Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 673 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Raynor's Outting My family members enjoyed their stay. We will uses this hotel again. December 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cold Shower + Wrong Billing I had no hot water for my shower on Sunday. I called down to guest services, they apologized and would send someone up immediately to sort it out. 35 minutes later no one had shown and I had to leave for my flight. Ice cold showers are less than acceptable. I received my bill through an email. I opened it up. It has the wrong name and address on it as well as the wrong SPG rewards. I called in, they put me through to voicemail to rectify. Left a message..I will give them some time to respond. Called back 4 times now to reach someone about the ice shower and all I hear are voicemail. No one is answering. As someone who takes groups all across the country, I cant believe this is the type of service I can come to expect from a Sheridan. Shocking. December 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Grandiose - out of scale Everything is over-sized and lacking in warmth. Located in a part of town beyond walking distance to anything of interest. Sleep disturbed by loud door closings outside the room and far down the hall. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by No surprises - good or bad. This is a pretty typical Sheraton. I was disappointed to find that there is no SPG club lounge, like there is in most Sheratons. But otherwise, the hotel is pretty standard. The carpets could use a deep clean in the communal areas, but the carpet in the rooms is new/clean. The front desk staff was kind, helpful, and made a good first impression. However the breakfast staff was slow and let me sit there so long without my requested to-go coffee that I eventually had to leave without it. But overall, service was ok. Be ready to walk what seems like a mile to the parking garage and back. That got annoying by the end of a week long stay. But generally, the facilities are pretty good for Birmingham (remember, you need to bring your expectations down for this city... it is just not the travel destination you might find elsewhere!) December 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Off-site Review I enjoyed my stay. The LAN connection for internet access is cumbersome. A wireless connection would be easier and given the room price point in Birmingham, AL should be available. December 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guest Support for Travelers Your staff take the time to make sure that your needs are met and you are comfortable. Even when you check in late in the night, many times when your plane has arrived late and your bags have not. Those small items you need are provided even a tooth brush! Just what you need to keep on track with business. December 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The 11th Floor Housekeeping Closet Door The housekeeping closet door on the 11th floor was the LOUDEST door I have ever heard... bar none! Imagine if you will an old screen door on some grandmother's front porch, the kind that has a spring to ensure that it closes every time. Now take its characteristic loud smack and magnify it by at least 100 decibels. I was in the room closest to the closet and that sound literally shook the walls! I could not hear sound from the closet itself, just the door. Other than that a great place to stay. November 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has no Wi-Fi The rooms have only wired Internet. With today's mobile devices (iPhones, iPads, etc), this is a huge drawback. Another complaint: All guest room doors automatically slam shut unless you keep them from slamming. Problem is, if you go to bed early, you can be awakened by slamming doors that really echo due to the atrium's acoustics. On the positive side, the guest room was nicely appointed and comfortable. Also, the conference refreshments service performed by the hotel was excellent. November 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Conference hotel Meeting rooms for conference adequate. Hotel elevators very slow and confused. Sometimes missed floors and buttons did not light up. November 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Walls too thin I would expect a hotel of this type would have walls between the rooms in which you would not hear your neighbors coughing or slamming doors in the middle of the night. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is big. I had a good stay. I had to ask for towel replacement two times before they brought them. Other than thatn, the stay was enjoyable. Staff was friendly. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Beds The best beds in Hoteldom! are found at the Sheraton. Our room was excellently prepared and kept and the housekeeping staff met our requests quickly and efficiciently. November 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to improve their customer service. Upon checking into my room, I noticed that dirty used towels from the previous guest were still in the room and the towel rack was hanging on the wall by a thread. I reported the dirty towels and it took about 12 hours and another phone call before they were removed. I was then given a face towel that looked like a cleaning rag. This is just a sampling of the numerous issues that occured during this stay. I was extremely disappointed with this hotel and sincerely hope that they improve their service. November 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2012 Conference I liked the updated rooms despite no minifridge or microwave in the room. Error at main desk initiated unnecessary/unwanted knocks on the door and phone calls for two days prior to departure. Requested wheelchair for my mother when we were misdirected and it never came. Room service delivered runny eggs on breakfast cart. Rooms were clean but dusty. Carpet has stains and wobbly leg on chair in room which could have posed a hazard. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feels like home. My wife and I (and our kids) have really come to love this Sheraton. I've stayed here on business and personal "getaway" travel. The staff always goes over the top to make us feel at home. The breakfast buffet is tops and the facility is always clean, up to date and comfortable. Convenient location too. November 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golf trip Stayed at this hotel during a golf trip. Rooms and staff were great. Casey's sports bar is average at best. Venturing out to another establishment for better food selection is recommended. Plan to pay for parking. $8 per day in nearby garage. Not terrible but it was unexpected in a smaller city like Birmingham. November 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and Clean This was a beautiful hotel and my family found it very convenient to all the Birmingham sites and locations of interest. While it is an older hotel, it has updated rooms that are nice and clean. The staff was/is wonderful. Never having been to Birmingham, they directed us to several points of interest and helped us navigaite the transit (DART). The one and only complaint that I have is that the rooms offered a king or two double beds. We traveled with our daughter and chose two doubles. I not having slept in a double bed obviously in years, did not realize how small they are. We were very comfortable for one person but not two! Needless to say we were happy to be home in our larger bed. November 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs upgrading Overall, this hotel needs upgrading, particularly in the area of replacing the carpeting, which is remarkably stained. While the hotel staff were amiable and willing to please, the overall ambiance was one of "needing some work" to go to a more than average level. November 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay in the newer section! I stayed in the older section...not the curved newer section. My room was dated...but the blinds had some kind of splatter on them...and needless to say I wasn't going any closer to inspect. If I hadn't already unpacked and had the time I would have demanded a new room. The conference facilites and food at the restaurant and catering were very good! November 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Caring and friendly staff All the staff were GREAT! They were friendly and did not hesitate to help. November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great & staff was excellent!! Staff was friendly & helpful with all our needs! Casey's was great! Will definitely be staying here again & recommend to family & friends. November 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed One of the reasons I chose to stay at the Sheraton Birmingham was because of other reviews applauding the staff & I was disappointed. Here are some things that happened: 1. I was checked in by an unsmiling, unhappy-looking lady. She didn't even smile when I complimented her pretty name: Kenya. 2. I ate dinner at the Atrium restaurant & while the waitress smiled, the service was poor. I asked for more water twice during dinner, but my glass was never refilled. 3. I sat in the bar area & couldn't help noticing: the bar tender was surly. He also told several customers (including myself) the wines at the hotel bar were overpriced (hmm, isn't he supposed to be making sales for you?), & he didn't know the hours of operation for the bar. There were other inconveniences, but these three show what I mean. Also, I did meet a few nice staffers (a pregnant lady at the front desk was the nicest!), but they were sadly outnumbered. I recommend: a) you look into improving staff morale (I mean, that's just too many unhappy, unfriendly people in one place). b)give them a refresher course on what customer service means. Smiles & courtesy count for a lot, especially in the service industry. So, sorry, right now I can't recommend the hotel and would probably not stay again at this particular Sheraton. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time to relax in Birmingham I came to Birmingham via Amtrak and was picked up at the train station by the hotel's shuttle service. The room was very nice and had a balcony that overlooked the atrium. I met with friends in the sports bar and had breakfast served in the room the next day. The hotel was close to the Fish House restaurant as well as downtown Birmingham. The next day, the shuttle service dropped me back off at the train station for my return trip. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff Was Wonderful I really enjoyed my stay, and everyone I encountered was very helpful. Would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in the Birmingham area. However the pool was closed for renovations. November 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by slight problems I wasn't given the correct discount for the room and they said they couldn't fix it when I checked in. The linens were scratchy, but bed was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great. November 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I never want to stay in room 416 again !!! When we arrived we asked for a kingsize non smoking on a lower floor and were given Room 416. All was ok except a) it was very far from the elevator and. b) was next to some small meeting rooms and we had to dodge carts supplying those rooms; however, c) the worst thing was when somone setting up the meeting room next to us tested the PA System at 4 AM, "MAY I HAVE YOU ATTENTION, PLEASE ! MAY I HAVE YOUR ATTENTION, PLEASE !" JARRING US AWAKE AND US NOT KNOWING IF THE BUILDING WAS ON FIRE, UNDER SEIGE, OR WHAT. IT WAS HORRIBLE!!!!!! SO, I NEVER WANT TO STAY IN ROOM 416 AGAIN !!!! November 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Location Wonderful Location to the civic center, valet parking great, wonderful, friendly southern hospitality. Food and service wonderful.View of Bh'ham great. November 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not For Business Travelers This hotel is well located near the convention center; however, it appeared to me that the management takes its guests for granted due to this location. I certainly did not feel my Platinum status mattered upon checkin, given I had over 100 nights already this year. Upon getting to my room my Internet did not work. I brought it to the attention of the staff the next morning and was told it would be fixed right away. After waiting a call finally came to check on the issue, but nobody had showed up to fix the problem and I had to leave for work. Zero follow-up after i left so I returned with no internet access for the second day. The bright side is the airport shuttle driver not only asked about my stay, but he actively wrote down my room number to report the issue. He was fantastic. Perhaps the rest of the staff could learn from him. I should say the restaurant staff were also very good. November 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did Not enjoy My stay at all This hotel provides for you in your room, NO microwave oven, NO refrigerator, NO free internet services The walls are paper thin, at 3:30 a.m., I was awake by the couple next door making love. I heard both of them reach their climax. I had reservations for two days (Friday & Saturday night) I canceled the second day and checked out Saturday morning.. October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The customer service was horrible It seems that employees are never prepared for the large capacity crowd that Magic City Classic weekend brings. There is never enough staff and those who are there seem very irritated and frustrated. It comes across very negatively and as extremely poor customer service. Even the manager didn't seem to know how to handle situations. Several of us had to come back to the desk, because the rooms we were given were not what we reserved or agreed to receive. This has happened to me for the past 3 years in a row. The manager tried to joke and rush to action before even comprehending my concern. Finally, however, he did get it right, but it took over 30 minutes. Next, valet completely bent my license plate. After calling it to their attention, they tried to say that it was not them. However, the plate was not bent when I first left my vehicle with valet services. They attempted to straighten it back out, but it is still slightly bent. Breakfast this year was very subpar what I'm used to having at the Sheraton. So much so, that I refused to do dinner there as my family and I usually do. There were no apologies and no show of concern for any of the issuesI I encountered. It is absolutely sad that our universities keep putting us at an establishment that doesn't seem to care about showing common courtesy, respect and proper professionalism. October 31, 2012
  • 2015-11-28 T10:49:05.320-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-19, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_673, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_115, prod, sort_default
<<prev 17 18 19 20 21 ... 24 next>>