Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

  • 1380 Harbor Island Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1266 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay but not good We stayed at this hotel for six days. Stayed in the bay tower on the marina side seventh floor. Best thing about this hotel is the view. You get free fireworks courtesy of see world at 950 every night. The elevator next to room was broken entire stay as well as the hot tub/spa. Was easier to take the stairs than go to other elevator and wait. I guess plumbers and elevator repairmen are hard to come by in San Diego. The room was not cleaned one day during stay and had to ask for clean towels. After reading other reviews it appears as if long black hair multiply in the bathrooms at the hotel because ours was full of them even though myself and my partner have short brown/blonde hair with military haircuts. $22 to self park as a guest is crazy as well as the room service prices. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Overall Experience Wonderful service, friendly and helpful concierges, everyone made us feel welcome and wanted back. A special recognition to "Carlos" in the main restaurant...without a doubt the friendliest, most helpful and sincere individual we met at a hotel that either met our exceeded our expectations. Thank you. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable We enjoyed our recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego. The location of the hotel was ideal for the business we had in town. The hotel was clean and pleasant. I especially enjoyed the lovely pool. August 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, service is a joke The room and facilities are lovely, but the staffing is ridiculous. On a busy August weekend there was usually only one person working at the Concierge and a line of about 5 people waiting. When we finally did speak with someone, just to get shuttle tickets, they didn't have change for a $10 bill, and didn't offer any solutions to that. We ended up leaving short-changed just so we could get the shuttle before it left. Upon checkout, we noticed that our bill was incorrect as it didn't account for a promotional rate, even though it was confirmed at check in. I don't feel like that should be our job to double check that we're getting the rate we booked at. It's a nice place, but we won't be back. August 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by So So Hotel Arrived as a new SPG member - for my sisters wedding! Everyone in the party was staying the weekend at this hotel. I had asked to be near her - same floor or close ... and it did not happen. The first room I was given smelled so over deodorized that my eyes watered. I went to the desk and asked to be changed. I was told the only other available room was on the ninth floor and would cost me an additional $20 per night. (I really don't think that not having inventory is my fault and I ought to be charged more ... ) the room was on the opposite end of the hotel from my entire family. The restaurant food was mediocre and overpriced. Breakfast buffet a travesty, understaffed restaurant - surrounded by dirty tables. The maintenance of the property was not great - dirty carpets/hallways, spilled drinks by the elevator banks, dirty windows. Really sub par attention to detail. A/C in the room did not work, could not leave the sliding glass door open because of the noise from the pools and the planes flying into the airport across the street. I did not complain about the lack of A/C ... that's my fault. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty package First of all I paid for a deluxe bay tower room and was placed in a regular. Paid for the upgrade. That was just the beginning food at the hotel was terrible and staff less than accomodating. Also we paid for a late check out and got locked out of our room even though when we went to get new keys it was right there on the screen. Had to wait in line 15 minutes just to get it resolved. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is lacking We spent ten days at the Bay Tower Sheraton and found much to be lacking. Number one: the parking was a continual hassle even though we had a room card it rarely worked in the automatic gate and we needed assistance often. Number two: the jacuzzi was unavailable the entire time due to a maintenance problem, this should have been corrected promptly. Number Three: The rooms have no small refridgerators. Most other hotels do provide this option as the eating venues in the hotel were expensive and it took a car drive to find reasonable restaurants. The buffet was a joke. For $21 the food was extremely limitied and when we went down to eat at 10:30 a.m. everything was basically gone. They brought back some additional food after several guests complained. Number four: there is no free wi-fi available. I checked other less expensive hotels and free wi-fi was the norm. Number five: I was issued a 20 percent off food voucher for the Marina and Bay tower and most times when I presented this card it was not taken for what it was. One time when it was denied I needed to go to the front desk to get them to inform the staff that this was in fact a legitimate deal. Number five: there should be self-service laundry in the Bay tower. It is provided in the Marina tower which is not at all convenient if you are staying in the Bay tower. On the plus side, the location is very good due to the views although its isolated from easy to walk restaurants and shops. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful View Our room overlooked the bay. It was wonderful to sit on the balcony and watch the boats and the sunset. My only complaint is no open outlets to access near the night stands and the cost of parking was very high at $22 to self park and $30 for valet. Other than that, our stay was wonderful! August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fix the card system I was given a room in the Bay Tower and was told it was right next door to the main hotel. Wrong! You have to drive to the main hotel. My room card never worked once in the parking lot when entering or exiting even after changing out the cards. Otherwise, it's a nice hotel right in the San Diego Harbor with beautiful views of the bay. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by All was good except the check-in The hotel was fine, nothing terribly noteworthy either way, but this was by far the slowest check-in experience Ive had at a Starwood (Im lifetime gold so have checked in many times). The regular line was taking forever so they opened up the SPG line, I moved to that one and it was even slower, it probably took about 40 minutes to check in which was even more odd since we arrived around 10PM. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location Great view, close to attractions August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive & Still Top Notch I had stayed at this hotel almost 15 years ago and was not sure what to expect. From the moment we entered the lobby of the Marina Tower, I felt like we were in an exclusive club. The hotel looks, smells and feels fresh, up-to-date and shows no signs of wear. Seems they are always working on little projects to keep the place feeling new. Stayed on the 11th floor of the Marina Tower for a week - had friends staying in rooms at the Bay Tower & all had moved over to the Marina Tower within the first few days because the "vibe" was so much more "club" like. It did feel like you were in a very hip resort with all the people, music & activity. The gym was great, the service everywhere was top notch. The Club level benefits are more relevant at this Sheraton than most I have stayed. The Club Room with the European breakfast & evening snacks & cocktails was worth the $30/day fee since I have a son & husband who need a good breakfast. Being able to grab unlimited bottled water was also very helpful. The pool & marina area did not feel like it was just across from the airport. Rarely did we notice airplanes and we could not even hear them from our room. We were in San Diego for a baseball tournament and there were enough activities on the hotel grounds to keep everyone entertained. The location is a great place if you are traveling around San Diego and environs. Very convenient to all highways and there are several reasonable priced, good restaurants within minutes, particularly at Liberty Station. Even the food at the pool was not exorbitantly priced. We'll definitely return. Highly recommend this hotel! August 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad experiemce No maid service,clean towels or room made up until 6:00pm.This was after two phones and being told "we are very busy". Our last night we had no hot water for showers or in the sink.We were told "we will send someone"We waited two hours and no one came. August 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the Tower I reserved I made this reservation and at the time I wanted a room in the Marina Tower. When I got there, I was assigned to the Bay Tower and when I asked why, the answer was that the Marina Tower was full. August 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by pay for everything Enjoy the San Diego marina hotel where there is no guest perks you pay for everything. especially parking @ 20.00 a day ,at least give a staying guest a special rate. stayed in the bay tower on the 1st floor which was below the lobby the basement floor if you will. To keep guests coming back give the paying guests some perks, maybe free internet, better pillows,not the one's filled with nothing. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful view overlooking harbor We stayed here the last night of our trip due to its location to airport as we had very early flight out. Suite was large with balconey overlooking harbor. We specified 3 people in room, but got two towels. Sofa did not open to a bed. Coffee machine did not work. Service at check in and outside for car valet was excellent! , July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect weekend getaway this was the perfect weekend getaway with friends. try and snag the balcony room overlooking the marina; you can plane watch too :). the club lounge seriously had one of the most extensive hor d'oeuvres selections i've seen. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by HOTEL BILL ERRORS I WAS CHARGED FOR WHAT APPEARS TO BE RANDOM DAILY SERVI-BAR CHARGES WHICH I DID NOT USE. WHEN I CALLED THE HOTEL THE FOLLOWING WEEK TO HAVE THESE CHARGES REMOVED, THEY SAID NOBODY WAS AVAILABLE, ONLY A WEB SITE. SEEMS THIS HOTEL IS INTENT ON INCORRECTLY CHARGING GUESTS AND THEN MAKING DIFFICULT TO REMOVE THESE ERRONEOUS CHARGES. WHEN I WAS CHECKING INTO THE HOTEL ON MY FIRST DAY, THE COUPLE AHEAD OF ME WERE CHECKING OUT AND WERE ALSO COMPLAINING ABOUT BEING CHARGED FOR SERVICES THEY DID NOT USE (MINI BAR & PARKING). THESE ERRONEOUS CHARGES SEEM TO BE AN AUTOMATIC PROBLEM AT THIS HOTEL AND IS A WASTE OF TIME TRYING TO REACH SOMEONE FOR A REFUND. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Views From our balcony we had an awesome view of the Bay, the San Diego Skyline, the Coronado Bay Bridge, & the North Island Naval Station. We were able to watch tour boats, tankers, sailboats, etc. Our King room was spacious & spotlessly clean. The bed was the most comfortable ever! On the downside there's no free WiFi in room, no free breakfast & location is a bit too far from downtown. July 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great View, Comfortable Rooms This hotel has some of the best views of any hotel I have visited. It is centrally located and rooms are spacious and comfortable. I would recommend that you look over the room very carefully upon checking in, as I have located items under the beds several times. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Hotel I stayed here during San Diego Comic Con 2013. I was very happy about the room size, bed, pillows, staff, etc. I understand that since I arrived at a very busy time, they were extremely busy at first. They went from almost zero occupancy to 100% occupancy in just a few hours. So, you have to give them a little slack for that. There is no way that they were going to be super fast on the first day. But every time we needed something other than the first day, they met our needs. The staff is really cool. And the view from the hotel was Beautiful!! Here are my complaints however: This happens at about half the hotels that I stay in. The showers have very little water output. It makes my shower take three times longer and more frustrating than enjoyable. Another thing that bugged me is the little vending machine in the room that charges outrageous prices for food and drink. Honestly, I would rather this not waste room in the room. You could put a vending machine in the ice room like everyone else does. 2 years ago, we stayed at a hotel, and were greeted with a complimentary gift basket of fruit, snacks and bottles of water. I know this is San Diego, but you shouldn't have to pay for parking. Parking should come with the cost of your hotel. Sure, a valet fee but just to park? Because it is on an island which basically has only 3 hotels, there is no where close to walk to for food after midnight. The only way to get food after midnight is Expensive room service, Expensive in room Vending machine, or the vending machine on the first floor. Ohh... there is always delivery. Because of the deal that I got, my internet was included, but normally internet here has a fee. Internet for guests should always be included. But, on a positive note, the internet connection was very good. It didn't go in and out like most hotels. All in All, a wonderful hotel. Awesome staff. We will stay here again. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The view of the San Diego Bay was fabulous. Everything was great - the food, the room, the business center, etc. The employees were very polite and considerate. July 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Holy Fees batman! This is a great hotel, except for the crazy fees which seem to be endemic to all SPG properties. $19/day for 3mbit internet? Is this 1999? $2 for a phone call? $6 for a diet coke from the mini bar? Common guys, I know it's the trend to make the hotel appear cheaper on search sites, but this is ridiculous and makes me feel duped and that I'm getting less value for my dollar. The hotel itself is in a great location with great facilities, friendly staff, clean rooms, etc. Let's just throw in the internet and make the extras a little more affordable, and people might actually take advantage of them more often instead of treating the mini bar like a nuclear waste facility. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room for Improvement Self parking was useless, could never find a spot. The card access was very troublesome. Stayed in the Lanai Townhouse, suited our needs very well. Pool area much less crowded, but lacked staffing - no towels and no food and beverage service. Consiage staff very poor, had very little knowledge of area, did our own research. Front desk staff very shorthanded, long lines, Starwood Preferred was a waste of time All in all had a great time, breakfast staff was wonderful. Would consider staying again with a large family group - would need three separate room, including the Townhouse. Loved the area. July 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Guest Services lacking "services" and honesty An unusual noise occurred in my room (501) about every 30 mins late at night. On the 2nd night I called and asked to change rooms. Guest services (Terry) told me NO ROOMS were available and to wait until noon. I finally spoke to the supervisor (Tina) and was moved immediately. To be misled at 3 am, paying well over $150/night is UNACCEPTABLE for the Sheraton brand. Other past comments by guest have confirmed poor guest services. July 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Stay After booking this hotel somewhat inconveniently distant from my daily destination because of the glowing recommendation of a family member who stayed there the year before, I found myself wishing I'd stayed elsewhere. I had requested a marina-view room at booking given that recommendation, and was given a room directly above the entrance-side doors. All night, every night, there were luggage carts running over the traction strips in front of those doors, people talking loudly, loud noises constantly making noises above and to the sides of my room. There was no access to the fridge without incurring a fee -- another thing my family member had received complementary at a lower rate the year before. I had had to book two consecutive reservations because the lower rate wasn't available the entire stay. The hotel staff/system couldn't seem to figure out that this was a consecutive stay, but at two different rates. I was charged the wrong rate for the first several days, which became difficult to remedy when I checked out. I was assured that my stay would be seemless between the two reservations, but my room key was deactivated, I was notified that my room wasn't accessible on the day my reservation switched to a different rate and the perks of not having house-cleaning come in resulted in a notification that I couldn't receive those perks on a day I was checking out -- but I wasn't checking out! I found the staff to be less than happy to help and the only person I can recommend is the waiter, Carlos, who was extremely helpful and happy and welcoming in the main restaurant on my last day. If this hotel can't get a simple thing like a reservation with a split rate figured out or a simple request without a good explanation, I won't stay there again, nor recommend it. It should also be noted that access to downtown San Diego via public transportation (bus, shuttle, trolley) is unavailable after 8pm, and parking fees are over $20/night, leaving limited access to sites outside of the hotel unless spending money on taxi or walking several miles. July 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by totally disappointed This WAS my favorite SAN airport hotel but this time they really let me down...and I am a Starwood member. I paid for a deluxe upgraded larger room with a living space so I could entertain guests. I received a dingy room with one bed and chair....minibar was raided...and I was looking over the airport. It was a small room with NO living space or sitting area. I was very embarrassed in front of my guest as there was no where to sit but on the bed. Strangely enough, on the front door it had a sign that said VIP suite. I think they stuck us in the extra adjoining room and didn't open the other part of the suite! I called for a manger bit she would not come up. The room also had some weird wooden French door that blocked all views....which wasn't much anyway. She said she would offer me another room but it was a "downgrade" from what I booked. I took it and it was much better. I had to take all my luggage MYSELF down to the front desk and get new keys then go back to the new room. I put my breakfast order on the door before 9 PM. In the morning it was still there - -- so no breakfast. When I went to the business area to get my boarding pass the printers would not work. The guy at the front desk would NOT print my pass for me, instead he wasted 20 minutes fooling with the printer. WHILE I WAS trying to hold my temper and get to the airport shuttle before I was late for my flight. I explained all of this to the front desk manager / room controller Jessica and all she could say was "Sorry". POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I will put my loyalties elsewhere next time. It just seemed like NO ONE CARED!!!! July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Preferred San Diego Hotel After Multiple Stays in City I came back to San Diego in July for a business conference. The last time I visited the city it was for pleasure and I brought my family with me. Mariana at the front desk remembered my son FROM OVER A YEAR AGO and asked how he was doing. I really think the Sheraton Marina should promote her. She is the type of individual that you want working for you (yes, I own my own business and I would hire her in a heartbeat). We stayed in a Lanai suite this time and it was very nice. Two floor suite with nice views of the bay and pool area. My only recommendation would be to clean the outdoor carpeting in the hallways (light tan) or replace it with gray. Since the carpeting is rained on it gets dirty fast. Besides that minor detail everything else was great. The Club lounge is the best that I have used in my many stays at SPG properties. It has floor to ceiling windows and the views are amazing. Antonio (I believe that is his name) who works evenings is amazing and attentive. I look forward to returning to your hotel and would not select another property when staying in San Diego! July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by ordinary food We were at this hotel as part of a group function. The food provided by catering was ordinary at best. For other meals the menu options were limited. In all cases the wine prices were ridiculously over priced. Front desk personnel were excellent Poor location with respect to off-site dining options. July 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by We Were Sorry Have stayed here previously with no problems. This time our room had a broken ac unit. It was even unplugged when we arrived ~ telling us that it was not working previously. Two service workers came to check the unit and could not get it working. We informed the front desk and customer service represenatives and all we got in reply was a "Oh, I'm sorry". July 8, 2013
  • 2015-04-16T18:47:43.557-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-20, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1266, tr_1266
  • loc_en_US, sid_127, prod, sort_default
<<prev 18 19 20 21 22 ... 43 next>>