Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 505 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is guest oriented The staff was very helpful in fulfilling all questions asked to include knowledge about the events at the BJCC across the street. The hotel's amenities and features such as the sauna and sky caps, were very useful. January 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I never want to stay in room 416 again !!! When we arrived we asked for a kingsize non smoking on a lower floor and were given Room 416. All was ok except a) it was very far from the elevator and. b) was next to some small meeting rooms and we had to dodge carts supplying those rooms; however, c) the worst thing was when somone setting up the meeting room next to us tested the PA System at 4 AM, "MAY I HAVE YOU ATTENTION, PLEASE ! MAY I HAVE YOUR ATTENTION, PLEASE !" JARRING US AWAKE AND US NOT KNOWING IF THE BUILDING WAS ON FIRE, UNDER SEIGE, OR WHAT. IT WAS HORRIBLE!!!!!! SO, I NEVER WANT TO STAY IN ROOM 416 AGAIN !!!! November 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I can never reccommend this hotel we stayed for the talladega weekend last week... Our Tub would not empty.. it is not nice to take a shower in your own dirty water... the ice machines did not work on the 6th and 7th floors... i had to travel up to the 8th floor to get ice... I have never stayed at a hotel where the did not take a credit card for incidentals... we were not able to rent a movie without coming down and paying for it first... very unprofessional... and the manager did very little to help the situation... although he was professional and kept himself in that manner throughout the transaction October 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good night's sleep! We enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was especially nice. We had a good meal at the sports bar. This is a hug complex soon it pays to listen carefully to directions to various areas of the hotel! Very nice facility! January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service, polite staff, no grumpy people Desk staff, staff working in rooms, and the tech person who helped set up my computer presentation early on a Friday morning were all terrific, accommodating people. The meeting room set up was good and the thousand people who showed up for my Keynote could see and hear my slide show without difficulty. I didn't meet a grumpy employee the three days I was staying with the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. The food was great and the gift shop happened to sell a nice computer backpack I needed since mine broke. November 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved my stay here Great place to stay if you are going to the convention center. The front desk staff was very professional and attentive to our needs. We also received great service at the sports bar and the food was also good. The valet workers went the extra mile to accommodate us. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by business travel The location next to the conference center was great. The free shuttle from and to the airport was appreciated. Checking out was difficult. I had to catch the 5:30 a.m. shuttle to make my flight and there was no one at the registration desk for over 5 minutes creating a back-up of people trying to get checked out and to the airport. Also, the computers weren't working so I wasn't able to get my receipt. It's now over 24 hours since I checked out and I still haven't received my receipt via email as promised. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The cleaning staff needs a refresher course My check-in was great, the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous. My disappointment is with the cleaning staff. After staying one night we left for the day then returned to our room to find that it had been partially cleaned, we ordered pizza the night before, the empty boxes were left in the room, empty coke bottles were left and our beds were made but halfway made, with no clean sheets. I feel that if I pay that much to stay in your rooms per night that all trash should be removed from the room and I should be able to sleep on clean sheets. May 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience in a Sheraton ever I have been going to starwood hotels for 15 years. Mgrs in the past have always been sympathetic if I ever had a problem with any area with the hotel. Ie. check in , a.c heat. Etc. I had a horrific experience upon checking in. It took me 2 hours to calm down. I informed the mgrs. Assistant mgr.. She could not care less . She gave me lip service about how she'll take care of me when I come back. Does she really think I'm a dummy. This experience with how I was treated by mgrs. gave me a very poor taste in my mouth as to staying in any more sheratons. April 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by week long stay I recently had a week long stay at this facility.. i was told i was registered under the "green program" and they would not change my bedsheets each night but would replace towels etc.. I had no problem with that - however, no one ever came in to change towels coffee etc. i had to call every night for those. by Thursday i was told i was suppose to call for this daily. i was also not told that internet was free, until i heard it from another guest, and i was overcharged by 30/night on my bill and for parking that i did not use. very disappointing. June 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cold Shower + Wrong Billing I had no hot water for my shower on Sunday. I called down to guest services, they apologized and would send someone up immediately to sort it out. 35 minutes later no one had shown and I had to leave for my flight. Ice cold showers are less than acceptable. I received my bill through an email. I opened it up. It has the wrong name and address on it as well as the wrong SPG rewards. I called in, they put me through to voicemail to rectify. Left a message..I will give them some time to respond. Called back 4 times now to reach someone about the ice shower and all I hear are voicemail. No one is answering. As someone who takes groups all across the country, I cant believe this is the type of service I can come to expect from a Sheridan. Shocking. December 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the room less travelled Was very dissappointed in service. Went to check in room only to find bed not completely made. Started the venture of getting another room that entailed me going from floor to floor with a manager who kindly volunteered to assist only to end up back at the starting point with me making up the rest of the bed. I also had to retrieve my own luggage after waitng for bell hop that never responded. So much for breakfast at the club lounge the next day it was depleted by 8:00am and after waiting 30 mins. I gave up. Understaffed. UNBELIVEABLE!!! April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club Level Room I was given the option of staying on the Club Level which was $40 more per night than the regular level room (same size room - 2 double beds). Sheraton employee in registration explained the difference in the two rooms and why the price was more for Club Level. Perks for this room included food/snacks/drinks various times throughout the am/aft/eve hours as well as few other things she mentioned....unfortunately I cannot remember exactly. During my visit Aug 7-9 for the Alabama Career and Technical Summer Conference not once did I visualize any specific area where food or drinks were served nor was any information given to me at time of check-in. I would like to know what the additional $40 per night for a Club Level room actually paid for???? Thank you August 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paid for club level and extra meals all denied Paid for club level and meals and was not given what was promised. Meals turn out to be chips and candy bars. Not given club level when paid higher prices. Very unprofessional and unbusiness like in practices. Online reservations and face to face interaction with desk help are unhelpful, Needs a Management Change top to bottom! December 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check out was Terrible The lady that checked me out on 12/14/13 ridiculed me in front of a lobby of people and my friend witnessed it. She kept saying my debit card declined and it did not authorize payment to Sheraton. I did step out of line to check with my bank. Found out from my bank, Sheraton has passed payment of $154.00 and it was in holding and it was authorized for payment to Sheraton. Went back in line to let lady know and showed my text from my bank that payment did not declined. I asked for manager on duty because lady kept saying your card is declined and no payment can be taken. Manager on duty came over and punched in the amount and everything was fine on my account. I had a balance of $7.00 which I paid in cash because of her not taking my card. The whole stay was fine, but I did not appreciate that lobby full of people heard my card declined and my bank did not authorized payment, when in deed my account was fine and it was the lady not keying in something correctly. December 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wait times too long I was recently there for a conference (SCOLT) on the 11th, 12th, and 13th of April. My first "problem" was that even though I had a Do Not Disturb sign hanging on my door, a maid entered without knocking while I was preparing my next presentation. The second was checkout. I was to checkout at noon but needed to ask a specific question about my charges. I waited in line at checkout for 22 minutes. There were four people in front of me and approximately 20 people behind me waiting to checkout. There were only two clerks. If traditional checkout is at noon, there needs to be more than two employees. When I left to retrieve my valeted car on Saturday afternoon, I waited for 24 minutes to receive my car due to some type of traffice jam near the civic center. April 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rather disappointed Where to start. First off the staff was excellent and very nice. Ok that said, the heater in our room rattled and clanged all night and had to turn it off. The drinks from the coke machine were warm and flat. The iron was filthy and stained my husbands pants. No micro fridge or microwave. The VIP breakfast was ridiculous. No milk for cereal, no salt/pepper, coffee machine was not working properly, cold oatmeal, soggy bacon, few choices, the lady working the area came out once and disappeared. Another customer went and got the lady out front who was checking people in to assist us in the lounge. Our room was ok but for the cost I was surprised it was not nicer but I must say the pillows were fantastic! We do not travel a lot but we usually stay in another chain hotel that is half the cost. Comparably the rooms and the everyday extras are actually nicer than this Sheraton while the Sheraton's lobby, meeting rooms,and atriums are very nice December 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience I've experienced nothing but problems. Three days in a row there were water issues (First no cold water, then no hot water). Restaurant service was incredibly slow. Restaurant staff was disinterested in the customers. My room was dirty the furniture was old. Food trays were left in the hallway for hours. I stayed at the hotel for a conference, and as a member of the conference organizing board, I was treated rudely by staff. I will recommend that no one use your hotel for a meeting in the future. My organization will not be back. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was a good stay! I stayed at this location because my family and I were moving to Houston TX from Woodbridge VA and that was our resting stop. So, after driving for 12+ hours with an infant it was a little frustrating to find the guest services counter since there were very little signs. After I was checked in the room I gave my son a shower and the tub was clogged from before and the toilet was used( someone forgot to flush)!!!!! Well, I called the FD and resolved the problem. The next day I got a bill for $45.00 even though I used my starwood points. I got charged $13.00 to make a call to another state even though the guest service agent told me it was going to be $2.00 for the initial call and then some cents per min after an hour. This is a little frustrating but oh well! April 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Rating I enjoyed my stay this time better than ever. The room was relaxing and my meetings were not overwhelming so I could enjoy more! Enjoyed the club level amenities. All staff were outstanding starting from the gentleman that brought my luggage to my room, Mr. Thompson to the guy on the 17th level of the club room amenities. December 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overbooked We were at a convention and could not check in until after the night session was over. When we arrived to checkin the rooms that we requested were not availible, the reservation for the next night was not found and it took for ever to get checked in. This was all after calling the day before arrival and once again on the day of arrival. After checking out we were billed a "No Show" fee. Turns out the reservation associate spelled the names of one of our group so bad that they could not find it. Breakfast was way overpriced. May 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by strange room configuration Our king room was abnormally large with a lot of wasted floor space, however the bathroom was TINY. It had no counter space or cabinet to put any of your toiletries. It had been poorly renovated with slabs of granite on the tub surround, which did not even meet the tub itself. Large gaps with no caulking to even attempt to hide the poor workmanship. Bed was poorly made up, using a too-small flat sheet where a fitted sheet should have been, causing sleep on the bare mattress to occur. Not even a mattress cover was in place. December 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amenities I was surprised to find out that some of the amenities that are included in the room rate at other chains were charged extra for at Sheraton Birmingham. ie: WI-FI, local calls, & in room refrigerators to store medications in. Other than that I enjoyed my stay and would probably stay again to attend an event at the BJCC complex. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last minute booking came through I called 30 minutes before to book a room because my original hotel was without power and flooded. It was late and I had an overtired and hungry toddler. The 1-800 number accommodated me quickly, I arrived and was checked in within 5 minutes. My luggage was sent up within 5 minutes of me arriving in the room even though it is a large hotel connected to a convention center. The staff at Casey's, the sports bar, were very friendly and helped find a small cup for my toddler. The room had light fixtures that were falling off the walls (only bad experience) and when we pointed it out to housekeeping, it was addressed immediately. Engineering said we had to switch rooms but they found us one 4 doors down and we were able to rest and recharge before an early morning flight. July 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was horrible! For one of the largest hotels in the area, it needs a lot of work. Room was not cleaned when we arrived. I had to sanitize my own bath, again, after staff tried cleaning it. water was not hot enough. I had to run for a long time, to get hot and I was on a business trip. Internet was not working, even after having to pay extra for it. No microwave and refrigerator. a must with children. Inside pool out of order. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Southern Hospitality at it's best I was hoping the staff would be as nice as Wanda who helped me with reservations and I was not disappointed. Everyone was helpful but my favorite was Byron. He set the tone for all to follow, he was kind, remembered my name thru my stay, asked about my son, and projected the southern hospitality of the staff. The shuttle staff was wonderful, the security staff was quick to solve a packed lobby, the manager covered for a staff person in the club room with the same genuine kindness as all, I could go on and on. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay again on my next visit. The hotel was packed with two different groups crossing over in time but in no time did I feel slighted, everyone took care of my husband and myself and made us feel as important as any group. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not So Good of a Stay We arrived for our stay on 02/15/13. The first room we arrived to had an large insect on the tub. I called down to the operator to change rooms after we return from our function. After we returned, third shift was on duty, we explained the situation to front desk they were very unprofessional, the manager came to the front desk and we received another room. We got to our new room and it was occupied. We went to front desk again for a new room and the same unprofessional lady didn't even remember us (it wasnt even 15 min after we left front desk) poor customer service skills. So we received another room it was handicap assesible but it really didn't even matter cause it was after midnight and we were so exhausted. It is a nice location but the customer service is awful February 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dont pay for club access We had purchased the club access for its convenience and location next to our room. there were no plates or cups available. We contacted the desk for a refund were they sent us to the second floor for breakfast. There was confusion because you are supposed to have a coupon which we didn't. The bar and grill was a nightmare. No seating, horrible service and the wait staff did not seemed interested in waiting on you. November 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by $109 for 0 amenities I don't understand why I pay twice the rate of a normal hotel and get half the amenities. No rollaway beds, refrigerators, continental breakfast, free wifi, the list goes on. Why do the wealthy pay so much for so little? The atmosphere is glimmering with marble and greenery all around, but the layout of the hotel makes stairways impossible to find and elevators a huge snag. I am dissapponted with my experience at your hotel and I can't wait to get back to a $65 hotel where I am treated better than my wallet. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than I expected For such a huge place, everyone of the staff I met was very friendly and went out of their way to help us find our way around, both inside and out. The rooms were very comfortable and inviting. The food served for our seminar was delicious. The seminar area was one of the best I've been to. It was comfortable and had ample room. It was also very nice that with all of us at the seminar, we didn't have to wait in long lines for a bathroom. November 10, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 18 next>>