Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

  • 7730 Bonhomme Avenue
  • St. Louis,
  • Missouri
  • 63105
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 297 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Elevator ELEVATOR ISSUE WAS HUGE!!!!! 20-30 minute delays. Had to take the stairs more times than not (from the 14th floor!!) It was awful! We would have never stayed with you had we known the REAL impact the elevator was having on the hotel. And never on the 14th floor. The food in the Club lounge was average at best, and twice delays were encountered due to staff waiting on the elevator to bring supplies. All in all, bad experience - and not a single upfront, good faith offer by the hotel. A meal, drink, parking (we had to ask for that). You all are a top notch hotel, you should have behaved as such. We know you were sorry, but you had us there by then and our options were very limited at staying somewhere else. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Platinum Status not recognized / Poor Service This was my first stay at this location. When I arrived at the St, Louis airport I contacted the hotel to advise them of my arrival and location The women who answered the phone was very abrupt and stated" how many times have you called." I advised her it was my first. She advised it would be approx: 20 minutes. I waited 30 minutes for the shuttle. When I entered the hotel and WAITED to be checked in ( only one person working the front desk, the female walked away with three guests waiting) I was not greeted as a Platinum SPG member or advised of my gift amenities (points,etc). I advised the front desk that this was my first time at this location and that I was considering this location over other lodging locations on future stays. when I come to St. Louis for business ( this is not going to happen).Since the hotel shuttle only runs between 5 am and 10 pm I asked for a taxi voucher and stated that other SPG properties had provided me several vouchers in the past on my numerous trips to the St. Louis area ( the taxi voucher was refused). I have stayed at other SPG properties on numerous occasions while in St. Louis and they have provided me with a taxi voucher when the shuttle was unavailable when I had to respond to the airport early in the morning prior to the shuttle running or obtained me other means of transportation. Also other SPG properties in St. Louis have provided me with upgrades to A suite upon my arrival. At your location I was not offered any free amenities such as WIFI, a voucher for dinner, breakfast at the restaurant or room service. Every other SPG provides me with these or some type of amenity and treats me with respect. The room was clean but dated and under the bed was a large quantity of dust. Several areas in the room need to be painted and cleaned. When I was checking out I again asked for a taxi voucher, and explained the aforementioned details regarding taxi vouchers at other SPG locations in St. Louis, it was refused again. I was not impressed with the service I received at your location and I will be telling my co-workers and friends about this location and about the minimum effort your hotel puts fourth towards Platinum members. The little things matter, you failed. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevator Issue Needs Major Attention Overall, I really enjoy the convenience this hotel gives me to my desired location. The staff is friendly and the hotel is fine for an older hotel building. Not much wow factor, but it serves its purpose. However, after multiple years of routine monthly stays, I think I'm at my breaking point with this hotel's elevators. I would understand if this was a one time issue...but it's not. It is a constant and recurring problem. Other reviewers are not exaggerating when they claimed a 15-20 minute wait for an elevator....and often times it's jam packed so you have to wait for it to come back again. I took the stairs to my 10th floor room every time I came and went. Unless you come and go from your room between the hours of 1am and 5am, plan on being frustrated. Just by looking at the timespan of the history of complaints about the elevators, I get the sense that the hotel is not taking these complaints seriously. The 20 minutes I spend waiting for the elevators can easily be spent walking from a different hotel a little further away. One final comment....room service adds an 18% gratuity on top of the delivery charge. However, the room service staff always seems to fail to mention that when they hand you a slip with a tip line. I felt stupid when I finally caught on and realized I was tipping 40% on my numerous prior meals. The staff should kindly point that out and offer you the opportunity for additional tip. October 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvements I have been staying at this hotel for almost 8 years now and am becoming more and more disappointed with property. The staff is EXCELLENT! However there have been ongoing elevator issues and Fitness Center equipment issues. On this stay only one elevator was working and the wait in the morning from the 15th floor was over 5 minutes. Not the first time the one of the elevators have been down. As for the fitness center, it has sometimes taken months for a treadmill to be repaired. Now there are only 2 treadmills with an open spot where the broken one used to be. Love the people, especially Rhonda, Dawn, and Tim who I have developed a great relationship with, however the property itself is beginning to become to much of an inconvenience. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel 1 elevator was broken so had to wait a long time for the other elevator to show up; would end up walking up & down the stairs. Carpet was not clean, had stains; shower tile had mold / mildew. Asked to change rooms to a more clean environment, took a long time but evening shift staff at front desk on Wednesday were very responsive and gave me a better room at no additional cost. Dining room menu in room was not accurate; they did not have gthe items listed for room service. They have a heated pool but no hot tub. August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Elevator Nightmare During my stay at the Sheraton Clayton Hotel one of the main elevators was broken, leaving just one other main elevator and the staff elevator available. Prior to my arrival this was not mentioned nor was it mention by the staff when I arrived. I became aware of it by reading a sign located by the elevators. There were 2 large conferences being held (I was attending one) while I was there and the elevators played a large role in making myself and other guests VERY late for events. The hotel cleaning staff also suffered in meeting room cleaning deadlines because they could not get to rooms efficiently to clean them because guests were using the staff elevator. Until the elevator issue is resolved (which I heard that it has been ongoing for a while) I will NOT recommend that anyone stay there. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad Upon arrival the bellman brought out a cart for us to load our luggage on, but did not help. He was much more concerned about getting our car out of his way. However, upon leaving, a different bellman came to help with the luggage and was very pleasant and helpful. I had no hot water in the mornings in our room. It took until midday before the hot water would work. Also, the electricity went out while blowing drying hair in the morning. The televisions did not work in one of the rooms. The housekeeping did not even show up on the last day of our stay, so we had no clean towels. The coffee was good and the location was great for the swim meet. There were some positives, but also some negatives. I did not complain because we did not spend too much time in the rooms. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice place great stay everyone helpful they just need to have current room service menus food was excellent December 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice St. Louis location The hotel was nice but I was disappointed that the bathroom did not have an electrical outlet for my flat Iron. To make it even more challenging there wasn't a mirror outside the bathroom. Was staying at the hotel to attend a conference. The conference attendees are potential customers and I wanted to represent my company looking my best but it was hard to do my hair without a mirror. I hope you do not subject another guest to this challenge. I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and they were unable to provide a mirror. September 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing This hotel was fine. I wouldn't stay here again, though. My husband and I requested a queen room, but we were given a room with two double beds instead. The parking costs $14/day, and you must pay if you would like wifi in your room. There is wifi in the main lobby, though. It was quite an expensive stay at the hotel, and I do not feel that we paid for anything special. We were, however, granted a later checkout, and that was nice. Overall, we would have been better off staying elsewhere elsewhere. July 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE The first room I was given had an unmade bed and open toilitries, clearly had not been cleaned. They then "upgraded" my room. The bathroom smelled of smoke from the fire they recently had and the room was apparently right under the fitness center and everytime some one used the treadmills there was constant pounding in my ceiling. Including at 5A! I am a loyal SPG member but I would never stay in this hotel again. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated like a queen for my wedding I am having my wedding at this property in November. On the day we went to look at venues, this was our first stop and the moment we left I told my mom that we didn't need to go anywhere else. Joy has been amazing to work with. The entire staff has gone above and beyond to ensure that my vision for the big day is coming true. We had our tasting yesterday and the food was AMAZING!!! I also enjoy how they give you normal size meals. Weddings are expensive and I feel like I am getting the most out of my budget at this venue. I am so happy that I went with this venue for my wedding. I can't wait for November! July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is tired We have stayed multiple times at this Sheraton in Clayton. The location is great but it is showing wear and tear. We checked in at midnight and got to our very small room to find the toilet running, an inch of dust on the hanging bar in the closet, room smelled like smoke and a broken off hook in the bathroom so there was nowhere to hang a towel. They did send someone up to fix the toilet so we were able to get to sleep by one a.m. after a long day of travel, but the room was really unacceptable. Over the next two days we waited for the elevator (we were on the 11th floor) for over 5 minutes each time we needed to get to the garage or lobby. Finally we checked out a day early because it really was unpleasant to stay here and pay good money. When I mentioned the issues to the Front Desk person, there wasn't even a response. Disappointing Sheraton! July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Very nice hotel. Staff was very accommodating. November 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but not worth the it Club level room booked but not available when I arrived. Told I was being moved to a nice suite-- it was a simple double room. Asked for a king told the hotel was completely booked. Didn't get what I paid for .... Nor was there an attempt to make it work. Internet in the rooms at the end of the hall are spotty. Mentioned that to the desk-- there were no other rooms. Not the best experience. November 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Clayton My experience was not as I would expect from a Sheraton or shall I say a Starwood Property. I'm a gold member of Starwood and was disappointed that the room I was in was less than acceptable for any guest. First and foremost the temperature remained a balmy 72 - according to the thermostat - felt like 92. The electrical or the two that were easily accessible were not working properly. The customer service was great the room and the hotel needs MUCH needed attention. Needless to say that will be my last stay at that hotel November 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconvenient $14 per day for parking is ridiculous. Parking should be free. And $10 per day for wifi is ridiculous. It should be free as a convenience for guests. This is a business only hotel which feels like it can charge for everything and gets away with it because they think that everyone is on an expense account. This is not meant for the general non-business traveler. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A surprise in St. Louis This property was a pleasant surprise from location, to room comfort, to food, service and overall ambiance. From the moment I reached the front desk I was welcomed with a smile, my status was recognized, my room was upgraded without asking and I was offered a complimentary appetizer. What else do you expect in St. Louis? August 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms, Elevator, and Valet need improvement The room itself and condition of the room was not the issue. The issue was the fast that I had a conjoined room and it felt that the walls were paper thin. I could hear everything. The man next to me would cough violently into the night and early in the morning, limiting my sleep for the entire stay. Also, I am pretty sure I heard the man throw up at 5:00am which was quite the wake up call. Also, the elevators and valet need a drastic overhaul. It took me about 10 minutes to get an elevator when I was leaving the hotel on Thursday. Once my coworker (who had the same problem) and I finally met downstairs, our valet call appeared to not be made. For 2 of the 3 morning valet calls, there was no answer on the Clayton's end. On Thursday, we had to wait outside for 20 minutes to wait for car, which almost made us miss a meeting because it took so long. Overall, the hotel is very nice, but these 3 areas were extremely disappointed and did not make my experience that enjoyable at all. I hope this improves for my next stay. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clayton Sheraton The Clayton Sheraton is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed . The staff,on all levels, made us feel welcome and responded to our every need. Our wedding reception and room block was managed perfectly.. All of our guests were amazed at the exceptional service provided. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location but need upgrades We stay at this hotel mainly due to its location. The facility needs upgrades to its elevators (the past 2 years, one of them has been broken) and rooms (one whole wall was not working electrically). June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel could use improvement I was told suite had bathtubs not showers and was very upset to find that this was incorrect information. A person checking me in told me that my room had tub/shower combinations. Suite furnishings could be updated for the price you expect more. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant surprise The staff from check in to departure was wonderful and unfailingly polite. The food was surprisingly good and fairly priced. They went out of their way to be helpful and make my stay a pleasant surprise. I will be back. January 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by NEEDS IMPROVEMENT the staff was great but our first room was so small and the bathroom did not even have a tub. we asked to be moved and our next room was dirty, the bathroom was nasty, and there was no plug for the tub so it was hard to give my 1 year old a bath, the food was not good. the second day we had to pay $15 a person for microwaved, hard pancakes. the lobby smelled. an elevator was broke so took forever. you had to pay $14 a day for parking which I didn't know. and you could barely find a parking spot bc of the valet spots and the enterprise spots. we had an SUV and could barely fit in the garage. definitely not worth the money we paid and wont be back. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs reinvestment Hotel is worn. TV required staff to get picture working. Toilet leaked on every flush from connections below. Drain in shower backed up. Hospitality room on club floor not particularly clean or attractive. October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog Hair We found dog or cat hair all over our bed. No where does it state that these are pet hotels. Even if they were, the comforter should be cleaned after every use, especially if you allow animals. October 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet is Unusable I travel every week for work and this hotel consistently has the worst internet of any place I have ever stayed. If you want to keep business travelers, you need reliable internet. July 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is nice and clean--shuttle service horrible! The hotel itself was nice; however their inability to provide adequate shuttle service was very frustrating. The food in the hotel was sub-standard to say the least. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Staff I felt welcomed from the moment I came in the front door and right up to my departure. I want to start by commending the front desk staff who were busy, but found time to provide restaurant info and, one gentleman, took the time to go online and gave us a printout of a Google map to our destination outside the hotel. I especially have to commend the restaurant staff because they did me a particularly gracious favor. My friend and I did not have time to eat dinner before the event for which I was the emcee. After the event, I went to your restaurant and was told it had just closed. The gentleman at the door of the restaurant asked us to take a seat in the bar area and he would see what he could do to get us a meal. We didn't have to wait long and much to our astonishment, he said that although the restaurant was technically closed, the wait staff person agreed to let us in. We were served a delicious meal by a seasoned professional who was friendly, efficient and affable -- amazing behavior for someone at the end of a long day! That kind of service is what makes me want to come back and I will recommend your hotel to others. October 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, friendly staff Lately the quality has been down with slow service and lackluster attention to detail... June 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>