Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 594 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by roach I contacted hotel mgt about a roach being in my rm..hotel mgt never contacted me on a follow up. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and very friendly staff Great location and very friendly staff. Rooms are great and beds are very comfortable. January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great facility for business travelers and meetings. Amazing meeting space, fantastic food, friendly staff (especially Benny in Banquets)! July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has great location I enjoyed my stay at he b'ham Sheraton. I was disappointed the pool wasn't available June 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by X12 Conference During our stay there was adverse weather conditions which made it imposible to staff the hotel as normal. The staff that was there did a wonderful job of seeing that everyone had what they needed. During check-in the line was long and someone brought us a bottle of water during our wait which made me forget all about the line. Some folks get customer service and the staff here gets it. My only complaint is that the charges for items in the gift shop were Very high. $4.49 for a bag of popcorn is a little much. In this situation where no one could leave the property due to no cabs running, it would have made sense to give folks a break on the prices. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well located frierndly staff Overall Great- hotel room does need some attention to peeling wallpaper June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot water Problem with hot water. Hot water did not work when I needed it . February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Internet Service I was disappointed that there was a charge for internet service. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business traveller This is a great property just not for a business traveller. February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good stay Our stay was very pleasant. Wonderful hotel and staff. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features i enjoyed my stay and would recommend to a friend September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable... Very convenient. Quiet and comfortable. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs some looking after! The room got comfortable enough to sleep about 4am. I was told it would take about 15 minutes. That was at 10 pm. Went to get towel from bar and the bar came out, put three towels in the toilet. That problem didn't happen that day, been in need of repair for some time. Only one robe, one cup for coffee for 2 guests,mini fridge was removed, but not advertised. Main dining room, should be at least 4 star, table was unstable and would rock enough for the wine to spill out. We were moved, although there was only one other couple dining,, should have told me not to go in. Food was very good! When checking out by phone, I asked for the car and was asked how my stay was, told them what I have here, she apologized. I was told the car would be at the front door 10-15 minutes. When we got there, valet said they had never been called to bring car around. The young man did take off at a run to help with lost time. The car was in good condition, although all items were scattered through-out interior. Driving our cars way too fast. I'm due back in the same hotel in November, I'll up date at that time. This is not employee problems, this is General Manager responsibility. Very uncomfortable night, unacceptable at any price, certainly not what I spent at this property! September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Services Great Service and Employee rep September 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed One of the reasons I chose to stay at the Sheraton Birmingham was because of other reviews applauding the staff & I was disappointed. Here are some things that happened: 1. I was checked in by an unsmiling, unhappy-looking lady. She didn't even smile when I complimented her pretty name: Kenya. 2. I ate dinner at the Atrium restaurant & while the waitress smiled, the service was poor. I asked for more water twice during dinner, but my glass was never refilled. 3. I sat in the bar area & couldn't help noticing: the bar tender was surly. He also told several customers (including myself) the wines at the hotel bar were overpriced (hmm, isn't he supposed to be making sales for you?), & he didn't know the hours of operation for the bar. There were other inconveniences, but these three show what I mean. Also, I did meet a few nice staffers (a pregnant lady at the front desk was the nicest!), but they were sadly outnumbered. I recommend: a) you look into improving staff morale (I mean, that's just too many unhappy, unfriendly people in one place). b)give them a refresher course on what customer service means. Smiles & courtesy count for a lot, especially in the service industry. So, sorry, right now I can't recommend the hotel and would probably not stay again at this particular Sheraton. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the access and location POSITIVES: The hotel is literally right off I-20, we barely had to detour at all from our planned route. We booked two rooms, and they were both in good shape. The beds were very comfortable, and the showers were nice. One of our rooms had a walk-in shower with a shower handle which was convenient for washing the baby. The staff was very friendly, particularly in the Atrium restaurant (thanks Ms. Carolyn!). And the food? Excellent. Next time I pass through Birmingham, I may drop in just for the breakfast bar! Best quality bacon I've had at a restaurant in a long time. Plus eggs, fresh fruit, various biscuit/waffle/pancake options... it was awesome. NEGATIVES: Unless you valet, expect a long walk through some poorly-maintained hallways to get to the hotel. The hotel is attached to the BJCC convention center and the entrance from the parking deck is in rough shape, which is NOT the fault of the hotel. Perhaps a cost-sharing PIP with the BJCC to get that entrance fixed up would do wonders for the hotel's image. Some inexpensive PVC flooring planks with a hardwood look, double-secured with glue, would be spectacular and hold up well to heavy traffic. Some of the carpeting inside the hotel was spotty as well, and moulding was missing in spots in some of the hallways OVERALL The negatives are really, really, minor in comparison to the value proposition that this hotel offered us. We will definitely be back although next time we will probably valet :-) September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is not what you would expect from a Sheraton. I had higher expectations of this hotel due to the price paid. When we arrived the hotel entrance was busy and overcrowded due to the Mercedes Marathon and the Cartoon Convention. Many cars were pulled up in front of the hotel and the gentlemen standing there were of no assistance. They were chatting and having fun rather than helping the flow of things over such a busy weekend. They could have at least directed guests to make things go faster. Once we checked in we were directed to the parking deck and it took 45 min to find a parking spot. This is unacceptable. The hotel should people working to assist people looking for a parking spot so that traffic moves faster during such busy times. Once we got back to the hotel the lady at the front desk gave as directions to the packet picket for the Mercedes marathon and because we were running out of time we decided to carry our luggage with us. Well, she gave us the wrong directions and we walked for about 45 min with all our luggage looking for the auditorium (in the cold). On top of this the hotel only has 3 elevators...it takes forever to find an empty elevator to take you to your room and you definitely do not want to climb stairs before a race. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable, but getting from check-in to your room definitely needs to go smoother. With the price paid, at least breakfast should have been included. The marathon dinner was really good, but not worth $18...that is just a rip off. At least the staff was friendly and the bed was very comfortable. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, bad weekend The room was very nice, the food at the bar was excellent, and the staff were very friendly. This stay would have been 5 star if I had stayed on another weekend. There was a football team/fans in the motel and it was noisy. I was awakened at 11:30 with the noise and I lay in bed until 12:30 thinking they would go to bed. After 12:30 I called the front desk, they alerted security, and by 1:30 the noise was gone, except for the banging on my door around 2:15. I got up quickly thinking something was wrong, but no one was there. I was also surprised that they charged for parking. It was $12 per day/unlimited or $8 every time you park. December 13, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I am glad I only paid $70 for my stay When I booked the room I did it on the phone and paid for it with a credit card. On my way down to the hotel I called and asked someone in accounting if I would be able to pay for the reservations with cash and the charge be credited back to my card, I was told yes . We arrived at the property, it was appealing . Valet approached us immediately offering their services, we informed them we were leaving immediately after check-in, he informed use that we could do the paperwork now and they would park us when we returned. Check-in was at 3pm we arrived at 3:10pm and was informed that there were no king beds available and I was offered 2 dbl beds. I informed them that I booked a King and that my partner and I could not and would not be sleeping on a double bed. Miraculously they had a king bed. The concierge carried our luggage up and unloaded it. He was great and very helpful. We go back down with the concierge to leave and valet has parked my car. It took over 30 minutes of waiting out in the cold for them to get my car. I cancelled the valet at that point and went back to obtain a $12 parking pass for the parking deck to find out when we are leaving the parking deck to check out that there is only an $8 a day fee if you just park and pay at the parking deck. The $12 is for you to be able to come and go in the parking deck during your stay, but that was not explained to me when they offered they parking pass and neither was the fee. If they would have just asked a few questions they would have known we were only there to stay the night and attend a concert at the BJCC that is attached to the property and we were not going to leave at any time. They were more concerned with making that dollar. We got into our room which was great the bed was comfortable. We attempted to connect to Wi-fi and found another $9.95/day fee. We slept great and it was quiet on our floor. We went down to check out at 9:30am I informed them that I was paying for the stay and all other charges with cash and that they were going to credit my card back, that did not happen, they informed me that my card was already charged. I explained to them that I had spoke to someone prior to my arrival and was told that I could. They did not know how to do that and it was a weekend and there was know one there in accounting. Then there was a $22 valet charge and a $12 parking pass charge, I finally was able to convince them that I cancelled the valet as soon as they lost my car. As much as this facility charges for their accommodations you would think that parking and Wi-Fi would be included without any additional charges. I am glad I only paid $70 for my stay and not the $200 that I had originally booked this the room for. December 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Rooms overlooking the Atrium are the bomb. I reserved a King Size room; however I was placed in a room with double beds. The toilet was constantly running; therefore I requested to switch rooms. I was placed again in a room with double bed. I once again requested a King. The King was granted and the bed was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a nice view. The downside of my stay was after having my flight delayed for two additional days, I checked out in a rush to fly standby and left my bath robe and two cell phone charges and a Bluetooth charger in the room. The robe was turned in but none of the chargers were turned in. Very disappointing! Please make sure you do not leave any valuables behind! February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phoenix Festival Restful Came for the Alabama Phoenix Festival, and was really surprised at how quiet and comfortable the room was. Normally, at conventions, I have a hard time getting any rest, and that was not th case here. June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the Stay The stay went well. The hotel staff were wonderful. This was what made the stay the most enjoyable. I would recommend the Sheraton for that reason. The room was also good. June 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Repairs needed!!! While the room was clean and comfortable, there were many items that needed attention. First and foremost was the security latch on the door, which was hanging by a single screw and completely non-functional. The lamp fixture by one bed was so loose that if you tried to turn on the light, the whole fixture rotated to be upside down. The other fixture was loose as well and could only be used with caution. The makeup mirror was about to fall off the wall. Cable reception was shaky. Also, there are NO nice restaurants within walking distance and NO shopping or other attractions besides the art museum within walking distance. February 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low Value, Light on Friendliness The bellman and valet team were great. They were professional AND friendly. All other staff seemed like they were accustomed to not being respected so they were coldly professional. I was there for a marathon and I had a special rate because of the race but the rooms with this rate should have been the ones with the best chance of an early night's sleep. Instead, I could hear the sports bar until they closed at 11:00. The gift shop has silly prices. There is no need to double convenience store prices. It just lets your guests know you will charge whatever you can. I would not choose a Sheraton again based on this stay. February 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need updating Staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Sold-out weekend with large crowd and the hotel handled it well. The negatives were: valet parking was full and we had to self-park, internet in rooms only by ethernet, and Fitness Center was in an "isolated location" and my wife and daughters did not feel comfortable using it in the early hours. Can not recall ever experiencing " valet parking-full" at any hotel. Wifi is now standard and you are more likely to find a hotel without ethernet connection. We all travel with tablets and none of us could connect in the room. In today's time, WE ARE NOT HAPPY WITHOUT THE INTERNET. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Upon entering the room, I notice a BO smell. I couldn't put my finger on it and after showering, I still noticed the order. I think that it was in the carpet. Also, the coffee maker did not work and I did not have time to get a replacement so went without coffee. All the carpet throughout the hotel was dirty and/or stained and just had a dirty feel to it. It looked like someone threw up in the elevator at some point and stained the wall. Also, I would expect the hotel to offer free wi-fi in the rooms instead of charging 9.99 for it. Also, would be nice if parking could be included on the bill instead of having to wait in line and pay to get out of the garage. The round table in the banquet hall made it impossible to eat and watch the speaker at the same time. I suggest a monitor at the rear of the hall as well as on the stage. May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location is best perk Hotel staff was friendly and helpful upon arrival, even though they had to fix problems encountered by pre-registration staff doubling up a few reservations in our room block. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed; however, there were unfortunately no refrigerators in the rooms. Location of hotel is best perk, right next to conference center and close to downtown events. Limited restaurant choices on-site or close by were also disappointing for those traveling on per diem rates and adhering to a conference lunchtime schedule. While not an overall 5-star experience, it did adequately meet my business travel needs. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel offers something for everyone. We spent four glorious days in Birmingham's Sheraton Hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and staff outstanding. The main restaurant served delicious food and offered a soothing ambiance. Looking forward to our next stay. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Stay I stayed at your hotel on 1/28 for one night. We arrived at about 8 PM to check in. There was one person at the hotel checkin station. The wait for me to check in was over 10 minutes. There became a line of 3 more people checking in and the employee showed no sense of urgency or empathy that this process was taking longer than necessary. I was put in room 830, but my key would not work. Walked back down and spent another 5-7 minutes to get another key. When I did get in all the lamps and tv were all unplugged like this room wasn't in use. So it took time for me to plug lights and tv in for use. I will not recommend this hotel and will urge my company to use another hotel. January 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ruffin stay 5.21 Wow, never again will I stay here. The self parking is terrible. No folio and after 2 telephone calls and one online chat session, I finally realized they had my name spelled incorrectly!! Not acceptable for the price paid in Birmingham, AL May 27, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 21 next>>