues as well while there (room not properly cleaned, credit cards billed mid-stay with no receipt provided (or acknowledgement of the charge until I showed the front desk the charge on my cc)). I've been a starwood member for years, platinum several times over, and I am generally pleased with the service we receive at spg hotels. This, however, was perhaps one of the worst experiences I've encountered. I hope they can improve - but until then I will be staying elsewhere on my stays to London. May 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Park Lane Hotel, London, 13/10/13 At 12:00 when we went for lunch we found the staff at the Palm Court were exceptionally incompetent, rude and lacked most basic customer service ethics and skills which you would normally expect from a hotel chain with this reputation and rating. However this altered dramatically with a change of shift at about 14:30 - one staff member in particular, I think his name was Manpreed, was a true gem and the management should consider him a great asset to the hotel. In our opinion the two female and one male staff members that were there earlier should be told by management to go home and never come back - hospitality is not their true calling and they should find work in a non-customer facing roles in another organisation. The Sheraton chain do not need people like that upsetting their guests. Reception staff were also excellent. Apart from the above, overall it was a fairly enjoyable stay at the hotel. Quiet, which was a concern when we went to our room which was right on piccadilly overlooking Green Park but very effective, if not ver old, double glazing deadened the traffic noise, and the bed was very comfortable. However, the interior of the hotel generally is quite dated and could benefit from refurbishment - I expect a certain standard from the Sheraton and I think this particular hotel has age working against it. There is a point where architecture and decor is quaint and charming and then a point where everything is just old - we believe currently the Park Lane Hotel is truly showing its age and unfortunately nearing the end of being charming and heading fast towards just being old. Old squeaking floorboards, old doors with many coats of paint covering years of knocks and dents, aged fittngs and furniture, dated bathrooms, etc. However, given the above, all required facilities were available and at an acceptable standard. We would mention that it was difficult to get the right balance between flow and temperature in the shower. Also, Coffee making facilities were only available on request which we found unusual. We will definitely stay Sheraton again, it just may not be the Park Lane Hotel. October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely bad service was really looking forward to my stay in the Park Lane Sheraton Hotel in London this past weekend - especially as this was my first one as a gold member. Unfortunately it was a huge disappointment, got one of the worst rooms (#126: first floor close to the elevator and stairs, very dark, no view) – decided to let it slide until hearing a constant humming noise that really drove me crazy. Will spare you the details and sum things up: had to talk to reception 4 times to find out what was going on – the major issue was not the noise itself, but how I was treated. No one seemed to care and even stating very clearly that I am not happy with this situation and the humming sound stressed me out (could hear it even with ear plugs). Asked specifically to be kept in the loop – which nobody did, had to call again and again to ask about the current status and if anything can be done. It was also very apparent that the receptionist was taking more and more time to pick up the phone which was really annoying and made me feel bad. Did not make this up to get another room or an update, the noise was seriously stressing me out. Had to call the duty manager (reception did not put me through, was just told to call the operator) – at least Susan was aware of the situation but also made no real effort to change anything, she did send up a technician who confirmed it was coming from downstairs and he recommended to talk to the duty manager again – called, but she decided to not pick up the phone or follow up in any other way. All in all it was a huge disappointment to be treated this way, no one kept me in the loop or bothered to help me and this was the real issue. Things like this happen, it´s unfortunate but the most important thing is then how the hotel staff is dealing with it and the service provided was absolutely unacceptable. I´ll stay loyal to the SPG program as it’s the best within the travel industry, just never ever stay again in the Park Lane Hotel in London or recommend it to anyone (there are some negative comments on foursquare and Tripadvisor already). To end on a positive note, the team behind the @starwoodbuzz twitter account was doing an amazing job and answered very quickly after my complaining tweets, reached out and asked for details. October 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel does not deserve to be a 5 star hotel! I had the worst check in experience. Then i was ask to move into a room that was filled with fumes of newly painted walls. The worst was yet to come..I set the tap to desired temperature before shifting water to the shower...to my surprise i was greeted with extreemly burning hot water, i immidiatly pulled out and requested for room to be changed. The next room was not so bad except the fact that it had plumbing issues as well and was a non smoking room while i had specifically requested and reserved a smoking room. My room was changed again, this time to the farthest corner of the floor and guess what it had the same water temperature issues! the bathroom was all white except the WC cover which was stained black and just does not belong in a 5 star hotel! Next morning I experienced yet another freezing shower! I complained to the front desk and was informed that hotel had turned off the heating system and water would be normal later on! I am wondering why the hotel guest were not informed???? Since my room was paid for and non refundable, i just gave up for rest of my stay...so in short everyday i was forced to take either a freezing shower or extreemly burning hot shower! The housekeeping does not show up unless and until you ask for it which is not a standard for a 5 star hotel. Any request from housekeeping or other department would take atleast 30 minutes! I travel extensively and this is the first time in my life i have seen squeeky floors and nasty bathroom in a 5 star hotel! Each of the 8 floors were squeeky and begging for renovation! Moving to checkout experience, i was greeted by manager who seemed concerned enough to make sure i leave satisfied but at the ame time reluctant to admit anything as wrong during my stay. I paid the dues in full and left for the airport. To my surprize they charged my credit card again for an ammount of 30 GBP for what i do not know!!!!!! The only positive i can write about this hotel was concierge who did manage to get me reervations at all the exclusive places! Thanks Nigel ! I would seriously request sheraton to look into either withdrawing thier name or to proceed with extensive renovation at this hotel. This hotel needs complete overhaul from staff to rooms to bathroom to attitude! I would never ever stay at this or another sheraton again! February 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but many inconsistencies I'm currently working on a long term project in London and try to stay at the Park Lane each week due to its ideal location and for SPG points. I've had approx. 5 to 6 stays at this hotel so far and must say that some stays are very good (nice room, friendly welcome, helpful staff...) but I’ve had a few dreadful experiences as well: - For the exact same price as I always pay, I was given a tiny room with no fridge once (although I need one to store medication) - I had to wait 45min for a fridge and then there was no room on the floor to put it (very tiny room…) so the staff member placed it right in front of my closet so I could no longer open it and had to step over the fridge to leave the room - I had toilets which didn’t flush properly twice – I understand that the plumbing is very old but being able to flush seems like a minimum - I was given room keys once which were apparently only activated for 24 hours at a time (for some odd reason) so I had to pass by the reception 3 times in 3 days to have my keys reactivated – twice the receptionists simply reactivated the keys without even asking for my name, ID or personal details (such as my phone number, address…) and once I was told I’d have to wait approx. 10min for someone to escort me to my room to check my ID (which I didn’t think of taking with me for breakfast) which I feel makes more sense than not checking anything but is a bit too extreme – one of the many examples of inconsistencies I’ve experienced at this hotel - At check-in, sometimes my check-in form is already filled out with my SPG account details (my home address in the US, SPG number, etc.), sometimes it’s filled out with my current address in Paris and sometimes I’m asked to fill out the form and show them ID – I find this quite confusing since I book my rooms through the very same travel agency each week - At check-in, I was once reassured that I was given a smoking room knowing that I had never asked for that, my travel agent knows I always request a non-smoking room and the Park Lane should know it too by now – luckily for me, there was another non-smoking room available - I order room service frequently and the experience is good overall except for one time when I waited approx. 30min for someone to show up with the wrong order (fish and chips instead of the salmon and lentils) – they assured me that my order was ready but I still had to wait an additional 10min and my food was cold I’m staying there again this week and so far, besides the fact that my bathtub is so tiny that I feel like I’m wearing the shower curtain when I shower and the horrible view from my room, my stay is going very well! May 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful historical decor but lacking comforts We stayed at the hotel for only one night during a short layover on our way home from a European holiday. After walking to the hotel form the Green Park tube station we were confused as to where the front entrance was. There was a large decorated entry on Piccadilly but when we went inside there were no signs to where the front desk was and we were forced to carry our luggage down some steps and drag it through the bar/restaurant to make our way to the reception and front desk. There were more steps up to the front desk and still no obvious signage as to where things were located. We dragged our luggage up the steps to the front desk. We were greeted unenthusiastically by a "Trainee" who seemed to struggle through out check-in process. I was asked to fill out a form by hand with home address etc., that seemed out of place since I used my SPG points for the room and the reservation was made months in advance - all the info I had-wrote was already in the computer somewhere (I received a email confirmation of my reservation only the day before.) I was simply handed two key-cards and directed towards the elevator (back down the steps). No questions as to a preferred location of our room, a confirmation of what type of room was reserved or anything, and no basic overview of the hotel and location of amenities (we were hungry and hoped to have a quick meal.) When we entered out room we were quite shocked. We know the hotel was in a historic building and there are certain limitations but we were not prepared. The room was terribly small - I could not even get my suitcase past the bed without lifting and carrying it over - the foot of the bed was only about 16" from the wall. The room was very hot and there was a proportionately large section of the small room taken up by a portable air-conditioner. Heat id provided by a hot-water radiator I had to turn off. The TV system somehow thought we were in a different room instead of our own, so we had emails destined for another person on our TV. The bathroom was obviously put in more recently than the building was constructed so we were not surprised it was a funny shape or anything. However the decision to try to squeeze a bathtub in was bizarre. The tub was literally squeezed into a closet with the faucet in a strange spot, and the tub was so small I could not stand in it comfortably. A single stand-up shower would have been much more practical and useful. Not being used to their plumbing fixtures also made flushing the toilet interesting. Instead of simply pushing button on the wall or pressing a flush lever, you have have to pump the handle up and down several times to make the toilet flush. Normal, or defective? I don't know. The strangest part of the whole room was the fact that their was only one power outlet and it was beside the door nowhere near a mirror, but the room came with hair dryer. Imagine stumbling through the room around the weirdly placed furniture looking for an outlet, naked with dripping wet hair trying to find an outlet? This on top of the fact that it was 5:30am and we were preparing to get back to Heathrow for a flight. The check-out was as unimpressive as the check-in - handed our keys in thanked. But still no offer of where they might be serving breakfast or offer to call a taxi. Overall, a beautiful hotel and if we had more time I'm sure we could have enjoyed some of its intricacies, but definitely not what we expected. December 29, 2012
<<prev 19 20 21 22 23