Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

  • 7730 Bonhomme Avenue
  • St. Louis,
  • Missouri
  • 63105
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 300 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms, Elevator, and Valet need improvement The room itself and condition of the room was not the issue. The issue was the fast that I had a conjoined room and it felt that the walls were paper thin. I could hear everything. The man next to me would cough violently into the night and early in the morning, limiting my sleep for the entire stay. Also, I am pretty sure I heard the man throw up at 5:00am which was quite the wake up call. Also, the elevators and valet need a drastic overhaul. It took me about 10 minutes to get an elevator when I was leaving the hotel on Thursday. Once my coworker (who had the same problem) and I finally met downstairs, our valet call appeared to not be made. For 2 of the 3 morning valet calls, there was no answer on the Clayton's end. On Thursday, we had to wait outside for 20 minutes to wait for car, which almost made us miss a meeting because it took so long. Overall, the hotel is very nice, but these 3 areas were extremely disappointed and did not make my experience that enjoyable at all. I hope this improves for my next stay. May 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The bath facilities were very small. The staff was quite attentive. We were in town for a wedding and the gentleman in the maintenance area repaired the mother of the groom's purse to save the day. The valet volunteered his assistance on several matters too. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sleepless in Saint Louis We stayed at this hotel on the last day of a 10-day vacation in the Midwest. From the time we stepped off the plane in Chicago most everyone we met was so warm and welcoming...not so at this Sheraton. When we checked in the front desk clerk was proficient but quite curt and hardly made eye contact. Quite the opposite was the gentleman who helped us with our luggage and the shuttle to the airport was on time and convenient. Our room was a disappointment. First, here are the good things...great bed and linens, coffeemaker with Starbucks coffee in the room, nice quality personal amenities. The most annoying thing was the heating/air conditioning system. The weather was beautiful in Saint Louis and being able to open a window would have been optimum but that wasn't an option. The heating/air unit was VERY loud and it would come on and off with a jolt. We had to turn it off in order to sleep. The bathroom looked like the shower had been caulked several time too many and when we flushed the toilet shreds of toilet paper came back into the bowl. The hotel didn't appear to be overly crowded however the elevators were terribly slow. We ended up (at times) using the stairs. Lastly, we stayed on a Saturday night, two floors below our room is a patio area off the indoor pool area. Folks were enjoying this outdoor space for socializing and smoking well into the evening and voices easily carried to the rooms above. We found that interesting since the Sheraton info says the hotel is 100% non-smoking and made reference to the city of Clayton as smoke free as well. Our accommodations could have been better however we enjoyed the quaint neighborhoods and a visit to Forest Park during our brief stay in Saint Louis. It's a beautiful city. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was Wonderful We received excellent service from both the hotel staff and management during our recent stay. We received an unexpected upgrade when we arrived at the hotel along with complimentary breakfast and horderves. The hotel staff added to our enjoyment by being courteous and looking out for our every need (for example they provided a complimentary umbrella when it was raining and use of the corporate elevator to save us time – there were many other acts of kindness of this nature). We truly enjoyed our stay and plan to use this hotel when we visit St. Louis in the future. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food for wedding reception The food for the wedding reception was amazing. The food was very good. Some of the best I have had. The chef and staff did a great job. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get a way Nice get a way hotel, has an indoor pool and is close to shopping and good restaurants. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dropping Combat Boots Went to bed at 10pm after a full day. What sounded like someone dropping their combat boots went on till 11:30pm. Pillows had no body to them at all. Way too used and soft. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent staff My stay was enhanced by the attentiveness of the staff from the front desk to the bar to the club lounge. April 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Veterans at Clayton Plaza, we were disappointed by our April 10-13 experience. Although Platinum (9 yrs), to assure better room I exercised SNAs: boy was that a waste! We wound up in an "Executive Suite" (single <400ft^2 room w/sofa; tiny shower (no bath) room; no w/i closet; uncontrollable heat 3:00 a.m. each night). To make things worse, the service in Club Room was occasionally rude (e.g., broke down buffet early, w/o warning to guests (e.g., us)) still eating and w/o apology but with plenty of disdain; "hourly" shuttle to WU that decided to skip an trip (at a.m. rush hour) so that it could take other even more frequent guests to the airport; etc., etc. This in addition to the general lack of amenities (which we had come to accept). The Clayton Plaza is rated Class 3...and that is a stretch...it just took us a dozen visits to realize it. Bottom line: stay there if you must; otherwise, pay up and stay at the other hotel in Clayton. April 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent visit A satisfactory stay. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. April 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service very disappointed during my stay, feel free to contact me and i can explain rather then blast the staff on line April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around experience One of the rare complete experiences in business lodging. Great room, clean and well-tended facilities everywhere, and a friendly but "real" staff. A special shout-out to Rhonda at the front desk. She's friendly, witty, devoted to her job, and "real"! April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unpredictable and inconsistent As a platinum guest, you get used to certain comforts and treatment. This hotel clearly has many guests with status, and they are very often fully books with business guests. Therefore, you can't expect typical platinum treatment, good rooms, or exceptional service. The alarm clocks are not checked, so I've been woken up twice, I've been put in a room overlooking the pool with loud children to listen to all evening, been given the room right next to the service elevator, and often there is no bottled water in the rooms. And this is only my 4th week here. The only good service is the people who deliver room service (but the food is just ok). Free wine in the lounge, but that doesn't make up for everything else! I'll be looking for a new place to stay for the next few months. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I've come to expect from SPG hotels The hotel looks great from the lobby/pictures/etc. Staff were nice enough. However, the room was not very clean; we even found a hair bow laying on the floor, so I highly doubt the room was vacuumed after the last guests. I am an SPG member, booked the room through the SPG number on my card, but was not put on a designated "SPG floor", so not sure if that is why our room was substandard. Restaurant was OK, but not good enough to eat there for a 2nd meal. The workout room had machines broken and it was DIRTY. Pool was fine for my kids, but us adults could not bring ourselves to enter the COLD water. March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Many things are broken in this hotel leading to inconvenience I travel frequently and am Platinum on Marriott. I decided to try a new brand of hotels and chose SPG to try to reach Platinum there as well. This was my first stay at a SPG property in 2+ years. My room had a broken desk lamp which did not work. The ice machine on my floor did not work. I went to another floor to get ice and put ice in the ice bucket. The next morning, the water from the melted ice had leaked through the bottom of the bucket leaving a large puddle on my desk and wetting various work-related papers I had on the desk. The gate to the self park garage did not work and there was no intecom/way to communicate with staff from the hotel from the entrance to the lot. So I had to reverse my car out, park on the street, get the hotel staff, and take them to the gate to try to open the gate. It did not open so they offered to valet park it for me which was nice but the next morning the staff had trouble finding my valet parked car and I was late to work. Will not stay at this location in the future. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location but Rooms Need Updates My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding we attended this past weekend and the hotel experience was ok. The staff was great, very pleasant and very helpful! The location of the hotel was great as it was easy to access main roads and shops. My issues were with the physical portion of the hotel. Our bathroom was small and the toilet didn't work well. I had to hold the toilet lever down for 15 seconds before it would flush. There was no full length mirror in the room, only a bathroom mirror. Also, the air conditioning was very loud when it turned on. It woke us up every time. The room needs updating very badly! Otherwise, we had a great experience. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel The facilities are nice, all the employees are great, beds and showers are nice, everything feels fresh and clean. It was a bit surprising that wifi is an additional cost. With the cost of a room being what it is, wifi really should be free for paying guests. That said, this hotel will remain in my top 5 picks for when I travel to St. Louis each month. March 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty Poor Coffee was not replinished. 3 Guests, but only 2 towels daily. Room service cards not available. Had to wait in the lobby for 20 minutes to get a room service card. Room service was delivered late both days, by as much as 15 minutes. In general, I'd give this hotel a 'fail' rating as service was sub-par across several different areas. March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old Hotel Hotel is old, outdated and small. Not a recommended hotel. I've had to switch rooms a few times due to unsatisfactory conditions/use. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Old, run down hotel, for $10 more, you can stay at the Ritz The hotel is old and in dire need of a remodel. The staff reflects a management that needs to be redirected to a new career. They complained about guests in front of other guests, etc. A complaining guests were allowed to dominate the bar instead of being taken aside, etc. Dirty, smelly, bad paint, worn furniture - I thought that the headboard had blood on it but it was just worn through, a chair in my room had a big blob of paint on the front of the back, lamp missing from the bedside table. There is nothing to recommend this hotel for except condemnation. Sadly, I'll avoid Sheraton's in the US after this experience. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not My Best Stay At this property As a Gold member I choose to stay at properties that offer the amenities I've grown to expect from the SPG program. I expected to use those benefits at this hotel. When I arrived I was not placed on an SPG floor and was told SPG Club access was not available to me. I would not have stayed at this hotel. I had plenty of more convenient options. When I went to the front desk to ask why i did not have access I was told it was only for Platinum members. The person at the desk seemed unconcerned about this issue and blamed me for not calling ahead of my visit if it was so important to me. She said she could give me access for $30 per night. I choose to pay this because I planned my 4 night stay around the access with my meeting schedules. We also had one day that our room was not serviced. This was my 3rd stay at this property and will be my last. I do love the benefits of the SPG Gold membership but this visit was extremely disappointing. February 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel This was a pretty nice hotel. We stayed as a complimentary guest but would have paid to stay here. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Friendly check in. During our stay, there were a few pieces of exercise equipment out of commission and during the winter you would like to have an indoor pool that was a bit warmer. There no swimmers when we passed through on Sunday evening. The room was old, but still decent. Unfortunately the room stayed quite cool although the heat was set on 75. All in all we really enjoyed this Sheraton and would stay again. Thanks Sheraton. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in the heart of St. Louis. The hotel staff was excellent! February 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Impressed First walking into the Sheraton at Clayton I was immediately impressed. Front lobby and restaurant were very clean. The room was very clean when we walked in. The only thing that concerned me was that my room came with a free bottle of wine, flowers, and a wine glass. I expected these things to be in the room instead of outside in the hallway on the ground. My overall stay was amazing and the only thing I'd change is have the special things you order be in your room. February 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Young Adults Groups and Poor Emergency Service Poor planning of rooms to mix young adults (college sport teams or group) with paying Customers. Between 2-3 AM, young adults were yelling and fighting in the public hallways and in their rooms. Hoodlums. Eventually, a responsible adult appeared to stop the event, but only after 1 hour passed. Not a way to treat paying Customers and SPG members. In addition, call was made to front desk and no one answered. Eventually, emergency number was called and someone returned the call in 15-30 minutes. If this were actually a medical emergency, I would be deceased now. February 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs updates.... This Sheraton is very dated. The fitness center is horrible: very small, and several of the machines were not working. Not good for active business travelers. The parking garage exit is very convoluted and exiting takes a long time. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice staff and thoughtful hotel This was my first time staying at this hotel but my second time there for a conference. Like before, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Everyone acknowledged you with a friendly "hello" or "how are you today?" We were there for a military Yellow Ribbon event and in the lobby there is a large table with fresh flower arrangements. All the flowers were done in yellow. I know it's a small thing, but I really thought it was a nice gesture from the hotel. Very thoughtful. The parking situation can be a little confusing for first time guests, and coming out of the garage is very confusing. I would say this is my only real complaint. The rooms were clean, nice, and comfortable. I had an old neck injury flare up while I was there and on Saturday I asked the front desk if they knew of any chiropractors in the area. I just expected them to give me some numbers for me to call around myself, but they didn’t. The gentleman at the front desk actually called around to nearby offices to see about getting me in. Unfortunately, they were already closed by the time we called. However, I did appreciate the extra effort by the staff to try to accommodate my needs. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lorna Banquet She was very attentive, even offering info when needed on the area and greeting us in the halls!!!! Great personality and work ethic. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty Room/Small Bathrrom While my overall stay was fine, my room could have been better. The bathroom was very small, the room was dusty - the light fixtures and tops of nightstands were full of dust and lastly the wallpaper/dry wall underneath the window looked as if there had been water damage. Wallpaper was pealing back and lots of brown crud sitting underneath the window. We kept the curtains closed so we didn't have to look at it. Also, the parking garage gate was acting up and we had to call the front desk every time we wanted to be let in. January 13, 2014
  • 2015-05-28T20:16:12.434-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_300, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_1233, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>