Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

  • 7730 Bonhomme Avenue
  • St. Louis,
  • Missouri
  • 63105
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 297 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel 1 elevator was broken so had to wait a long time for the other elevator to show up; would end up walking up & down the stairs. Carpet was not clean, had stains; shower tile had mold / mildew. Asked to change rooms to a more clean environment, took a long time but evening shift staff at front desk on Wednesday were very responsive and gave me a better room at no additional cost. Dining room menu in room was not accurate; they did not have gthe items listed for room service. They have a heated pool but no hot tub. August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad Upon arrival the bellman brought out a cart for us to load our luggage on, but did not help. He was much more concerned about getting our car out of his way. However, upon leaving, a different bellman came to help with the luggage and was very pleasant and helpful. I had no hot water in the mornings in our room. It took until midday before the hot water would work. Also, the electricity went out while blowing drying hair in the morning. The televisions did not work in one of the rooms. The housekeeping did not even show up on the last day of our stay, so we had no clean towels. The coffee was good and the location was great for the swim meet. There were some positives, but also some negatives. I did not complain because we did not spend too much time in the rooms. June 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice St. Louis location The hotel was nice but I was disappointed that the bathroom did not have an electrical outlet for my flat Iron. To make it even more challenging there wasn't a mirror outside the bathroom. Was staying at the hotel to attend a conference. The conference attendees are potential customers and I wanted to represent my company looking my best but it was hard to do my hair without a mirror. I hope you do not subject another guest to this challenge. I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and they were unable to provide a mirror. September 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Elevator Nightmare During my stay at the Sheraton Clayton Hotel one of the main elevators was broken, leaving just one other main elevator and the staff elevator available. Prior to my arrival this was not mentioned nor was it mention by the staff when I arrived. I became aware of it by reading a sign located by the elevators. There were 2 large conferences being held (I was attending one) while I was there and the elevators played a large role in making myself and other guests VERY late for events. The hotel cleaning staff also suffered in meeting room cleaning deadlines because they could not get to rooms efficiently to clean them because guests were using the staff elevator. Until the elevator issue is resolved (which I heard that it has been ongoing for a while) I will NOT recommend that anyone stay there. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel was fine. I wouldn't stay here again, though. My husband and I requested a queen room, but we were given a room with two double beds instead. The parking costs $14/day, and you must pay if you would like wifi in your room. There is wifi in the main lobby, though. It was quite an expensive stay at the hotel, and I do not feel that we paid for anything special. We were, however, granted a later checkout, and that was nice. Overall, we would have been better off staying elsewhere elsewhere. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel is substandard I found unknown brown stains all over the white bed linens. The bathrooms were falling apart. Everything looked cheap. I expect more from a Sheraton. November 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is tired We have stayed multiple times at this Sheraton in Clayton. The location is great but it is showing wear and tear. We checked in at midnight and got to our very small room to find the toilet running, an inch of dust on the hanging bar in the closet, room smelled like smoke and a broken off hook in the bathroom so there was nowhere to hang a towel. They did send someone up to fix the toilet so we were able to get to sleep by one a.m. after a long day of travel, but the room was really unacceptable. Over the next two days we waited for the elevator (we were on the 11th floor) for over 5 minutes each time we needed to get to the garage or lobby. Finally we checked out a day early because it really was unpleasant to stay here and pay good money. When I mentioned the issues to the Front Desk person, there wasn't even a response. Disappointing Sheraton! July 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE The first room I was given had an unmade bed and open toilitries, clearly had not been cleaned. They then "upgraded" my room. The bathroom smelled of smoke from the fire they recently had and the room was apparently right under the fitness center and everytime some one used the treadmills there was constant pounding in my ceiling. Including at 5A! I am a loyal SPG member but I would never stay in this hotel again. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and friendly staff I enjoy this hotel for the hospitable staff, the good location for my needs & the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Cheers' November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated like a queen for my wedding I am having my wedding at this property in November. On the day we went to look at venues, this was our first stop and the moment we left I told my mom that we didn't need to go anywhere else. Joy has been amazing to work with. The entire staff has gone above and beyond to ensure that my vision for the big day is coming true. We had our tasting yesterday and the food was AMAZING!!! I also enjoy how they give you normal size meals. Weddings are expensive and I feel like I am getting the most out of my budget at this venue. I am so happy that I went with this venue for my wedding. I can't wait for November! July 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but not worth the it Club level room booked but not available when I arrived. Told I was being moved to a nice suite-- it was a simple double room. Asked for a king told the hotel was completely booked. Didn't get what I paid for .... Nor was there an attempt to make it work. Internet in the rooms at the end of the hall are spotty. Mentioned that to the desk-- there were no other rooms. Not the best experience. November 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconvenient $14 per day for parking is ridiculous. Parking should be free. And $10 per day for wifi is ridiculous. It should be free as a convenience for guests. This is a business only hotel which feels like it can charge for everything and gets away with it because they think that everyone is on an expense account. This is not meant for the general non-business traveler. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement I've stayed here weekly since June since I travel to St. Louis for business. I can sum this review up by saying this place is badly in need of a makeover both physically and "mentally"! They could barely keep an elevator running most of my time staying here. There were weeks where only 1 elevator was working which added probably an hour of time weekly to my commute unless I wanted to hike 12 stories of stairs. They'd fix one and another would break which brought into question the integrity of the elevator I was riding on. I've had rooms where the TV won't work and slow internet if/when it actually works. They had a kitchen fire months ago and no plans that I'm aware to rebuild it. Upon one arrival the parking ticket dispenser was jammed and I had to park on the street and constantly feed the meter to avoid getting towed until it was finally fixed. The card swipe machine for exiting rarely works. As you can see the list goes on and on with this hotel. The only reason I stayed as long as I did was close commute to work and SPG points for my personal travels. That brings me to my second point about mentality and how they treat SPG members with status. It basically doesn't seem to matter. The general feeling you get from the employees there is "ho-hum" and do the minimal it takes to do my job. Not all are that way but I can only think of 2 that met my expectations. They seem to want to present themselves as a high-end hotel but that goes only skin deep. I've had later check-in/check-out times argued with me that they don't do at "this hotel" yet my status of SPG clearly states is my option to use. At one point I was incorrectly charged for parking and it took my over a month to resolve. I had to make multiple phone calls to the hotel and SPG customer service and even then it wasn't credited. Finally, out of total frustration, I just had them give me a hotel credit and had a couple of drinks to drown my misery. :) In closing, I travel a lot and don't find myself to be all that picky but this place has just been so constant on almost all levels that I've decided to move on as well as write this review. Which, by the way, is my first in almost 10 years of traveling for business. It has potential but some serious changes need made for improvement. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A surprise in St. Louis This property was a pleasant surprise from location, to room comfort, to food, service and overall ambiance. From the moment I reached the front desk I was welcomed with a smile, my status was recognized, my room was upgraded without asking and I was offered a complimentary appetizer. What else do you expect in St. Louis? August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevator Issue Needs Major Attention Overall, I really enjoy the convenience this hotel gives me to my desired location. The staff is friendly and the hotel is fine for an older hotel building. Not much wow factor, but it serves its purpose. However, after multiple years of routine monthly stays, I think I'm at my breaking point with this hotel's elevators. I would understand if this was a one time issue...but it's not. It is a constant and recurring problem. Other reviewers are not exaggerating when they claimed a 15-20 minute wait for an elevator....and often times it's jam packed so you have to wait for it to come back again. I took the stairs to my 10th floor room every time I came and went. Unless you come and go from your room between the hours of 1am and 5am, plan on being frustrated. Just by looking at the timespan of the history of complaints about the elevators, I get the sense that the hotel is not taking these complaints seriously. The 20 minutes I spend waiting for the elevators can easily be spent walking from a different hotel a little further away. One final comment....room service adds an 18% gratuity on top of the delivery charge. However, the room service staff always seems to fail to mention that when they hand you a slip with a tip line. I felt stupid when I finally caught on and realized I was tipping 40% on my numerous prior meals. The staff should kindly point that out and offer you the opportunity for additional tip. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clayton Sheraton The Clayton Sheraton is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed . The staff,on all levels, made us feel welcome and responded to our every need. Our wedding reception and room block was managed perfectly.. All of our guests were amazed at the exceptional service provided. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms, Elevator, and Valet need improvement The room itself and condition of the room was not the issue. The issue was the fast that I had a conjoined room and it felt that the walls were paper thin. I could hear everything. The man next to me would cough violently into the night and early in the morning, limiting my sleep for the entire stay. Also, I am pretty sure I heard the man throw up at 5:00am which was quite the wake up call. Also, the elevators and valet need a drastic overhaul. It took me about 10 minutes to get an elevator when I was leaving the hotel on Thursday. Once my coworker (who had the same problem) and I finally met downstairs, our valet call appeared to not be made. For 2 of the 3 morning valet calls, there was no answer on the Clayton's end. On Thursday, we had to wait outside for 20 minutes to wait for car, which almost made us miss a meeting because it took so long. Overall, the hotel is very nice, but these 3 areas were extremely disappointed and did not make my experience that enjoyable at all. I hope this improves for my next stay. May 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel could use improvement I was told suite had bathtubs not showers and was very upset to find that this was incorrect information. A person checking me in told me that my room had tub/shower combinations. Suite furnishings could be updated for the price you expect more. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant surprise The staff from check in to departure was wonderful and unfailingly polite. The food was surprisingly good and fairly priced. They went out of their way to be helpful and make my stay a pleasant surprise. I will be back. January 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location but need upgrades We stay at this hotel mainly due to its location. The facility needs upgrades to its elevators (the past 2 years, one of them has been broken) and rooms (one whole wall was not working electrically). June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs reinvestment Hotel is worn. TV required staff to get picture working. Toilet leaked on every flush from connections below. Drain in shower backed up. Hospitality room on club floor not particularly clean or attractive. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog Hair We found dog or cat hair all over our bed. No where does it state that these are pet hotels. Even if they were, the comforter should be cleaned after every use, especially if you allow animals. October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet is Unusable I travel every week for work and this hotel consistently has the worst internet of any place I have ever stayed. If you want to keep business travelers, you need reliable internet. July 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is nice and clean--shuttle service horrible! The hotel itself was nice; however their inability to provide adequate shuttle service was very frustrating. The food in the hotel was sub-standard to say the least. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Staff I felt welcomed from the moment I came in the front door and right up to my departure. I want to start by commending the front desk staff who were busy, but found time to provide restaurant info and, one gentleman, took the time to go online and gave us a printout of a Google map to our destination outside the hotel. I especially have to commend the restaurant staff because they did me a particularly gracious favor. My friend and I did not have time to eat dinner before the event for which I was the emcee. After the event, I went to your restaurant and was told it had just closed. The gentleman at the door of the restaurant asked us to take a seat in the bar area and he would see what he could do to get us a meal. We didn't have to wait long and much to our astonishment, he said that although the restaurant was technically closed, the wait staff person agreed to let us in. We were served a delicious meal by a seasoned professional who was friendly, efficient and affable -- amazing behavior for someone at the end of a long day! That kind of service is what makes me want to come back and I will recommend your hotel to others. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel, poor internet connection Hotel Internet collection is really poor and I have been staying here for more than 20 weeks now. After repeated requests have not seen any improvements June 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice staff and thoughtful hotel This was my first time staying at this hotel but my second time there for a conference. Like before, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Everyone acknowledged you with a friendly "hello" or "how are you today?" We were there for a military Yellow Ribbon event and in the lobby there is a large table with fresh flower arrangements. All the flowers were done in yellow. I know it's a small thing, but I really thought it was a nice gesture from the hotel. Very thoughtful. The parking situation can be a little confusing for first time guests, and coming out of the garage is very confusing. I would say this is my only real complaint. The rooms were clean, nice, and comfortable. I had an old neck injury flare up while I was there and on Saturday I asked the front desk if they knew of any chiropractors in the area. I just expected them to give me some numbers for me to call around myself, but they didn’t. The gentleman at the front desk actually called around to nearby offices to see about getting me in. Unfortunately, they were already closed by the time we called. However, I did appreciate the extra effort by the staff to try to accommodate my needs. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Adequate accommodations The room was just adequate, nothing special, and the A/C was extremely noisy! This hotel needs a makeover! July 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, friendly staff Lately the quality has been down with slow service and lackluster attention to detail... June 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NEEDS IMPROVEMENT the staff was great but our first room was so small and the bathroom did not even have a tub. we asked to be moved and our next room was dirty, the bathroom was nasty, and there was no plug for the tub so it was hard to give my 1 year old a bath, the food was not good. the second day we had to pay $15 a person for microwaved, hard pancakes. the lobby smelled. an elevator was broke so took forever. you had to pay $14 a day for parking which I didn't know. and you could barely find a parking spot bc of the valet spots and the enterprise spots. we had an SUV and could barely fit in the garage. definitely not worth the money we paid and wont be back. July 21, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T18:15:50.882-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_297, tr_297
  • loc_en_US, sid_1233, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>