Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 556 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved this Hotel! Our stay at the Birmgham Hotel was unexpected. We needed to rest overnight to make the long drive to FL and was surprised at how wonderful our short stay was here. Check-in was relatively quick and easy. Our attendant, Dion, was wonderful and is a great ambassador for your hotel. We were pleasantly upgraded to a Jr Suite. Loved our room and all of it's amenities. The next morning we had breakfast at the club lounge. The offerings were great - included two hot items along with an array of continental food item. Kerri, our lounge attendant was friendly, warm, and very helpful. This stay exceeded our expectations. This will definately be our hotel of choice next time we travel to Birmingham again. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room not that great The hotel was very nice overall, and the staff was helpful and professional. The building was beautiful, and the restaurants were nice as well. The room we were in was not nearly as nice as I expected it to be. The bathroom was very small with little counter space. There was no fridge or microwave. There was an open/used bar of soap left in the shower from the people who had been in the room before us. There were lots of pillows on the bed, but my husband complained that all of them were too soft. It was a great location. It was nice to be able to walk across to the BJCC from inside the hotel, and parking was available at the hotel. We did not have to get out to hunt for parking to go to the BJCC. February 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs renovation Staff did their best to meet our needs. Special thanks to Angela in Housekeeping who not only met our needs, but did it with an exceptional attitude. re need for renovation: bathroom fixtures were loose and outdated; electrical outlets were in inconvenient places with furniture blocking them Had to move desk to plug in computer; took me at least 30 minutes to connect to the internet requiring a phone call which eventually connected me to a tech in Guatamala--RIDICULOUS! Found there to be a lack of variety in eating facilities in hotel; food at hotel luncheon was less than desirable! September 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convention site I was disappointed with this location. I have always thought of Sheraton as a quality brand. My room was nice and comfortable. Others in the group reported changing rooms and complained about the showers and water temperature. I had hot water, but only average water pressure. I chose to opt out of maid service. Any interaction I had with the maid staff was in the hallway and they were very nice ladies. The group events were provided with coffee and snacks but the timing was poor. Since I do not know what the contract said, I will not say more than that. The first day of meetings I had to go to the front desk and report that the area around the restroom urinals needed to be mopped and that there were no paper towels. We had two meals as a group. Both were acceptable, but there was not enough wait staff to provide service. Banquet night we sat at a table that didn't even have food and drinks initially. There was no priority given to provide those guests with drinks. I didn't get a water until after my meal when I walked to the server tray and got my own. The Sheraton room on the 17th floor was staffed with very friendly employees. They served breakfast and snacks and were excellent ambassadors for the Sheraton. When I went to check out I had been charged $9.95 a day for wireless. I told the desk clerk that I had telephoned and asked about the usage charge when I encountered it and asked for a code. The desk had told me to just click agree and the charge would be removed when I checked out. I pointed out that my reservation said "free internet." The desk clerk looked annoyed and told me the free internet was in the lobby. She did go get a calculator and remove the charge but it took two attempts to get the charges correct. May 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired! Our bathroom had significant problems. The toilet whined for a few minutes after each flush. The Sheraton provided hair dryer and my straightener could not be used in the bathroom as the power shorted and had to be reset every 30 seconds. (Very old power outlets which need replacement.) Hot water was not very hot but the situation improved when the students arrived. The telephone at the computer desk was very old as well and it was impossible to carry on a conversation as there was so much static. (only needed that phone to talk to IT as the high speed connection couldn't be established. Our second night, several busloads of students arrived and the soundproofing on our "quiet" floor was inadequate. We couldn't get an elevator the rest of our stay and carried our luggage down the stairs to the parking garage. Obviously, the hotel wasn't prepared. The coffee bar isn't open after noon and the restaurant wasn't open at all on Sunday, which makes finding a meal slightly difficult. In this day and age, charging for Internet and local telephone calls is ridiculous, especially when less expensive chains provide free service. All in all, we were glad to escape. One bonus, the shuttle service staff were excellent, in particular Joseph and Suliman. April 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average Room, Super Staff All the staff was super nice with the exception of our server at the sports bar/cafe. He barely said 2 words to us and didn't smile until we were leaving. We tried being extra nice/funny to him, but he was not very pleasant. All other staff, including the "hostess" at sports bar, was very sweet and helpful. The bathroom floors needed cleaning a little better. You could see urine stains on the floor and the tray on the counter that held the soaps and lotions looked like it had not been cleaned in years. The hallway to our room was really hot and there were large stains on the carpets. The bed was really comfortable. We were in town for a concert, and the accessibility to the venue was super quick and easy. February 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Just stayed five nights and had a great time. Our annual convention for Alabama Grand Chapter Order of the Eastern Star is housed here. Our banquets and meetings are held in the ballrooms. My room mate and I had a great experience at the hotel. Our bellman Byron was outstanding, making sure all of our luggage and other stuff was taken care of, when the ice machine on our floor was out we called guest services and someone came immediately from food services with a bucket of ice (Miss Annie was particularly nice), when our tub would not drain, maintenance was there to fix the problem within fifteen minutes. We could not have asked for better service from the staff. We are looking forward to our stay next October. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Every person I encountered from valet, concierge and front desk persons were so polite and professional. I constantly heard sir and mam. Coffee stand and restaurant employees were equally on point. May 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by IMPROVEMENT NEEDED Valet parking and hotel check-in was friendly and helpful. Interstate road noise was terrible. Paid for Club Lounge but could not get in. Desk clerk was rude and not helpful; told me I did not pay for extra. Found my reservation and clerk next day said yes I paid. She adjusted my breakfast charges but would not adjust my wife's. She ate later in the morning and paid cash. She didn't think to get a receipt; so our bad. However; after the previous clerk lied to me I would think an additional $18 credit would not impact the hotel profit and would create some positive feedback. Breakfast buffet was terrible; cold food, no eggs or omelettes cooked to order, waitress wanted my bill taken care of; I hadn't eaten any of my meal. Very poor for the $18 price. Needed porter to get bags at checkout on Saturday. Only two employees to handle a full house; I waited 40 minutes and ended up making three trips to handle it myself. Management needs to assess the overall service in this Starwood property. Convenience to BJCC is great but that's the only benefit of this property. April 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by BAD EXPERIENCE We arrived at hotel around 10 PM, went to our room and found it had not been cleaned from the former tenants. Called the desk, went to the lobby for coffee to await the cleaning team. restaurant provided free coffee. went back up and room was still not clean. Lady came and cleaned it while we sat in the room and waited. She called for our luggage to be brought up - but it never came. We called back and eventually they brought it. It was around 1:15 AM by then. Not happy. They put a card with free breakfast cards in it under the door. No where to eat breakfast in a hurry the next morning when we had to be in the arena by 7:15 AM. When we checked out, we had to wait half an hour for our valet parked car. Not happy!!!!! April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Upon entering the room, I notice a BO smell. I couldn't put my finger on it and after showering, I still noticed the order. I think that it was in the carpet. Also, the coffee maker did not work and I did not have time to get a replacement so went without coffee. All the carpet throughout the hotel was dirty and/or stained and just had a dirty feel to it. It looked like someone threw up in the elevator at some point and stained the wall. Also, I would expect the hotel to offer free wi-fi in the rooms instead of charging 9.99 for it. Also, would be nice if parking could be included on the bill instead of having to wait in line and pay to get out of the garage. The round table in the banquet hall made it impossible to eat and watch the speaker at the same time. I suggest a monitor at the rear of the hall as well as on the stage. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel made our Justin Bieber experience even better! The Sheriton at BJCC was the perfect place to be for the Justin Bieber concert. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, plush even! staff were so knowledgeable and friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate the large number of "Beliebers" that transcended on them this week. There was a huge screen in the atrium playing JB music and footage. They raffled off a JB life size poster and also provided markers and poster board for the fans to make signs. The staff really impressed me and I will definitely return to experience more of it! Thank you! January 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience in a Sheraton ever I have been going to starwood hotels for 15 years. Mgrs in the past have always been sympathetic if I ever had a problem with any area with the hotel. Ie. check in , a.c heat. Etc. I had a horrific experience upon checking in. It took me 2 hours to calm down. I informed the mgrs. Assistant mgr.. She could not care less . She gave me lip service about how she'll take care of me when I come back. Does she really think I'm a dummy. This experience with how I was treated by mgrs. gave me a very poor taste in my mouth as to staying in any more sheratons. April 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best hotel for area events When in Birmingham for events at or near the civic center, this is the best location. The staff is always accommodating and rooms are clean and comfortable. May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience I've experienced nothing but problems. Three days in a row there were water issues (First no cold water, then no hot water). Restaurant service was incredibly slow. Restaurant staff was disinterested in the customers. My room was dirty the furniture was old. Food trays were left in the hallway for hours. I stayed at the hotel for a conference, and as a member of the conference organizing board, I was treated rudely by staff. I will recommend that no one use your hotel for a meeting in the future. My organization will not be back. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful special deal This Sheraton has a "special" rate for those coming to Birmingham to attend a Broadway Show at the adjacent Birmingham Civic Center. We took advantage of the well-discounted rate to attend "Warhorse" this week. The accommodations were just wonderful. Room was very comfortable and looked newly renovated. We dined in the Atrium for both supper and breakfast. Prices were in line with similar large, upscale hotels. The food was delicious and well prepared. Staff were friendly and all said "hello" when walking thru the halls. I especially liked the housekeeping staff who checked on us very shortly after checking in to make sure we had everything we needed. In all our travels, we have never encountered this. It may have just been a coincidence that she knocked on our door to check something else, but it was nice, whatever the reason. We will DEFINITELY take advantage of this rate for future performances, as long as the Sheraton supports the Theatre! The valet overnight parking was a nice advantage, even though we felt it was expensive ($22) overnight. Overall, a nice 'splurge' and special trip to Birmingham. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has FANTASTIC employees Fm the Front Desk managers to the personnel in the club lounge, bars, restaurants, etc. this SPG property is an example of all that is and should be excellent in a hotel. Larry Kaminsky March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel I have stayed at the Sheraton in Birmingham on numerous occasions and overall enjoy my stay. However, the only complaint I have would be that the food is extremely over priced. I ordered a Quesadia that cost $18.50. There are not many places nearby that are within walking distance so you are limited. They also do not have microwaves or refridgerators in the rooms so that continues to limit you. Again this would be my only complaint. I know that a profit needs to be made but I think we have stretched it too far. November 21, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Only a few problems I stay at the sheriton at least a few times a year I always have a pretty good experience this time was no difference my only set back is I had to ask to be comped for parking or internet because there was no pool no club level nothing that I get for being a spg member also I was on the tenth floor and had very little hot water and what I did get was only warm and didn't last long...I will be back in a few weeks and I will see if the problem is the same on a different level. Otherwise it was a great stay! October 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yellow Water = BAD SIGN This hotel was a huge disappointment. The water in the sink, toilet and bathtub was yellow/brown the first time we used all of these and for one of the people I booked a room for, her water was this color for all four days we were there. The water pressure in the shower was practically non-existant. The water in my shower, sink AND toilet was scalding hot. The remote control for the tv was broken. The registration clerk upon check-in was extremely rude. I hope I never have to stay at this hotel again. May 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Guest Room When my daughter and I entered our room, we ordered room service, and began to get ready for bed. As I was walking to the phone I stepped om a wet spot on the carpet. My daughter stepped on another wet spot. All in all, there were 3 spots. The smallest of the spots dried over night, but the other two only dried some overnight. The next morning, I went to the Concierge, he contacted housekeeping, and someone came to dry the spots. That was satisfactory. That night, I went to turn the light out next to the bed, and the push button got stuck. I pulled it out, but the entire light fixture shifted on the wall. I unscrewed the light bulb in order to sleep. This was a bit concerning because I did not want the light to fall on me during the night. This is the reason I rated the stay average. April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel was beautiful. We stayed in a King Suite and it was lovely. However, we were not told that the pool was under construction when we checked in, and only found out after we changed into our suits and went to use it. If we had known ahead of time, it may have effected what hotel we stayed at. Also, The concierge was not aware that they recommended a restaurant that was closed for repairs, and we were not told that the local restaurants closed for lunch at 2:30 and did not re-open until 5. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Stay If I had to offer 1 suggestion to be even more appealing to business travelers, get rid of the $10/day internet fee. It's been years since I've seen that, and was a bit surprised that you charge that fee. It's 2014 - c'mon. Other than that, great stay - great staff! May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The 11th Floor Housekeeping Closet Door The housekeeping closet door on the 11th floor was the LOUDEST door I have ever heard... bar none! Imagine if you will an old screen door on some grandmother's front porch, the kind that has a spring to ensure that it closes every time. Now take its characteristic loud smack and magnify it by at least 100 decibels. I was in the room closest to the closet and that sound literally shook the walls! I could not hear sound from the closet itself, just the door. Other than that a great place to stay. November 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2nd visit not as good as my first We had a great experience the first time we stayed here a few months ago, but this time it wasn't so great. There were dirty wash cloths hanging in the shower which made me wonder how well the bathroom was cleaned. A conference of teenagers let out at 11:45pm and we were kept awake by kids running down the halls, laughing, slamming doors and yelling across the atrium until about 1:00am. I would stay here again, but would insist on staying in the towers instead of the atrium which is very loud. June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lackluster Experience The hotel itself is nice, and seems like a nice showcase hotel for a midsize city. However, we were disappointed in a number of things. First, we were hounded by the valet to use valet parking when we arrived. I made it clear that I was going to self park (this was a city I lived in for years), and we didn't need a valet. Then the hot water didn't work well in the showers. While the rooms were comfortable, these two experiences left a sour taste in our mouth. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has no Wi-Fi The rooms have only wired Internet. With today's mobile devices (iPhones, iPads, etc), this is a huge drawback. Another complaint: All guest room doors automatically slam shut unless you keep them from slamming. Problem is, if you go to bed early, you can be awakened by slamming doors that really echo due to the atrium's acoustics. On the positive side, the guest room was nicely appointed and comfortable. Also, the conference refreshments service performed by the hotel was excellent. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ALSHRM I stayed at this property as part of the Alabama SHRM State Conference. This is the second time staying at the property so I was somewhat familiar with the accomodations and amenities. May 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as my expected... Before I first time entered the room, there were some glasses with garbage just in front of my door, I think someone lived there before left. I stopped by the front desk and asked them to clean it up. They told me someone would take care of it. But even when I leave the next morning they were still there. The room is not that new and clean, I can tell someone just used it from the bed. The swimming pool said was maintained. Then sauna room looks good but not work at that time. January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4th week in a row I have stayed here I am a Starwood Platinum. That barely matters at this hotel. Even after the hotel's Director of Operations told me personally a USA Today would be delivered to my room each morning, it did not happen. Apparently the night Bellman takes the night off. And, I seemingly always have to remind the front desk clerks that i am supposed to receive free breakfast coupons (business arangement). Since this hotel has no concierge or executive club, I believe I will stay at another chain's hotel which is closer to my client's office. The long walk from parking to my room and lack of platinum privileges isn't worht the extra commute. April 1, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>