Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

  • 1380 Harbor Island Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1247 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41st anniversary trip We had a great experience. We love S.D. and have become spoiled bySPG but your hotel was truly more than I expected.Fab property, great location and top quality, friendly service. Jessica at rooms controller and Cecilia at the concierge desk went out of their way to make sure every part of our stay was tops. As usual, the facility was clean and exceptionally well maintained. Most of all, friendly. Wait staff, valet, guest services, all made us welcome. As I told Jessica, after 40 yrs in customer service,I notice the little things and appreciate those that do the same. Thank you. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel will empty your wallet! Pros: This hotel is located in a beautiful location that is walking distance from the airport and just a few miles short to downtown San Diego. Early check-in was a huge thumbs up. Room was clean, and the view was pleasant. Bathroom is clean and roomy. Cons: This hotel has so many fees that will leave your wallet empty. I was charged $100 per day for incidentals (room service, stocked refrigerator, etc.) which I didn't use. I did use the coffee maker that happens to be part of those pesky incidentals. Depending if I used cream or sugar... I was charged for every item used. The bedding felt and sounded like plastic. It was annoying. The TV has limited stations to watch when winding down for the night. No free wi-fi and they charge a ridiculous $12 for low-bandwidth. To park your car... it's $24 per day! Conclusion: This hotel is like a casino... offers you good rates, but will take your wallet to the cleaners. July 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clueless Staff-Unorganized I live in the far reaches of North County San Diego to we decided to spend the night at a hotel near the airport since many have a rate that includes parking. It just seemed easier to drive and stay at the hotel than try to arrange a car hire to have us at the airport at 5:00 am. The rate advertised said up to 10 nights valet parking included. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 PM gave the car to the valet and informed them we were staying on the rate that included the parking and the date we would be returning. At the front desk we told the clerk that we had parked our car under the rat that included the parking. My belief was that Platinum level loyalty to the brand might be worth something... but it did not appear to matter to this hotel. 1) Se were placed not at the main hotel but several blocks away at the "second tower". 2) There was no WiFi in the room 3) The front dest staff was constantly on the phone while I was attempting to check in causing a long delay. 4) There was no Platinum recognition and to the best of my knowledge there was no upgrade. I asked if an upgraded room was available and was told no, not in this hotel. 5) The front desk person spoke only in broken English appeared confused the whole time. I mentioned twice that we had the rate that included parking and she acknowledged. 6) The first shuttle in the morning was late in the morning with standing room only. 7) After about 23 hours of flying from a cruise in Europe we return to the hotel after our trip we gave the valet our ticket and was asked for the room number. Since it was eleven days since we checked out we did not remember the room number and were told we needed to go inside. The person at the front desk was on the phone so we waited, and waited, and waited. We explained the situation and she asked for our confirmation number... so out came the laptop and I search for the confirmation number, she said there was no reservation with that number. I then provided my SPG number... she said there was no reservation... I then unpacked my suitcase to find my statement from check-out. I hand the clerk the statement and she said she could not find the reservation... I asked her to PLEASE look again and upon a further search she found my reservation and said we owe for the parking eleven days. (elapsed time from hotel arrival to now is 20 minutes) After arguing for several minutes and showing the rate on the SPG web site this confused person was able to call the valet. The valet then wanted to charge us for valet parking... after more calls we paid for one additional day of parking. Elapsed time from hotel to getting our car from the valet over 45 minutes. I stayed at this hotel in the main building several years ago in a Club Level room and had a good experience. I told my wife it was a nice hotel when I made the reservation but found it was not what it used to be. Perhaps the service and the rooms are nicer in the main building but I will most likely choose another hotel in the future or just arrange a car from home because staying here did not save any tim or frustration. I am not giving up on Starwood but would suggest others ask questions when making a reservation if considering a stay in this property. November 28, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina Wonderful location to airport and attractions. Beautiful views. Great place to host a conference or meeting. Event staff was exceptional! Bell service was a little slow in responding, but the bell staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the hotel and surrounding area. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Staying at this hotel is like living on the water with a cool breeze. We left Phoenix at 110 degrees and arrived here to 70 degrees. We stayed using our Starwood points and were upgraded to a Marina Suite. All the amenities plus great views from two balconies. well worth extra points needed. The only drawback is the bathroom is really small for such a large Suite (600 sq ft). The Club lounge on the top floor offers a great view and some munchies for free but the drinks cost.. We drove but if you flew in you would not need to rent a car as they have an airport shuttle as well as local shuttle bus stops at the hotel to take you on a tour and cost only 3..00. It you drive to these same places you will have to pay for parking. Parking at the hotel is a little steep at 22 dollars per night or valet for 30 dollars. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location. I've always enjoyed my stay at this location ,& I've stayed here a number of times. November 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by older hotel.... This hotel is an "older" Sheraton with small rooms and bathrooms. The hotel is located near the San Diego airport which is convenient however when you open the sliding glass doors you are overcome by jet fuel odors and noise! The walls are "thin" and I was able to hear noise from the rooms nearby. Did not get an upgrade with my Platinum status ... had to ask for the amenities and no upgraded room. The Club Lounge was nice. The location is great for the airport but you must take a taxi to do anything else in the area... nothing nearby (stores, shopping, tourist attractions, etc.). January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blessed It exceeded our expectation. We are so blessed by the staff. We checked in with Mylene and received a very warm welcome. She took the time to answer all our questions and gave us enough info about the hotel. We love her positive attitude. Made the start of our anniversary celebration special. Checked out with Marta. And once again blessed by her service and help. Can't wait to go back if there are any good deals. Yelp review was wrong this time. Needed to stop by and wrote a responsive great review on yelp. Keep it up! Blessed by your commitment and service. January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Views and Excellent Stay I was there for only 1 night but it definitely was one of my best hotel stays ever. The views from the room, elevator landings, and restaurant are all amazing! The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food was good too. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're in San Diego as the views and service are exceptional. November 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Left me surprised and dissatisfied I was very surprised when it took over 2 1/2 hours to receive drinking glasses to my room from room service. The conference rooms and the general areas of the hotel were extremely cold and uncomfortable. During the registration process the hotel boasted of an over the water view, it was more like through the pine tree, over the parking lot and street and part of the air port then over the water. During lunch at Quinn's Moore, there were a bunch of gnats flying all around us and the booth upholstery was very dirty. On my last day, I found that the bathroom towels were dirty or stained. I was very dissatisfied with the stay and will report this to the conference committee. January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Outrageous The stay was fine. The prices at the hotel were on the high side, but reasonable. Until check out, when we were charged $11.49 for ONE bottle of water from the mini bar. I'm sorry, but that's simply outrageous gouging and it really left me with a very negative impression. Plus $22.00 per day to park in a rutted pot hole filled dirt lot where you had to walk between construction vehicles and cement trucks to get to the hotel should have given me a clue that this hotel is "out of touch". December 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Work The best part of this hotel is the entrance and lobby area of the main hotel. It is definitely a "hotel" so don't expect anything more. The food is decent. Our room was very dirty and stayed that way during our 4 day visit. The pool area was also dirty and there was no real service. It is well located in San Diego but there is nothing around it. We are SPG members and always use points for free stays. At 10,000 points per night it is not a deal at all and more of a let down. December 13, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfriendly Upon arriving the young girl at the desk never greeted me with a welcome to the hotel. She seemed put out that I was asking her questions. I had asked that our room be cleaned but was not on first day. We had to wait downstairs at 4:00 while they sent someone to clean it. The next night at 9:00 there was men in the next room doing some repair work to the washroom. We did get $50.00 off our bill for that. Upon leaving the young man did not ask how our stay was or a thanks come again! He did say I had a mini bar charge which I didn't. As a Starwood customer I would never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone. February 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No respect for Platinum members Horrible experience. I am a platinum for life member. they stuck be in the crappy tower, not the main building. when I pointed out my status, they could care less. I will never stay here again, nor will anyone from my company. bed was horrible, room was dirty. never again October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel of Choice in San Diego This is my hotel of choice whenever I visit San Diego. Its got amazing views. Be sure to stay in the Marina Tower. Its close to everything. Hop scotch and a stone's throw away from the airport. The view from the club lounge is to die for. I love enjoying a glass of wine as I look into the sunset. Swimming pool is very large. The Starbucks in the lobby has AMAZING mozerrella sandwich. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For family vacations This was an excellent hotel for vacationing in San Diego with a family for several reasons: 1) Staff- they went out of their way to be accommodating and make the trip worthwhile. This is the best aspect of the hotel and resort. 2) Amenities- in particular, the free Wi-Fi and club level access made the trip much easier with two young children. 3) Accomodations- the townhouse suite is large, with excellent views of the pool. It has great views of the marina and San Diego, and is well situated near I-5, and is 10 minutes from the Gaslamp and Little Italy, making it a great location to get to anywhere in the San Diego area, from Coronado Island to the Zoo, to LEGOLAND, and La Jolla. It has a lively night life scene as well, with multiple places to enjoy the views of San Diego. I recommend this hotel for anyone with families, couples or people on business. August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by San Diego Boat Show The overall visit was a disappointment. The waiter at the resturant was more suitable to a diner than a nice resturant. the razor I requested from housekeeping never arrived. And because I chose not to replace the towels and linens to help the environment, the room was untouched by the maids. The beds weren't made and coffee and coffee cups not replenished. And for a hotel that was associated with the San Diego boat show not to have a shuttle to the show is rediculous. The shuttle between building could have easily accomodated the guest. Only the front counter staff met my expectations. February 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unforgettable Nite at Sheraton Hotel It was early morning on our last night from this hotel at around 3am. A continuous & loud banging on our door awaken us, frigthened and shocked - don't even know what to do. Called hotel operator for help but did come until a follow up after 5mins then they acted upon. Ten minutes passed, security called in that all clear. Following morning, i checked the hallway but disappointed to find that there was no CCTV. Checked from front desk for updates during check out but no report from night manager. Disgusted but we have to leave..Hope this will not happen to other customers/patrons. July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel redeemed itself First two nights were rough. Seventh floor rooms we stayed in were pretty beat up. Paint peeling, tub wasn't clean, carpet was dirty and damp and other things. I watched this peanut stay on the same spot for two days. we used the ironing board and iron at 5 am and came home at six pm and it was right in the middle of the way. We figured they'd stow it. Day two maintenance guy took out the air filter and it was clogged solid.neighboring room was a smoking room and every time they lit up we got to share. I hate cigarettes. The double beds are like what you'd find in your aunt's basement when you visit. It'll do but it's not high end. We mentioned switching hotels and we were told we'd be still charged for the whole reservation. So trapped, we tried a Third room on the tenth floor. This third room was what I expected from my previous Sheraton stays. Clean, nice, quiet, smelled nice overall high end. King bed awesome. Both seventh and tenth floor views were awesome from both marina and city view sides. Valets were great. Parking is $30 a day. The staff (sue, bianka, brian, Enrique, the other room service lady ) were all incredible. Nice, professional, friendly, welcoming, very good crew. Even an employee we met down by the pool. He spoke no English, but he listened and pointed us in the direction of what he thought we were asking. The food wasn't special. What we tried anyway. The mini bar charges you for everything you touch so we moved stuff around to put our leftovers in there and my card was charged 615.00. I tried to square it away at check out and she helped but they have inventory numbers instead of products so I'll never know if I was overcharged. It ended up being a nice stay we just had to work for it September 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My third time here... and likely last Stayed for a conference last week. Was happy because the conference was at a Starwood hotel and i wouldn't have to commute to the location. Used my suite upgrades and received an unimpressive townhouse suite (two stories of not much). The AC unit on the second floor where the bedroom was wasn't working and the room was hot. I tried to turn it on but it didn't work so I called for maintenance. Engineer got it to work but told me that the next day someone would come to replace a sensor. Never happened. The unit kept turning on and off all night waking me up. The next night I called again, and two engineers came this time. Asked to have it just run non-stop so it wouldn't wake me up. Said they did that but they didn't so it kept me up again all night. The upstairs unit apparently is old and doesn't work with the sensor. They said it should be replaced. First floor unit was newer. I asked for a room change to another suite but nothing available. I did receive SPG points for my trouble, but wasn't worth it. All i ask for in a hotel is to be comfortable. I need to sleep when I travel and couldn't. Won't be going back. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This hotel was recently added to our corporate preferred list, and I am so happy! It's a great hotel. I got a great SPG upgrade, with a wonderful view. The Starbucks was very nice too. January 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was here for a conference First, it is a nice hotel located on a prime location - the marina. It is highly accessible to everything that the City has to offer. Second, the service is excellent. The bell-boys or front desk know you by name. The best feature is you can even text the concierge to put in a request which I used many times. November 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Suite Rating We were upgraded to a suite in the older part of the hotel. The thermostat was finally set at 76 degrees and a towel stuffed under the door between rooms. They brought in 2 space heaters to warm the room. The staff was wonderful, and helpful and quick to try to solve the problem. Food in the upstairs lounge was great in the morning, but the evening hot appetizers were not cooked well, and definitely NOT good for you as they were all breaded and fried. May stay again, because of the staff and the location, but will stay in the newer part of the hotel. December 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service & Bad Housekeeping My husband & I booked our room for our stay over after returning from Hawaii because we live 3 hours from SD. Our flight was delayed 3 hours which put us in at 1 am, past the hotel shuttle pick up time. We were told to call them & someone would pick us up. We called three times and waited an hour before the front desk person Terri told us no one was coming to pick us up. We had to take a taxi. They had our reservation for the Marina Tower, but were "SOLD OUT" so they tried to put us in a "dog kennel" room in the basement instead of in the Marina Tower. My husband went to 2 rooms that smelled like wet dog and we finally cancelled and drove all the way home at 2:30 am. Cheri was our front desk person & Tina was the MGR that night and both were far from courteous & knew nothing about Customer Service. When you book a reservation and tell them you are going to be in after regular check-in, they should still hold your room! Just an FYI, for people with dog/cat allergies like me, this hotel is pet friendly and they do not have rooms that are designated for pets only. It doesn't make sense to me because when people were allowed to smoke in their rooms they had smoking/ non-smoking. But I guess they don't realize that allergies to pets are as bad or worse than smoke. Bottom line, we are Starwood Preferred members & we will never stay here again! September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great food, great service Really good people. Super nice when you first walk in, restaurant and bar staff were outstanding. Free shuttle to the airport, nice bus - good driver. I will definitely go back. November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff The staff of this hotel was great. They were very friendly and helpful and fast when I asked for additional coffee for my room. They even followed up to make sure everything met my needs. Rooms were comfortable. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by November 2014 This hotel is very accommodating to your needs. It is close to the hotel and only 3.5 miles from downtown, the Convention Center, and the Gaslamp and most major restaurants in the area. Easy access from Interstate 5 and to the downtown areas along Harbor Blvd. Great view from either side of the hotel. November 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel I have Ever Stayed At This has been hands down the worst Starwood as well as worst hotel experience I have ever had. From the moment I checked in at the front desk to the cleanliness of my room, and finally to checking out nothing has been even close to acceptable. I checked in on the morning of September 13th at which time I was told my room wasn't ready, which was completely fine, and I proceeded to go out and explore the city of San Diego. Roughly 4 hours later I returned to the hotel at which time I checked in and the front desk attendant apologized for the wait and stated "I apologize for the wait, but we were able to get you a room in our Lanai building with a bay view and it is one of the best rooms we have". Upon reaching my room (5308) I first found that the view was that of an old generator and tree, nothing that I had been promised. The next thing i noticed was a refrigerator sitting on the floor set ajar. Upon opening the refrigerator I was greeted with rotting food that had been left by a previous guest. At this time I went to the front desk and spoke with a manager (Jerry) and asked that the refrigerator be removed immediately. The next day, Monday September 15th, I asked for an additional towel for my room. Upon receiving the towel I noticed that it was NOT CLEAN. The towel had stains all over it. I then used one of my old, dirty towels to shower. Today, September 16th, I checked out of the hotel. Upon checking out I asked to speak with a Manager again regarding my stay which i was greeted by Leyonetta (sp?) who told me there was nothing that she could do to make it better. During my time speaking with her I missed my shuttle and asked if she could help me get a ride to the airport which another shuttle happened to pull up at the same time. I walked outside to get on the shuttle and was told by the Valet that the shuttle was not going to the airport and I would need to get a cab. He had a cab pulled up for me and I hopped in following the shuttle that was departing the airport. The cab I was in followed the shuttle (that wasn't going to the airport according to the manager and valet) all the way to the airport. Finally, I called the hotel one last time at which I was told "well there is nothing we can do if the shuttle driver wants to change his route". This was THE WORST hotel experience I have ever had. Not simply the worst Starwood experience, but out of any hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life. I appreciate a response and like to have a conversation with a senior manager as soon as possible as the way I was treated was completely unacceptable and at this point will never stay in a Starwood hotel ever again September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fresh, comfortable, relaxing and luxurious environment with a great view I have been coming to this hotel three times to attending the PraxisNow events hosted by John Assaraf since June 2014. The hotel is convenient located--only 5 minutes of free shuttle ride from the airport. The staff is always friendly and extremely helpful with welcoming attitude and smile. And, I love the awesome fitness center, amenities, and gourmet restaurants. With sunrise right outside of the large glass balcony doors and glistening bay waters, I often have the illusion of being on a fantastic getaway.instead. Thank you, Shareton. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff I had a training scheduled for two days with 16 associates from my company. I scheduled a small conference room, coffee service, lunch, etc. Everything was top of the line, on schedule with constant checking to make sure I had all I needed. I stayed an extra day after to enjoy San Diego and the weather being from Seattle. Again, the restaurant staff, front desk right down to the staff around the pool were friendly, attentive and made sure our stay was perfect. I was on the 11th floor and had access to the Club Level for the morning breakfast and evening appetizers to watch the sunset. Just a great experience overall and looking forward to coming back very soon. October 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 43 next>>