Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 611 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birmingham The personnel were outstanding and we were greeted outside. This was a first and we stay here every time we are in town. The people taking care of us at check in were great as well. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Rooms overlooking the Atrium are the bomb. I reserved a King Size room; however I was placed in a room with double beds. The toilet was constantly running; therefore I requested to switch rooms. I was placed again in a room with double bed. I once again requested a King. The King was granted and the bed was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a nice view. The downside of my stay was after having my flight delayed for two additional days, I checked out in a rush to fly standby and left my bath robe and two cell phone charges and a Bluetooth charger in the room. The robe was turned in but none of the chargers were turned in. Very disappointing! Please make sure you do not leave any valuables behind! February 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Repairs needed!!! While the room was clean and comfortable, there were many items that needed attention. First and foremost was the security latch on the door, which was hanging by a single screw and completely non-functional. The lamp fixture by one bed was so loose that if you tried to turn on the light, the whole fixture rotated to be upside down. The other fixture was loose as well and could only be used with caution. The makeup mirror was about to fall off the wall. Cable reception was shaky. Also, there are NO nice restaurants within walking distance and NO shopping or other attractions besides the art museum within walking distance. February 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low Value, Light on Friendliness The bellman and valet team were great. They were professional AND friendly. All other staff seemed like they were accustomed to not being respected so they were coldly professional. I was there for a marathon and I had a special rate because of the race but the rooms with this rate should have been the ones with the best chance of an early night's sleep. Instead, I could hear the sports bar until they closed at 11:00. The gift shop has silly prices. There is no need to double convenience store prices. It just lets your guests know you will charge whatever you can. I would not choose a Sheraton again based on this stay. February 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need updating Staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Sold-out weekend with large crowd and the hotel handled it well. The negatives were: valet parking was full and we had to self-park, internet in rooms only by ethernet, and Fitness Center was in an "isolated location" and my wife and daughters did not feel comfortable using it in the early hours. Can not recall ever experiencing " valet parking-full" at any hotel. Wifi is now standard and you are more likely to find a hotel without ethernet connection. We all travel with tablets and none of us could connect in the room. In today's time, WE ARE NOT HAPPY WITHOUT THE INTERNET. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pillows/ Parking Everything was great except the pillows. I think they're probably expensive down pillows. They look plush and fluffy until... you sleep on them. They seem to flatten out after a while. Two pillows were too much! The parking deck is ridiculously expensive. But I'm not sure whether that is the hotel or the city. June 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location is best perk Hotel staff was friendly and helpful upon arrival, even though they had to fix problems encountered by pre-registration staff doubling up a few reservations in our room block. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed; however, there were unfortunately no refrigerators in the rooms. Location of hotel is best perk, right next to conference center and close to downtown events. Limited restaurant choices on-site or close by were also disappointing for those traveling on per diem rates and adhering to a conference lunchtime schedule. While not an overall 5-star experience, it did adequately meet my business travel needs. November 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Stay I stayed at your hotel on 1/28 for one night. We arrived at about 8 PM to check in. There was one person at the hotel checkin station. The wait for me to check in was over 10 minutes. There became a line of 3 more people checking in and the employee showed no sense of urgency or empathy that this process was taking longer than necessary. I was put in room 830, but my key would not work. Walked back down and spent another 5-7 minutes to get another key. When I did get in all the lamps and tv were all unplugged like this room wasn't in use. So it took time for me to plug lights and tv in for use. I will not recommend this hotel and will urge my company to use another hotel. January 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by can not handle the traffic As a SPG member I expected better service and concern. When we arrived, all valet parking was full. I was informed I had to self park which is ok. I was not told I would have to park in a pay by the hour parking deck or that I could purchase a parking pass from the hotel. I fould this out when leaving the parking deck. Then after running a race in 27 degree weather, I had to run water for 30 minutes to have a luke warm shower, beacause i was on floor 15. All the lower floors had no problem. Not one time did anybody suggest a solution or offer anything for our trouble. So what is so special about being a SPG? February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stayed for ALAPCAE and was happy as a clam.Staff was great from Valet to food staff and food was delicious...enjoyed Sports Bar as well.Even shower was excellent! June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruno Mars Concert Stay I was very satisfied with the condition of the hotel. If you stay for BJCC event, just take the skywalk over to the concert hall. So easy. Comfortable bed and bath was fine. Great experience except for very slow room service. Had to call twice and still no one came. Front desk called to see if we had received our items but we hadn't. Got them about 30 minutes later. Total wait for room service order was over 2 hours. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel The hotel was beautiful. I was pleased with the meeting rooms, bedrooms, and the facilities. The food was excellent. June 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comforts of home but... I greatly enjoyed my stay as the room met all my personal needs and desires with a fluffy comforter, lots of pillows, work area, nice bathroom, etc. However I had an unexpected issue to arise in the battery went out on my room lock. The employee at the front desk was not able to give me a time frame as to when security would have it fixed. I was locked out of my room for a time and had to wait. I realize this doesn't happen often but it did cast a negative view. The valet took too long to bring around our car. We were attending with a large conference but we noticed others being served "out of order." It's tough to get "everything" right but overall I would rate my stay as a 7 or 8. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Was really sooooooo disappointed about the Elton John Concert being canceled. But the hotel was great about trying to make everybody that were suppose to go to the concert feel a little better. They played Elton John Music over the intercom, had a DJ set up at Casey's Bar & Grill playing Elton John & other music, by the way the food there is great. Also Set up a LARGE motion picture screen and ran a pre-recorded Elton John Concert. Not as good as the real thing but better than nothing. In my opinion the hotel went out of its way to ease the pain. Also the employees were fantastic; friendly and helpful. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than I expected For such a huge place, everyone of the staff I met was very friendly and went out of their way to help us find our way around, both inside and out. The rooms were very comfortable and inviting. The food served for our seminar was delicious. The seminar area was one of the best I've been to. It was comfortable and had ample room. It was also very nice that with all of us at the seminar, we didn't have to wait in long lines for a bathroom. November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time to relax in Birmingham I came to Birmingham via Amtrak and was picked up at the train station by the hotel's shuttle service. The room was very nice and had a balcony that overlooked the atrium. I met with friends in the sports bar and had breakfast served in the room the next day. The hotel was close to the Fish House restaurant as well as downtown Birmingham. The next day, the shuttle service dropped me back off at the train station for my return trip. November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pillows You need to get a firmer pillow. They melt away when you lay your head on it. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and Clean This was a beautiful hotel and my family found it very convenient to all the Birmingham sites and locations of interest. While it is an older hotel, it has updated rooms that are nice and clean. The staff was/is wonderful. Never having been to Birmingham, they directed us to several points of interest and helped us navigaite the transit (DART). The one and only complaint that I have is that the rooms offered a king or two double beds. We traveled with our daughter and chose two doubles. I not having slept in a double bed obviously in years, did not realize how small they are. We were very comfortable for one person but not two! Needless to say we were happy to be home in our larger bed. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall review When staying in a hotel, our first 2 priorities are how are we treated from the time we walk in the doors, get checked in, and the attitude of the entire staff. Your team "rocked"! Cleaning staff the absolute friendliest. 2nd, or maybe a tie, cleanliness in our room and entire facility. Again, was very good. We were there for a conference, and had no choice where to stay. But very pleased we stayed with you. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Self The young man that checked me in was very nice! I think he was new, but aimed to please. I had a difficult reservation to handle. *First night, no hot running water. *Second night, called Guest Services for wake-up call since I had an early meeting and no call was received. I overslept and missed part of the conference. *The cleaning person that cleaned the two rooms pretty much threw the covers on the bed and failed to emtpy 1 trash bin. *Running water was murkey as if old pipes. Left a ring in the sink as well as the bath tub. *Pool closed throughout entire stay. Very much of a inconvenience! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surpasses expectations The comfort, facilities, and general atmosphere were all there as expected, but what made our stay a 5-star experience was the attitude and atentativeness of the staff. From the time we left our car with the attendant upon arrival until our departure, every staff person we encountered went out of their way to assist us and they did it with a smile on their face! June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I was here for the Mercedes Benz Marathon. The hotel was so relaxing I slept like I was in my bed at home. It was clean, fresh and comfortable. The staff was excellent. I called for extra towels and was shocked at how quickly they arrived. It was a very busy weekend in Birmingham, AL but the service didn't suffer at all, from check in to help from the concierge to shuttle service it was wonderful. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff! The staff gets an A+! Parking is convenient as there's a parking garage connected to hotel. The hotel's interior could use some upgrades...new carpet, updated bathrooms, decorating etc. There are currently some renovations underway, but I'm not sure what exactly they are. With that said, this would be a very nice place to have a reunion, pageant, reception, etc. We were served a buffet-style breakfast, and although it was okay, it did not measure up to some of the other hotels in which we've stayed. Breakfast is a must for sports teams. Overal, the hotel was nice and I would stay there again. April 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy access to BJCC and Theater Be advised that the ground floor civic center side entrance is locked at dark. So you can only reenter through the front lobby after a late performance. A security guard posted at the entrance to allow only registered guests to reenter after dark would have been greatly appreciated. Or even a room key "swipe reader" would work. We had 2 elderly family members that we had to escort in the cold rain and wind around the side of the building in the dark to reach the front entrance. There was no refrigerater in our room, either, which is something with which I've become accustom at other hotels. February 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birmingham The hotel was very nice and the staff very helpful. Minor problems with the elevators. The down side, the pool was so seperated from everything else. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay This attractive facility has one of the best team of staff I have ever encountered anywhere in the world. From my room being available when I arrived ahead of check in time, to providing a complementary shuttle for me and seven friends to go to a restruant several miles awaywhen I asked for two cabs, to the parking attendant who went to my car to retrive my glasses, everyone was completely foccussed on the guest experience. I did find the charges for parking, internet service, and food prices on the high side but the staff made up for this one issue. Room was large, clean, and comfortable. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room temperature not well controlled When we arrived the attendant at the front desk looked down and walked away. No smile, no greeting, she did not want to be bothered. A short time later another greeted and told us to move away from the SPG Guest Check-in desk to another desk. She never said hello and never recognized us as Gold SPG Members. Once in our room the air had been turned completely off, the room was hot and very humid. We sweated profusely all night long even after we cranked down the thermostat. There were people yelling and running up and down the hallways most of the night..we did not get a good night's rest. January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The employees make the difference Every employee that I made contact with was very efficient, polite and responsive. I was only there for one night. June 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel noise Overall it was good experience because I had a sound machine. I found that the walls are extremely thin because I could hear clearly the conversations, alarm clocks, etc... from the rooms next door. I was surprised to hear the alarm clock go off next door at 5:30am one morning and it sounded like it was in my room. Then another night there was a couple of gentlemen next door that really liked to talk and it also sounded like they were in my room. Then I could hear the elevators going up and down all night long. I am thankful that I had a sound machine on my phone that I could turn on to drown out the noise. Needless to say I didn't have restful nights while I stayed. Everything else was really nice. February 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front Lobby Issues It just seemed that the front door staff did not understand the job. We were with a large event. Your hotel was pretty full. There were no cabs available, and although there were "complementary" shuttle vans, none of the guys were willing to use them, so they were 3 parked vans with customers waiting to go places. very poor. You could think that it was busy, but there were many, many doormen standing around and not helping with anything. With the large group why didn't the doormen have a line of 5-6 cabs waiting by the hotel? Why didn't they use the free shuttle? In addition we had issues with our bill. Ultimately it was taken care of but there were many mistakes. The lobby bartender was great!!!!! August 23, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 22 next>>