Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 603 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience is Key The best part of this hotel is that it is amazingly convenient to get to events in the civic center. We couldn't have asked for an easier trek from room to event hall. What lacked was the room amenities - no free wifi, no refrigerator - that I've come to expect from a stay at any nice hotel, especially as a reward club member. The air conditioner was also finicky and would turn off in the middle of the night leaving us sweating, and the walls are paper thin so we heard everyone walking down the hallway at all hours. Overall it's a nice hotel, and wonderfully convenient, but could definitely improve their guest rooms. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good place to stay when going to concerts Stayed overnight to attend the Steely Dan concert. After a slow checkin, the rest was excellent. Clean room and well equiped. Good location, easy parking and convenient to the BJCC. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel showed great hospitility thank you for making out stay an enjoyable one everyone on the staff team made us feel welcome, it was home away form home.Thank you July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comforbility We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were accommodating and pleasant. Cant wait till our next visit. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Clean and nice. Beds were a bit hard for my taste but everything else was great. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel takes excellent care of its guests. I had an issue with my neighbors being loud very late at night. The issue was taken care of quickly and kindly. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could do better with SPG Plat Upgrades Overall, a mediocre experience on this stay. Not bad by any means, but not great. No suite or other meaningful upgrade offered to SPG Platinum member. Sluggish bell staff and valet responsiveness. Staff was friendly and nice. June 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience for 100 bucks per night valet takes over 30 mins food is over priced had to call for housekeeping housekeeping brought fresh linen in garbage bag no one greeted us when we walked in... JC i believe is his name... he sucks as a front desk assoc, August 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs work We had to wait for a long time to just check in. The woman working at the concierge desk came over and was willing to take us to her desk to check in. Upon arrival in our room we noticed that the carpet was damp. We called the front desk and said they had no other rooms available. They said they would send housekeeping, but they never arrived. Again we waited a long time to check out. If the hotel was that full, they should have more people working to accommodate this. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met my needs The hotel met my needs. The room was comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by sheraton my stay was excellent, one problem no refir. in room. July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again at Sheraton when I called Sheraton tried to charge me $60.00 more than the advertised price. For Alabama's largest hotel to only have 2 check in clerks with a line of 15 people waiting was ridiculous. Availability of a parking pass was never disclosed and upon complaining I was rudely told that they didn't have to tell me a pass was available. At the lounge it took 15 minutes to get a drink and appetizers came without dishes or silverware. Did I mention housekeeping was still in the room when we entered. no refrigerator and wifi is $10:00 a day. who charges for wifi anymore. the hotel is old, dirty and needs upgrades. Worst hotel experience I have ever had June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff The doormen were very patient and helpful, particularly a young man named Josh whose last name I do not know. He is from Birmingham. He was very helpful when I was tired and cross and not finding how to get into the parking garage. I echo this as regarding the check-in and check-out procedures. The staff handling this were very professional and friendly and made me feel very welcome and at home. This is important at any hotel, and the Sheraton Birmingham can be proud of its staff. I also appreciate the free use of the Internet at the hotel. This is not a standard at all hotels, and it is appreciated for those of us that do not have laptops. September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant stay Cordial staff, nice room, a good night's sleep. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ridiculous how horrible the staff and management were I pulled up and the valet were so overbearing i literally felt violated. trying to grab my keys grab my purse etc. i said i got it, and still he continued. I heard the same complaint from others at the conference. I was then directed the longest way possible over to the convention center and put on the wrong floor and i was pulling a 65lb booth. i had submitted a credit card authorization form to put on file. i confirmed it when i arrived. i went into the store and i said i want to put it on my room. the young man working was very ugly and said you can't were not affiliated with the hotel and started to put my drink up. I said i'll pay for it i still want it. then the first morning i ordered breakfast the man delivered the food and said no card on file. this was 6:30 in the morning. i said yes there is he stood in my room with the room door shut on the phone for 10-15 minutes working on why he didn't see the card. i was very uncomfortable! the next day i ordered in the evening and again the same issue. how would you like to pay for this mam? i said there's a card on file and was more aggravated and the lady said ok and left. then when i was trying to check out and get my folio at 6:00 or so in the morning the lady at the desk said you have room charges i said yes and i have a card on file. again she searches doesn't find it. i said well i need to get on the road i need the card run and i need the receipt and my folio. she said she couldn't close out the account she would have to send it to me. i travel a lot and have never anywhere in the country had so many problems, and the same issue over and over again. horrible horrible experience!!!! May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Caring personnell My family and I (3 adults, 5 children) enjoyed our 2 day stay at Sheraton Birmingham. We had 2 rooms which were very comfortable. We loved the comfortable beds, soft comforters, the many plush towels, the wide screen tvs, floor to ceiling windows with a view of the city, hotel restaurants and last but not least, the exceptional people who work there. We found them all nice, friendly, and caring, with a willing to please attitude which was refreshing. Our requests (a crib, more towels, coffee, room service, etc.) were taken care of immediately, always with a smile. Ms. Lipscomb, 1 of the managers, went out of her way to address a problem we had. Every time we come to Birmingham, which is often, this is where my family will stay! July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sure needs improvement My husband did a review on this hotel visit also. Not a good start at all. My husband was dropping me off at the hotel, arrived around 4ish in our van (NO trailer) and was told by the valet that we were not allowed to unload our van in front of hotel due to them being booked up that night. It was not crowded with vehicles outside the hotel, nor were there ANY lines for check in inside. We were told to park on the road and since there was not parking on the road available at that time, we came back & unloaded ourselves, much to the valets telling us we could not. Luckily we had our own cart in our van, as they would not allow us to use the hotel's carts. We asked to speak to management, got sent a valet supervisor, who was useless and never got to talk to hotel management. As the valets were being ugly (yes, quite rude) to my husband, I could take no more out there, so I left to check in. I'm in agreement that some people wish to have their luggage carried to their room, but I personally do NOT wish to have someone else handle my personal effects, which includes computers, electronics, as well as other personal & business items. I just needed a cart without a person. The valets were fussing at my husband as he unloaded our luggage. As upset as I was, I was lucky to have Mary Ford, who was calm, competent and kind, who checked me in. I had called a few weeks earlier to make sure I would have a fridge in my room when I arrived, and she assured me that one would be in my room very soon after I got in the room. Unfortunately, after waiting & calling a few times being assured I would get a fridge soon, a few hours later they informed me they were out of fridges. I was later offered a different room, but I had already unpacked & settled in. Finally, after lots of complaining & requesting management to talk to (never got to talk to management my entire stay), a small fridge was brought in. The delivery gentleman wasn't sure how to get it working. I ended up working with the cords & eventually found a live plug. He would have left me a fridge not working. Oh, the rooms in this hotel have an actual cutout in their furnishings for a refrigerator...certainly all the rooms should have comped fridges anyway, like other hotel chains always have in their rooms. On the positive, I wish to thank Mark Puccio, who showed me around guiding me to the best route for me to get to the convention center through the best elevators for me to use. He also checked on me later to make sure everything was fine. The room was very nice, clean, comfortable, flat screen TV, large window...two negatives: the view was of a rooftop & interstate highway AND a very small bathroom. I expect a Sheraton to be exceptional and this hotel (at least on the 14th floor that I was staying), the hallways need renovation....the doors & carpeting need replacing & there's a bunch of rust dripping from the sidewalls of the hall...the carpeting is worn, dirty looking, & with stains. This Sheraton has a program that if you choose to not have housekeeping (also don't want others in my room), you receive a $5 per day certificate to be used at one of the restaurants in the hotel. I took advantage...nice. Oh, when I needed fresh towels, I called & they were delivered quickly to me. By the way, when we were trying to leave, carrying our own carts with luggage to our vehicle, which was parked a a block away, a large vehicle carrying a trailer was blocking the ramp coming out of the hotel. We had to wait about 10-15 minutes for that vehicle to be moved. On our first afternoon during our move in, we were NOT blocking anybody from getting in or out! July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overpriced This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel and it will be my last. The prices in this hotel are ridiculous and border on theft. I was charged $5 for a pint of milk - (a pint of milk!) and a glass of wine was $9! These prices are higher than they are in major markets such as New York! In addition, there is no express chck out - you have to wait in line, which takes about 20 minutes. Never again, there's a new hotel next door and that's where I woulkd recommend. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel staff is very helpful. Nathan and other lady on the club floor was outstanding. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Details My sink drained very slow; also the toilet seat was broken. Both issues that housekeeping should have noticed over 4 days. Bed was not changed out entirely; just made with the existing sheets. Here for the deer expo helping a friend. Been in the hotel industry for 36 years. Needs improvement. Menu selection in Casey's very limited. Service there very good; bartenders excellent. Beer tower is ridiculous, You are wasting money there like mad. fix it. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has comfortable beds The beds and bedding here were excellent July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Staff made you feel at home Our stay started with Jocelyn checking us into the hotel, she was very patient and worked with us to make sure we got the best room available. Secondly, their was a small bar in the lobby where the bartendar was very friendly and slowed the day down to a relaxing pace. Lastly, the Atrium restuatrant had a great wait staff and was very acoomodating and pleasant. Overall, it was not the hotel, but the staff that made my stay enjoyable. February 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience I was at your hotel for a convention on April 19-21. When I arrived the lady at registration was very rude. I spoke with a manager and he took care of that. On Thursday night 2 doors down from me a dog barked all night. On Friday night a group of teens next door played and screamed all night. I called security twice and it did not stop. It went on until 4:45 in the morning. Then the dog started again on Saturday evening. I called security again and they came up and checked it but it did not stop. Then I was told that breakfast is $24.95 a person, that was ridiculous. The room was very nice and clean, but my stay was miserable. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice Convenient to civic center. Very clean and great staff. July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by overpriced and overrated This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed. Parking wasn't free at all. I had to move rooms twice because the AC's wouldn't work. The entire experience was overpriced and completely not worth it. I will never stay in one of these so called "fancy" hotels again. The Wifi was 10 bucks a day. Really? I could've stayed at a different hotel and got free parking, free breakfast, and free Wifi. Next time, you better believe I will June 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Birmingham, AL I was disappointed with the room in general. No amenities, wifi charge, outside of bathroom tub was dirty, ice machine on my floor was out of order all weekend. Valet parking was slow to bring my car. June 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junior Leadership Development Conference I was very dissatisfied with the accommodations and the hotel staff. We were at a conference with 6000 students and advisors and there was not sufficient staff to help us. It was impossible to get food service and most venues ran out of things. I do not think that the hotel was at all prepared. My room was not clean and I had to clean it myself. I tried to use the computers in the Lobby and it would not let me log in. September 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never go to this location I had so many bad experiences that not sure where to start Arrival : No one acknowledge me as SPG at reception or check in I have to ask 10 times for an upgrade and even the hotel was empty. Was given only one breakfast coupon and when asked for the second day the reception start questioning my status and booking info. Although had a cooperative booking and breakfast was included. Room 1234: this was my room right on the highway could not sleep even I have requested that I need a peaceful place. No hot water in the morning took forever to get the water so I could go for my meeting. Room 1624 : Was moved to another room after requesting many times , had to carry all my stuff m y self no help was provided plus again could not sleep at night due to load music next room, finally security came and the sound was lowered. I am sorry but you need to teach your staff how to treat SPG Gold December 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad service I had so many bad experiences that not sure where to start Arrival : No one acknowledge me as SPG at reception or check in I have to ask 10 times for an upgrade and even the hotel was empty. Was given only one breakfast coupon and when asked for the second day the reception start questioning my status and booking info. Although had a cooperative booking and breakfast was included. Room 1234: this was my room right on the highway could not sleep even I have requested that I need a peaceful place. No hot water in the morning took forever to get the water so I could go for my meeting. Room 1624 : Was moved to another room after requesting many times , had to carry all my stuff m y self no help was provided plus again could not sleep at night due to load music next room, finally security came and the sound was lowered. I am sorry but you need to teach your staff how to treat SPG Gold December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Untrained Bellman I called the concierge for bell services twice in a 90 minutes, while I waited. I then proceeded downstairs to see if I could use the cart myself which I knew would have been impossible. The front desk personnel referred me to a bellman, Ron who told me that he could not help me since he just promised someone in Room 504 to assist. So I should l look for someone. I went to the Valet guys when the supervisor of Concierge finally asked Aderius to assist me, which he willing did. While going up the elevator with him, there was a lady on the elevator car who seemed to be lost as which meeting room she should be heading to. He, Aderius asked me my permission to accompany her to the appropriate place. When he rtuned, I explained to him that I had been waiting for bell services for more than 90 mins. HE apologized and proceeded to facilitate the task at hand. When we arrive in the lobby, Ron emerged by telling me that he wanted me to know that he is the one who sent Aderius to assist me. What he didn't know is that I was in the presence the supervisor when Aderius showed up. So I chose not to respond to Ron. He then accosted me with a debacle of my ignoring his utterances. I then said to him that he didn't have the respect to have at least apologize for my plight. He simply dismissed me. He stated that he didn't have to apologize for my waiting, since I was not waiting on him. I replied you represent the hotel so you should apologized on behalf of the hotel. He told me he will do no such thing since I was was the least of his problem. I was saying "Nothing, just talking words." Extremely disrespectful! I sought to address this issue with management. I will be wiriting to corporate, regarding Ron, the bellman. Needless to say that I missed my flight. The front desk staff was phenomenal!!!! July 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>